$12000 fine or jail time fuh buyin cigarette loose.

d spike

Postby d spike » November 12th, 2009, 3:59 pm

I can't help but feel that this whole affair to eventually outlaw smoking is just so that certain people can crow, "The first country in the world to ban this filthy habit...", "a forward-thinking, caring government..." - hence the grand rush...

Illegalizing an already set habit will just push it underground, rather than stamping it out - but they know this, don't they? Single smokes will end up being sold under the counter... They aren't really concerned with the health of the populace (just look at the hospitals - but let's not go there yet), they are only aware of the laud and praise the global health gum-bumpers will give them - see first paragraph.

The Prohibition Era in the 30's stateside showed the world how attempting to ban an accepted "social drug" can end up as an epic fail. The powers-that-be aren't aware of this? Of course... but see first paragraph.

Wouldn't it be a better idea for them to step up the public's awareness of the ill effects of smoking? Education ftw... but this would be the response of a caring leadership... see first paragraph.

Weed is illegal, and is smoked practically everywhere. So our police (undermanned and underequipped) now have to cover more ground, appear more often in court, etc.? The argument about legalizing marijuana has similar points to this nonsense as well. Right now, it can be governed, controlled, taxed. Push it underground and then what? They haven't thought about all this? I'll tell you what they're thinking about... see first paragraph.

Postby Greypatch » November 12th, 2009, 6:28 pm

ppl ever hear the term "red herring".....

nice deflection this...

Postby sharkman121 » November 12th, 2009, 9:48 pm

d spike, love ur assesment of the situation, well put in terms of stretching an already thin police force thinner and forcing the drug(bcuz nicotine is a drug) underground. :idea:

d spike

Postby d spike » November 12th, 2009, 10:11 pm

Greypatch wrote:ppl ever hear the term "red herring".....

nice deflection this...

didn't occur to me... but this gang excels at drawing red herrings out of their hat... makes sense... less flak about crime, flag, choggum, food prices, property tax...

d spike

Postby d spike » November 12th, 2009, 10:19 pm

sharkman121 wrote:d spike, love ur assesment of the situation, well put in terms of stretching an already thin police force thinner and forcing the drug(bcuz nicotine is a drug) underground. :idea:

You know most cultures have one or more accepted social drug - and every time in the past when new thinkers tried to stamp out their culture's "drug" use, all hell broke loose and their society got a shaking up...

Postby sharkman121 » November 12th, 2009, 10:46 pm

thats wat i was saying in the opening pages of dis thread, the ramifications of this may be quite more far fetching than is initially seen.

Dont get me wrong dis aint jus abt cigarettes, its about the criminalising of it and the far reaching implications.

JoeBama

Postby JoeBama » November 13th, 2009, 9:54 am

all this is just a smoke screen for whats to come....come on ya'll know this look at the bigger picture........if ya can't win them with brilliance baffle them with bulshit.....and when de bulshit hit de fan we still gonna roll ova and take it in the rectum! :fist:

Postby AllTrac » November 13th, 2009, 10:06 am

like how dey raise de price of gas in de last budget?? :shock:

i remember everyone saying that :lol: :lol:

Postby Chimera » November 13th, 2009, 10:31 am

JoeBama

Postby JoeBama » November 13th, 2009, 11:08 am

AllTrac wrote:like how dey raise de price of gas in de last budget?? :shock:

i remember everyone saying that :lol: :lol:

yes but this is de tip of de iceberg remember constitutional reform is right around de corner am i opening some eyes...........sources say that we are really not going to see a econ. turn around i the country by 2011.......ban ur belly.....and wallets........but there is more still to come udecott will walk scott free from all charges that why the proceedings went the way it did and the gazette issue was raised as the public notice.......but with the new gem of port of spain being unveiled it stands to be that a lot of issues that were burning on peoples mind will be swept under the rug...........breathalyzer........a good idea but the law is too steep $8000 or 6 months in jail.....come on tell me what other democratic country has a law like that....6 months....so if i drink 2-3 beers just left liming and i am stopped as per routine roadblock the test is done and i am ova the limit and don't even have a buzz......don't have $8000g's i'm doin 6 month's..........reform.......money is spending and no accountability........there is a secret world that you hear about and its tru.....ladies and gentlemen this is the beginning...........fin 8-)

SPK1983

Postby SPK1983 » November 17th, 2009, 1:02 am

So what you all think of this statement?

