Re: The official tropical weather thread

Postby tr1ad » October 3rd, 2014, 9:14 am

ah you in office since 6, no wonder....

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » October 3rd, 2014, 9:17 am

this weather will most likely not hamper my drinking later..however it's making work hella boring

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » October 3rd, 2014, 10:41 am

I pass by you triad around 7am avoiding traffic thanks to waze.. yuh was still hugging up the post where I left u drunk last night.. tsk tsk

time to go to work pallie

Postby tr1ad » October 3rd, 2014, 10:43 am

what work

Cheddar

Postby Cheddar » October 3rd, 2014, 11:14 am

A little notice to the guys with 4x4's please take your time when going through flood waters please.

Twice this morning alone while i am taking my time and going through some slightly flooded roadways which my car can handle some fool would fly through the flood water with his 4x4 and cover my car with dirty flood water from the hood straight down and the water they displace splashes up inside my engine room and with my cold air intake the engine would suck in some water and cut off. :evil: :evil:

I can handle my car in this type of weather so i just restarted and tried to burn off the water sucked in and then proceeded on my way but please Use Some Consideration People.

subie_2NR

Postby subie_2NR » October 3rd, 2014, 11:29 am

Flood on the SS Erin Road by Lowkie Trace corner & on Clarke Road Penal where they build the MIC building.

Only passable by 4x4, saw a 3 ton shut down in the middle of the flood water

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1412350168.231639.jpg

xtech

Postby xtech » October 3rd, 2014, 11:36 am

Cheddar wrote:A little notice to the guys with 4x4's please take your time when going through flood waters please.

Twice this morning alone while i am taking my time and going through some slightly flooded roadways which my car can handle some fool would fly through the flood water with his 4x4 and cover my car with dirty flood water from the hood straight down and the water they displace splashes up inside my engine room and with my cold air intake the engine would suck in some water and cut off. :evil: :evil:

I can handle my car in this type of weather so i just restarted and tried to burn off the water sucked in and then proceeded on my way but please Use Some Consideration People.

I Drove through flood waters that end up at my door handles an rolling up my hood in a VRG galant....Scared the hell out of me cause it did not look that deep.

No water leaked in cabin an none went in engine. Stock Cold air intake has pockets to collect any water that might get sucked in.

Cheddar

Postby Cheddar » October 3rd, 2014, 11:45 am

Nah bro i have an aftermarket cold air made locally with pipping and a cone filter at the end. So if water only reaches the cone filter it sucks straight in. So is pressure for me in this type of weather.

Postby pioneer » October 3rd, 2014, 11:49 am

Visibility poor in tong

Looks like ah good day for public servants to go home

Postby tr1ad » October 3rd, 2014, 11:56 am

you mean panchos or somewhere nearby

Postby 1UZFE » October 3rd, 2014, 12:01 pm

Pubic servants still in work?

Postby Morpheus » October 3rd, 2014, 12:11 pm

Wow. I have to head to work in this. Rain keep surging and backing off in Arouca. Have to head to Valsayn.

*long sigh

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » October 3rd, 2014, 12:17 pm

pioneer wrote:Visibility poor in tong

Looks like ah good day for public servants to go home

As far as I know most of them home already, regardless of weather.
From my experience last couple of wks
-District revenue office is 8am-11am.
-LO is 8am to 12 noon
-passport off is 8am to 11am

But a day like today I feel sorry for people leaving pos to go east or south at 4pm. Going to be chaos

Postby SR » October 3rd, 2014, 12:24 pm

Panchos packed

Postby pioneer » October 3rd, 2014, 12:58 pm

I now hear they could apply for flood day

Postby Les Bain » October 3rd, 2014, 1:15 pm

Left a morning meeting at lunch to head from east to POS.
Trafffic flow normal as possible, just the usual pockets of water in some areas in the right lane.
Had to overtake men in they dry weather dan-out no AC cars though.

Postby nervewrecker » October 3rd, 2014, 1:20 pm

pioneer wrote:I now hear they could apply for flood day

Yip.

Donno why I did ever say I live on a hill :(

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 3rd, 2014, 1:37 pm

Bulletin#2

Date: Friday 03rd of October 2014
ISSUED AT:01:12PM

RAINFALL TO CONTINUE FOR AT LEAST THE NEXT 6
HOURS.

Over the past few hours, both Trinidad and Tobago
have been experiencing cloudy conditions with
periods of rain and showers, some of which have
been moderate to heavy in intensity. This
rainfall activity is due to the Inter-Tropical
Convergence Zone (ITCZ).

Trinidad and to a lesser extent Tobago will
continue to experience these conditions for at
least the next 4 to 6 hours. Some showers can
become heavy and thundery at times. A decrease in
frequency and intensity of rain/showers is
expected towards late evening.

Localized street or flash flooding is likely in
heavy or prolonged downpours and gusty winds may
be experienced in the vicinity of showers or
thundershowers. There is also the likelihood of
landslides/landslips in elevated areas. Be alert
to electrical discharges from thunderclouds.

Citizens are advised to be vigilant and cautious
as they conduct their activities, particularly
commuters on our roadways as the road is wet and
pay attention to the media or visit our website
at http://www.metoffice.gov.tt/forecast for daily
weather updates at 6am, 10am, 3pm and 6pm.

We wish to underscore that at this time Trinidad
and Tobago is not under any Tropical Storm
threat, Watch or Warning.

The Trinidad and Tobago Meteorological Service
will continue to closely monitor this weather
event and will issue another bulletin if the
situation warrants.

