election wish list...

Postby desifemlove » March 20th, 2015, 7:51 pm

would vote PNM OR UNC if dis:

- paramilitary force/merger of regiment and police. Separation doesn't make sense due to no wars. Has Trinidad ever actually fought a war? Will it any time soon? Regiment has 2000 officers/enlisted people, this is a lot to supplement them.

- railway lines, in north from Town to Grande, central in Chaguanas, Couva, Cunupia, and Tabaquite, and south line from Icacos through all towns/cities to Mayaro.

- Lessened income tax and property tax on house size to fund local govt/THA. Or a proper legally enforced formula of funds for each Corp/THA.

- change constitution with just one parliamentary house of 51 seats, change of voting system to a hybrid of FPTP and PR (no run-off BS..) and and more referenda. First should be to legalise weed.

Re: election wish list...

Postby pugboy » March 20th, 2015, 8:01 pm

Kfc closer to home

TriP

Postby TriP » March 22nd, 2015, 12:02 pm

Railway
rail.jpg

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 23rd, 2015, 12:19 am

more emphasis on renewable energy and agriculture

once we have that, everything else will fall in place

Postby Ronaldo95163 » March 23rd, 2015, 12:32 am

Removal of import restrictions wrt vehicles

Postby stev » March 23rd, 2015, 12:55 am

desifemlove wrote:- paramilitary force/merger of regiment and police. Separation doesn't make sense due to no wars. Has Trinidad ever actually fought a war? Will it any time soon? Regiment has 2000 officers/enlisted people, this is a lot to supplement them.

agreed...as far as i know Trinidad and Tobago has no quarrel with any other country...even if one were to arise in the future the United Nations won't allow it.

renewable energy sources + agriculture can be just as expensive as a railway system by itself....the disadvantage of the railway system of course being the amount of money needed to maintain it (up to global standards).

should the government look at relocating or splitting up major offices located in major towns like POS? (decentralize businesses)

...btw, will Trinidad ever get to a point where the US exchange rate is lower than 6.1? :|

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » March 23rd, 2015, 2:05 am

rowley/PNM death

orangefox

Postby orangefox » March 23rd, 2015, 2:33 am

Guns and ammo for the business community ..
Glock 43 single stack sub compact 9mm for all ..

Postby 88sins » March 23rd, 2015, 6:23 pm

desifemlove wrote:would vote PNM OR UNC if dis:
- paramilitary force/merger of regiment and police. Separation doesn't make sense due to no wars. Has Trinidad ever actually fought a war? Will it any time soon? Regiment has 2000 officers/enlisted people, this is a lot to supplement them.

ttdf & ttps are separate for more than a few very good reasons, & I won't get into all of them here but I'll give you one.
Picture a foreign military force enters T&T & the paramilitary either got too soft or to is tired from active daily duty to put up much resistance.

desifemlove wrote:- railway lines, in north from Town to Grande, central in Chaguanas, Couva, Cunupia, and Tabaquite, and south line from Icacos through all towns/cities to Mayaro.

this=lifesport x infinitum=fail
Where the hell you feel they gonna find the resources for that kinda project(that gonna take at least 3 decades t complete going by trini productivity standards). & that's not considering the cost/benefit aspect of the equation. & that is rails & multiple stations you talkin about, not to mention a repair yard. Too much cost, not enough benefit. T&T too small population & landmass wise for that. add to that the need for policing on the conveyance & at each station.

desifemlove wrote:- Lessened income tax and property tax on house size to fund local govt/THA. Or a proper legally enforced formula of funds for each Corp/THA.

I would agree with a reduction in income tax, & even a staggered increase in taxation, especially if corporate TIT is included & taxed according to their net profits. But this will never happen, & is not because of all that rubbish talk about stifling the industrial/commercial/business sector. Politicians & their ppl will not keep their gains acquired from the practice of profiteering, & they eh come out to be havin that

desifemlove wrote:- change constitution with just one parliamentary house of 51 seats, change of voting system to a hybrid of FPTP and PR (no run-off BS..) and and more referenda. First should be to legalise weed

before they do that, I just want to see a theivin politician & all who benefit from their theft make a jail & get their assets seized.

