So de Prison Officers wanna Strike now?

Postby TRAE » February 21st, 2011, 10:23 am

PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad -- Trinidad and Tobago prison officers have joined police officers in their call for increased salaries and more allowances.

The police officers started their protest action because of the refusal by government to pay the 40 percent increase demanded by organising "sick outs"

The Guardian newspaper reported that prison officers are now saying the illness which threatened police officers will affect them if their demands are not met by Prime Minister, Kamla Persad Bissessar.

General Secretary of the Prison Officers Association, Burton Hill, said, "We cannot strike or take protest action. Officers can choose to work according to rules. That is their choice.”

“Sometimes officers become very demotivated if they feel their demands aren't met," he said.

"Nobody is sick at this moment. We hope the illness that affected the Police Service does not go across to the prisons. We hope it is not some airborne disease" Hill added.

The prison officers are not happy that they cannot get an appointment to see the prime minister, and on Thursday handed a letter to National Security Advisor to the prime minister, Gary Griffith.

Hill said that if the officers do not get a favourable reply within seven days they will be forced to take action.

http://caribbeannewsnow.com/headline-Trinidad-prison-officers-demand-more-pay-5113.html
http://guardian.co.tt/news/2011/02/18/prisons-officers-knocking-pm-s-door-pay-rise

Re: So de Prison Officers wanna Strike now?

Postby ronsin1 » February 21st, 2011, 10:30 am

I sure the PNM watching this and laughing makes good sense

Treasury has no money call election ensure you loose and let the other party take the pressure of finding money.

Postby TRAE » February 21st, 2011, 10:33 am

lawd, if dem come back i migrating

rossi

Postby rossi » February 21st, 2011, 10:34 am

"Nobody is sick at this moment. We hope the illness that affected the Police Service does not go across to the prisons. We hope it is not some airborne disease" Hill added.

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » February 21st, 2011, 10:36 am

strikers gonna strike...

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 21st, 2011, 10:40 am

and oil prices going up??? Uncle dook's will be smiling by the 3rd quarter...

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 21st, 2011, 10:42 am

Soundwave wrote:strikers gonna strike...

0X

Postby wagonrunner » February 21st, 2011, 10:49 am

ronsin1 wrote:I sure the PNM watching this and laughing makes good sense

Treasury has no money call election ensure you loose and let the other party take the pressure of finding money.

you saw d balance sheet?
Ish and company pay for the laptops (but couldn't afford the yellow paint to make them safe)? what programs / incentives started after may 24th to offset that cost?

Postby TRAE » February 21st, 2011, 11:00 am

Just now we go have a Strike Ched

Postby turbosingh » February 21st, 2011, 11:21 am

TRAE wrote:lawd, if dem come back i migrating

1st Ticket out 8-)

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » February 21st, 2011, 11:27 am

well if they strike hopefully there will be NO one to feed the inmates!

Good!

Postby zoom rader » February 21st, 2011, 12:34 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:well if they strike hopefully there will be NO one to feed the inmates!

Good!

Very true, Inmates will not be able to get their supply of Weed, and cell phones.

Postby UML » February 21st, 2011, 12:43 pm

......just doing the work of the PNM!!!

Thank god they didnt pay anyone...cause what good for peter good for paul.

Postby TRAE » February 21st, 2011, 1:09 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:well if they strike hopefully there will be NO one to feed the inmates!

Good!

Very true, Inmates will not be able to get their supply of Weed, and cell phones.

No Weed and Cellphones!!!!! Sheit dey Go feel like dey in jail

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 21st, 2011, 1:11 pm

TRAE wrote:

Good!

No Weed and Cellphones!!!!! Sheit dey Go feel like dey in jail

This.

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » February 21st, 2011, 1:34 pm

nah doh sheit me up

jackkle

Postby jackkle » February 21st, 2011, 1:46 pm

But wait if i'm not mistaken, right now prison officers making more money than police officers and dem f@ckers want more money again...wtf jed. And on top ah all that they making extra with overtime and bringing in cellphone & weed. doh theif my head nah.
*Looks tru the papers to see when prison recruiting again*

Postby TRAE » February 21st, 2011, 1:51 pm

jackkle wrote:But wait if i'm not mistaken, right now prison officers making more money than police officers and dem f@ckers want more money again...wtf jed. And on top ah all that they making extra with overtime and bringing in cellphone & weed. doh theif my head nah.

yuh go sign up youself for that bad name g?

jackkle

Postby jackkle » February 21st, 2011, 2:09 pm

[/quote]
yuh go sign up youself for that bad name g?[/quote]

With meh eyes closed... anyway it have some men inside ah want to deal some lash too!

Postby TRAE » February 21st, 2011, 4:25 pm

dem getting copper too you know

Postby UML » February 22nd, 2011, 7:42 am

why wasn't the PSA, Police, Prisons, etc protesting and demanding wage increases when the PNM administration was squandering the wealth of the country....not one dog bark!!! :roll:

Postby TRAE » February 22nd, 2011, 9:18 am

manning was dey partna

Postby rollingstock » February 22nd, 2011, 11:20 am

UML wrote:why wasn't the PSA, Police, Prisons, etc protesting and demanding wage increases when the PNM administration was squandering the wealth of the country....not one dog bark!!! :roll:

Ummmm probably because they were better administrators, and the sly bastards knew just how much to tell the population and public servants to have them under servitude, Kamla wanna be the approachable baby kissing, panty in the air waving PM, DEAL WITH THE CONSEQUENCE. If they believe that she would be the one to bow to demands they will push. Sucks to be her, she need to call Patos for some pointers.

jackkle

Postby jackkle » February 22nd, 2011, 1:12 pm

guess is "she time now"

rossi

Postby rossi » February 22nd, 2011, 3:42 pm

UML wrote:why wasn't the PSA, Police, Prisons, etc protesting and demanding wage increases when the PNM administration was squandering the wealth of the country....not one dog bark!!! :roll:

Ummmm probably because they were better administrators, and the sly bastards knew just how much to tell the population and public servants to have them under servitude, Kamla wanna be the approachable baby kissing, panty in the air waving PM, DEAL WITH THE CONSEQUENCE. If they believe that she would be the one to bow to demands they will push. Sucks to be her, she need to call Patos for some pointers.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 22nd, 2011, 7:39 pm

ah boy, my salary negotiation right 'rong de corner!!!!

South Man

Postby South Man » February 22nd, 2011, 7:52 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:ah boy, my salary negotiation right 'rong de corner!!!!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 22nd, 2011, 8:07 pm

takin a lil dance fuh dat!!!!

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Seeker

Postby Seeker » February 23rd, 2011, 11:40 am

jackkle wrote:But wait if i'm not mistaken, right now prison officers making more money than police officers and dem f@ckers want more money again...wtf jed. And on top ah all that they making extra with overtime and bringing in cellphone & weed. doh theif my head nah.

Like all services there are very corrupt officers within the ranks. And like the Police, not all are bad. You are talking about 1 or 2% of bad eggs in a case. I am a Public Servant and I work very hard in all my years without fail. Whether I get a salary increase or not - it really does not nullify my duty.
People will almost never see the good. But they will always see the bad.
I for one will love for the authorities to catch them officers who bringing in contraband for the inmates.

As for the overtime talk; that does not apply to all officers, I think it really applys to shift officers and payments are far apart. Not sure of the duration. Because I have heard of officers working extra hours "for the glory of the Prison Service" and not getting a black cent.

Postby TRAE » February 23rd, 2011, 12:29 pm

Seeker wrote:

Like all services there are very corrupt officers within the ranks. And like the Police, not all are bad. You are talking about 1 or 2% of bad eggs in a case. I am a Public Servant and I work very hard in all my years without fail. Whether I get a salary increase or not - it really does not nullify my duty.
People will almost never see the good. But they will always see the bad.
I for one will love for the authorities to catch them officers who bringing in contraband for the inmates.

As for the overtime talk; that does not apply to all officers, I think it really applys to shift officers and payments are far apart. Not sure of the duration. Because I have heard of officers working extra hours "for the glory of the Prison Service" and not getting a black cent.

ah understand what yu saying you know homie, but the general public wont see you working hard because you are a minority, is like saying the country is crime infested when we all know 90% of the serious crimes are in the Laventille, Morvant, Beetham