Bryan Thomas
Meteorologist

Postby nervewrecker » October 3rd, 2014, 1:45 pm

Best I go drink rum yes.

Highway go be jampacked

cornfused

Postby cornfused » October 3rd, 2014, 2:11 pm

Re the 4x4 Drivers , its all vehicles . Last Saturday I was heading into POS at about 10:30am from Sealots to the Foreshore the entire road way was a lake . Blinding rainfall and splashes rendered windshield wipers almost useless. The speed of the vehicle would dictate the amount of splash. Sedans , Vans , Trucks all generated splashes that would cover most of a vehicle . Solution relax drive , you'd also be making big splashes .

The quantum of water would be almost 10-15 gallons of water sheeting your bonnet and windshield.

Cheddar

Postby Cheddar » October 3rd, 2014, 2:41 pm

cornfused wrote:Re the 4x4 Drivers , its all vehicles . Last Saturday I was heading into POS at about 10:30am from Sealots to the Foreshore the entire road way was a lake . Blinding rainfall and splashes rendered windshield wipers almost useless. The speed of the vehicle would dictate the amount of splash. Sedans , Vans , Trucks all generated splashes that would cover most of a vehicle . Solution relax drive , you'd also be making big splashes .

The quantum of water would be almost 10-15 gallons of water sheeting your bonnet and windshield.

For real. That happens a lot too. People need to learn to take their time in this type of weather. They may be fine but they may hamper some other driver.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » October 3rd, 2014, 3:21 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1412364091.363786.jpg

Current weather

Rain tonight .

Postby SR » October 3rd, 2014, 3:35 pm

Nice weather

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » October 3rd, 2014, 4:46 pm

C News Live
The Ministry of Works and Infrastructure has asked that members of the public to avoid the North Coast Road and the Arima/Blanchisseuse Road as there is increased risk of land movement due to the inclement weather experienced over the last 48 hours.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » October 3rd, 2014, 4:49 pm

From that last imagery, this incessant drizzle will upgrade to heavier rainfall later.

Postby 1UZFE » October 3rd, 2014, 5:05 pm

pioneer wrote:I now hear they could apply for flood day

Yip.

Donno why I did ever say I live on a hill :(

always put Caroni...

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » October 3rd, 2014, 6:00 pm

Anyone got pics of the Caroni River

Postby redmanjp » October 3rd, 2014, 6:23 pm

smh :roll:

C News Live

We have received multiple reports of accidents along the Uriah Butler Highway and the Churchill Roosevelt Highway due to the poor conditions today. Motorists are asked to exercise caution while on the nations roads. Here are some of the images that were sent to us today. These images were sent in by Twitter users @HaydnDunn, @Mega4024 and @rmramkissoon as well as Facebook user Techgirl Designa.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 3rd, 2014, 6:30 pm

ODPM Public Advisory: Friday October 3rd, 2014 – 1:20 p.m.

Public Advisory
Friday October 3rd, 2014 – 1:20 p.m.

ODPM urges citizens to be vigilant of rainfall activity over the next 6 hours

The Trinidad and Tobago Meteorological Service issued a bulletin at 1:00 p.m.informing of rainfall activity over Trinidad and Tobago. Over the past few hours, both Trinidad and Tobago have been experiencing cloudy conditions with periods of rain and showers, some of which have been moderate to heavy in intensity. This rainfall activity is due to the Inter-Tropical Convergence Zone (ITCZ).

Trinidad and to a lesser extent Tobago will continue to experience these conditions for at least the next 4 to 6 hours. Some showers can become heavy and thundery at times. A decrease in frequency and intensity of rain/showers is expected towards late evening. Localized street or flash flooding is likely in heavy or prolonged downpours and gusty winds may be experienced in the vicinity of showers or thundershowers. There is also the likelihood of landslides/landslips in elevated areas. Be alert to electrical discharges from thunderclouds. Citizens are advised to be vigilant and cautious as they conduct their activities, particularly commuters on our roadways as the road is wet.

The ODPM, as the lead coordinator of emergency management, has put the first responder agencies (TT Fire Service, TT Defence Force and the municipal corporations) on alert so that immediate assistance can be rendered if any adverse impact occurs. There have been reports emerging from the following areas:
Flooding in:
 Penal/Debe
 Siparia
 Couva/Tabaquite/Talparo
 Tunapuna/Piarco
 Sangre Grande
 Chaguanas
Partially blown-off roofs and fallen trees in:
 Princes Town
 Mayaro/Rio Claro
 Diego Martin
 Port of Spain
 San Juan/Laventille
 Tobago

The ODPM reminds all citizens that if they have been affected by this inclement weather, to please contact our Customer Care Centre at 511 and visit our websitewww.odpm.gov.tt for additional safety tips.

Consequently, we continue to underscore the following:-
 After heavy rainfall, stay inside until water levels have subsided and it is safe to venture outside.
 Do not walk / drive through flood waters.
 Be cautious when walking /driving along hillsides or landslide prone areas.

Trinidad and Tobago is NOT currently under any Tropical Storm threat, Watch or Warning. The TT Meteorological Service is monitoring this weather situation and will advise the ODPM if the situation warrants.

ENDS

Issued by:
Public Information, Education and Community Outreach Unit
publicinfo.odpm@gmail.com

For further information, please contact:
ODPM Customer Call Centre 511

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 3rd, 2014, 6:34 pm

Please see attached for the latest Bulletin issued by the TTMS.
Flood Bulletin #1 3rd October 2014-page-001.jpg