Stand Your Ground Legislation

Re: the right to bear arms

Postby 88sins » May 27th, 2025, 5:59 pm

Question for the thinkers, and the non-thinkers too.

If you are not legally bound with some form of duty to retreat legislation, do you think you need stand your ground legislation to be allowed to defend yourself and your family in your own house from an assailant?

If your answer is yes, say why.

Postby pugboy » May 27th, 2025, 7:15 pm

you have to weight the options of what you can do based on what the intruder presents themselves as
intruders will always use the rowlee excuse of coming for mangoes even if they fully equipped for murder and home invasion
yet you can’t do anything unless it is in a situation where your life is in imminent danger as the cops like to say
so in short you have to wait to see what the intruder does before you can decide what you can or cannot do

88sins wrote:Question for the thinkers, and the non-thinkers too.

If you are not legally bound with some form of duty to retreat legislation, do you think you need stand your ground legislation to be allowed to defend yourself and your family in your own house from an assailant?

Postby 88sins » May 28th, 2025, 7:08 pm

pugboy wrote:you have to weight the options of what you can do based on what the intruder presents themselves as
intruders will always use the rowlee excuse of coming for mangoes even if they fully equipped for murder and home invasion
yet you can’t do anything unless it is in a situation where your life is in imminent danger as the cops like to say
so in short you have to wait to see what the intruder does before you can decide what you can or cannot do

That's not really relevant to the question, but I see your point.
Thing is, as it stands now, you have no mandatory legal duty to retreat.
So why do these people think we need stand your ground legislation?

Postby alfa » May 28th, 2025, 7:47 pm

pugboy wrote:you have to weight the options of what you can do based on what the intruder presents themselves as

That's not really relevant to the question, but I see your point.
Thing is, as it stands now, you have no mandatory legal duty to retreat.
So why do these people think we need stand your ground legislation?

I feel Kamla herself mixing up the terms and probably mean to say Castle doctrine. However seeing that is an American statute we can adopt it put whatever name to it that the lawmakers want, including stand your ground

Postby 16 cycles » May 28th, 2025, 8:11 pm

+1 for castle doctrine...

pause on the stand your ground or roll that out later once you gather data on castle doctrine after a while

Postby pugboy » May 29th, 2025, 5:13 pm

good article
https://trinidadexpress.com/opinion/let ... d9b80.html

most who want/need guns is because the actual policing, detection and enforcement is poor

the right to bear arms

Postby MaxPower » May 29th, 2025, 5:48 pm

pugboy wrote:good article

most who want/need guns is because the actual policing, detection and enforcement is poor

pug,

If actual policing, detection and enforcement is poor….then HOW can these same people be responsible for being involved in the FUL application process?

These same officers who contribute to poor policing, detection and enforcement are the same ones coming to your home to see the layout of your home and where the safe
is?

These same officers who contribute to poor policing, detection and enforcement are the same ones who you have to call when license firearms are stolen or used in a crime or other matter?

These same officers who contribute to poor policing, detection and enforcement are the same ones who are to ensure all citizens follow proper yearly renewal/competency?

These same officers who contribute to poor policing, detection and enforcement are the same ones who have to maintain law and order for responsible FUL ownership in public?

I have said it before…we need to fix the TTPS first before mass FUL approvals.

Postby pugboy » May 29th, 2025, 5:54 pm

Max,
you have a point but at this stage ppl need to not be a sitting duck
it is every man for himself

Postby 88sins » May 29th, 2025, 5:55 pm

pugboy wrote:good article

So he thinks it will be "every man for himself"
Apparently he didn't get the memo, it's already that way, with most men unarmed and simply waiting to see if/when they get taken, and damn near every criminal armed to the teeth and can choose their next victim at leisure

Postby mero » May 30th, 2025, 11:39 am

Stand your ground coming soon! Keep allyuh ailing and mentally deteriating family lockup inside.

Postby pugboy » May 30th, 2025, 12:46 pm

will take a lil while for ppl to remember to not walk in ppl property so, but eventually they will get the message

i give a begging guy some work monday to just clean up side of property
he ask me if he could get more work later in week
i say ok comeback wednesday and could clean up the back alley
wednesday morning i in the back and he open side gate and walk in back normel

Postby sMASH » May 30th, 2025, 6:13 pm

alfa wrote:https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/ag-standyourground-legislation-coming-to-parliament-after-midyear-budget-review-6.2.2317588.a22738e144
Stand yuh ground may be coming in later this year

It may not be the stand your ground laws everyone excited about.

Kamz has gaslighted the population and many are eager to empty d clip on a mango tief and walk away squeaky clean…..it may not be that easy
Don't go in nobody yard!

