it will come soon enough.

remember the wait for froyo

Re: The *Official* ANDROID/GOOGLE Thread

Postby RASC » December 23rd, 2010, 8:35 am

Nah allyuh doh mind fragmentation...

It's a figment of your imagination :roll:

Sorry guys, but this is the same issue that plagued Symbian. I dunno how y'all aren't seeing it. Too many handsets, with too many varying specs. It's slowing down Googles ability to release updates quickly.

The back end of the Android office must be a total mess with developers scrambling around to find solutions for every single OEM manufacturer out there.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » December 23rd, 2010, 9:34 am

may sound like a dumb question but i have a HD2 ported to the Desire ROM. To update, what do i need to do? is it manual or automatic??

Postby tr1ad » December 23rd, 2010, 9:44 am

just "played" with a galaxy tab

i wants

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 23rd, 2010, 10:20 am

RASC wrote:Nah allyuh doh mind fragmentation...

Sorry guys, but this is the same issue that plagued Symbian. I dunno how y'all aren't seeing it. Too many handsets, with too many varying specs. It's slowing down Googles ability to release updates quickly.

The back end of the Android office must be a total mess with developers scrambling around to find solutions for every single OEM manufacturer out there.

no eh :?

and i really dont think u gonna turn any Android user in this thread off Android :|

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 23rd, 2010, 10:21 am

Google's Honeycomb Android tablet release slated for March?

The only official timeframe we have for an Android 3.0 Honeycomb release is sometime "next year." A little too vague for our liking and for a seemingly infinite list of manufacturers chomping at the bit to release their fully sanctioned Android tablets onto the world. Now DigiTimes narrows things down a bit with an off-the-cuff comment about MSI preparing to sell its Tegra 2-based tablets in April or May "after Google releases Android 3.0 in March." Of course, a March release seems almost definite what with Acer hoping to ship its tablets with Honeycomb in April as well. Hopefully we'll get this confirmed at CES in early January.

http://goo.gl/tKYmV

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 23rd, 2010, 10:22 am

tr1ad wrote:just "played" with a galaxy tab

i wants

CES right round the corner. hold strain for the honeycomb tablets...

zcarz

Postby zcarz » December 23rd, 2010, 10:26 am

RASC wrote:Nah allyuh doh mind fragmentation...

not really, a lot of the hardware isn't that different from each other although the specs may differ considerably.. hardware-specific variables won't be too differing.
Last edited by zcarz on December 23rd, 2010, 10:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 23rd, 2010, 10:27 am

Dell Venue launched in Hong Kong, we go hands-on

Isn't it fun when you hit the right place at the right time? We just happened to be chillaxing in Hong Kong when Dell chose the city for the Venue's global launch (and it's actually hitting the shops slightly ahead of South Korea), so a quick hands-on is inevitable. As we've seen previously, this HK$3,999 (US$514) handset is essentially the Venue Pro's Android 2.2 cousin sans, sporting the same curved (or "Shear Design") vibrant AMOLED display at 4.1 inches and 800 x 480, but missing the slide-out keyboard. Under the hood lies a 1GHz Snapdragon with 1GB ROM and 512MB RAM, along with the usual microSD expansion, 1400mAh battery, 8 megapixel AF camera with LED flash, Bluetooth 2.3 EDR, WiFi and AGPS.

There aren't any surprises in terms of software -- the Venue shares the same snappy Stage UI and Swype keyboard with the Streak, except for the lack of landscape orientation for the homescreen (and that's with orientation enabled in system settings). As for hardware, the killer feature here is the screen, and we found its curved Gorilla Glass to be surprisingly nice for our thumbs while swiping across it. The AMOLED panel underneath is also vibrant with great viewing angles. Elsewhere, build quality is almost solid bar the squeaky battery door, but at least it provides some grip. That's all we got for now -- we'll delve into more details in our forthcoming review, so stay tuned.

http://goo.gl/1BVba

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 23rd, 2010, 10:34 am

and Google does not release a custom OS specific to each hardware manufacturer.

they release the stock OS and it's up to the hardware manufacturer to update it to suit their needs and their own custom UI

if all phones came with stock Android like the Nexus phones, fragmentation wouldnt be an issue

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 23rd, 2010, 10:37 am

LG Optimus 2X dual-core Android phone hits Europe in January

We already knew that it was coming to its home country of Korea in January. Now we know that LG's Tegra 2 Optimus 2X will bring its 4-inch display and 1080p video recording capability to the Android loving shores of Europe in the first month of 2011. The detail was hidden in a rather mundane press release touting the inclusion of 25 audio files (including 15 custom ringtones) from famed film composer Ennio Morricone, a man most recognizable for scoring those Sergio Leone "Spaghetti Westerns." While we're not sure how this oddball partnership materialized, we do know that there are two kinds of people in this world. Those with loaded guns, and those who dig. You dig? So we're not going to push it.

http://goo.gl/YDMGC

zcarz

Postby zcarz » December 23rd, 2010, 10:58 am

pics as promised:
Last edited by zcarz on December 23rd, 2010, 12:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » December 23rd, 2010, 11:25 am

zcarz,

Do you have any pics with it in your hand?

I wanted to see if the HD fits comfortably and can be used with only one hand.

Heard that due to the size, it's kind of difficult to.

