corolla_2nr wrote:bushwakka, lol anything is possible, its the cost involve and yuh might need to do some cutting, etc. On notebookreview, the asus section, a guy replaced his card successfully but, the cost and stuff he had to do... you have to know what you doing.
bushwakka wrote:i was under the impression that most video cards are integrated (soldered) to the laptop motherboards with the exception of DIY upgradeable laptops such as some of the Dell XPS line.....and removal of the soldered cards is near impossible and the motherboard is just replaced (at great cost as well) along with the card
corolla_2nr wrote:bushwakka wrote:i was under the impression that most video cards are integrated (soldered) to the laptop motherboards with the exception of DIY upgradeable laptops such as some of the Dell XPS line.....and removal of the soldered cards is near impossible and the motherboard is just replaced (at great cost as well) along with the card
lol... read the OP, its an 8400M GS, thats dedicated siran intel X3100, etc. are integrated
apparently dell systems are in the 1% of the laptops that you can successfully do a replace. I think the last thread i linked kurmaMAN to discussed it.
Zeriam wrote:people is waste they time and money to upgrade laptops
Raziel wrote:New laptops selling for under US$400, RAM is cheap as sheit.
IMO buy a new one, and if you want upgradability in future, check out something like the Lenovo's advanced dock which allows for a pci express card and additional drive.