Postby MaxPower » May 30th, 2025, 6:49 pm

sMASH wrote:Don't go in nobody yard!

I totally agree

Postby 88sins » May 30th, 2025, 7:00 pm

You can call it castle doctrine, stand your ground, or pelau on a stick, whatever you think sounds best or coolest or whatever.

But just keep these lil nuggets in the back of your head

You having the right to defend yourself vs you having the ability to defend yourself are two very separate and entirely different things, and you can have a billion differently named pieces of legislation that can even literally guarantee that you are allowed to defend yourself if and when the need arises, but what good is such legislation to you if you are not by law or other mechanisms able to have the access to the necessary tools required for the task?

Forgive me if I have difficulty believing that an armed assailant will retreat if I shout "I invoke castle doctrine/stand your ground" in a firm loud voice or put it on a notice outside the fence/wall in large bold print, with a copy of the legislation attached for good measure.

I've said it before, and I will say it again
The authority for the issuance or terminatiom of FUL's ABSOLUTELY MUST BE REMOVED FROM THE CoP, AND THE TTPS IN GENERAL. Ideally that organization is to have absolutely no input, influence, control or authority over the process.
The locals over the decades who've been the holders of the office of the CoP, and have had all the assistance they could ever want over the course of multiple decades, have proven over the course of half a century to be at best incompetent and inept, and at worst entirely and intentionally corrupt, in the management of this responsibility.
If after half a century the office of the CoP is still somehow showing with a degree of pride and a sense of accomplishment that all the holder of the office can do is jackassness in regards to this one facets of their employment, methinks the best thing to do for the greatest good in general would be to remove that responsibility from that organization, totally, and permanently.

Postby alfa » June 11th, 2025, 6:45 pm

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/homeland ... 442b38026f

It coming fellas, Centerfire leading the way

Postby pugboy » June 11th, 2025, 6:56 pm

a room full of some of the most honest ppl in the country
they should polygraph that whole room

alfa wrote:http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/homeland-security-minister-meets-with-stakeholders-on-stand-your-ground-legislation-6.2.2329989.442b38026f

the right to bear arms

Postby MaxPower » June 11th, 2025, 10:43 pm

Range dealers will make some good money with firearm sales and training.

Expect that small competency fee to probably triple in price and other mandatory training programs.

Postby alfa » June 11th, 2025, 10:46 pm

MaxPower wrote:Range dealers will make some good money with firearm sales and training.

Continuous training and recertification seems to be their hook which isn't a bad thing, could help weed out the people who aren't willing to put in the work year after year

Postby pugboy » June 12th, 2025, 6:04 am

what bout fees to become a range dealer?
last i heard it was a few hundred k

MaxPower wrote:Range dealers will make some good money with firearm sales and training.

Expect that small competency fee to probably triple in price and other mandatory training programs.

Postby MaxPower » June 12th, 2025, 12:38 pm

pugboy wrote:what bout fees to become a range dealer?

Well that’s a next thing.

Would be interesting to know what processing fees would be like.

Postby pugboy » June 12th, 2025, 1:31 pm

simple economics
bigger demand bigger price

when kamala say guns for everybody she never say what the final cost will be

pugboy wrote:what bout fees to become a range dealer?

Well that’s a next thing.

Would be interesting to know what processing fees would be like.

the right to bear arms

Postby MaxPower » June 12th, 2025, 1:58 pm

pugboy wrote:simple economics
bigger demand bigger price

when kamala say guns for everybody she never say what the final cost will be

Good point.

Not many people may be able to afford guns and training etc.

The “law abiding” citizen with the makeshift lattice fence and ply board house with the Dalmbox $ twenty five usd Gun safe may face some pressure.

Postby 88sins » June 28th, 2025, 7:20 am

alfa wrote:http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/homeland-security-minister-meets-with-stakeholders-on-stand-your-ground-legislation-6.2.2329989.442b38026f

Ain't a damn thing coming, until the responsibility for issuance of FUL'S leaves the hands of the TTPS. Because regardless of what legislation is passed, they will continue to jackass the thing with the usual corruption and bobol.
They can pass all the stand your ground legislation they want, but until the aforementioned happens, you will be standing your ground either unarmed, or with a hot strap.

And if you think Jethro give a rats ass about "responsible ownership", yuh just wasted an entire thought. It's all about dollars, nothing else.