What's ur opinion on this?

zcarz

Postby zcarz » December 23rd, 2010, 12:14 pm

Ill get some pics later. All in all it can be used with one hand even if you have small hands like me especially w ith the swype keyboards on the app market. It is a bit cumbersome but nothing insurmountable. Using two hands isn't really a problem for me though.

Postby M_2NR » December 23rd, 2010, 12:31 pm

zcarz, please remove your second pic... it has all your info... :)

tr1ad, the tab had any lags?

zcarz

Postby zcarz » December 23rd, 2010, 12:39 pm

M_2NR wrote:zcarz, please remove your second pic... it has all your info... :)

tr1ad, the tab had any lags?

Lol thanks edited

Postby Chimera » December 23rd, 2010, 1:06 pm

i feeling to buy a htc yes, never had one

wanna see what all the fuss is about

i see a man use a htc last nite to fire a sniper rifle on smallville too na lol

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 23rd, 2010, 2:32 pm

tablets, tablets and more tablets...

Dell's 7-inch (or 10-inch) Android tablet gets WiFi certification?

Remember how Dell's supposed to be introducing a 7-inch Tegra 2-powered Android tablet, like, right now, possibly followed by a 10-inch model in a few months? Well, we're not saying that's what's going on here, but consider the facts: the original 5-inch Streak has a model code of M01M, and a new device with code M02M just popped up in the Wi-Fi Alliance's certification database identified as a "Mobile Internet Device" in the Smartphone category. Yes, 7 inches is a bit large for a "smartphone," but the Alliance doesn't have a great category for these tweeners that support cellular data (and like the European Galaxy Tab, some of them really are smartphones anyway). PocketNow suggests that we could also be looking at the Streak 2, which is possible -- but considering the groundswell of rumors we've been hearing about a slightly larger tablet in the pipeline, that's where our money lies. That holds especially true considering how close we are to CES, which promises to be a veritable tablet-fest this year -- but regardless, we bet the truth comes out within the next couple weeks.

http://goo.gl/DWfVP

Postby tr1ad » December 23rd, 2010, 3:52 pm

no lag whatsoever

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 23rd, 2010, 6:57 pm

Exclusive: the Dell Streak 7 will be televised, here's the ad treatment

Well, that was fast. Not long after we saw Dell's 7-inch tablet earn its WiFi certification, we happened upon a treatment for its in-production commercial -- exhausted Android mascot and all. Of course the video'll touting the gaming, social, and internet capabilities, but it's also got Blio reader, Stage UI (same skin as the 5-inch Streak), the new campaign slogan ("You can tell [it's] Dell"), and yes, even a name: Streak 7, as said by the voice over. Not the most original, but when you got a brand, might as well keep it going. Looks like we've got something else to keep an eye out for when CES rolls around in a few weeks. Peep the treatment for yourself below.

http://goo.gl/NdZZR

Kish

Postby Kish » December 24th, 2010, 9:01 am

New Rom for X10 owners:
2.0.2.A.0.24 firmware (21/12/2010)

i haven't tried it as yet as i'm waiting for the changelog to know what changes were made.

~*SiLvA MeRa*~

Postby ~*SiLvA MeRa*~ » December 24th, 2010, 2:06 pm

new andriod user , got the samsung galaxy s, i am in need of a case for this phone urgently, does this phone need a screen protector, i ask because gorilla glass was used for its display?

phone still in the box, how long should the first charge be?

thanx tuners.

Postby honda hoe » December 24th, 2010, 2:15 pm

^ the phone charges pretty quick

just plug it in until the battery icon is full

but let it discharge fully before u plug it in to charge again... u only have to do it once... after that charge as required

i dunno where sells cases... my nexus came with an android sponge case

~*SiLvA MeRa*~

Postby ~*SiLvA MeRa*~ » December 24th, 2010, 2:28 pm

thanx bro, even online on Amazon, there are not that many case available, will keep looking.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » December 24th, 2010, 4:33 pm

^I made sure n got a screen protector for mine. Also got a rubberized case off amazon.

Postby M_2NR » December 24th, 2010, 5:02 pm

tr1ad wrote:no lag whatsoever

thanks bai. @cmdshft was saying it did :|

__

wrt to phone charging... i always leave li-ion batteries to charge overnight b4 first use but i was reading that you do some drain to 20% thing and then fully charge (with normal use) and then drain to 40% then fully charge and keep repeating this... should increase life of it... i dont do that.. ever

__

wrt to case... TPU is a great material and they are normally used in those cases and its cheap! only thing is that some of them around the buttons are a bit tough... depends on how its designed. It's a bit tougher than silicone but it can absorb drops but dont try to cut it...

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » December 24th, 2010, 5:53 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:^I made sure n got a screen protector for mine. Also got a rubberized case off amazon.

Personally i don't like the screen protectors, they keep my back when using Swype, my finger does jus be skipping across the screen when i try to type, studying to spray a lil Pam :lol:

Rubberized case definite, best protection against falls.

Postby tr1ad » December 24th, 2010, 6:27 pm

yuh need a zagg screen protector....best ever

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 24th, 2010, 7:27 pm

Captainzaak wrote:
2NR Smurf wrote:^I made sure n got a screen protector for mine. Also got a rubberized case off amazon.

Personally i don't like the screen protectors, they keep my back when using Swype, my finger does jus be skipping across the screen when i try to type, studying to spray a lil Pam :lol:

Rubberized case definite, best protection against falls.

Swype ftw yes! cant see myself using any other touchscreen keyboard again...