In recognition of the clear relationship between exposure to second hand tobacco smoke and disease, the Bill provides that it shall be an offence for any person to smoke or hold a lighted tobacco product in any enclosed public place or enclosed workplace. Such places include public transportation terminals, workplaces, bars, restaurants, shopping malls, clubs, cinemas, and sports facilities.

Moreover, in recognition of the need to protect children from the dangers of tobacco smoke, a number of measures have been introduced by the Tobacco Control Bill. For example, a person who sells tobacco products is prohibited from hiring or using any child to sell any tobacco product.

In addition, the Bill provides that no person shall sell any tobacco product through any self-service means, including the mail, the Internet or automatic vending machines.

It also prohibits persons from importing, manufacturing, selling, displaying for sale, distributing or supplying, any sweets, snacks, toys or other non-tobacco items or objects in the form of tobacco products, or which imitate tobacco products.

The Tobacco Control Bill also introduces a number of mechanisms which restrict tobacco advertising, promotion and sponsorship. It also makes provision for the permanent affixation of messages on packages of tobacco products or on the individual wrappers in the case of cigars.

I really hope that doesn't mean what I think it does...I will pissed off to say the least if that is enforced.

.:V8:.

Postby .:V8:. » November 17th, 2009, 1:44 am

You going to arrest and jail someone for buying 1 cig yet you shall advertise and support buying an entire pack???? WTF???

And people here support this load of horse sh!t???

So a man trying to quit and he taking one now and then, he now have to go buy ah whole facking pack???
Wouldn't this new law actually encourage smoking especially for those who want to quit???

So the government is actually supporting smoking and no one else can see this?

Boy retarded people who support this new law should be hung upside down in Tunapuna market and shot with some really wet stink dog sh!t

Postby .:V8:. » November 17th, 2009, 1:47 am

Lesson learnt here in life.

Never Ever listen to a man who preaches the Bible. :|

This is what happens when you mix religion with politics.

Hopefully one day we shall be free of religion yes. That is something I would actually pray for.

Postby Hook » November 17th, 2009, 3:03 am

This thread is jam-packed with weak arguments.

Scully's quite right that in developed countries one CANNOT buy a single cigarette simply because it violates the terms of sale for the packaged quantities.

I smoke anywhere between 0-10cigs in a 24hr period (when u check it up it evens out to roughly 4-5 per day cuz sometimes I go days without smoking) but I buy by the pack simply because it's more convenient than several trips to the shop.
And u know what? I buy a pack every 2-4 days (sometimes 5or 6 days)...nobody's saying u MUST smoke a whole pack just because you bought it and nobody's saying it has to be done all in a day.

For the math buffs, let's say the average singles smoker who smokes say 5 cigs daily at $1.50 per cig will smoke a pack of 20 in 4 days at $7.50 a day which is $30 as opposed to buying a whole pack for $18 and taking the same 4 days to smoke it. Just do the right thing and buy a pack!
C'mon guys, get real!

Postby foss » November 17th, 2009, 3:22 am

way boi.. and sometimes when i short on cash, i could ah scrape up ah dollar in bobs and buy ah retail and go meh way yes.. no i hadda make sure i always have enough for a pack ... strims man... well hopefully tants go pass it under d counter :silly:

Postby Damien » November 17th, 2009, 9:58 am

Yes smoke cocaine pay $5000 smoke ah retail cig pay $12000 :|

Postby shogun » November 17th, 2009, 12:15 pm

Steupsss!..i can't wait to see the government enforce this.They can't even stop idiots driving on the faukin' shoulder.
And now, when you see a man with a cig tucked behind his ears,the "popo" will have to brace him and ask "where did you get that!,lemme see the pack it came in..now!"
Last edited by shogun on November 17th, 2009, 1:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » November 17th, 2009, 12:29 pm

SPK1983 wrote:

It also prohibits persons from importing, manufacturing, selling, displaying for sale, distributing or supplying, any sweets, snacks, toys or other non-tobacco items or objects in the form of tobacco products, or which imitate tobacco products.

