De Dragon wrote:Country_Bookie wrote:Interesting that he focuses solely on hindu and Presbyterian schools. What about all the catholic and other Christian prestige schools , like QRC, CIC, Fatima, St Anthony's, St Joseph's Convent, Holy Name, Bishops etc.
Do these schools also discriminate against black children?
Not enough Indos, and the risk of sounding like he's attacking French Creole, local white, expat children, Syrian, Chinese and upper crust black children, which wouldn't sound good for the targeted audience he's seeking to rile up in one of the most overt racist ways I've seen in quite a while.
De Dragon wrote:Country_Bookie wrote:Interesting that he focuses solely on hindu and Presbyterian schools. What about all the catholic and other Christian prestige schools , like QRC, CIC, Fatima, St Anthony's, St Joseph's Convent, Holy Name, Bishops etc.
Not enough Indos, and the risk of sounding like he's attacking French Creole, local white, expat children, Syrian, Chinese and upper crust black children, which wouldn't sound good for the targeted audience he's seeking to rile up in one of the most overt racist ways I've seen in quite a while.
Very many Indian working-class children suffer because of the SEA. The prestige schools turn away the children of the Indian brother with the stall in the market. His children go to comprehensive schools. He is not a Brahmin.
zoom rader wrote:Who Said they were denied ?MaxPower wrote:zoom rader wrote:So black kids want to go to injun schools?
How come injuns doh complain wanting to go African schools?
Zoom,
What would you say is the main reason why many black kids are denied entry into the injun/prestige schools?
When an injun attends any school his entire family also attends that school .
You think red government child fadda & mudda will show interest in the school or make sure the kids home work is done.
Red government parents main concern is wine and jam with freeness.
MaxPower wrote:zoom rader wrote:Who Said they were denied ?MaxPower wrote:zoom rader wrote:So black kids want to go to injun schools?
Zoom,
What would you say is the main reason why many black kids are denied entry into the injun/prestige schools?
You think red government child fadda & mudda will show interest in the school or make sure the kids home work is done.
Can an aspiring black kid from Laventille or Sea Lots easily get into a prestige school?
Is it true that the prestige schools, parents and students do not want the supposedly troublesome, destructive, broken, ghetto, mannerless, underperforming and hostile African children in their schools?
Is this fair to them?
Wraith King wrote:De Dragon wrote:Country_Bookie wrote:Interesting that he focuses solely on hindu and Presbyterian schools. What about all the catholic and other Christian prestige schools , like QRC, CIC, Fatima, St Anthony's, St Joseph's Convent, Holy Name, Bishops etc.
There's persons defending him. The Minister of Education even said something about looking past the part about race.
paid_influencer wrote:i think this should be helpful. This is how Secondary school places are sorted:
All school assignments are made by the CXC Board in Barbados using a computerized sorting algorithm.
1. The computer first attempts to places all children into their first-choice school. If there are more applicants than spaces, it sorts them based on SEA score with the highest scores being placed into the school. The children that are unplaced go onto the next round of sorting.
2. The second round of sorting attempts to put the remaining (unplaced) students into their second choice school. It checks the second-choice school to see if there are any open spaces, and if there are it sorts applicants based on score and put them in the available spaces.
Note: It is never advisable to put a top-tier school as a second choice. The top-tier school will almost never have open spaces after the first round of sorting, so your child end up at a much lower choice or zoned.
3. For those unplaced after the first and second rounds of sorting, the process goes on again for a third and fourth round, according to your third- and fourth-choices and conditionally if there are any more spots available in those schools.
4. Finally, if all those are exhausted, it places any remaining applications into any unfilled spots at schools nearby ("Zoning").
The only thing that circumvents this is the 20% principal's selection and certain odd categories (like twins must get places together).
If any of this is racist, let me know.
alfa wrote:The concordat from what I understand is twenty percent. If the other eighty percent are predominantly Indo which they are then what does that say and who will they blame for that?
The success of any kid depends on the parents input. High SEA grades gets you in to those schools.MaxPower wrote:zoom rader wrote:Who Said they were denied ?MaxPower wrote:zoom rader wrote:So black kids want to go to injun schools?
Zoom,
Can an aspiring black kid from Laventille or Sea Lots easily get into a prestige school?
Is it true that the prestige schools, parents and students do not want the supposedly troublesome, destructive, broken, ghetto, mannerless, underperforming and hostile African children in their schools?
