Safety of Local Cars

Postby Slartibartfast » May 22nd, 2015, 9:05 am

Just curious, want to hear views on the safety of cars commonly found on our roads. With the accidents happening everyday on our roads I am sure there are dozens of people out there that put a priority on the safety of their car.

HSA

Re: Safety of Local Cars

Postby HSA » May 22nd, 2015, 9:14 am

toyota ftw

Postby Slartibartfast » May 22nd, 2015, 9:22 am

What about subaru? Heard their "b" strut is tougher than any other to better resist severe deformation of the cabin during and accident.

I know AD wagons crumple like paper and I hear tiidas crumple like ADwagons yet a lot till swear by tiidas so idk

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 22nd, 2015, 9:25 am

bedford ftw

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » May 22nd, 2015, 9:33 am

altho i drive subaru, euro>all when it comes to safety

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 22nd, 2015, 9:38 am

All this bout tougher B pillar this and that is rumshop talk unless you go check out some crash test vids from various NCAP agencies online. Type of crash test also makes a difference. Full frontal and small overlap tests don't affect the B pillar for example but they stress a car design alot.

Also so what if a Tiida crumples? All modern cars are made to crumple. Crumpling dissipates energy.

Then you gonna have to check airbags and numbers of airbags. Might then have to look into systems that help prevent crashes like adaptive cruise control and pedestrian monitoring etc.

Safety also at what price point? The number of systems on a $180K gonna be different compared to one for $240K and similarly a difference versus a vehicle for $500K.

HSA

Postby HSA » May 22nd, 2015, 9:40 am

KiD wrote:altho i drive subaru, euro>all when it comes to safety

truth right there.....saw an impact between a beemer and a b14 a couple of years back...the beemer t boned the b14 at the front...b14 engine was in the road and the beemer radiator got damaged.... :shock:

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 22nd, 2015, 9:51 am

Oh and OP age of car makes a difference. A car that got 5 stars in 1999 would probably get a 2 in 2015. That's why one shouldn't take one off anecdotal stories of crash scenarios too much.

Postby Slartibartfast » May 22nd, 2015, 10:07 am

Crash tests can only simulate a limited number of real world scenarios. That's why I'm curious on people's opinions.

The B-Pillar thing is just something I read and I can see how it can help in an accident where the car flips over. Other than that I'm curious to hear how that and all other makes of cars fared in local accidents.

Also, I would let price point be a factor for whoever is reading this thread. I'm interested regardless of if someone talking about a B11 or a Ferrari. With the amount of local deaths on our roads I am just curious to see what cars offer a greater chance at survival should one be unfortunate enough to get into a serious accident and seeing that manufacturers don't have a "160kmph cross the median collide with a bus" crash test rating, I am mostly curious about real life local experiences to allow myself and the reader to form our own opinion.

As far as the tiida crumpling, I never crashed a tiida so it's all hearsay. I know about crumple zones, however, not all parts of safe cars are meant to crumple. If someone could tell me that a tiida crumples only in all the right places and severe accidents have a higher than expected survivability rate then I would allow that to form my opinion

TLDR: Thanks for your opinion BunnyEars. I understand the limitations of crash test ratings in relation to survivability in a accident on Trinidad's roads and have purposefully made my question vague to not guide the answers of other posters.

Postby Slartibartfast » May 22nd, 2015, 10:24 am

BTW, checking out the NCAP videos is a great idea. I agree that anecdotal info can't replace that info. I'm trying to get some real world info to supplement that info just for my own curiosity... and cuz it's Friday.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 22nd, 2015, 10:29 am

In that case euro>all

Postby Slartibartfast » May 22nd, 2015, 10:36 am

:lol: Sadly, I hardly see euro cars "tested" on our local roads.

Postby streetbeastINC. » May 22nd, 2015, 10:40 am

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MvunL8L ... ata_player tiidas are well constructed dont make dumb mistakes

Postby streetbeastINC. » May 22nd, 2015, 10:42 am

Bt50 rangers are death traps , saw a few headon wrecks and they crumpled exactly like the ncap vids display

Postby MG Man » May 22nd, 2015, 10:44 am

Slartibartfast wrote:Crash tests can only simulate a limited number of real world scenarios. That's why I'm curious on people's opinions.

peoples opinions are wildly inaccurate, ad oftentimes misguided
Case in point: the Elantra that rolled on the highway and lost its engine....all the 'experts' jump ad bawl 'oh look how dat car mash up and engine fly out...elantra is toots..'
Never mind the cabin structure remained intact, the engine was designed to drop out, and the driver walked away with minor bumps and bruises

Second case in point: I posted some NCAP crash vids, and some clown was carrying on about how strong the corolla was, and how the a-pillar never deformed....never mind the tuntun was looking at the door window frame, which popped out and stayed in shape while the a-pillar deformed

Third case in point 'if ah de wearin mih seatbelt, ah woulda dead'

you really wanna trust opinion vs NCAP? Go right ahead....just remember, when a car spins and ends up in the median, drivers will tell you their car flipped seventy-nine times in the air
:-/

Postby Slartibartfast » May 22nd, 2015, 10:50 am

:lol: Personally I was going to look at what made accidents fatal to see what real world conditions can exceed the safety features supplied by different cars. Also, I think a lot of survival stories can be chalked up to dumb luck... maybe I should edit the thread...