I really hope that doesn't mean what I think it does...I will pissed off to say the least if that is enforced.[/quote]

What the firetruck they really mean by that ?

Shisha/Hookah fall under that?

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » November 17th, 2009, 12:57 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
SPK1983 wrote:

I really hope that doesn't mean what I think it does...I will pissed off to say the least if that is enforced.

No more cigarette sweetie :(

minipresident

Postby minipresident » November 17th, 2009, 1:16 pm

but wait,...$12,000. for one cigarette any yet most times yuh hear ah man get charge for smoking weed is ah lil $500.
Or $2000. or so for being in possession of ah five piece.... :?: :?: :?:

SPK1983

Postby SPK1983 » November 17th, 2009, 1:34 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:

That is exactly what I'm concerned about, along with ecigs...since they imitate smoking, even though may or may not be tobacco-based. If that does come to pass, that is BS of the highest order.

Postby cinco » November 17th, 2009, 1:36 pm

foss wrote:way boi.. and sometimes when i short on cash, i could ah scrape up ah dollar in bobs and buy ah retail and go meh way yes.. no i hadda make sure i always have enough for a pack ... strims man... well hopefully tants go pass it under d counter :silly:

whey u gettin retail fuh a dolla
last time i was home was 1.50-2 dollas (maracas) a retail

Postby foss » November 17th, 2009, 1:40 pm

cinco wrote:
foss wrote:way boi.. and sometimes when i short on cash, i could ah scrape up ah dollar in bobs and buy ah retail and go meh way yes.. no i hadda make sure i always have enough for a pack ... strims man... well hopefully tants go pass it under d counter :silly:

whey u gettin retail fuh a dolla
last time i was home was 1.50-2 dollas (maracas) a retail

meah kno, daz d price it was last year when i used tuh buy

Postby Chimera » November 17th, 2009, 1:43 pm

SPK1983 wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:

That is exactly what I'm concerned about, along with ecigs...since they imitate smoking, even though may or may not be tobacco-based. If that does come to pass, that is BS of the highest order.

steups...

I gonna order enough shisha for the next 10 years yes....

and a couple hookah's in case the ones I have get damaged/broken/stolen/borrowed and never returned over the years....

Postby Hook » November 17th, 2009, 2:02 pm

Do Nicorette gum, e-cigs or nicotene patches fall under this law?

Postby buzz » November 17th, 2009, 2:07 pm

i find ppl should get jailed for dis metrosexual dress in public :|

ohh and second hand cell phone radiation :|

ohhhh and shmoke form shomkey vehicles

what about vehicles in traffic? can i smoke in my car AND enjoy black diesel emmisions from your average TX *** bedfoed truck/ 280 C

questions questions questions :?

Postby .:V8:. » November 17th, 2009, 2:13 pm

So now that I was trying to quit smoking and used to buy ah single now and then.

I hadda go buy a whole pack and constantly be reminded that its in my pants pocket and this will somehow stop smoking???

What a seriously retarded government.

SPK1983

Postby SPK1983 » November 17th, 2009, 4:24 pm

Hook wrote:Do Nicorette gum, e-cigs or nicotene patches fall under this law?

It's a grey area, but I suspect they'll classify e-cigs as being applicable to this, since the technique "imitates smoking".

Whether they'll prohibit importation of parts for the e-cigs is another question, as well as the liquids used (even zero nicotine versions).

The gum and patches, may get away, since they'll treat that as a method of helping people with nicotine addiction (which what e-cigs can do as well), but without the act of inhalation as per regular cigs.

That clause, affects more than just cigs, I can't see myself agreeing with it in its current form.

rossi

Postby rossi » November 17th, 2009, 7:16 pm

forget everything else.....Manning wants us all to stop drinking....stop smoking....stop thinking.....only to sit at home, pray and vote for him. that is all.

smoke 'em if u got 'em! :mrgreen:

Postby sharkman121 » November 17th, 2009, 9:40 pm

roSs][ wrote:forget everything else.....Manning wants us all to stop drinking....stop smoking....stop thinking.....only to sit at home, pray and vote for him. that is all.

smoke 'em if u got 'em! :mrgreen:

DONT FORGET WATCH TV....SO WE WOULDNT MAKE SO MUCH CHIRREN :?