bluefete wrote:Maybe it would have been too expensive to burn down the factory.
Wonder who tipped them off?
janfar wrote:Its what happened during the shootout.
JUICE ATTACK
Story Updated: Jan 28, 2014
Armed intruders yesterday climbed the roof
of the Trinidad Juice Company’s Co-operative
Citrus Growers Association compound in
Laventille and fired shots at security guards
for several minutes before police and
soldiers forced them to run away.
The attack followed a break-in at the
company’s Eastern Main Road facility and
warehouse on Monday night when thieves
broke in and stole canned juice and bottled
soft drinks valued at $20,000.
The juice company is a subsidiary of
Otaheite-based SM Jaleel and Co Ltd, which
has caught the country’s attention since
United States authorities announced on
December 20, a drug bust of more than 700
lbs of cocaine, with a street value of $644
million, packed in cans with Trinidad Juice
labels on them and which passed through
the Port of Port of Spain, on the way to
Norfolk, Virginia, USA.
The Trinidad Juice Company was incorporated
in 2008 and manufactures the brand Trinidad
Juices.
Trinidad Juices has been manufactured by
the Co-operative Citrus Growers’ Asso-
ciation (CGA) of Trinidad and Tobago at
Eastern Main Road, Laventille, since 1931,
according to SM Jaleel.
In a statement posted yesterday on its
website, SM Jaleel said armed men on the
roof of the Trinidad Juice Company on the
Eastern Main Road “fired at security officers
guarding the building, at around 1 p.m”
yesterday.
Security officers from the Allied Security firm
“took cover while the bandits fired
sporadically for about five minutes,” SM
Jaleel stated.
Police were contacted and the Inter-Agency
Task Force (IATF) responded within five
minutes, the company said, adding: “When
the 12 police officers and eight soldiers
arrived on the scene, the gunmen fled into
the surroun-
ding hillside.”
SM Jaleel thanked the IATF for its rapid
response and “quickly ending what was a
tense and extremely frightening situation”.
The company said it wanted to make clear
“the property was not raided by the police as
is being inaccurately reported”.
It said any further information on the matter
should be sought from the Police Service.
The Express and TV6 News have reported
exclusively that a number of robberies have
taken place at the compound for more than
two years.
Bandits struck again on Monday night at the
Citrus Growers compound, targeting more
juice cans.
A senior investigator informed the Express
and TV6 News that raw materials checker
Christian David from SM Jaleel left several
cases of juice and soft drinks on wooden
crates in an open storage area and left the
compound at 5 p.m. on Monday.
David returned close to 5.30 a.m. yesterday
and found 100 cases of grapefruit juice, 70
cases of orange juice and 13 cases of Chubby
soft drink missing.
The bandits, according to police, gained
access to the compound by climbing onto the
low roof at the back of the building.
Police said some of the juice cases the
bandits were not able to carry were found
on the roof.
President of the Co-operative Citrus Growers
Association Felix Clarke, who spoke with the
Express last night, said: “It’s been a
perennial problem for many years of regular
break-ins. People from the area come onto
the compound and steal whatever product,
the juice and the sugar, that we use to mix
the juices.”
The thefts are taking a toll on Citrus
Growers, Clarke said.
He suggested law enforcement agencies
needed to set up patrols in and around the
area to deter bandits.
United States Drug Enforcement
Administration (DEA) investigators have
initiated a transatlantic investigation into the
December 20 canned cocaine drug bust.
But while US law enforcement authorities
work hand in hand with local agencies to
collect data and statements from people in
this country for their investigation, the place
where the stolen juice cans might have
originated continues to be a target.
Toyopet wrote:Just a quick fyi, the compound has always been broken into and always shot at over the years. Most area the galvanize resembles a strainer. Its only now that its making headlines.
ABA Trading LTD wrote:Toyopet wrote:Just a quick fyi, the compound has always been broken into and always shot at over the years. Most area the galvanize resembles a strainer. Its only now that its making headlines.
so hear this na
you saying for years now, SM Jaleels products have always been stolen and they don't talk about it?
Why should the public trust products from that company if the safety of it is compromised?Since such large amounts are stolen and its a "normal occurrence and can't be stopped due to the large warehouse"
Then SM Jaleel cannot secure their items and malicious people/terrorists/any crazy ex worker can obtain a large amount of their products, mix in some lanate/arsenic/rat poison and distribute to groceries/parlours/whatever
That's what yuh really saying right?
That's your defense? That SM Jaleel simply cannot secure their products?
R!CH!E wrote:ABA Trading LTD, just wanna answer few of your "questions".
- As per industrial espionage it can happen to any manufacturer. Do you think burglary does not happen at ABIL's factories or ANSA factories?
R!CH!E wrote:OK??????
ANSA=Carib
ABIL= Charles Candy, Sunshine snacks, etc etc
rfari wrote:Toyopet wrote:Just a quick fyi, the compound has always been broken into and always shot at over the years. Most area the galvanize resembles a strainer. Its only now that its making headlines.
The news article is accurate?
R!CH!E wrote:ABA Trading LTD, just wanna answer few of your "questions".
- All break-ins are reported (check Besson Street Police Staion).
- Because of the location of that plant i.e. the roof ends where the hills begin it is easy for trespassers. Also because of the location it easy/easier to conduct sales/deliveries in the northern areas, hence the reason for not closing location.
- As per industrial espionage it can happen to any manufacturer. Do you think burglary does not happen at ABIL's factories or ANSA factories?
RIPEBREDFRUIT
- We had many meetings with our lawyers and state defence, we cannot erect electric fences even with proper signage.
- Cameras in the laventille area are operational in the plant, but once we start repairing or placing on the perimeter it gets shoot down. If there's any one on tuner from the area they can tell you, to do such perimeter works SMJ usually employs armed guards and IATF along with helicopter coverage.
snypaz , the police from "across the street" usually only respond when SMJ calls, I have never seen them there without notifiction.
ABA Trading LTD wrote:R!CH!E wrote:OK??????
ANSA=Carib
ABIL= Charles Candy, Sunshine snacks, etc etc
or hor. okay my bad.
So your defense is that it happens to other factories as well?
The danger that Trinidad's citizens can be poisoned/killed due to the large amount of items stolen from your warehouse that can potentially be sabotaged is something that can't be helped due to the "bess location" of the warehouse?
Well when you put it that way, that your location and profits are more important than the health and well being of Trinidad & Tobago's citizens as well as wherever you export to.
Ok.
rfari wrote:What has me confused is that there is a theft problem at the location yet stock was left in an 'open storage area' by the an employee?:-?
And sporadic fire from gunmen? What they came for?
lol hoss you stay there and feel that impossible. I have heard first hand stories from guards that worked there and It happens to the point at a time there were goods left to be stolenCrackpot wrote:Bull-Chit....nobody can climb through a roof and steal OVER $20,000 worth of soft drink in cases without A VEHICLE. It is physically impossible and I am not going to see common sense go extinct on these forums