crossdrilled wrote:Dell, best you can afford. No glossy screen sheit.. go antireflective. Buy the one with the biggest and best screen you can afford because this is the one component that you have to interface with all of the time. Aslo, buy one with a SSD. SSD's are coming down in price and really vibration proof your machine. I lost two hard drives due to knocks to my machines. I strongly suggest buying all of your software original. Other features:
Wifi
bluetooth
Extended keypad (with numeric keypad, especially if the person is in engineering)
a reversible video camera so they can tape lectures for future study.
Just a list of what I would want as a student... but I'm no expert.
OracleTnT wrote:crossdrilled wrote:Dell, best you can afford. No glossy screen sheit.. go antireflective. Buy the one with the biggest and best screen you can afford because this is the one component that you have to interface with all of the time. Aslo, buy one with a SSD. SSD's are coming down in price and really vibration proof your machine. I lost two hard drives due to knocks to my machines. I strongly suggest buying all of your software original. Other features:
Wifi
bluetooth
Extended keypad (with numeric keypad, especially if the person is in engineering)
Thanks Dude, what is SSD? Willing to spend $5-6k Max.
crossdrilled wrote:OracleTnT wrote:crossdrilled wrote:Dell, best you can afford. No glossy screen sheit.. go antireflective. Buy the one with the biggest and best screen you can afford because this is the one component that you have to interface with all of the time. Aslo, buy one with a SSD. SSD's are coming down in price and really vibration proof your machine. I lost two hard drives due to knocks to my machines. I strongly suggest buying all of your software original. Other features:
Wifi
bluetooth
Thanks Dude, what is SSD? Willing to spend $5-6k Max.
Solid state drive. Like a huge flash drive instaed of a hard disk. The advantage is that it can be faster and the it has no moving parts to wear out or get damaged during moving it like a hard disk.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Microsoft Surface started selling (preorder) today for US$600.
Trini Hookah wrote:If I had to recommend a Dell, i'd recommend an XPS. It's what his/her lecturers will be using at UWI as well.
Corn Bird wrote:not going to get an xps for $6000. those will cost $9000 and above.
Trini Hookah wrote:foss have a sweet XPS for 6-something, check in the Misc.
salvation4U wrote:buy a dell inspiron 1520 cannot go wrong my clocking 5years 1mth
I use it everyday, after 2.5years battery gone, after 4years the harddrive and geforce graphic card gone and i simply buy new ones on amazon, and it good as new, plenty people have these laptops so parts easy to get..
when u have presentation and critical projects/reports to submit you dont want your laptop to crash....i've see it happen to students
Buy something good..doh let anybody tie-up ur head...i talkin frm experience ..A good laptop cost 5k to 7k....i paid 8k back in '07
OracleTnT wrote:Got a quote for
Sony Vaio sve1511mfxs
intel core i7-3621qm Quad Core
8gb Ram
750gb HD
17.3" led dispaly
8x dvd burner
etc for $5800
What you all think?