The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

PapaC

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby PapaC » March 7th, 2012, 7:51 am

On the mobile banking apps, Scotiabank has one.
Don't know if the others have, FCB doesn't.

Jonathan_337

The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby Jonathan_337 » March 7th, 2012, 7:57 am

PapaC wrote:
Parvin wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:Well...new to the iPhone thing after coming over from a Galaxy SII...I got a 32gb White 4S..I'm looking for a good case which doesn't exactly make the phone look ugly..I wanna show it off cuz really its a damn sexy phone..any suggestions guys?

I bought this

Very slim and no added bulk.

Similar to what PapaC posted in his link

Only benefit of the elago is that the apple logo is visible. And it comes with a circular plastic cover for the exposed logo.

I've been searching A LOT for a case with a transparent back but I'm having a hard time finding a reliable one so I think I might go with the Elago if anythingz

PapaC

Postby PapaC » March 7th, 2012, 8:13 am

All you need to get with tr elago is a excellent screen protector and nimble hands to catch your phone if you mistakenly drop it. Because if it fall, it falling hard.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 7th, 2012, 9:33 am

3rd generation iPad announcement, 2:00pm!

Here's last year's announcement. If/when Apple posts this year's I'll put it here as well

------

Today’s pre-event rumors say that there may be a version of iPhoto announced for the iPad 3, and it certainly makes sense. Daring Fireball’s John Gruber and Panic’s Neven Mrgan both argue that iPhoto is an obvious candidate for an iPad with a beautiful retina display, and Gabe Glick, writing at MacStories, makes the case for Aperture. I think at least some of them may be right.

The iPhoto arguments go like this: Neven Mrgan thinks that the iPad 3 will be all about photography, and that the built-in Photos app isn’t up to the task. An iPhoto for iPad would add in better editing tools, better organization and proper EXIF data.

Why would Apple do this instead of leaving it to the many great third-party photo tools? Because, unlike them, Apple can cheat. While processing a photo in, say, Photogene, you end up keep a copy in that app, and save back a copy to your roll, which is awkward and wastes space. Apple could do some lossless jiggery-pokery and save your edits in-place without taking up more space. At the very least Apple has direct read/write access to the photo roll.

Gruber’s argument is more succinct, and three-fold:

We’ve already got iMovie and GarageBand for iPad. iPhoto seems like a glaring omission.

A good way to predict what’s coming next for the iPad is to ask yourself what sort of things are keeping regular people from using an iPad as their main computer. Photo management is the biggest one I can think of.

A retina display iPad should make photos look amazing.

All of which make perfect sense. So what about Aperture? Glick’s piece comes across more as a wish list than a convincing pro-Aperture argument, but you never know. One the one hand, iPhoto fits into the lineup alongside the other iLife apps, as Gruber points out. On the other hand, maybe Apple would use the powerful A6 processor and HD display to launch its first pro app for iOS.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 7th, 2012, 9:49 am

PapaC wrote:On the mobile banking apps, Scotiabank has one.
Don't know if the others have, FCB doesn't.

I've been watching & waiting to see if local companies would release apps (for any platform). The other day Caribbean Airlines released a BlackBerry app.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » March 7th, 2012, 10:02 am

Sully wrote:
DTAC wrote:Well today's the day. Only a few hours until the final reveal of the iPad HD (sorry Machel).

What I want to know is when will it be available for purchase.

Some sites saying the 15th March. Which sounds about right. A week to stock and then a day for the geeks to line up in their sleeping bags!

Postby noshownogo » March 7th, 2012, 1:23 pm

http://live.gizmodo.com/

for those who want to follow live announcments

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 7th, 2012, 2:10 pm

iOS 5.1 available today

New Apple TV with 1080p playback & new UI. Available next week, same $99 price. Can order today.

Phil Schiller wrote:"This presents a problem for us in presenting it to you. For the first time an iPad has a higher​ resolution than this entire display behind you... That's a fun challenge."

It's 2048 x 1536, sure enough. That's 3.1 million pixels. "The most ever in a mobile device."

We're looking at 264ppi "and that is enough to call it a retina display."

A5X processor is confirmed, quad-core graphics!

In case you're wondering, there is most certainly a physical home button here.

Next feature: iSight camera. (I thought the iSight named devices were now FaceTime ones)

5-megapixel backside illuminated sensor on the back, 5-element lens, IR filter, and ISP built into ​the A5X chip.

Voice Dictation

4G LTE! (I'm looking more at what this means for the next iPhone)

Phil is talking about the various bands of LTE, meaning we'll have separate devices for AT&T and Verizon. That's a damn shame.

"You may recall, the iPad 2 we claimed 10 hours of battery life for most things you do." 9 hours on 3G.

10 hours of battery life still! 9 hours on 4G!

Okay, it's 9.4mm thin, weighing 1.4lbs.

We're talking $499 for 16GB!

32GB is $599 and 64GB for $699. Sorry, no 128GB yet.

Infinity Blade: Dungeons. :o

iPhoto should be the Photos app on iOS devices i.m.o.

