Big Construction Site by Golconda

centricgtr

Big Construction Site by Golconda

Postby centricgtr » March 10th, 2024, 9:42 pm

I notice by the Golconda Turn Off, there is a big construction site with a bunch of machinery doing piling which is visible from the highway. What are they building there?…Anybody has any ideas?…Is it a government project?

Re: Big Construction Site by Golconda

Postby gastly369 » March 10th, 2024, 10:07 pm

Double palm pro max plus

centricgtr

Postby centricgtr » March 10th, 2024, 10:11 pm

gastly369 wrote:Double palm pro max plus

Honestly, idk if you talking nonesense or you being serious :)

Postby j.o.e » March 10th, 2024, 10:17 pm

centricgtr wrote:I notice by the Golconda Turn Off, there is a big construction site with a bunch of machinery doing piling which is visible from the highway. What are they building there?…Anybody has any ideas?…Is it a government project?

Condos I believe. Been advertising on the socials

Postby Habit7 » March 11th, 2024, 11:14 am

Windy Ridge Residences by Dreamon Ltd

Postby pugboy » March 11th, 2024, 11:19 am

govt land?
who are the principals ?
how they get the land ?

Postby Rovin » March 11th, 2024, 12:25 pm

hmmm fancy looking ...

Postby The_Honourable » March 11th, 2024, 5:23 pm

pugboy wrote:govt land?
who are the principals ?
how they get the land ?

Private land, i think some or all those lands use to be Caroni and were part of the vsep.

More than likely the lands were agricultural and was sold at those prices. Then when development increased in the area, developers purchase the lands, made an application to T&C, changed it too residential, and well $$$.

Postby pugboy » March 11th, 2024, 5:27 pm

cashing in time
caching but i am guessing as in most cases the original landowner making a fraction of the real profits

centricgtr

Postby centricgtr » March 12th, 2024, 7:10 am

Habit7 wrote:

Wow. First time im hearing of this company. I wonder which one percenter owns it

centricgtr

Postby centricgtr » March 12th, 2024, 7:11 am

The_Honourable wrote:
pugboy wrote:govt land?
who are the principals ?
how they get the land ?

Private land, i think some or all those lands use to be Caroni and were part of the vsep.

More than likely the lands were agricultural and was sold at those prices. Then when development increased in the area, developers purchase the lands, made an application to T&C, changed it too residential, and well $$$.

Any idea what you think it would cost to build something like that??

Postby pugboy » March 12th, 2024, 7:36 am

start by figuring out cost of land prep first and all the planning engineeering stuff
and oh the “costs” of approvals

wing

Postby wing » March 12th, 2024, 8:00 am

centricgtr wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

Wow. First time im hearing of this company. I wonder which one percenter owns it
Definitely not one of the usual 1%. This developer does his business without being flashy or showing off. As we all know, there are persons with many millions who don't feel the need to flaunt.

Postby Habit7 » March 12th, 2024, 8:16 am

Why ppl suspicious of a private developer doing his development on private land? Dreamon might not be known by most of you all but they have several large developments throughout Trinidad. This is not their first rodeo. They have their investors and they are providing jobs, opportunities and eventually housing for ppl. If you don’t like it, don’t buy it. But until I see them do something illegal, build on.

Postby zoom rader » March 12th, 2024, 8:52 am

Habit7 wrote:Why ppl suspicious of a private developer doing his development on private land? Dreamon might not be known by most of you all but they have several large developments throughout Trinidad. This is not their first rodeo. They have their investors and they are providing jobs, opportunities and eventually housing for ppl. If you don’t like it, don’t buy it. But until I see them do something illegal, build on.
You think they will let you know their illegal means.

Everything in Trinidad is some kind of scam and illegal means to get rich.

Postby The_Honourable » March 12th, 2024, 10:20 am

pugboy wrote:cashing in time
caching but i am guessing as in most cases the original landowner making a fraction of the real profits

Yes. Other times under the original landowner, the land status at T&C remains agricultural and that's how it is sold. Then something major happens, like a highway is built nearby for example, then T&C can entertain a status change.

Many times, the funds involved to have T&C approved land for residential is out of the original landowner's reach. If they want to sell, it's at agri prices, add in some "future potential" in that price and hope for someone to bite. A developer who sees the potential status change buys up.

centricgtr wrote:Any idea what you think it would cost to build something like that??

Projects like that can start from tens of millions to hundreds of millions of dollars. The key is really funding.

Some developers use their own money from start to finish, then sell at a profit.

Others use banks. Some it is a combination of the developer's funds and the bank.

Most times is pre-development/pre-sales but THAT is a double edge sword especially here in Trinidad with fly by night developers.

wing wrote:
centricgtr wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

Definitely not one of the usual 1%. This developer does his business without being flashy or showing off. As we all know, there are persons with many millions who don't feel the need to flaunt.

Wing is right. If the person is who I think it is, he's low key and doing real estate development for over 20 years.

Postby alfa » March 12th, 2024, 10:28 am

Looking like a school block, can't believe rich folks like to live in places like this

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » March 12th, 2024, 10:31 am

centricgtr wrote:Wow. First time im hearing of this company. I wonder which one percenter owns it

Normal person. A 'regular' local person. He has developments and townhouses under the same company name in parts of Sando and Gasparillo and maybe other places.

If you spoke with him you wouldn't think anything of him other than wondering about that weird accent he has. Not an influencer or yankee accent though.

Postby Habit7 » March 12th, 2024, 10:54 am

ProtonPowder wrote:
centricgtr wrote:Wow. First time im hearing of this company. I wonder which one percenter owns it

Normal person. A 'regular' local person. He has developments and townhouses under the same company name in parts of Sando and Gasparillo and maybe other places.

If you spoke with him you wouldn't think anything of him other than wondering about that weird accent he has. Not an influencer or yankee accent though.

Exactly, when I meant him, he was driving a Hilux (not the newest model).

Postby pugboy » March 12th, 2024, 11:12 am

yuh never see home solutions projects

alfa wrote:Looking like a school block, can't believe rich folks like to live in places like this

Postby j.o.e » March 12th, 2024, 11:40 am

alfa wrote:Looking like a school block, can't believe rich folks like to live in places like this

What do you consider rich ?

Postby eliteauto » March 12th, 2024, 11:44 am

pugboy wrote:yuh never see home solutions projects

Ent, looking like Brendan's Place without the patios. Most people chose these places for inside looks not outside

centricgtr

Postby centricgtr » March 12th, 2024, 5:32 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
pugboy wrote:cashing in time

Yes. Other times under the original landowner, the land status at T&C remains agricultural and that's how it is sold. Then something major happens, like a highway is built nearby for example, then T&C can entertain a status change.

Many times, the funds involved to have T&C approved land for residential is out of the original landowner's reach. If they want to sell, it's at agri prices, add in some "future potential" in that price and hope for someone to bite. A developer who sees the potential status change buys up.

centricgtr wrote:Any idea what you think it would cost to build something like that??

Projects like that can start from tens of millions to hundreds of millions of dollars. The key is really funding.

Some developers use their own money from start to finish, then sell at a profit.

Others use banks. Some it is a combination of the developer's funds and the bank.

Most times is pre-development/pre-sales but THAT is a double edge sword especially here in Trinidad with fly by night developers.

wing wrote:
centricgtr wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

Wing is right. If the person is who I think it is, he's low key and doing real estate development for over 20 years.

I found out who it is. A muslim man from princes town, not gonna say the name. From what they say, you could pass him on the road and think he is a regular ole joe. I guess it have some people in Trini with plenty plenty money but just humble with it.

centricgtr

Postby centricgtr » March 12th, 2024, 5:39 pm

Lol, but i find that looking like it belong in Miami. That too nice for sando

Postby pugboy » March 12th, 2024, 5:39 pm

actually princes town have a lot of “old money”
as well as other kinds too
but def lot of old money and if you look at the businesses there, many have been around a very long time

Postby Habit7 » March 12th, 2024, 6:21 pm

centricgtr wrote:

Tell me you don’t know Sando without saying you don’t know Sando

Postby pugboy » March 12th, 2024, 6:48 pm

nah them developers doh cut and paste designs

centricgtr

Postby centricgtr » March 12th, 2024, 7:09 pm

Habit7 wrote:
centricgtr wrote:

Tell me you don’t know Sando without saying you don’t know Sando

I tagged along with an agent who had a viewing in there already. They nice from outside but really really small for the price

centricgtr

Postby centricgtr » March 12th, 2024, 7:11 pm

I wonder how the 1% developers feelings now that they getting some stiff competition from these south boys

wing

Postby wing » March 12th, 2024, 8:22 pm

centricgtr wrote:I wonder how the 1% developers feelings now that they getting some stiff competition from these south boys
This particular developer doing this over 20 years now. Others have been doing the same as well, everyone has found their niche and prospering. I will advise you to not divulge his name, especially in the cesspool that is the ole talk forum.