No Prices on Ads? Why?

oleskool

No Prices on Ads? Why?

Postby oleskool » October 24th, 2016, 2:16 pm

Why people don't just put the price on the thread when they selling cars etc.? you want to sell something so put ah price na man!!!!

donnysam

Re: No Prices on Ads? Why?

Postby donnysam » October 24th, 2016, 2:47 pm

Boi, you beatin a dead horse, i sayin this years now and other tuners as well. I just come to accept when a post has no price, i just move along.

Daran

Postby Daran » October 24th, 2016, 3:06 pm

Trini ppl still of the mindset that if you serious you'd contact them and they also don't want other ppl beating down their price too. Another motive is that they ain't no the value of their item so they want you to propose a price (horrible negotiating strategy).

Absolutely hate this and my own personal rule is if there is no price, I will never contact you.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » October 24th, 2016, 4:59 pm

Because different price for different folks.

d_dan

Postby d_dan » October 24th, 2016, 5:39 pm

Ok. Here's what happens, a seller takes the time to make an ad, uploads pics and puts a price on his item. Other sellers have a similar item for sale, but Instead of promoting their own ad they prefer jump on someone's thread and advertise their product for a little less. They may even inbox you and you WILL go to your inbox to read and even make a deal. So if you're interested in an item, why not just inbox a man if he has no price on his item? Is it so hard? Or even to send a whatsapp or text? Come on.

Postby eliteauto » October 24th, 2016, 5:45 pm

d_dan wrote:Ok. Here's what happens, a seller takes the time to make an ad, uploads pics and puts a price on his item. Other sellers have a similar item for sale, but Instead of promoting their own ad they prefer jump on someone's thread and advertise their product for a little less. They may even inbox you and you WILL go to your inbox to read and even make a deal. So if you're interested in an item, why not just inbox a man if he has no price on his item? Is it so hard? Or even to send a whatsapp or text? Come on.

I've seen this argument many times, you're basically saying, I hide my price because I'm afraid of competition, then you justify it to yourself by saying if you were serious you'd call. I've seen many use this tactic and post justification for it only to see the item remain on their hands for months

d_dan

Postby d_dan » October 24th, 2016, 5:53 pm

eliteauto wrote:
d_dan wrote:Ok. Here's what happens, a seller takes the time to make an ad, uploads pics and puts a price on his item. Other sellers have a similar item for sale, but Instead of promoting their own ad they prefer jump on someone's thread and advertise their product for a little less. They may even inbox you and you WILL go to your inbox to read and even make a deal. So if you're interested in an item, why not just inbox a man if he has no price on his item? Is it so hard? Or even to send a whatsapp or text? Come on.

I've seen this argument many times, you're basically saying, I hide my price because I'm afraid of competition, then you justify it to yourself by saying if you were serious you'd call. I've seen many use this tactic and post justification for it only to see the item remain on their hands for months

Any item I put on tuner for sale will have a price attached, reason being is that I don't pay to advertise anything here. I'm not a powerseller. However I have done some business via a Facebook page (paid) and I have had to ban and delete people who are trying to advertise their business (similar to mine) on a page that I'm paying for. Personally to me it's like you want to buy KFC but the place has no seating so u decide u want to go and eat your KFC in royal castle. Will they allow it? I doubt. But hey, u can give it a try.

Postby eliteauto » October 24th, 2016, 5:58 pm

your analogy is flawed, there is a difference between pricing your product and the use/consumption of the said product. Anything that makes the consumer experience easier is a positive regardless of the detractors, your banning of people on your page trying to piggyback off your sales is correct (eating KFC by RC) however both KFC and RC post their prices, they don't say "call for pricing or when yuh come in yuh go see"

d_dan

Postby d_dan » October 24th, 2016, 6:07 pm

eliteauto wrote:your analogy is flawed, there is a difference between pricing your product and the use/consumption of the said product. Anything that makes the consumer experience easier is a positive regardless of the detractors, your banning of people on your page trying to piggyback off your sales is correct (eating KFC by RC) however both KFC and RC post their prices, they don't say "call for pricing or when yuh come in yuh go see"

Fair enough, and I agree with most of what you're saying, but if someone has something that I'm interested in, or that I need, it's no problem for me to inbox, whatsapp or even call. That's just me though.

donnysam

Postby donnysam » October 24th, 2016, 6:24 pm

d_dan wrote:
eliteauto wrote:your analogy is flawed, there is a difference between pricing your product and the use/consumption of the said product. Anything that makes the consumer experience easier is a positive regardless of the detractors, your banning of people on your page trying to piggyback off your sales is correct (eating KFC by RC) however both KFC and RC post their prices, they don't say "call for pricing or when yuh come in yuh go see"

Fair enough, and I agree with most of what you're saying, but if someone has something that I'm interested in, or that I need, it's no problem for me to inbox, whatsapp or even call. That's just me though.

I get what ur saying and it all comes down to preference and what each potential buyer considers a waste of time. I Myself frequent tuner classified, not looking for anything most of the time and end up buying stuff because, even though i don't absolutely NEED it per say, it was a great deal. I know i'm not alone in this practice and persons with no prices posted completely miss this opportunity. Alas, it doesn't pose a problem for me because if you don't have a price and someone else has one that may be a higher price than what you *would* ask if someone called, that's a missed opportunity as well. I not debating why someone would not post a price, everyone thinks differently, i just sayin i just skip those posts altogether and apparently it's not just me.