Available today for $4.99

Now we're talking about the quad-core A5X. "It makes everything you do feel real fast and smooth."​ But, still 10 hour battery life.

So the new iPad's name is just that. iPad. Well its the name scheme for their desktop/laptop models. Not like there is a MacBook 3 wondering around anywhere.

Postby noshownogo » March 7th, 2012, 2:29 pm

:faint: 15.4million iPads sold last quarter alone

Postby noshownogo » March 7th, 2012, 2:34 pm

Retina Display (as expected)
A5X chip with quad core graphics
A rear iSigh camera with Auto-exposure, auto-focus, auto-face detection
HD video recording in 1080p
Built in image stabilization
Voice dictation

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 7th, 2012, 2:35 pm

Post above is being updated & will published after the full keynote.

Good things coming so far

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » March 7th, 2012, 3:02 pm

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 7th, 2012, 3:26 pm

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » March 7th, 2012, 5:19 pm

5.1 brings carrier version updated to bmobile 12.0, ability to disable 3G on the 4S now there.
& personal hotspot feature still not back with 12.0

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 7th, 2012, 5:47 pm

have it on my unlocked as well..nice..oh wait i dont have 3g either way

Parvin

Postby Parvin » March 7th, 2012, 5:48 pm

iOS 5.1

Official change-log:

- Japanese language support for Siri (availability may be limited during initial rollout)
- Photos can now be deleted from Photo Stream
- Camera shortcut now always visible on Lock Screen for iPhone 4S, iPhone 4, iPhone 3GS and iPod touch (4th generation)
- Camera face detection now highlights all detected faces
- Redesigned Camera app for iPad
- Genius Mixes and Genius playlists for iTunes Match subscribers
- Audio for TV programs and films on iPad optimized to sound louder and clearer
- Podcast controls for playback speed and a 30-second rewind for iPad
- Addresses bugs affecting battery life
- Fixes and issue that occasionally caused audio to drop for outgoing calls

Postby M_2NR » March 7th, 2012, 5:55 pm

yuh know... up to now... proximity sensor on my 4 still acts up a bit...

Swisha

Postby Swisha » March 7th, 2012, 6:19 pm

so the name of the new iPad is "new iPad" ? :|

casper

Postby casper » March 7th, 2012, 7:08 pm

So....honest opinion....u guys think it's worth upgrading from an ipad2 or no???

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 7th, 2012, 7:21 pm

Swisha wrote:so the name of the new iPad is "new iPad" ? :|
well the iPad 2 doesnt have iPad 2 written on it. It's always m=been the iPad, just like it's always been iMac. I guess the world will refer to it as iPad 3 to discern it from the other earlier versions.

M_2NR wrote:yuh know... up to now... proximity sensor on my 4 still acts up a bit...
yuh head too big bai :lol:

Postby M_2NR » March 7th, 2012, 7:24 pm

yup... they dont call the macbook air 1, 2 or 3 do they? :lol:

I think they shall be doing away with this numbering thing...

casper, the thing now come out... nobody use it... but honestly, i don't see the rush to... unless your eye's were spoiled by the iPhone 4 lcd...

Postby M_2NR » March 7th, 2012, 7:26 pm

well the iPad 2 doesnt have iPad 2 written on it. It's always m=been the iPad, just like it's always been iMac. I guess the world will refer to it as iPad 3 to discern it from the other earlier versions.

chupes.. i now typing up thing... stop hacking my account plz tanx :|

M_2NR wrote:yuh know... up to now... proximity sensor on my 4 still acts up a bit...
yuh head too big bai :lol:

wtmc... wait... hmm.... true talk that though... brb

Swisha

Postby Swisha » March 7th, 2012, 7:39 pm

well i guess the next iPhone is just going to be "iPhone" since iPhone 5 would make no sense being the 6th version.

i agree with doing away with the numbering. MacBook, iPad, iPhone, Apple TV etc.
we're jus gonna have to distinguish between them by the year...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 7th, 2012, 8:16 pm

^ huh?

the 3G wasnt the 3rd gen, it was the 2nd gen, the 3GS was the 3rd.

they can call it the 5 even if it's the 6th gen phone

Postby M_2NR » March 7th, 2012, 8:59 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ huh?

the 3G wasnt the 3rd gen, it was the 2nd gen, the 3GS was the 3rd.

they can call it the 5 even if it's the 6th gen phone

actually... 3GS is 2nd gen. :lol: its supposedly taken from the firmware/ipsw naming so... iPhone 2G: 1,1; 3G: 1,2; 3GS: 2,1; 4: 3,1/3,3 and 4S: 4,1. If i am not mistaken. ;)

Strauss

Postby Strauss » March 7th, 2012, 9:31 pm

There were 2 generations of the orinigal 2g, And 1 generation each after that. Ignore firmware and number scheme. It's about the year of manufacutre in combination with shipped firmware, baseband and capacity.

The same applies to their macs and iPods in the past

Strauss

Postby Strauss » March 7th, 2012, 9:32 pm

Oops I mean 2 gens of the 3g. Too lazy to edit on this phone

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » March 7th, 2012, 9:34 pm

so who's getting the new Apple Tv