WTF Teacher Development Day???????

Postby UML » September 28th, 2012, 12:10 pm

So after 2 days of strike...no school again because of Teacher Development Day?!!

What shiit is dat?!!!

We really need to bring back corporal punishment...for dem blasted teachers!!!

Re: WTF Teacher Development Day???????

Postby pioneer » September 28th, 2012, 12:16 pm

It's why every tom dick n harry want to be teachers

It's a tight toss up between being a policeman and teacher, both stable and pay well to do nothing.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 28th, 2012, 12:39 pm

pioneer wrote:It's a tight toss up between being a policeman and teacher, both stable and pay well to do nothing.

Politicians and chemical engineers fall in there too.

DEVIANT

Postby DEVIANT » September 28th, 2012, 12:55 pm

ent is yeaaaaaarssss that TTUTA having this professional development for teachers???? It's always in october and the ministry endorses it.

Postby eliteauto » September 28th, 2012, 1:02 pm

is the 2 days of strike greater than all the days absent for Ministry workshops? The Ministry causes more absenteeism than the union

Centric

Postby Centric » September 28th, 2012, 1:35 pm

They still get paid :|

Postby BrotherHood » September 28th, 2012, 3:41 pm

Don't see what's wrong with a Teacher's Development Day.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 28th, 2012, 4:25 pm

BrotherHood wrote:Don't see what's wrong with a Teacher's Development Day.

Why can't it be done during one the vacation periods?

Postby Hook » September 28th, 2012, 4:29 pm

eliteauto wrote:is the 2 days of strike greater than all the days absent for Ministry workshops? The Ministry causes more absenteeism than the union

this :!:

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 28th, 2012, 4:54 pm

There is always a day put aside for Teacher Development.......dont see nuthin wrong here

There are hard workin teachers and then the others so judgement should not be passed

I am sure at least some of the success you all enjoy today would be owed to a teacher or two....

OP....I am disappointed in you.....Go stand at the back of the class......

Rx

Postby Rx » September 28th, 2012, 7:58 pm

UML wrote:So after 2 days of strike...no school again because of Teacher Development Day?!!

What shiit is dat?!!!

We really need to bring back corporal punishment...for dem blasted teachers!!!

*slaps UML

WTF dred...

Professional Dev'm Day has been around for quite a while.

veedubtt

Postby veedubtt » September 28th, 2012, 9:00 pm

wham OP? yuh vex yuh hadda look for ah babysitter again??? Dev day has been around in October every year for many years. Just shows how much you know about the ppl yuh like to badtalk.

Postby S_2NR » September 28th, 2012, 9:01 pm

grasping at straws again?

typical sheep

veedubtt

Postby veedubtt » September 28th, 2012, 9:02 pm

o and about the "Ministry Workshops" ent allyuh minister stop all ah dat???

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » September 28th, 2012, 9:09 pm

pioneer wrote:It's why every tom dick n harry want to be teachers

It's a tight toss up between being a policeman and teacher, both stable and pay well to do nothing.

Eh dan doh talk ... same can be said about half if not all of the ministries .... licence office,passport office,service comission,customs office and immigration pple who wukkin in dem departments who always on dey bbm an dem cashiers who does close early .

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » September 28th, 2012, 9:12 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:There is always a day put aside for Teacher Development.......dont see nuthin wrong here

There are hard workin teachers and then the others so judgement should not be passed

I am sure at least some of the success you all enjoy today would be owed to a teacher or two....

Well Said Indeed!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 28th, 2012, 10:09 pm

veedubtt wrote:wham OP? yuh vex yuh hadda look for ah babysitter again???

babysitting by teachers are FREEE....

geodude

Postby geodude » September 28th, 2012, 11:40 pm

true its been around for some time now, however i agree with Dissy28
most of these events should be scheduled during the months that the kids have off, its vacation time for the kids not the teachers, all these relevant workshops, negotiations for salary should be done during the kids vacation time, so as to reduce the constant disruption to the class room, thereby providing a stable learning environment for the kids,

Postby Hook » September 29th, 2012, 10:11 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:There is always a day put aside for Teacher Development.......dont see nuthin wrong here

:lol: you're disappointed in UML?
The rest of us have come to expect this.

Postby Stephon. » September 29th, 2012, 10:21 am

Teachers have it good yes. They're pre approved for every loan imaginable, they get every other day off. They can go to work after assembly and even then they can stay in the staff room on their I pads all day and when they do actually go to class, half the time they basically read from a book for 40 mins. Lol, where do I sign up tho?

Postby ronsin1 » September 29th, 2012, 10:50 am

geodude wrote:true its been around for some time now, however i agree with Dissy28
most of these events should be scheduled during the months that the kids have off, its vacation time for the kids not the teachers, all these relevant workshops, negotiations for salary should be done during the kids vacation time, so as to reduce the constant disruption to the class room, thereby providing a stable learning environment for the kids,

They do have workshops during vacation yuh know

Postby SUPAstarr » September 29th, 2012, 11:41 am

Stephon. wrote:Teachers have it good yes. They're pre approved for every loan imaginable, they get every other day off. They can go to work after assembly and even then they can stay in the staff room on their I pads all day and when they do actually go to class, half the time they basically read from a book for 40 mins. Lol, where do I sign up tho?

This unfortunately is the ignorant view most of the population have of teachers, ppl should really sign up an have a crack at it, the august holidays are the best part, but other than that, some ppl need to start teachin the illiterate, unmannered, disrespectful, rude children that is in the school system today, the best part is they have no recourse, cant hit them, cant put them so far out the class that they cannot hear. Sign up man, i used to hold the same view, but living with a teacher, i feel sorry for them.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 29th, 2012, 12:00 pm

SUPAstarr wrote:
Stephon. wrote:Teachers have it good yes. They're pre approved for every loan imaginable, they get every other day off. They can go to work after assembly and even then they can stay in the staff room on their I pads all day and when they do actually go to class, half the time they basically read from a book for 40 mins. Lol, where do I sign up tho?

This unfortunately is the ignorant view most of the population have of teachers, ppl should really sign up an have a crack at it, the august holidays are the best part, but other than that, some ppl need to start teachin the illiterate, unmannered, disrespectful, rude children that is in the school system today, the best part is they have no recourse, cant hit them, cant put them so far out the class that they cannot hear. Sign up man, i used to hold the same view, but living with a teacher, i feel sorry for them.

exactly bro....teachers jobs are similiar to prison officers....with the kind of delinquents and future criminals in the education system...teachers are risking their lives in a classroom with 40 odd "inmates" with no security around.......and the paperwork is tremendous also....

let stephanie sign up nah.......he wouldnt last a day.....I am sure of it.....

Postby Stephon. » September 29th, 2012, 12:01 pm

SUPAstarr wrote:

Lol

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » September 29th, 2012, 12:12 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:
SUPAstarr wrote:

exactly bro....teachers jobs are similiar to prison officers....with the kind of delinquents and future criminals in the education system...teachers are risking their lives in a classroom with 40 odd "inmates" with no security around.......and the paperwork is tremendous also....

^^endorsed:

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Sch ... 74701.html

Schoolboy, 17, held with shotgun
Story Created: Sep 25, 2012 at 10:56 PM ECT
Story Updated: Sep 25, 2012 at 10:56 PM ECT
A SEVENTEEN-YEAR-OLD schoolboy was yesterday arrested at St Augustine Secondary School for being in possession of a home-made shotgun.
According to police reports, officers of St Joseph Police Station were informed of an alleged gun racket taking place at St Augustine Secondary School.
Around 10 a.m., officers of St Joseph station visited the school, located at the corner of Gordon and Warren streets in St Augustine.
While conducting investigations officers discovered a home-made shotgun inside the schoolbag of a pupil.
The schoolboy was inside his class when the officers arrived at the school.
The shotgun was recovered by the police and the schoolboy was taken to St Joseph station.
The schoolboy is said to be from La Puerta in Diego Martin, but stays at a relative's home in Tunapuna to attend classes.
Yesterday's exercise was spearheaded by Sgt Sinanan and included constables Mohan and Ballantyne from St Joseph Police Station.

