Food prices to go up - Again?

V2NR 3.0

Food prices to go up - Again?

Postby V2NR 3.0 » January 5th, 2020, 2:11 pm

Am I reading this correctly ? Just saw a media release from the supermarket association.

Re: Food prices to go up - Again?

Postby bluefete » January 5th, 2020, 2:19 pm

Correct is right.

Flour, rice, rum to go up. That means bread, doubles, roti et al.

Due to increase in minimum wage and forex situation that is getting worse.
Last edited by bluefete on January 5th, 2020, 2:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » January 5th, 2020, 2:28 pm

bluefete wrote:Correct is right.

Flour, rice to go up. That means bread, doubles, roti et al.

I gave you all warnings in 2015.

Postby The_Honourable » January 5th, 2020, 2:32 pm

The Supermarket Association of Trinidad and Tobago(SATT) have noted that suppliers have signaled price increases to retailers at various points in 2019.The latest of these came in the closing week of 2019 as both Angostura Limited and National Flour Mills(NFM) signaled price increases in different categories of products to supermarkets nationwide. ©SATT 2020

Source: https://www.facebook.com/supermarketass ... 884365386/

Postby paid_influencer » January 5th, 2020, 4:00 pm

what does angustura and nfm sell in supermarket?

Postby maj. tom » January 5th, 2020, 4:07 pm

Once bodi and green vegetables at the fresh market eh go up.
But meats might go up though, because NFM animal feed?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 5th, 2020, 4:09 pm

Two ploi for increasing that minimum wage...

Postby hydroep » January 5th, 2020, 4:13 pm

Is times like this I glad I have meh li'l kitchen garden yes. It cyar insulate yuh 100% but every little bit helps....:cool:

Postby Rovin » January 5th, 2020, 4:40 pm

angostura is only liqueur so play yuh ravi b song [budget] & relax urself

NFM : is mostly rice , flour & oil , some things we all shud reduce in our diets ......

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » January 5th, 2020, 6:05 pm

brain's first reaction was.. "rum doubles??" :?

Postby Ben_spanna » January 5th, 2020, 6:35 pm

Why is it so hard to do?, just exercise your right and shop somewhere else.. a company doesn’t survive if they don’t have customers.

Postby pugboy » January 5th, 2020, 6:39 pm

so what are the items and increases?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » January 5th, 2020, 7:10 pm

Food prices going up is to be expected.

Shouldn't we really be moving to have our currency properly valued.
Eventually it will be the only choice left and then we'll see the true cost of everything.

Postby paid_influencer » January 5th, 2020, 8:41 pm

what I see happening is a two-tier forex system.

One tier (Pricesmart, Massy, Courts, ANSA, etc) enjoy the subsidized exchange rate (6.7:1) with very good availability thanks to their relationship with commercial banks.

The other tier has very tight restrictions on forex - very little or none available at the commercial banks and credit card limits being cut every year.

The system itself is rigged for one group of people to benefit.

Postby redmanjp » January 5th, 2020, 9:14 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:Why is it so hard to do?, just exercise your right and shop somewhere else.. a company doesn’t survive if they don’t have customers.

somewhere else? wouldn't this not affect all supermarkets? or does skybox ship down food from Amazon Whole Foods now?

Postby sMASH » January 5th, 2020, 9:38 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Ben_spanna wrote:Why is it so hard to do?, just exercise your right and shop somewhere else.. a company doesn’t survive if they don’t have customers.

somewhere else? wouldn't this not affect all supermarkets? or does skybox ship down food from Amazon Whole Foods now?

man selling one julie mango for $5 and getting 6 apples for $20. where ever is the best deal, take that.

this government keeping the USd cheap, but managing who getting it. that only means, their financiers getting preference t6 get, and at a favorable price, while the small people hadda suck salt.

the smartest people i know, shipping out.

me, i schupid, i like green fig and yam, and yard fowl.