Postby eliteauto » October 24th, 2016, 6:25 pm

d_dan wrote:

Same here, I don't make an issue in calling, but I look at things for both sides esp when I see enough potential sales being lost by what seems to turn buyers off. It's something I've seen discussed elsewhere with views for and against. IMO the arguments by sellers seem weak (or is it the sellers themselves are weak?) where they talk about negative reaction, price beatdown, etc. To me that's par for the course in business if you can't take criticism of your product/pricing then you either have bad pricing or lack the ability to stand by your product and it's pricing. Sellers say calling eliminates window shoppers, no it doesn't I could argue pricing does the same because it's either you're buying or you're not as you know what the price is. Honestly it comes down to what works for you, it's just that I've seen ppl be insistent on sticking to the no price policy yet the product is staying on their hands

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 24th, 2016, 9:18 pm

Because of u serious would call for price and follow up....too much jokers around u see...

Postby X_Factor » October 24th, 2016, 9:32 pm

i usually put a price..cant handle the numerous calls to find out price etc

Postby *KRONIK* » October 25th, 2016, 7:32 am

I see and have aboslutely no issue with putting prices.
If you are offering something for sale. The item must have a price attached so potential buyers can know if they can afford it or not.

From what i have realized, the persons who dont put a price usually are the ones who are calling too much and are afraid of criticism.
Also, some ppl crave attention.
They like getting calls and messages about their item which somehow makes them think its more desirable.
Eg. I had a padna post a car in the classified with pics a high price, just to see how much calls or PM he would get. And after he recieved a lot of positive comments and PM he say...."my car rel bad hoss, i glad i wasnt selling it!"

This dont apply to everyone eh...
But it have trinis with this mindset.
Besides, when u post a price you eliminate a portion of the window shoppers.

My $0.02

zdeternal

Postby zdeternal » October 25th, 2016, 8:06 am

someone taking over your post by placing a cheaper price does not mean they have a better product... cheap ting no good!

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 25th, 2016, 8:34 am

The classifieds here should have a template that users should follow.
When you create a new topic in the classified section, the structure of the post would already have been laid out.
This would include a section for pricing, contact information as well as pictures of the items being sold.

However, powersellers seem to overrun the car audio classifieds on this site, and it has become very messy in my opinion, as each has their own format.

Also keep in mind that there are rules for posting stuff for sale, the first of which is no lowballing, negative replies etc.
So I assume the mods can delete as they see fit.

baigan

Postby baigan » October 25th, 2016, 10:16 am

This is a completely diff scenario but there is a place I usually buy triathlon stuff from and they don't put prices on their products which is extremely annoying having to go to the desk every few mins to ask 'hey what's the price of this ?' just to see if it's a good deal, if it makes sense over another product etc
But they usually have good quality and good service so I just end up buying from them most of the time...
i honestly don't know why they don't put prices tho :/

I'd imagine online on here it's the same annoying feeling

Kronik

Postby Kronik » October 25th, 2016, 10:35 am

Once I don't see a price on a item for sale, I don't bother, unless I really really need that item. I also browse through the classifieds looking for deals, but once I see a post with no price, i not gonna bother. Worse yet when it have a thread with like 5 ppl asking the price with no response or response via PM.

If you price fair, why hide it? Hiding certain details of an item I understand, but put the most basic details, a price and a contact number (or respond to PM's promptly if no number)

Postby BrotherHood » October 25th, 2016, 10:43 am

I post all prices for items that I retail, along with other detailed information about said products. Whoever chooses not to post prices for whatever reason, that is their business and problem and they might have their valid reasons for such. However I know what I retail, know the quality of it and in my humble opinion, they are not overpriced, based on prices of similar items of the market that I have seen along with the service I provide for the price.

If one is fearful of beat down then they probably are not interested in selling their items. I have come to the realization that you cannot get away from beat down. Everyone wants a better price, including me at times as I am also a consumer.

racedriverpro

Re: RE: Re: No Prices on Ads? Why?

Postby racedriverpro » October 25th, 2016, 10:47 am

fouljuice wrote:Because different price for different folks.

Correct is right. Sound like an uneducated sufferer for best price.

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » October 25th, 2016, 12:33 pm

They probably have no social life/friends SO they enjoy getting a zillion calls a day asking for the price.

Daran

Postby Daran » October 25th, 2016, 4:11 pm

I've sold things on Facebook and 2nr before. All you do to avoid potential beat down is put the price and say, price negotiable. Then when an interested person calls you and offers say $95k instead of the $100k you were asking for, say well that's not a bad offer horse, but a man just offer me 97k etc.

Postby gastly369 » October 25th, 2016, 4:56 pm

I feel I does sell my ting to cheap n ppl fraid to buy :/

Postby A172 » October 25th, 2016, 5:57 pm

putting price is the easiest way to avoid a large percentage of pests/windowshoppers from even contacting u

this should be common sense

Postby Morpheus » October 25th, 2016, 6:26 pm

I put prices when I do sell stuff. Don't like, don't call.....

Also posts without prices I skip over. Me eh have time for that. I hardly call friends and family as it is lol

Re: RE: Re: No Prices on Ads? Why?

Postby *KRONIK* » October 25th, 2016, 6:41 pm

A172 wrote:putting price is the easiest way to avoid a large percentage of pests/windowshoppers from even contacting u

this should be common sense

THIS!