Postby Stephon. » September 29th, 2012, 12:13 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:
SUPAstarr wrote:

I'd do like most teachers and not go to class lol.

Daran

Postby Daran » September 29th, 2012, 12:18 pm

LOL most teachers are such ungrateful idiots, they don't realize how easy they have it.

Their job is not hard, I went back to teach highschool on contract in my year off before university. It was damn easy and actually fun.....yes it's a little more demanding since a good teacher (note, good) gives the class 100% of their attention during the period......yet all i heard from most of the staff was complaints.

When I went to work at real jobs, I realized how easy teachers had it. The responsiblity, stress, lack of free time (3 weeks vacation, 10 days sick/casual and hours from 8 to 6pm), traffic and general challanages faced were far far greater than 90% of teachers can imagine.

Teachers get around ~9K/mo starting (14k after 5 years), have 28 days (sick and casual), work hours between 8am and 2:30pm + hour for lunch and 15min recess.....and the grand finale....13 weeks paid vacation per year. How the f*ck is that not a sweet deal.

Plus, if you're an enterprising teacher, you start giving lessons after school hours.....3 days week, from 3:30 to 5:30pm, 10 students per class......and a cheap fee $50 a class ($200 a month) and pulling in an extra $6000 tax free per month.....that's your spending money + car loan money right there.......you could bank your entire salary after that.

Postby Stephon. » September 29th, 2012, 12:30 pm

Teaching ain't for everyone. You gotta know how to talk to people to be a teacher. Most of the time when teachers get caught up on violence, they almost always called it upon themselves.

Lmfao @ some people acting as if teachers are navy seals on a war in Pakistan. So what about the students that have to sit next to these "terrorists" I don't see any one here crying for their safety. Actually in another thread some people suggested that if you dont know how to fight then you're not cut out for public schools lmfao. But wait. All of a sudden teachers are angels and fighting world war 3 every day because I have something negative to say about them and its only natural that my views get opposed.

Superfail I'm sorry that whoever you're living with have it so hard but when you don't have people skills then you shouldn't be teaching lol. Sucks to be him/her.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 29th, 2012, 12:39 pm

Daran wrote:....and the grand finale....13 weeks paid vacation per year. How the f*ck is that not a sweet deal.

Teachers don't have 13 weeks paid vacation. Where did you get that idea? Children have 13 weeks vacation, not teachers. Depending on the school, teachers are sent on workshops during the children's vacation periods (Board run schools tend to do this more than the Government run schools). The Government has every right to send all teachers to educational workshops during the children's vacation periods.

Teachers have to inform the Government before they leave the country. Teachers have to prepare formal lesson plans for every single class which are audited by their immediate supervisors and school supervisors. Those lesson plans are usually done outside the normal school hours because during whatever free periods they have, they have to be correcting homework and setting assignments for students.

A lot of people are very ignorant on the actual duties of teachers.

Postby SUPAstarr » September 29th, 2012, 12:44 pm

You are right tho, teaching is not for everyone. But it is an ignorant view, maybe its because i know teachers, both types of teachers, the whiny complainy types, an the types that go to class spend 15 mins tryin to get the idiots to settle down, an then deal with them throughout the lesson. I never said they were angels, but ppl do underestimate their daily task. tell me how ppl skills goin to change a situation when it have kids who no matter the approach does not respond, thats why i said its an ignorant view, cuz if you saw the other side of the coin maybe you wudnt have the same opinion. But i do know the types you speak of, they are in the minority how evor

jus as you call it as you see it, so will i.