COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 182 cases, 8 deaths, 135 discharged in T&T

Postby pugboy » August 3rd, 2020, 6:09 pm

it is almost as though the initial lockdown was a woft

Postby De Dragon » August 3rd, 2020, 6:12 pm

Hard lock down, eased lock down, none of that matters without wider testing.

Postby sMASH » August 3rd, 2020, 6:16 pm

locking down hard for months, was to acheive what new zealand did. limit the spread, so that any cases, the virus would just live out its time and expire. but implemented wrongly, where they left the kfc's open, they sent people to apply for grants at the ministries, and forced people to submit tax forms. they redcued the opening hrs for hardwares and groceries, which just cuased the same people to jumble up together when they did have chance to go.
when u do over run the virus, then u have to keep borders closed limit all external interaction to after the quarantine time, or via some physical barrier.

govt did crap. they halfassed most things. they needed to semi random test the various communities to find it if it was here. they needed to put vessels out at sea to block vene them from reaching shore easily. borders being closed is not just about telling the security by the ports, to not let people come in.

so they needed to lock down earlier, for about a month, keep activity to essential services and food. just send people money via EBC. after a while u got the stats that most people will live, just the susceptible will not. so given that, we should have made provisions to isolate/separate them for months on end, till we get the population immunized naturally.
too much resources that we dont have, to keep things locked down till a vaccine. and keeping the virus out, is just a losing battle.

Postby paid_influencer » August 3rd, 2020, 6:20 pm

De Dragon wrote:Hard lock down, eased lock down, none of that matters without wider testing.

they should more aggressively test Venezuelans and people involved in human trafficking (and the police know who they are, tbh)

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 3rd, 2020, 6:29 pm

No new cases
117118017_3575646842465098_8702676363984852020_n.jpeg

Postby paid_influencer » August 3rd, 2020, 6:43 pm

ST Auto wrote:No new cases117118017_3575646842465098_8702676363984852020_n.jpeg

well that outbreak was short lived.

excellent work by the CMO and MoH

Postby MaxPower » August 3rd, 2020, 6:47 pm

Yeh its not that bad.

Few cases here and there, no biggy.

Trinis are just concerned.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 3rd, 2020, 6:59 pm

Add two in a few...wait for it

Postby paid_influencer » August 3rd, 2020, 7:04 pm

10 schools closed according to the news

cluster of 6 children in one school

attendance between 40% to 70% today

MoH: COVID not raging in T&T

Postby bluefete » August 3rd, 2020, 7:11 pm

paid_influencer wrote:10 schools closed according to the news

cluster of 6 children in one school

attendance between 40% to 70% today

MoH: COVID not raging in T&T

Some teachers have said that they are not going back to teach in-person especially after Wednesday (2 week lockdown) because after that date is salt to write SEA.

Postby sMASH » August 3rd, 2020, 7:27 pm

stay home stay safe.

Postby MaxPower » August 3rd, 2020, 7:33 pm

sMASH wrote:stay home stay safe.

And Do not congregate.

Not that anyone listens to this game changing advice.

Postby goalpost » August 3rd, 2020, 8:04 pm

Lockdown from August 11

Postby redmanjp » August 3rd, 2020, 8:13 pm

tell employers dat- they want you to come to work with symptoms- dey rather have their whole staff expose and have to quarantine- CMO say stay home even for the slightest symptoms

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » August 3rd, 2020, 8:30 pm

redmanjp wrote:

tell employers dat- they want you to come to work with symptoms- dey rather have their whole staff expose and have to quarantine- CMO say stay home even for the slightest symptoms

Sad to say this post hit home for me, I’m a technician for a very large company I visit at least 5-8 homes per day Monday to Saturday, and from since the bans were lifted and we opened back management gave each tech one face mask, one small bottle of hand sanitizer and one box of disposable gloves and that was it. While they sit in their office screening visitors and hide behind their plexiglass. I have been to homes where customers coughing their liver string out, homes where customers rubbing Vick’s saying they not feeling to good etc and when I tell management they don’t give 2 sticks about it. But let me call in and say I’m not feeling to good the first thing looking to tell me is, so what are we suppose to do with the jobs scheduled for you today...... so seeing that attitude I took matters into my own hands to be extra careful and sanitized while on the job cuz I have small children at home and I’m hell sure not gonna let them get infected due to my job. I have given up on waiting for management to safeguard staff. And this goes across the board with other techs I know working with various companies

Postby sMASH » August 3rd, 2020, 8:31 pm

the workers need to apply for pandemic leave

Postby MaxPower » August 3rd, 2020, 8:42 pm

tropi_flakes wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

Sad to say this post hit home for me, I’m a technician for a very large company I visit at least 5-8 homes per day Monday to Saturday, and from since the bans were lifted and we opened back management gave each tech one face mask, one small bottle of hand sanitizer and one box of disposable gloves and that was it. While they sit in their office screening visitors and hide behind their plexiglass. I have been to homes where customers coughing their liver string out, homes where customers rubbing Vick’s saying they not feeling to good etc and when I tell management they don’t give 2 sticks about it. But let me call in and say I’m not feeling to good the first thing looking to tell me is, so what are we suppose to do with the jobs scheduled for you today...... so seeing that attitude I took matters into my own hands to be extra careful and sanitized while on the job cuz I have small children at home and I’m hell sure not gonna let them get infected due to my job. I have given up on waiting for management to safeguard staff. And this goes across the board with other techs I know working with various companies

Hello tropi_flakes,

Words cannot explain how sad it is to know that you and many other workers have to deal with these poor decisions and stances from management. Through this pandemic, we see their true colors but you must continue to be strong and keep fighting.

