Computer Science at UWI

tui67

Computer Science at UWI

Postby tui67 » December 5th, 2012, 8:40 pm

Any of you did Bsc. Computer Science at UWI ? Can you share your experience, was it hard ? A lot of sleepless nights ? Are the lecturers good ? etc. Thanks in advance !

urabus

Re: Computer Science at UWI

Postby urabus » December 5th, 2012, 8:43 pm

OMG...I cried alot!

Postby ismithx » December 5th, 2012, 8:46 pm

saw this on 9gag recently...

Exam times:

tui67

Postby tui67 » December 5th, 2012, 8:47 pm

OMG, was it THAT bad ?

ztune

Postby ztune » December 5th, 2012, 8:52 pm

The department has good lecturers and now some younger ones in the mix. its up to you to know if you going to learn or to make it "difficult".

Computer science students often do management with Comp Sci to get away from the intense computer stuff. Think its a bit easier that way.

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » December 5th, 2012, 9:42 pm

CompSci is not IT eh......so dont go with dat expectation... it intense...better be rdy to do work...some courses have a pass rate of less than 20%...mix that with GPA scores of zero when u fail....better go with the intention to do work

Postby black start » December 5th, 2012, 10:38 pm

^20% is a high pass rate bro.

Postby rfari » December 5th, 2012, 10:53 pm

OP be a man and do elec

Postby black start » December 5th, 2012, 11:14 pm

rfari wrote:OP be a man and do elec

if he hada wear back strap just talking about comsci, you really feel he able w.....*ss hdd to back of head*

Postby rfari » December 5th, 2012, 11:56 pm

lost soul wrote:

if he hada wear back strap just talking about comsci, you really feel he able w.....*ss hdd to back of head*

:grin: life issa challenge OP hadda man_up

Postby S_2NR » December 6th, 2012, 12:03 am

oh mother kant man, use the search function na.

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 6th, 2012, 7:21 am

from what I hear, it's a lot of maths

I will ask some people for more info

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » December 6th, 2012, 9:03 am

It have one course that ran in summer that my friend taught, everyone failed it convincingly...

its epic programming.. so dont confuse it with CXC I.T. " what is a processor? what is a mouse?" etc

Postby Bizzare » December 6th, 2012, 9:16 am

easy stuff meng..... ignore that naysayers

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 6th, 2012, 9:24 am

if u don't like programming, don't even bother

Postby teems1 » December 6th, 2012, 9:47 am

Arguably the toughest course in UWI is Design and Analysis of Algorithms, which is a core fore Comp Sci students.

Always remember, maths with numbers is much much easier than maths with letters....

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 6th, 2012, 9:48 am

op,eet have nuttin easy in uwi, everything is sleepless nights.

tui67

Postby tui67 » December 6th, 2012, 9:58 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:from what I hear, it's a lot of maths

I will ask some people for more info

Thanks !!

Postby rfari » December 6th, 2012, 10:09 am

teems1 wrote:

Arguably the toughest course in UWI is Design and Analysis of Algorithms, which is a core fore Comp Sci students.

Always remember, maths with numbers is much much easier than maths with letters....

First time i hear about tht course. But how come elec men does fail half dey courses in year den go over to comp sci and bussup and win out dem department prize and ting?

Postby black start » December 6th, 2012, 10:17 am

rfari wrote:
teems1 wrote:

First time i hear about tht course. But how come elec men does fail half dey courses in year den go over to comp sci and bussup and win out dem department prize and ting?

low im nuh....

Always remember the entry requirements guys. Its an indicator of the intensity of the programme.

trinivampire

Postby trinivampire » December 6th, 2012, 10:03 pm

can anyone give me a simple pros and cons between the It degrees offered at:
1) cts, sbsc, sams etc
2) uwi
3) utt

Postby Trini Hookah » December 6th, 2012, 11:42 pm

lost soul wrote:
rfari wrote:
teems1 wrote:

low im nuh....

Always remember the entry requirements guys. Its an indicator of the intensity of the programme.

But Elec is the same requirements as our Dept. though :|

Postby DFC » December 6th, 2012, 11:49 pm

Com Sci is a very saturated field right now, and graduates are not getting jobs easily.

And alot of companies are hiring IT guys on 1 year contracts only.

And sometimes you sit down in your corner, thinking about how hard you studied, how much sacrifice you made to obtain this degree....how hard it is to get permanent employment...

and an 18 yr old kid with a 9month diploma from utt making $8000 more than you every month.
1311546162233.jpg
1311546162233.jpg (40.11 KiB) Viewed 3649 times

Postby black start » December 7th, 2012, 12:23 am

Trini Hookah wrote:
lost soul wrote:
rfari wrote:
teems1 wrote:

low im nuh....

I was more speaking with respect to the other faculties.

My gf did her degree in nat sci. Two classes for the day on some days, classes done by 10 on others, sometimes lab till six.

eng year one, class 8 till 8, thank good for lunch time 12-1 for meh to consume meh smokey's. :|

Postby S_2NR » December 7th, 2012, 12:25 am

why every uwi related thread must turn into an engineering vs (insert degree OP asked about here) ?

Postby black start » December 7th, 2012, 12:44 am

S_2NR wrote:why every uwi related thread must turn into an engineering vs (insert degree OP asked about here) ?

teems1 wrote:

it does start like this.

I proudly say, I am an engineering bandwagonist :|

Anotrin

Postby Anotrin » December 7th, 2012, 12:57 am

I grad from uwi with a bsc in compsci and is level pressure to get a work hoss. the peeps with the water down sams an sbcs IT make it reallll hard. As for the course itself it is very very demanding ( elec programming is year 1 compsci stuff so dont get confused) You need to be either practicing or cramming your exams papers 24/7 ,teachers are unforgiving and failure rates are extremely high.Sum that up with majority of courses being core and prereqs for further study ,yuh a$$ dark if you fail anything.Trust me i fail courses with B averages. All compsci exams are a MUST pass final unlike any other degree where your course work helps you get over that bridge. PPl say alot about the course and how difficult it is, but if you really into programming and cna see yourself stayin up late ,killing yourself googling for info to do assignments (yes coding is not set in stone ,bear in mind some of these assignments are taken from worldwide coding competitions -__- ) keep a positive attitude and stay on top of yuh work!!!! this degree yuh cant stick at all ,else you will stick in uwi for quite some time. BUT at the end of the day after you kill yourself you cant get a job cuz the sams man with he first class honours make you look like a dunce! I REGRET doing it ,should have really done elec or some eng degree as those are always sought after.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » December 7th, 2012, 3:34 am

lost soul wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:
lost soul wrote:
rfari wrote:
teems1 wrote:

low im nuh....

I was more speaking with respect to the other faculties.

My gf did her degree in nat sci. Two classes for the day on some days, classes done by 10 on others, sometimes lab till six.

eng year one, class 8 till 8, thank good for lunch time 12-1 for meh to consume meh smokey's. :|

gd ole days boi blac start...d smokeys use to make d days bearable....

Postby Trini Hookah » December 7th, 2012, 9:01 am

Smokey's are the rat people not so? :sick:

Gateboys #4 for me plz&tnx.

Postby black start » December 7th, 2012, 9:44 am

Trini Hookah wrote:Smokey's are the rat people not so? :sick:

Gateboys #4 for me plz&tnx.

daz "savour the rat" by veg out you speaking off, not so?

smokey's lamb and chicken mix.

ryan99tt wrote:gd ole days boi blac start...d smokeys use to make d days bearable....

yea boi, them was real pressure days eh, rampers, I'm sure you can attest.

all now you and sarh_r inside dealing with ah matter. good luck bro :!: