Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

kamakazi

Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby kamakazi » May 16th, 2016, 7:37 am

Understood...I just don't want the man to fold up after an accident... He probably already know that using the seatbelt safer...

daas

Postby daas » May 16th, 2016, 9:18 am

viedcht wrote:
daas wrote:Just curious... How much does it cost to challenge a ticket?

Hmmm yuh mean the lawyer fee right? I think around $500

You sure? I heard someone say about $6000 :|

daas

Postby daas » May 16th, 2016, 9:22 am

And btw what speed limit being enforced?

Fyaz are still being gheed

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » May 16th, 2016, 9:24 am

Sunday night around 8pm I'm driving on the highway heading west just before centre of excellence. I was doing 80km/h on the right lane while I was slowly moving pass a line a cars of the left going slower than me. A police van came sirens blazing flashing lights and using their horn right up close behind my bumper, there was no room for me to pull to the right or left until the car on the left of me slowed down creating a space for me to merge into the left lane for the vans to pass ( it was two have them).

My question is if the car on the left didn't create space and allow me to merge what was I supposed to do? Speed up breaking the speed limit to quickly overtake the slower line of traffic to allow police to pass? or just slow down even more to find a way to merge left while having those bright flashing lights police van right up on my bumper?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 16th, 2016, 10:04 am

Continue until you have a space to pull aside

Postby BrotherHood » May 16th, 2016, 12:12 pm

daas wrote:
viedcht wrote:
daas wrote:Just curious... How much does it cost to challenge a ticket?

Hmmm yuh mean the lawyer fee right? I think around $500

You sure? I heard someone say about $6000 :|

A fixed penalty offence like a speeding ticket or any other traffic offence can be challenged by yourself in the Magistrates Court. No need for an attorney.

Postby sMASH » May 16th, 2016, 2:31 pm

Apparently police cannot lawfully go above the speed limit.
Unless the KFC will get cold. I sorry my camera wasn't on today, u would have gotten a plain clothes ocifer on the fone at gulf city lights ,,, going from north to west.
And another used the siren as his not. To blow pass a line of traffic. As soon as he clear, siren stop tooting

Postby rollingstock » May 16th, 2016, 3:18 pm

Would it surprise you if I told you that police officers on duty are exempted from the laws re handheld devices whist driving?

Postby pete » May 16th, 2016, 3:28 pm

Would it surprise you if I told you the majority of people in Trinidad are exempt from the same laws as the police as there's no enforcement and they won't be penalised?

WRT the officers who officers who drive above the speed limit, drive through red lights and talk on their phone while not wearing their seatbelt, I don't see why they value their lives so little that they would do those things unless there was a real emergency so when I see them push people out of their way with sirens on and switch it off as they get past traffic I just chuckle.

Postby rollingstock » May 16th, 2016, 3:49 pm

pete wrote:Would it surprise you if I told you the majority of people in Trinidad are exempt from the same laws as the police as there's no enforcement and they won't be penalised?

WRT the officers who officers who drive above the speed limit, drive through red lights and talk on their phone while not wearing their seatbelt, I don't see why they value their lives so little that they would do those things unless there was a real emergency so when I see them push people out of their way with sirens on and switch it off as they get past traffic I just chuckle.

That is the most idiotic diatribe of a retort I have ever read.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » May 16th, 2016, 4:00 pm

Bwda rollingstock come from :lol:

Postby Gem_in_i » May 16th, 2016, 5:23 pm

Heading north today and then back south i felt like everyone was speeding along passing me.
Couple trucks were doing abt 60 though.

Postby S_2NR » May 16th, 2016, 6:12 pm

two more weeks, people will not even remember speed guns :lol: wait for it

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » May 16th, 2016, 6:51 pm

Think people feel police not charging anybody till they confirm the new speed limit. Well that's the consensus I heard :?

Postby *KRONIK* » May 16th, 2016, 6:57 pm

Nah...they was in wallerfied hiding in the bush this morning...rell ppl get tickets!

Plus i heard on the radio today....they issued 90k in tickets already

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 16th, 2016, 7:05 pm

Lol@hiding in de bush. Daz way TTPS reach? Be bold na man. Stand up confident with folded arms on the shoulder.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 16th, 2016, 7:13 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:Think people feel police not charging anybody till they confirm the new speed limit. Well that's the consensus I heard :?

With the use of newly issued speed guns, police cracked down yet again on speeding drivers.

During police exercises over the weekend, nine persons were ticketed for breaching the speed limit along the Churchill Roosevelt Highway.

The exercises took place between 11:00 pm and 2:00 am along the highway in the Valsayn area.

It was conducted by officials of the Highway Patrol Unit.