Postby pugboy » June 28th, 2025, 8:28 am

he used to be real paranoid he get ketch
i know multiple ppl he hand a piece of paper with the fee figure on, he fraid he get taped saying the fees

wonder who will be willing to tape a dealer now
it was so easy to back then if somebody wanted to clamp down

Ain't a damn thing coming, until the responsibility for issuance of FUL'S leaves the hands of the TTPS. Because regardless of what legislation is passed, they will continue to jackass the thing with the usual corruption and bobol.
They can pass all the stand your ground legislation they want, but until the aforementioned happens, you will be standing your ground either unarmed, or with a hot strap.

And if you think Jethro give a rats ass about "responsible ownership", yuh just wasted an entire thought. It's all about dollars, nothing else.

Postby alfa » July 16th, 2025, 6:06 pm

https://www.ttt.live/minister-of-homela ... sociation/

Minister of Homeland Security Receives Key Input from the Trinidad and Tobago Range Operators Association

Today, July 16, 2025 the Minister of Homeland Security, the Honourable Roger Alexander MP, met with members of the Trinidad and Tobago Range Operators Association (TTROA) and received the contributions of the TTROA, as part of the consultation process, with key stakeholders for the implementation of the Stand Your Ground Legislation.

The handover follows a previous engagement that the Ministry held with the TTROA. At that meeting discussions were held on strengthening public safety and promoting responsible firearm ownership.

Today’s handover emanates from that earlier discussion and focused on:

Stand Your Ground Legislation – Ensuring a balanced legal framework that empowers citizens to protect themselves while preserving public order.

Home Invasion Legislation – Enhancing laws to deter violent crimes and protect homeowners.

Firearm Licensing & Regulation – Improving efficiency, accountability

Postby 88sins » July 28th, 2025, 12:23 am

alfa wrote:https://www.ttt.live/minister-of-homeland-security-receives-key-input-from-tt-range-operators-association/

Minister of Homeland Security Receives Key Input from the Trinidad and Tobago Range Operators Association

Today, July 16, 2025 the Minister of Homeland Security, the Honourable Roger Alexander MP, met with members of the Trinidad and Tobago Range Operators Association (TTROA) and received the contributions of the TTROA, as part of the consultation process, with key stakeholders for the implementation of the Stand Your Ground Legislation.

The handover follows a previous engagement that the Ministry held with the TTROA. At that meeting discussions were held on strengthening public safety and promoting responsible firearm ownership.

Today’s handover emanates from that earlier discussion and focused on:

Stand Your Ground Legislation – Ensuring a balanced legal framework that empowers citizens to protect themselves while preserving public order.

Home Invasion Legislation – Enhancing laws to deter violent crimes and protect homeowners.

Firearm Licensing & Regulation – Improving efficiency, accountability

Sorry, I don't read drivel.
What the idiot of Homeland Stupidity aka the Morvant Moron say?.
Gimme the abridged version.

Anyway I learned something today
I'm actually very surprised at the degree of ignorance within the population.
In that I realize now that A LOT of people, swallowed the wordplay (bait, hook, line, sinker, rod, fishing boat and jetty), and actually believe this stand your ground legislation is the remedy for the current FUL system and once passed, you gonna get an FUL without issues once you qualify

I'mma watch on the side with popcorn as the reality hits these people and they figure this $hit out over the next half century , all by themselves :lol:

Postby MaxPower » July 28th, 2025, 2:22 am

In that I realize now that A LOT of people, swallowed the wordplay (bait, hook, line, sinker, rod, fishing boat and jetty), and actually believe this stand your ground legislation is the remedy for the current FUL system and once passed, you gonna get an FUL without issues once you qualify

Learned today you getting a Nissan Note for $120K, zero issues, guaranteed, all documents in order and signed my the commissioner of transport.

Well, i certain it was a Note they was talking about, nothing to do with FUL at all.

Postby pugboy » July 28th, 2025, 7:02 am

Postby MaxPower » July 28th, 2025, 9:14 am

To implement stand your ground laws in a country in the Top Ten highest crime rate is utterly reckless and insane.

Fix the crime, at least control it….try na? Have some crime plan. Fix the TTPS? For heavens sake fix it just a little na?

But to want stand your ground laws in a lawless and irresponsible society with an overly corrupt law enforcement is madness.

I am all for the stand your ground laws….but we have to address some important matters first.

Hear na….if allyuh have land disputes with family…stay out of their yard!

Postby alfa » July 28th, 2025, 9:22 am

Learned today you getting a Nissan Note for $120K, zero issues, guaranteed, all documents in order and signed my the commissioner of transport.

Well, i certain it was a Note they was talking about, nothing to do with FUL at all.

What if you wanted to vary your certified copies and get say another vehicle, a sub compact, how much that go cost? Asking for a friend