Postby 88sins » January 6th, 2020, 12:38 am

The increase of the minimum wage has extremely little to do with it.
Remember, practically EVERYTHING we consume in this country is imported, and what little is manufactured here almost all uses of those products are made from imported raw materials. So unless every person living in Trinidad and Tobago can reach a high level of self sustainability with regards to feeding themselves with local foods, our forex situation won't improve. wheat, oil, sugar salt, man we so badly off we even importing ground provision. Yes there are local farmers but they does see real hell, they get almost zero state aid, and if you asked at any of the few large farms there are the owners will tell you that between weather, disease, and larceny, they collectively cannot fully supply the local market and they does ketch dey arse to clear a decent profit to make the effort worth it. Image, you put down 10 acres of crops in d middle of the dry season and pulling water from a river and WASA decides to confiscate your pumps. Or you plant in the rainy season and one flood wipe out your entire crop. And you not even getting help to buy seed to start over. Or thieves pass through, stealing crops, animals, equipment, etc.

I doestellpeople, no matter how small, plant something home. Don't matter if you have a big yard or a small yard or you living in a apartment. You could successfully plant and grow to harvest dasheen and eddoes in a bucket. Get a few pots and plant tomato or ochro or whatever you want.

We need to start producing and consuming locally and slack off the love for imported goods, food in particular.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » January 6th, 2020, 4:22 am

wuz d big deal?

angostura rum go up drink a next rum, it had a white lightning that similar to white oak
nfm flour go up buy nutramix
nfm oil go up it have plenty non nfm oil out dey, like members select etc, unless the supermarket itself raise all greedy greedy
the doubles men and food men will buy the cheapest and want to say price gone up so they have to increase is up to we a the customer to tell dem HYMC and doh buy. it have some cheap oil in a box i sure all dem using musbe 10 times if they could, most chicken roti using foreign tyson chicken and go say chicken expensive. IDK who bringing in the channa and other beans. but again in sweet trinidad and tobago, gas gone up hardly a beatup but when the double men increase the $6 or $7 then they hadda watch out cause people duz wah kill dem.
i jus wah see how much prices going up tho. dhal used to be $1 now is $3, a flour used to be $10 now is $12, bodi on the other hand is $10 ah pong yesterday so i go wait and see.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 6th, 2020, 5:03 am

The increase of the minimum wage has extremely little to do with it.
Remember, practically EVERYTHING we consume in this country is imported, and what little is manufactured here almost all uses of those products are made from imported raw materials. So unless every person living in Trinidad and Tobago can reach a high level of self sustainability with regards to feeding themselves with local foods, our forex situation won't improve. wheat, oil, sugar salt, man we so badly off we even importing ground provision. Yes there are local farmers but they does see real hell, they get almost zero state aid, and if you asked at any of the few large farms there are the owners will tell you that between weather, disease, and larceny, they collectively cannot fully supply the local market and they does ketch dey arse to clear a decent profit to make the effort worth it. Image, you put down 10 acres of crops in d middle of the dry season and pulling water from a river and WASA decides to confiscate your pumps. Or you plant in the rainy season and one flood wipe out your entire crop. And you not even getting help to buy seed to start over. Or thieves pass through, stealing crops, animals, equipment, etc.

I doestellpeople, no matter how small, plant something home. Don't matter if you have a big yard or a small yard or you living in a apartment. You could successfully plant and grow to harvest dasheen and eddoes in a bucket. Get a few pots and plant tomato or ochro or whatever you want.

We need to start producing and consuming locally and slack off the love for imported goods, food in particular.

may have little to do with the reality but it is the easiest thing to blame

for some people, that is slavery :agrue:

maxtech

Postby maxtech » January 6th, 2020, 6:49 am

You will be healthier not eating rice, flour, sugar and drinking rum we can survive with out that so they could increase the price to 100tt per/kg.

Research how they make flour, sugar and rice.