Postby stev » March 23rd, 2015, 8:12 pm

88sins wrote:tdf & ttps are separate for more than a few very good reasons, & I won't get into all of them here but I'll give you one.
Picture a foreign military force enters T&T & the paramilitary either got too soft or to is tired from active daily duty to put up much resistance.

no disrespect to you or TTDF but seriously....when last u saw the current soldiers in trinidad?

85% do not look like soldiers....and 95% or that 85% all look like 25 years or younger.

T&T will only stand a chance if the the 'foreign army' battles us in a marching competition.

...thats just MY opinion...someone correct me if i am wrong.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 23rd, 2015, 8:31 pm

stev wrote:T&T will only stand a chance if the the 'foreign army' battles us in a marching competition
oh goar :lol:

York

Postby York » March 23rd, 2015, 9:22 pm

stev wrote:
88sins wrote:tdf & ttps are separate for more than a few very good reasons, & I won't get into all of them here but I'll give you one.

no disrespect to you or TTDF but seriously....when last u saw the current soldiers in trinidad?

85% do not look like soldiers....and 95% or that 85% all look like 25 years or younger.

T&T will only stand a chance if the the 'foreign army' battles us in a marching competition.

...thats just MY opinion...someone correct me if i am wrong.

dey get fed and paid for joining a gym/boot camp? they better than politicians yes...

Postby Morpheus » March 23rd, 2015, 9:46 pm

stev wrote:T&T will only stand a chance if the the 'foreign army' battles us in a marching competition
oh goar :lol:

LoL gross disrespect :lol:

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » March 23rd, 2015, 10:00 pm

Legalise d herbs

Postby De Dragon » March 23rd, 2015, 10:09 pm

A chicken in every pot, and a cavalli in every bed!

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » March 23rd, 2015, 11:50 pm

Box drain contract!

Postby desifemlove » March 24th, 2015, 12:03 pm

desifemlove wrote:would vote PNM OR UNC if dis:

ttdf & ttps are separate for more than a few very good reasons, & I won't get into all of them here but I'll give you one.

desifemlove wrote:- railway lines, in north from Town to Grande, central in Chaguanas, Couva, Cunupia, and Tabaquite, and south line from Icacos through all towns/cities to Mayaro.

this=lifesport x infinitum=fail
Where the hell you feel they gonna find the resources for that kinda project(that gonna take at least 3 decades t complete going by trini productivity standards). & that's not considering the cost/benefit aspect of the equation. & that is rails & multiple stations you talkin about, not to mention a repair yard. Too much cost, not enough benefit. T&T too small population & landmass wise for that. add to that the need for policing on the conveyance & at each station.

desifemlove wrote:- Lessened income tax and property tax on house size to fund local govt/THA. Or a proper legally enforced formula of funds for each Corp/THA.

I would agree with a reduction in income tax, & even a staggered increase in taxation, especially if corporate TIT is included & taxed according to their net profits. But this will never happen, & is not because of all that rubbish talk about stifling the industrial/commercial/business sector. Politicians & their ppl will not keep their gains acquired from the practice of profiteering, & they eh come out to be havin that

desifemlove wrote:- change constitution with just one parliamentary house of 51 seats, change of voting system to a hybrid of FPTP and PR (no run-off BS..) and and more referenda. First should be to legalise weed

before they do that, I just want to see a theivin politician & all who benefit from their theft make a jail & get their assets seized.

Erm..as tings is now which country coukd de regiment defend against? we have no tanks, planes, no air force and no carriers. And what yuhntink us army does when notnin iraq, or afghanistan? Training cotinuously? any real difference? Is canadian army sheit cos it ent faced a major war in decades?

And rail, why not? Reliance on cars ent wukking.

And true politicians too greedy and corrupt.

Postby Slartibartfast » March 24th, 2015, 12:23 pm

If they are to join the military and police then do so only after the military personnel are properly trained to deal with civilians.

I don't mind having the military be used like how SWAT used to be used in the states. If that's what you mean then cool, no probs. If you mean giving them powers of arrest and have them to regular traffic stops and respond to accidents and domestic disturbances, then I would say a lot more thought would have to go into it before you get my vote.

Postby 88sins » March 24th, 2015, 12:42 pm

desifemlove wrote:Erm..as tings is now which country coukd de regiment defend against? we have no tanks, planes, no air force and no carriers. And what yuhntink us army does when notnin iraq, or afghanistan? Training cotinuously? any real difference? Is canadian army sheit cos it ent faced a major war in decades?

And rail, why not? Reliance on cars ent wukking.

And true politicians too greedy and corrupt.

Son, in war, your 2 greatest assets are manpower & strategy. Equipment & artillery are effectively useless without a substantial amount & quality of both those things. & not having fought in a war recently does not equate into being unable to launch a defensive or offensive strike.

Reliance on cars isn't working, but can be greatly improved to the point that it does. The only thing delaying improvement is trini selfish short-term guided mentality & piss poor development planning & strategy formulation by those in office.

Postby j.o.e » March 24th, 2015, 4:53 pm

Rapid Rail..... no amount of new roads will help us. Give ppl a viable transportation alternative and let folks pay the full price of automobile ownership.
Productivity will sky rocket and labour and real estate prices will normalize. No benefit to paying exorbitant rent in particular areas when most places become 20 mins apart.

richgold1000

Postby richgold1000 » March 24th, 2015, 6:30 pm

Make contract workers permanent in service

Postby sliderz1 » March 24th, 2015, 9:01 pm

lol@ property tax

when growley come back tek property tax iymc

Postby pete » March 25th, 2015, 8:20 am

Paving in between the lanes of the highway to be used as a bus lane, separated by barriers for one way traffic of buses from major hubs, chaguanas, sando etc so that buses can get where they need to go without any traffic.

Postby 88sins » March 25th, 2015, 9:09 am

If after 30+ years they still can't master the technique of maintaining a fleet of buses, allyuh really think they would know how to run & maintain a mass commuter transit shuttle like a rapid rail :lol:

& the next thing is when it breaks down, & it will eventually, what the commuters supposed to do then? keep in mind that such a system would need multiple trains in the event of a failure, so one could take up the slack created by another & these things not cheap. & guess how they going to recover the acquisition & maintenance costs?

Anywho, I hope all you rapid rail ranters could afford to pay to use it.

Postby desifemlove » March 25th, 2015, 9:56 am

could be a tram or light rail. or get a foreign company to run it. either way, cars upon cars cyah work in long term.

Postby 88sins » March 25th, 2015, 10:08 am

do like China, wncourage the use of bicycles.

cheap to upkeep, environmentally friendly, no traffic, promotes exercise & physical wellness & deodorant sales

orangefox

Postby orangefox » March 25th, 2015, 1:20 pm

88sins wrote:do like China, wncourage the use of bicycles.

cheap to upkeep, environmentally friendly, no traffic, promotes exercise & physical wellness & deodorant sales

Rapid Rail ... Bike my a$$

Where you living in the 1920's ?

Postby desifemlove » March 25th, 2015, 1:48 pm

bikes could work. and considering trinis drive very short distances, like from KFC chag to Ramsaran Street Chag., we could do worse.

Postby Slartibartfast » March 25th, 2015, 2:12 pm

If my workplace had a shower and changing room I would gladly take my bicycle to and from work. And I talking about central to POS.

Postby pete » March 25th, 2015, 2:17 pm

Better thing would be bike to bus terminal and bus to town IMHO.