Anyone know how to clean silver?

fluffykinz

Anyone know how to clean silver?

Postby fluffykinz » May 10th, 2014, 8:15 pm

Need some help cleaning some silver jewelry I have. Would rather clean them myself at home. Can anyone offer some help? Thanks in advance

Re: Anyone know how to clean silver?

Postby cinco » May 10th, 2014, 8:37 pm

Boil in an aluminum pot with salt and baking soda.
Do not use a non stick pot

Average

Postby Average » May 10th, 2014, 8:41 pm

Try any one of these

Toothpaste and a firm toothbrush.
Brasso.
Mothers polish.

Postby supercharged turbo » May 10th, 2014, 8:46 pm

Squeezy and water

Postby 1UZFE » May 10th, 2014, 8:48 pm

Op yuh neck hav rel mock awah?

Postby Hook » May 10th, 2014, 9:19 pm

Put silver in a bowl with aluminium foil and baking soda.
Pour boiling water on it.
Wait for fizzing to stop.
Rinse in cold water.
Have a beer.

4a70

Postby 4a70 » May 10th, 2014, 10:05 pm

Silvo and cloth... or jewelry store

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 10th, 2014, 11:33 pm

http://www.amazon.com/Weiman-Jewelry-Cl ... 002YC83MO/

the review says "This jewelry cleaner worked great on my silver, gold, and diamond jewelry. All you do is put your jewelry in a basket and swirl it around in the cleaner and let it soak for a few minutes. Then you take it out and you can scrub it with the small brush that comes with the cleaner, although you probably won't need to. Then just rinse with water and dry. It made my jewelry look brand sparkling new."

negus

Postby negus » May 10th, 2014, 11:37 pm

Toothpaste

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » May 11th, 2014, 6:31 am

rub it up with some pepper leaf

hindian

Postby hindian » May 11th, 2014, 6:54 am

Hook wrote:Put silver in a bowl with aluminium foil and baking soda.
Rinse in cold water.
Have a beer.

This.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » May 11th, 2014, 7:39 am

I got a Polishing Cloth I think Sunshine is the brand , Hard work but it works .

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 11th, 2014, 8:20 am

soak it in muriatic acid

the acid will react with the oxide layer on the silver thus exposing shiny virgin silver

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » May 11th, 2014, 8:21 am

Rinse in cold water.
Have a beer.

This method is pretty effective.... Ive done it before... Also when placing the foil in the pot its better to put a layer at the bottom then shred the foil in smaller pieces on top then add the baking soda.... After you pour the boiling water let it settle for about 3 minutes then take it out and if you find it needs more cleaning use a toothbrush and scrub it in that same water....

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » May 11th, 2014, 8:39 am

Rinse in cold water.
Have a beer.

+1 best way to clean silver.

negus

Postby negus » May 11th, 2014, 9:16 am

Silver ? With gold

TriP

Postby TriP » May 11th, 2014, 9:22 am

-Roach- wrote:
Rinse in cold water.
Have a beer.

This method is pretty effective.... Ive done it before... Also when placing the foil in the pot its better to put a layer at the bottom then shred the foil in smaller pieces on top then add the baking soda.... After you pour the boiling water let it settle for about 3 minutes then take it out and if you find it needs more cleaning use a toothbrush and scrub it in that same water....

thumbs up on this 8-)

Postby javishm » May 11th, 2014, 10:08 am

-Roach- wrote:
Rinse in cold water.
Have a beer.

You have to have a beer before you start as well

Postby Hook » May 11th, 2014, 10:40 am

^^^ Ya done forkin kno!!!
*has another beer*

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » May 11th, 2014, 12:29 pm

1UZFE wrote:Op yuh neck hav rel mock awah?

hahahahahahahahahahaha

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 11th, 2014, 3:42 pm

put in ketchup or in black seet jink...

fluffykinz

Postby fluffykinz » May 11th, 2014, 6:46 pm

Rinse in cold water.
Have a beer.

Many Thanks guys ..this worked good for me. The help was greatly appreciated. Will also consider investing into the jewelry cleaner since its on sale 8-)

DjDaniel

Postby DjDaniel » May 12th, 2014, 10:57 am

Have to try Hook's method, I used to always clean my silver with toothpaste.. :lol: lol :oops: :oops:

hindian

Postby hindian » May 12th, 2014, 11:13 am

Autosol works wonders as well...

Postby Hook » May 12th, 2014, 11:17 am

Ditto on the autosol, but I'd use it for larger pieces like thick ID bands or pendants with not too much detail, as you have to wipe/rub/buff out the autosol for it to be effective. It doesn't wash off like toothpaste.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 12th, 2014, 12:17 pm

Toothpaste by itself has always done the job for me. Tried the Muriatic Acid which also does a good cleaning however its results are similar to the toothpaste and I rather not risk using a corrosive chemical if I do not have too.

Postby Hook » May 13th, 2014, 7:16 am

Don't you still have to soak it in a baking soda solution to neutralize the acid after the cleaning?

I kinda weird about using the acid, but I was told it's what the jewellery stores use.

silver

Postby silver » May 13th, 2014, 9:23 am

I does jus bade

Postby javishm » May 13th, 2014, 9:35 am

silver wrote:I does jus bade

Only nasty people does do that :shock: