KURMAman

The future of tyre design

Postby KURMAman » December 29th, 2012, 2:45 pm

Re: The future of tyre design

Postby sharkman121 » December 29th, 2012, 3:01 pm

fkin sweet... i know its a concept design but how practical would this be though in terms of price and efficiency?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 29th, 2012, 3:18 pm

sharkman121 wrote:fkin sweet... i know its a concept design but how practical would this be though in terms of price and efficiency?
a guy riding on a wooden wheeled wagon probably thought the same thing when he saw a prototype for a rubber pneumatic tyre

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » December 29th, 2012, 3:20 pm

:faint:

Postby sharkman121 » December 29th, 2012, 3:28 pm

sharkman121 wrote:fkin sweet... i know its a concept design but how practical would this be though in terms of price and efficiency?
a guy riding on a wooden wheeled wagon probably thought the same thing when he saw a prototype for a rubber pneumatic tyre

yeh probably..

Postby Habit7 » December 29th, 2012, 3:29 pm

Animation is one thing, real world practicality is another.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » December 29th, 2012, 3:36 pm

At least some ppl being innovative. We will never move forward unless we try new things and push boundaries to the limits and beyond.

Apart from that, it looks sooooo cooooool :turn-l:

SweeP

Postby SweeP » December 29th, 2012, 3:39 pm

so dat like ah rim an tyre together ?? an de bolt up lookin strange like how formula 1 does be with de 1 piece bolt up!!

Postby bluesteel29 » December 29th, 2012, 3:55 pm

:shock: :shock:
this win

zorced

Postby zorced » December 29th, 2012, 4:20 pm

was only a matter of time before some great minds establish this.

I wander how affordable they'll be by the time they get hold of the market majority.

secret_service

Postby secret_service » December 29th, 2012, 4:42 pm

Hmmm.... The student who won the 3rd place best tire concept used to live in Trinidad before imported used tires took over the market or Wat.

His concept of the future tire seem very familiar to my childhood days

Concept Tires wrote:Third-placed Miranda Steinhauser's proposal for an eco-friendly tyre also impressed the competition judges.

The Tessela tyre's easily removable tread components allow consumers to replace worn-out tread when required, rather than the whole tyre carcass, reducing tyre waste and landfill.

Postby shogun » December 29th, 2012, 4:49 pm

Habit7 wrote:Animation is one thing, real world practicality is another.

prototypes will always have to evolve and go through trial and error, before they're ready for real world application.

Cool stuff.

Postby black start » December 29th, 2012, 5:42 pm

seems as though cars will have to be redesigned to accommodate these types of tyres.

The concept behind it is great though. Who wouldn't want improved ride quality and fuel efficiency?
Oh wait, the guys with craomz won't.

Also, will the price still be 200 for a foreign used?

SweeP

Postby SweeP » December 29th, 2012, 6:14 pm

black start wrote:seems as though cars will have to be redesigned to accommodate these types of tyres.

The concept behind it is great though. Who wouldn't want improved ride quality and fuel efficiency?
Oh wait, the guys with craomz won't.

Also, will the price still be 200 for a foreign used?

from de look of dat design yuh go hadda sell yuh car to buy dat tyre!!!!

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 29th, 2012, 6:23 pm

Looks like braking systems would have to be redesigned for this to work. (But it seems it should work fine on electric drive/electric braking)

Postby Habit7 » December 29th, 2012, 6:25 pm

shogun wrote:

prototypes will always have to evolve and go through trial and error, before they're ready for real world application.

Cool stuff.

Yeah I understand that, but if we were to believe videos from before the 90's we should travelling in flying cars by now.

Plus I would love to know where the extra energy is going to come from to power four super electromagnets while causing them not to accumulate every iron particle on a roadway or even a neighbouring car.

Postby nervewrecker » December 29th, 2012, 6:56 pm

Habit7 wrote:
shogun wrote:

Cool stuff.

Yeah I understand that, but if we were to believe videos from before the 90's we should travelling in flying cars by now.

Plus I would love to know where the extra energy is going to come from to power four super electromagnets while causing them not to accumulate every iron particle on a roadway or even a neighbouring car.

you also left out that fact that:

neo magnets now cost pound and a crown

why make a durable rim, tyre and some sort of suspension in one when you can make them separate and less durable so more $$$ can be made and jobs created.

If we always went with what is best and durable we would all be driving hybrids, solar or electric cars by now. The technology is available but it remains expensive to keep us bound to oil and gas for the obvious reasons.

Concept is hella cool though.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 30th, 2012, 12:46 am

amazing ...but always believed that future cars would be tireless...u know like in the jetsons.....lol......

lostallos101

Postby lostallos101 » December 30th, 2012, 5:17 am

ideas bring innovation which bring concepts and in most cases become reality....hope this follows, who knows what the future can hold....who knew now would be like this 50 years ago

Postby sMASH » December 30th, 2012, 10:15 am

i was thinking about something close to the off-road concept. the sport concept, i saw something verrrrry close to that on some monster bike which actually has 4 wheels; two in front and in the back but each in the pair is side by side, just like in the concept video. it was done like that because the bike is too heavy to be standing on single tyres. when moving, each tyre can articulate by it self to maintain the balance and traction.

most of these tyre/wheel concepts seem to be vehicle specific. yuh cyar juss go down de road and drop on a set on the 'rolla.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 30th, 2012, 11:42 am

I LIKE!!!!!!!

ADONI

Postby ADONI » December 31st, 2012, 10:38 am

Still waiting on this tyre...
michelin3.jpg

SweeP

Postby SweeP » December 31st, 2012, 3:05 pm

^ looks like de same concept design
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » December 31st, 2012, 3:43 pm

Ah wonder wen i goh get dat foreign used dey bai....

I wanna see someone invent an anti pothole tire

lostallos101

Postby lostallos101 » December 31st, 2012, 4:13 pm

what if you are moving at a high rate of speed and hit a pothole??? would it still work like dat?

Postby javishm » December 31st, 2012, 4:28 pm

sweett

xaira

Postby xaira » December 31st, 2012, 11:13 pm

the magnet tyre, while a good thought is completely impractical due to the fact that the actual tire is not connected to the axle, the axle will spin, the tire wont, unless they can make the tyre the actual motion generator, other than that its competely impractical

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » December 31st, 2012, 11:28 pm

Happy a Goodyear... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Hook » January 1st, 2013, 7:52 am

I'm curious as to whether speed-hump design will evolve in step with these new tyre concepts.

It's only a matter of time before 'PH' drivers will have these.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 1st, 2013, 9:11 am

sMASH wrote:i was thinking about something close to the off-road concept. the sport concept, i saw something verrrrry close to that on some monster bike which actually has 4 wheels; two in front and in the back but each in the pair is side by side, just like in the concept video. it was done like that because the bike is too heavy to be standing on single tyres. when moving, each tyre can articulate by it self to maintain the balance and traction.

most of these tyre/wheel concepts seem to be vehicle specific. yuh cyar juss go down de road and drop on a set on the 'rolla.

this u talking bout??