Re: Tenants Vs Landlords

Postby pugboy » September 1st, 2023, 11:14 pm

gotta have yuh eyes peeled for any potential real estate opportunities
you never know what could present itself

i actually bought a property advertised here on tuner
years ago
AlphaMan wrote:How did you guys aquire property to rent?
Was it via inheritance from dead relatives or buy and pay mortgage via rental income?

Postby Chimera » September 2nd, 2023, 10:39 am

Lol
Screenshot_20230902-103852_Facebook.jpg

Postby j.o.e » September 2nd, 2023, 11:28 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Lol
Screenshot_20230902-103852_Facebook.jpg

Candy sounding like problems

Postby pugboy » September 2nd, 2023, 11:31 am

her best bet is double palm

Postby 88sins » September 2nd, 2023, 2:29 pm

Was it via inheritance from dead relatives or buy and pay mortgage via rental income?

In my case, no inheritance involved, and no current mortgage on the units I'm building either. But this didn't just happen just so. Takes several years of planning, saving, keeping your eyes open and your head on a swivel looking for potential investment opportunities, and knowing how to get things done as cost effectively as possible while maintaining a standard. And most importantly, knowing what you want, why you want it, & when & how you gonna get it.

Some people think, to do things like what I doing, the way I doing it, requires luck. They eh kno about the years of prep before things start to happen. And I does tell fellas, there's a very simple formula for what people call "luck"
Luck=opportunity + preparedness + effort.

Run with that :D

Postby pugboy » September 2nd, 2023, 4:59 pm

i thought luck is when everything handed to you like winning the lotto

Postby MaxPower » September 2nd, 2023, 5:39 pm

pugboy wrote:i thought luck is when everything handed to you like winning the lotto

Yeh puggy that’s one way of seeing it, but as 88 said, your head has to be on a swivel.

Many have inherited and won……and they ended up losing everything.

To be successful, you need the brain….everything will fall into place after.

Postby paid_influencer » September 2nd, 2023, 6:49 pm

pugboy wrote:her best bet is double palm

it seems like that is a thing in parts of the US.

poor people don't have a good credit score so they can't get into a decent apartment. the less decent apartment buildings want a security deposit but the worst-off of the poor people can't save up that lump sum.

so what the poor people do is live in low-cost motels

Postby pugboy » September 2nd, 2023, 7:08 pm

yeah i watched youtube on that a while back
your kitchen in a microwave

Postby adnj » September 2nd, 2023, 7:20 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
pugboy wrote:her best bet is double palm

it seems like that is a thing in parts of the US.

poor people don't have a good credit score so they can't get into a decent apartment. the less decent apartment buildings want a security deposit but the worst-off of the poor people can't save up that lump sum.

so what the poor people do is live in low-cost motels
Few, if any at all, low to moderate cost building owners or managers are pulling a credit score for an apartment lease in the US. Motels are generally less expensive than an apartment, don't have long-term leases, are centrally located, are furnished, and also have on-premises services like a laundry.

Postby zoom rader » September 2nd, 2023, 8:05 pm

Job, Mortgage, crix, sardines.

Using rents to pay off Mortgage and then reinvesting the surplus to renovate additional apartments.

No wasting $$$ on Carnival or Trini things like new cars, travelling or useless women. Doing renovations myself to save on labour cost.

I was broke to rass for about 20 years.

Tenants Vs Landlords

Postby MaxPower » September 2nd, 2023, 10:27 pm

How many people know how to sacrifice?

Or maybe i should be asking how many people know how to say NO to 100% financing 10 year car loans and Amazon “get it by tomorrow” shopping?

Postby 88sins » September 2nd, 2023, 11:27 pm

MaxPower wrote:How many people know how to sacrifice?

Or maybe i should be asking how many people know how to say NO to 100% financing 10 year car loans and Amazon “get it by tomorrow” shopping?

The real question isn't "how many people know how to sacrifice"
The real question is, how many people willing to sacrifice, at the time when their sacrifice will potentially yield the greatest benefit in the long run for future generations.

The answer? In today's society, with this gimme gimme instant gratification generation, that eh really give a damn about today much less tomorrow? Dangerously close to none.

Postby zoom rader » September 3rd, 2023, 8:47 pm

MaxPower wrote:How many people know how to sacrifice?

Men want to buy Crims & Jordans

Women want weave , carnival costumes, and ur money

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 4th, 2023, 7:07 am

Band yuh belly, sacrifice and forget the 7 year car loan on entry level kia and Hyundai. Forget the rumshop and club every friday, the gold chain and latest brands.

Plan ahead, know what you want and make it happen. Take loans for things that make you $

Postby Chimera » September 4th, 2023, 7:57 am

With proper credit rating and bank history you can easily get loans to buy property that can generate income. But don't feel that it's all glory and no worries. Covid screwed up a lot of people. Tenants does be alot of headache.

Right now I have a Spanish who giving me trouble telling me about if I only find out what his history is in vene I wouldn't pressure him for rent.

Postby pugboy » September 4th, 2023, 7:59 am

yes, follow the govt advice
less macaroni pie, ham
coal pot breadfruit, walk and bike to work

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Band yuh belly, sacrifice and forget the 7 year car loan on entry level kia and Hyundai. Forget the rumshop and club every friday, the gold chain and latest brands.

Plan ahead, know what you want and make it happen. Take loans for things that make you $

Postby Chimera » September 4th, 2023, 8:32 am

Lol ppl require privacy....then buy a house and don't rent.
Screenshot_20230904-083125_Facebook.jpg
Screenshot_20230904-083120_Facebook.jpg
Screenshot_20230904-083114_Facebook.jpg
Screenshot_20230904-083107_Facebook.jpg

Postby pugboy » September 4th, 2023, 8:34 am

entertainment

Postby maj. tom » September 4th, 2023, 8:57 am

$1600/month? With utilities included? That is UWI student kinda thing from 10 or 15 years ago. Good offering but landlord will only make a huge loss and immense regret on that considering the types that price will attract.

Postby Chimera » September 4th, 2023, 4:41 pm

Nah there's low income areas all over.

Postby pugboy » September 4th, 2023, 4:59 pm

most likely that place is a little add on to somebody property so it piggy backing off the existing utilities
and also they want to check the person character since they will be seeing them every day

Postby 88sins » September 4th, 2023, 6:08 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:With proper credit rating and bank history you can easily get loans to buy property that can generate income. But don't feel that it's all glory and no worries. Covid screwed up a lot of people. Tenants does be alot of headache.

Right now I have a Spanish who giving me trouble telling me about if I only find out what his history is in vene I wouldn't pressure him for rent.

With me he would figure out that here ain't there real fast when I evict his culo, and levy on his few meager possessions to sell to recover my money.

For real, covid jam up plenty ppl, and so with that in mind a landlord hadda be a little more reasonable and lenient. But it have limits. You a couple months behind is one thing, see the 6 months and year business? Nah, yuh hadda bounce.

But here's the thing
Covid pressure done a good while now. It have work out there for who want it. Problem is, many of these youths that looking for places to rent, if they working, is not for no big setta money.
As,a tenant you hadda know how you paying your rent, and make sure you get it done. Because unless your landlord is your father and you are a minor, he doesn't have any obligation to house you for free.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 4th, 2023, 9:32 pm

maj. tom wrote:$1600/month? With utilities included? That is UWI student kinda thing from 10 or 15 years ago. Good offering but landlord will only make a huge loss and immense regret on that considering the types that price will attract.

Back in my uwi days (2008 -2011) the big shot students used to rent fancy apartments at 3k per month yes

Postby 88sins » September 4th, 2023, 10:03 pm

pugboy wrote:most likely that place is a little add on to somebody property so it piggy backing off the existing utilities
and also they want to check the person character since they will be seeing them every day

That's a small part of it
Besides that, you know anybody that wants a convicted rapist/drug dealer/professional car theif/etc in their place? Even if the rent coming in on time? Cuz I don't.

Sometimes, a few simple questions can provide s depth of insight into what you might expect from a tenant.
wrt using the previous landlord as a reference as an example.
How long was the person there? Rent paid on time or they dodging every month for 2 weeks? Did you evict or they moved voluntarily? How they left the place when they left? Any other tenants had any issues with them? If so, what type of issues?
Simple questions, but be mindful of the responses. If they sounding emotional with negative responses and giving great detail, the possibility exists that they had an axe to grind.

Hadda vet ppl thoroughly this time around boi. Is business, not lotto, I eh taking no chances that I might get stuck with a clown in my place and then the sleeping demon in me hadda wake up and go to wuk.
Ideal tenants imho, single working female no kids, 30 years old and up. For males, start at 35 and up, same criteria.

Postby pugboy » September 5th, 2023, 5:35 am

the last thing you want is police coming to search your apt because of a suspect living there or a tipoff
them popo does rip apart everything when they seaching, ceiling mashing up

Postby The_Honourable » September 5th, 2023, 9:09 am

Had an incident at a gated community in south where a townhouse was rented to a woman. Job letter, ID, security deposit, etc was good and paid on time... no problems so far...

Police raid the place upside down and found a reputed gang leader from enterprise hiding out. Apparently, the gang leader and the woman was in a relationship. He was on the run from rival gangs and hide out there. Police had him and the woman under surveillance for a while. The gang leader was released pending enquiries, but the rival gangs caught up with him so he was eventually killed.

With that experience, I fully understand a landlord asking for more requirements before renting a place. Yes it makes it harder for honest persons who can't fulfil all the requirements but we are in high crime season a long time now so hard luck.

Postby pugboy » September 5th, 2023, 9:26 am

after the warner st murders in st augustine
they searched a few apts in the area
didn’t find the target but left a wake of destruction

Postby Chimera » September 5th, 2023, 10:29 am

one of my padna rent his townhouse in brentwood to someone.....police raid them for a set of pharmaceuticals....i cant remember if they were making it or illegally importing it or counterfeiting it or what

i had a tenant who happily pay his deposit and never gave me any issues at all until eventually he call me and say he leaving, everything normal and amicable

when i was by the apartment a 2 days after he leave about 3-4 cars pass looking for "ras"
and shocked that he move out and openly ask me if i know anyone else in the area who selling ganja

Postby bluefete » September 5th, 2023, 11:14 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:one of my padna rent his townhouse in brentwood to someone.....police raid them for a set of pharmaceuticals....i cant remember if they were making it or illegally importing it or counterfeiting it or what

i had a tenant who happily pay his deposit and never gave me any issues at all until eventually he call me and say he leaving, everything normal and amicable

when i was by the apartment a 2 days after he leave about 3-4 cars pass looking for "ras"
and shocked that he move out and openly ask me if i know anyone else in the area who selling ganja

I reading these stories in here and is like deja vu all over again.
Rented a house to a lady (self employed - legit) and her 3 children (1 junior and 2 adults).

Rent paying on time. But then people start to tell me about some things they seeing. Now, I needed proof but could never get any.

Lease agreement had provisions for quite a few events but none happened until .......

One day there was a drive by shooting aimed at the house (shades of what happened in Belmont on Sunday).

Well, hear nah, the same day, I reach down there with eviction letter in hand and tell them all to gtfo.