Is this fair to them?
Soul Collector wrote:They still take students from lower ranked schools and place them into prestige school to play football?
I remember our school importing quite a few of them from Five Rivers and wherever else. Talk about a whole "us and them" kinda scene. Racial tensions were extremely high and it led to many violent conflicts, all of which I recall, were racially fueled.
paid_influencer wrote:again with this dotishness about "the African community" and "the Indian community." That is absolutely racial garbage and no such thing exists in reality. Sick racists minds think in those race-based terms.
An indo-trinidadian in Point has more connection with an afro-trinidian in Point than either of them have with their racial counterparts in PoS or Caroni. We live in communities based on region and in some cases religion, but in no way do we have two entirely race based "communities".
sick racially divisive mentality
Soul Collector wrote:They still take students from lower ranked schools and place them into prestige school to play football?
I remember our school importing quite a few of them from Five Rivers and wherever else. Talk about a whole "us and them" kinda scene. Racial tensions were extremely high and it led to many violent conflicts, all of which I recall, were racially fueled.
Wraith King wrote:Soul Collector wrote:They still take students from lower ranked schools and place them into prestige school to play football?
I went to a prestige secondary school and the majority of bullies were African. They openly scorned and mistreated this Caucasian guy in my class. It was a huge shock to see persons behaving this way as I never experienced it before. They would even bully other African students if they thought the person was a nerd.
After school was even more terrible as it had a converging of students from other schools. Imagine the girls from other schools wanted to fight with guys. I never lingered back after school because of how dangerous it was being in the same environs with these students who looking to rob and fight. Some of them even had weapons such as knife. Everytime you're around them your fight or flight sense became active. Imagine they perceived looking at them as a slight.
There is definitely an issue with violence amongst many Africans.
paid_influencer wrote:redress, good to see you again. Plenty commentators talk about the concordant, but it the issue really is what do you want to replace it with.
this line,
"Make placements based solely on merit and zoning."
^does this mean you want placements 100% based on the scores at the SEA, with zoning for those that did not match.
for zoning - persons who do not happen to live near a prestige school - would they have to suck salt, no matter how academically gifted they are?
paid_influencer wrote:Wraith King wrote:Soul Collector wrote:They still take students from lower ranked schools and place them into prestige school to play football?
I went to a prestige secondary school and the majority of bullies were African. They openly scorned and mistreated this Caucasian guy in my class. It was a huge shock to see persons behaving this way as I never experienced it before. They would even bully other African students if they thought the person was a nerd.
After school was even more terrible as it had a converging of students from other schools. Imagine the girls from other schools wanted to fight with guys. I never lingered back after school because of how dangerous it was being in the same environs with these students who looking to rob and fight. Some of them even had weapons such as knife. Everytime you're around them your fight or flight sense became active. Imagine they perceived looking at them as a slight.
I also went to a prestige secondary school and openly advocated for Africans and Indians to unite together.
We are on the same side. Do not let the politically-interested racial mouthpieces divide us.
Redress10 wrote:paid_influencer wrote:redress, good to see you again. Plenty commentators talk about the concordant, but it the issue really is what do you want to replace it with.
this line,
"Make placements based solely on merit and zoning."
^does this mean you want placements 100% based on the scores at the SEA, with zoning for those that did not match.
for zoning - persons who do not happen to live near a prestige school - would they have to suck salt, no matter how academically gifted they are?
There is no such thing as a "prestigious" school. Remember those schools are simply religious schools whereby the parents/students are of the same religion. So discipline would always be higher in those schools. To get into a religious school you need a pastor/priest/pundit etc to vouch for the student and the family.
What I am advocating is you place students in the schools based on their scores and their zones. So a student who scores 95+ and lives in chaguanas would go to the nearest school that caters for students of that percentile and area. The only difference is that people going to those schools may have a greater workload and accelerated curriculum than say a school that has students who scored 40%.
That doesn't mean that the 40% would just be abandoned. They may imfact get more resources to try to bring them up to speed alongside a curriculum that is more technical whilst the 95+ schools may be more academic. That being said I see no reason why people going to academic type schools shouldn't have classes in things such as vehicle repair/autobody works/ woodworking etc. Even if is for a month during their july/august vacation.
Wraith King wrote:Soul Collector wrote:They still take students from lower ranked schools and place them into prestige school to play football?