Postby j.o.e » May 22nd, 2015, 10:59 am

This is really lame rum shop talk for a Friday...gimme a few minutes to work on a Friday thread

Sundar

Postby Sundar » May 22nd, 2015, 11:42 am

maybe if jakarse driving on the roads are curbed, saftey rating of every single car would increase

Postby nervewrecker » May 22nd, 2015, 12:14 pm

j.o.e wrote:This is really lame rum shop talk for a Friday...gimme a few minutes to work on a Friday thread

Friday nws thread plz.

Postby desifemlove » May 22nd, 2015, 12:34 pm

iz toyota fault that people in trini does drive at 130 kph in wet rain?

or nissan or kia fault people does drive wit no seatbelt or wit dey chirren standing in de back seat?

if yuh chirren does die if in de back seat, contact toyota HQ in Japan and leh dem have a good laugh..... Point being most accidents down to driver error, not poor car design or shitty manufacturing.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 22nd, 2015, 1:53 pm

OP here is some anecdotal evidence:

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=615401&start=300#p8702633

Postby Slartibartfast » May 22nd, 2015, 2:15 pm

Clearly desifemlove is a retard with unlimited internet access so let me break it simply for you...

ME NO CARE BOUT CIRCUMSTANCES

ME ONLY CURIOUS ABOUT HOW CAR ACT IN CRASH IN REAL LIFE ON LOCAL ROAD

ME TRYING TO BURN 2 MORE HOURS BEFORE ME HEAD OUT OF OFFICE

carry on

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » May 23rd, 2015, 6:12 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Crash tests can only simulate a limited number of real world scenarios. That's why I'm curious on people's opinions.

Case in point: the Elantra that rolled on the highway and lost its engine....all the 'experts' jump ad bawl 'oh look how dat car mash up and engine fly out...elantra is toots..'
Never mind the cabin structure remained intact, the engine was designed to drop out, and the driver walked away with minor bumps and bruises

Second case in point: I posted some NCAP crash vids, and some clown was carrying on about how strong the corolla was, and how the a-pillar never deformed....never mind the tuntun was looking at the door window frame, which popped out and stayed in shape while the a-pillar deformed

you really wanna trust opinion vs NCAP? Go right ahead....just remember, when a car spins and ends up in the median, drivers will tell you their car flipped seventy-nine times in the air

:shock: engine fly Out!

So......just imagine this scenario, Elantra crash, engine fly out, owner of Elantra walks away with minor injuries, only to realize engine flyin to another car killing occupant.
Is this car still considered safe?

Postby Slartibartfast » May 23rd, 2015, 7:37 pm

I know there some cars design the engine to dismount and slide under the cabin (reinforced firewall I assume) during a massive frontal impact so that the engine bay can crumple and dissipate more energy. But flying out really does seem iffy

Postby rspann » May 23rd, 2015, 7:58 pm

I am working on an MK6 jetta that hit the guardrail on the highway and removed two of them, yet when the outer skin on the side was removed there was no structural damage to the inner post and rocker panel. Another one turned over and the damage was only on the roof skin,the posts and roof rails hardly even moved. Euros use boron steel as a middle layer for strength, you cant even straighten that with a hammer.
Last edited by rspann on May 23rd, 2015, 8:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rspann » May 23rd, 2015, 8:03 pm

hot_shaped_steels1__details.jpg
hot_shaped_steels1__details.jpg (12.61 KiB) Viewed 4303 times
This is for the audis.They ,like other euros use hot stamping of boron steel parts which offer superior safety in accidents. It's like having a roll cage.
2015_Audi_A3-Sedan-Body-Structure-Extrication-Hot-Stamped.jpg
hot_shaped_steels2__details.jpg
hot_shaped_steels2__details.jpg (32.43 KiB) Viewed 4303 times

Postby adnj » May 23rd, 2015, 8:12 pm

IIHS looks at NCAP worldwide and adds information from actual crashes on the road. Mazda 3, A6 and Imprezza were recent top picks. One of the the safest brands for the last 15 years is Volvo.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » May 23rd, 2015, 10:38 pm

The shoe fits and I put it on. I will admit I was wrong, I realised I watched a full frontal corolla test and made my ignorant statement by comparing it to the overlap test of the Elantra.

OP, I've never crashed my corolla so I can't say for that but my gf's 09 Impreza did run into a truck at about 50km/h in a situation similar to an overlap test and the car held up very well, no chassis damage, no damage to the cabin at all and no injuries at all to the driver. The repair was quite simple in fact. The most expensive part was having to buy a left EL15 head as it was warped in the hit.

Postby 88sins » May 24th, 2015, 11:08 am

Most local cars safe.

If you want something to worry about, worry about the new crop of idiots coming out of LO with a drivers permit that hurry to buy cars yet couldn't drive a fly with a case of baygon

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » May 24th, 2015, 8:46 pm

88sins wrote:Most local cars safe.

If you want something to worry about, worry about the new crop of idiots coming out of LO with a drivers permit that hurry to buy cars yet couldn't drive a fly with a case of baygon

Well said...