I admire your commitment to take matters into your own hands for the protection of yourself and family.

Keep it up, be on your guard at all times and be safe out there.

Postby bluefete » August 3rd, 2020, 8:48 pm

13 schools now closed

New ones are - Carapo RC and 2 others. Info slow right now.

Postby redmanjp » August 3rd, 2020, 8:52 pm

sMASH wrote:the workers need to apply for pandemic leave

ent Govt cancel dat? so HR go say we doh have a provision for that

HR by me also doesn't have a provision for working from home in order to safeguard vulnerable family members so i have to come to work-now several staff members in quarantine due to a contact in our office having symptoms. and they asking us to ask the CMO for quarantine letters- which the MOH taking their time to send.

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » August 3rd, 2020, 8:58 pm

redmanjp wrote:
sMASH wrote:the workers need to apply for pandemic leave

ent Govt cancel dat? so HR go say we doh have a provision for that

HR by me also doesn't have a provision for working from home in order to safeguard vulnerable family members so i have to come to work-now several staff members in quarantine due to a contact in our office having symptoms. and they asking us to ask the CMO for quarantine letters- which the MOH taking their time to send.

At least your HR still asking, mine when I spoke to them just said make sure and wear your mask smh. And mind you due to the lockdown we have no vacation days left for the year, they canceled and paid us for the days while we were home. Only thing left is to hit them sick leave 2 days ever so often so no dr letter is required

Postby sMASH » August 3rd, 2020, 9:08 pm

that leave was always corporate techno bs. they push that out to buy time and let the workers to exhaust their other leaves until they got a better story to work with.

we not under SoE so all rules, laws still applicable, even if overlooked at this time. they can still go to industrial court for violation of the labor act.

in other words, the govt is telling peopel do do ting but not giving people legal avenues to do it.

at the end of the day, everybody have to reconcile how much risk are they able to accept for the pay check.

it seems to me, the govt is low key pushing herd immunity too. but they know trini does bawl for every ting, so they cant come out and say thats what they doing. so they set tings up half assed, knows some peopel will over do, some will under do and u well get a slow community spread.

Postby paid_influencer » August 3rd, 2020, 9:20 pm

'Close the schools now!' - TTUTA

The Trinidad and Tobago Unified Teachers' Association (TTUTA) is calling for the immediate closure of all primary schools, as Covid-19 positive cases continue to rise.

TTUTA has also called on the Education Ministry facilitate online classes in preparation for the Secondary Entrance Assessment (SEA) examination.

In a media release on Sunday, TTUTA stated that members were extremely concerned by the continued increase in Covid-19 cases across the country. "This has significantly impacted the students preparing for the Secondary Entrance Assessment (SEA). TTUTA is committed to the protection of its members, as well as to the welfare of our students," it stated.

Therefore, according to the release, in light of the recent developments TTUTA has called for schools to be closed.

TTUTA advised that the Education Ministry provide teachers and students with electronic devices and connectivity to facilitate online classes. "The operational support must also be provided to teachers by the Ministry of Education," it stated.

Primary schools were reopened on July 20 to allow Standard Five pupils to prepare for the SEA examinations, to be held on August 20.

However, at least 11 schools were ordered to close the Ministry of Health as staff and pupils were exposed to the deadly virus.

Staff members, students and their households were advised to quarantine at home for 14 days.

in the Express

Postby redmanjp » August 3rd, 2020, 9:25 pm

SEA and CSEC results go be bad this year. exams in normal years is already stress- add covid anxiety plus lack of proper preparation due to school closures both last term and now and well i could see a big failure rate.

Postby MaxPower » August 3rd, 2020, 9:30 pm

redmanjp wrote:SEA and CSEC results go be bad this year. exams in normal years is already stress- add covid anxiety plus lack of proper preparation due to school closures both last term and now and well i could see a big failure rate.

Blame the parents.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 3rd, 2020, 9:38 pm

So schools closed but bars open?

PNM reach full retard?

Postby paid_influencer » August 3rd, 2020, 10:03 pm

serious talk eh, but anyone accessing the online material at the moe? I haven't even glanced at it until today :?

First, if you go to http://www.moe.gov.tt there is no link at all to the platform. Plenty people (including myself) would not know this thing even exists.

then I remembered from a news program the URL learn.moe.gov.tt, which does infact go to the correct place. But - you have to create an account create with a strong password (which needs non-alphanumeric characters and upper and lower case letters - a big barrier to entry for parents who might are not familiar with computers). And it also requires email verification - another thing plenty parents do not have.

once you get it, there's good content there, but again may need some work for those not used to computers.

killercow

Postby killercow » August 3rd, 2020, 10:03 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I voting PNM just to spite De Phaggot and Kewell

Maxpower I coming to the red side it still have space?

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:So schools closed but bars open?

PNM reach full retard?

Go forth flat-earther...

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 3rd, 2020, 10:56 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:So schools closed but bars open?

PNM reach full retard?

Books don't kill corona, alcohol does.

krai888

Postby krai888 » August 4th, 2020, 1:34 am

CSEC students have no excuse if they have access to a computer and wifi. They can learn at their own pace.