Knowledge is power

Postby 88sins » January 6th, 2020, 6:59 am

I hear yuh shakes, everyone looking for an excuse and a scapegoat, so the minimum wage increase is it this go around. But no matter who/what the peons choose to blame for this projected increase in the cost of food, they have mainly themselves to blame.

We here have had a long standing philosophy of "well we cyah eat d morney so what else we go do we hadda hush and keep buying", that is another thing that needs to change. Trinis are extremely lackadaisical and overly tolerant of things that they should be vehemently opposed to. I see no signs of that changing any time soon.

Postby zoom rader » January 6th, 2020, 7:13 am

Oh well I gonna apply for a food card/hamper and i walking with my recorder

Postby 88sins » January 6th, 2020, 8:16 am

zoom rader wrote:Oh well I gonna apply for a food card/hamper and i walking with my recorder

Walk with a stool, a umbrella, a big bottle of water, something to eat, and a diaper too. cuz dat line going to get longer than a donkey's herniated scrotum, so you go hadda cater for being there awhile. :lol:

and pray that when you reach it eh have no PNM tuners working there that know you by your tuner moniker.

Postby zoom rader » January 6th, 2020, 8:48 am

zoom rader wrote:Oh well I gonna apply for a food card/hamper and i walking with my recorder

Walk with a stool, a umbrella, a big bottle of water, something to eat, and a diaper too. cuz dat line going to get longer than a donkey's herniated scrotum, so you go hadda cater for being there awhile.

and pray that when you reach it eh have no PNM tuners working there that know you by your tuner moniker.
Well eliteauto for sure will be there so my black arse will be even darker

Postby maj. tom » January 8th, 2020, 4:34 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:Food prices going up is to be expected.

Shouldn't we really be moving to have our currency properly valued.
Eventually it will be the only choice left and then we'll see the true cost of everything.

I wonder if there is a way to check the real FOREX price of the USD to the TTD using Big Mac Economics. You use the cost of a Big Mac (and not combos or specials) and compare it to other places.
There is something called the Big Mac Index. They say you can also use the cost of a Starbucks coffee to do the same.

I am sure the real calculations are not as simple as dividing two numbers, but any qualified economists on Tuner want to give it a try? I have no idea the actual prices of either a Big Mac or a Starbucks coffee locally. https://github.com/TheEconomist/big-mac-data This is the program and data published by The Economist on how they did their calculations using Python.

Simpler explanation: https://youtu.be/5XdYbmova_s?t=24

Postby rspann » January 8th, 2020, 4:44 pm

I done alert all party groups to be on the lookout for you. Allyuh wearing yellow and playing games with the PNM.

Postby De Dragon » January 8th, 2020, 5:18 pm

rspann wrote:

I done alert all party groups to be on the lookout for you. Allyuh wearing yellow and playing games with the PNM.

span pull ah Glenda on we dey yes! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby rspann » January 8th, 2020, 7:47 pm

rspann wrote:

span pull ah Glenda on we dey yes! :lol: :lol: :lol:

No, is the principle. They too immoral, plus it wrong to tape people and put them up so. If you supporting UNC , stay hungry . She is the MP for PNM people only, not the whole constituency . Next thing they will want water and health care too.

Postby maj. tom » January 8th, 2020, 7:58 pm

rspann is election year eh, and i dunno if the true sardonic tone of your words is conveyed in these messages :lol:
next thing people start quoting yuh all in facebook and ting.

Postby 88sins » January 8th, 2020, 7:59 pm

@ maj. tom
The Big mac index is the gimmick nonsense method of quantifying the comparative value of currencies. Simplest way to get the closest estimates compare the price of commodities, specifically the price of precious metals such as gold ounce on the exchange or open market. One could use any other commodity as well, but gold prices are what most people use.

When a McDonalds franchise holder in a poor country with a high exchange rate has to pay corporate America in USD, import product and pay taxes on those imports, etc, and still turn a profit in order to stay open and remain viable, the price of that poor nation's product will forever be higher and thus will never reveal the true value of the poorer country's currency.