The fastest speed recorded by the speed guns above the limit was 147 kilometres per hour, while the lowest speed recorded over the limit was 97 kilometres per hour.

Police said the drivers were charged with exceeding the speed limit contrary to section 62:1 of the Motor Vehicle Road Traffic Act Chap 48:50 and the speed limit on the nation’s highways remains at 80 kilometres per hour.

Those issued tickets will have to pay the fixed penalty notice of $1,000.

The speed-measuring laser guns devices, approved by Minister of Works and Transport Fitzgerald Hinds, were used in all exercises so far.

With these nine tickets, over 90 persons have been found in breach of the speed limit since the speed guns were utilised less than two weeks ago.

This means that the State would have garnered revenue of at least $90,000 from citizens of this country who were in breach of the law.

http://www.looptt.com/content/9-more-ticketed-speeding

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » May 16th, 2016, 7:14 pm

S_2NR wrote:two more weeks, people will not even remember speed guns :lol: wait for it

today should already make it two weeks since it began, not so? based on what I saw yesterday, seems as though most forgot already :lol:

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 16th, 2016, 7:20 pm

Well hardluck for them fellas who get ticketed for speeding. I guess they don't mind shelling out ah grand. I go stick with ah 78kph with mih broke self..
:cry:

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 16th, 2016, 7:50 pm

sMASH wrote:Apparently police cannot lawfully go above the speed limit.
Unless the KFC will get cold. I sorry my camera wasn't on today, u would have gotten a plain clothes ocifer on the fone at gulf city lights ,,, going from north to west.
And another used the siren as his not. To blow pass a line of traffic. As soon as he clear, siren stop tooting

(almost) Everybody know how police does abuse dey privileged position in society in this country.

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » May 16th, 2016, 8:27 pm

Well tonight dey are out. X-tail on highway by MovieTowne pulling over with flashlights by AMCO......i didnt even slow down :mrgreen: they literally have to run into traffic if anyone were to stop. No the best plan. :lol:

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 16th, 2016, 8:32 pm

eurotuner wrote:Well tonight dey are out. X-tail on highway by MovieTowne pulling over with flashlights by AMCO......i didnt even slow down :mrgreen: they literally have to run into traffic if anyone were to stop. No the best plan. :lol:

Yuh know, I yet to witness how it does work... so what they do? First set clock yuh on the radar... then the other set waiting down the road does...? Walk into the highway lanes and stop traffic? Jump in de van and chase yuh down?what happens exactly?

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » May 16th, 2016, 8:42 pm

viedcht wrote:
eurotuner wrote:Well tonight dey are out. X-tail on highway by MovieTowne pulling over with flashlights by AMCO......i didnt even slow down :mrgreen: they literally have to run into traffic if anyone were to stop. No the best plan. :lol:

Yuh know, I yet to witness how it does work... so what they do? First set clock yuh on the radar... then the other set waiting down the road does...? Walk into the highway lanes and stop traffic? Jump in de van and chase yuh down?what happens exactly?

^ I thought that WAS the plan. Because, tonight the police that are suppose to pull you over was on ONE side of the highway and was using a flashlight to signal you to pull over.....people just kept on driving :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » May 16th, 2016, 8:47 pm

viedcht wrote:

If this is how they want the police to do their jobs as soon as the hype dies down police will not have time for this. Its doltishness, police shouldn't have to be running between cars to stop people.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 16th, 2016, 8:51 pm

Heheheh... these people eh. They might go licencing office tomorrow and search certified copy for speed-offence owners... I wonder... :lol:

Postby Gem_in_i » May 16th, 2016, 9:17 pm

When the police were on tv they said the speed guns can take pic of vehicle and has gps coordinates etc.

Postby sMASH » May 16th, 2016, 9:18 pm

allyuh forget when they decided to protest and actually do their work, and the country was at a crawl?
allyuh really want them to start back working?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 16th, 2016, 9:23 pm

sMASH wrote:allyuh forget when they decided to protest and actually do their work, and the country was at a crawl?
allyuh really want them to start back working?

Road block from aside! "Driver, you have a detective dipstick. Hold ah ticket for that". :lol:

Postby sMASH » May 16th, 2016, 9:31 pm

ey, alexfurgasun say, "85 is not 80"

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 16th, 2016, 9:33 pm

I honestly rather they make theyself prominently present and regularly do the speed gun thing. That's opposed to being random just coz the minister up their bum to use the technology. It will pain me if TTPS stop the exercise for say, 2months, get me comfortable going a lil 85-90, then wap! After Macaulay overpass they clock mih arse, on ah easy Thursday night 3AM. That ticket go hutt mih bad bad.