Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

HondaB20B

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby HondaB20B » January 31st, 2013, 12:05 pm

greenlime100 wrote:Some real nice SPS in this vid... watch in 720p

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gCMwseoP5gY

like you thinking about going SPS

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » January 31st, 2013, 2:56 pm

Yea... but not 100%... just find some nice areas on in the tank where I think some sps might look good... but ill wait till I get dosing right and the tank is well stable before I start adding them sps lol

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 31st, 2013, 6:56 pm

greenlime100 wrote:Yea... but not 100%... just find some nice areas on in the tank where I think some sps might look good... but ill wait till I get dosing right and the tank is well stable before I start adding them sps lol

then you getting a calcium reactor or going to dose Kalkwasser then. You better start to talk to fishman and ziggy. LPS and leathers are allot more forgiving when it comes to Cal & Alk.
LPS you better be on the mark.

Postby meccalli » January 31st, 2013, 7:58 pm

Main and maybe sump I built in testing, no leaks detected. Considering maybe an HOB filter may be a simpler solution. And my oscar who's my age and likes the extra mullet I bring back. Hope hes up for some live ones. :twisted:

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Ehrrmagerddd by meccalli, on Flickr

netsket

Postby netsket » January 31st, 2013, 8:29 pm

^^^ ur main tank supposed to overflow into your sump (through a hole) and (after it passes through filter medium or buffers) then you pump back the water into the main tank. Right now you have two tanks.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » January 31st, 2013, 9:11 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
greenlime100 wrote:Yea... but not 100%... just find some nice areas on in the tank where I think some sps might look good... but ill wait till I get dosing right and the tank is well stable before I start adding them sps lol

then you getting a calcium reactor or going to dose Kalkwasser then. You better start to talk to fishman and ziggy. LPS and leathers are allot more forgiving when it comes to Cal & Alk.
LPS you better be on the mark.

Yea it looking alot more difficult to keep but ill take the challenge :)
Did the 50Gal water change today, will monitor it and see if I back in d game.

Postby meccalli » January 31st, 2013, 9:48 pm

netsket wrote:^^^ ur main tank supposed to overflow into your sump (through a hole) and (after it passes through filter medium or buffers) then you pump back the water into the main tank. Right now you have two tanks.

Well I have my baffles cut to install into the sump for filtration stages, sock, bio, skimmer and return. I always thought it was just a siphon from the main tank to the sump and then a return pump.

netsket

Postby netsket » January 31st, 2013, 9:57 pm

meccalli wrote:
netsket wrote:^^^ ur main tank supposed to overflow into your sump (through a hole) and (after it passes through filter medium or buffers) then you pump back the water into the main tank. Right now you have two tanks.

Well I have my baffles cut to install into the sump for filtration stages, sock, bio, skimmer and return. I always thought it was just a siphon from the main tank to the sump and then a return pump.

u can also use a pump in the main tank and pump it to the sump and then another pump from the sump to the main tank. more money on pumps. I dont think a siphon could remove as much water as a pump pushing water from the sump. and if your siphon stops what happens?

Postby meccalli » January 31st, 2013, 9:59 pm

Well the tanks were built 2 days ago so I guess I have some drilling to do now lol. :)

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 31st, 2013, 10:00 pm

meccalli, are you going to use a overflow box or something?

Postby meccalli » January 31st, 2013, 10:11 pm

Learning as i'm going and considering options too, which is why i'm thinking of probably ditching the sump and going HOB to curb the intricacies of this new side project of mine. Have an old HOB filter I can probably use as an overflow box if I go with the sump.

netsket

Postby netsket » January 31st, 2013, 10:16 pm

skimmer?

Postby meccalli » January 31st, 2013, 10:24 pm

netsket wrote:skimmer?

Filter-emperor style that i could mod an inner chamber, but it seems I may ditch the sump after all than go through the trouble.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 31st, 2013, 10:25 pm

meccalli.............. ent you say you going to have mangroves also in this thing?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 31st, 2013, 10:27 pm

meccalli wrote:

Filter-emperor style that i could mod an inner chamber, but it seems I may ditch the sump after all than go through the trouble.

:shock: :shock:

Postby meccalli » January 31st, 2013, 10:30 pm

HondaB20B wrote:meccalli.............. ent you say you going to have mangroves also in this thing?

Don't intend to have any serious lighting that I now realise mangroves need, so doubt it anymore. Turning out to be a FO with base rock tank lol. I might as well start out simple.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 31st, 2013, 10:37 pm

meccalli wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:meccalli.............. ent you say you going to have mangroves also in this thing?

Don't intend to have any serious lighting that I now realise mangroves need, so doubt it anymore. Turning out to be a FO with base rock tank lol. I might as well start out simple.

you realize now because you having rocks its going to displacing water so where you were @ approx 23gal, you're allot less now so less fish you can stock

Postby meccalli » January 31st, 2013, 10:42 pm

Yeah, rocks were part of the original plan, stronghold for natural bacteria and thus assisting maintenance of good water quality right? I don't really need a whole lot of fish really, just thought its time to move into the marine scene with something fun to work with.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 1st, 2013, 1:38 am

meccalli wrote:Yeah, rocks were part of the original plan, stronghold for natural bacteria and thus assisting maintenance of good water quality right? I don't really need a whole lot of fish really, just thought its time to move into the marine scene with something fun to work with.

ok,cool

netsket

Postby netsket » February 1st, 2013, 6:00 am

meccalli wrote:

have no idea what is that but I do know you will need a skimmer.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 1st, 2013, 10:25 am

meccalli wrote:

I had to google that "Filter-emperor" you talking about lol the name sounded like a slang for something else.. (gangnam style, doggy...) lol :? Im sure we were all confused
Is it this you talking about? http://www.aquariumguys.com/emperorpower.html

And skimmer is also a must....

Postby meccalli » February 1st, 2013, 11:44 am

Ahh, when netsket asked skimmer, I thought he was asking if it was an HOB skimmer I was thinking of modding. But yeah, emperor filter, I thought most aquarists would be familiar with it. More freshwater based I guess.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 1st, 2013, 1:08 pm

lol yeah it happens... but yes HOB filters are more used with freshwater systems.... there are HOB skimmers, there was a link a couple pages back... the HOB skimmer would be a good option if you decide to not go with a sump.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » February 1st, 2013, 3:36 pm

What are ur thoughts on seaweed/mangrove/algae in a sump? bad or good?

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 1st, 2013, 5:13 pm

I planned to go with algae in my sump, already have some sand and rocks there since I started the tank. Did that with hope to try and imitate a real life ecosystem but from talking to HondaB20B and reading other posts on other forums.... going with Biopellets seems to be more effective.

Will require some additional equipment like a reactor, feed pump and a really good skimmer but it would be worth it.

Very soon Ill start running ROWAphos and the Biopellets.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 1st, 2013, 7:31 pm

Reefplanet wrote:What are ur thoughts on seaweed/mangrove/algae in a sump? bad or good?

The kind of lighting "you" in particular will need for mangroves, yo fish and corals aint go last a week. Reason is they require strong lights and you dont have a chiller. Your water volume is too small and may heat up rather quickly.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 1st, 2013, 8:24 pm

greenlime100 wrote:I planned to go with algae in my sump, already have some sand and rocks there since I started the tank. Did that with hope to try and imitate a real life ecosystem but from talking to HondaB20B and reading other posts on other forums.... going with Biopellets seems to be more effective.

Will require some additional equipment like a reactor, feed pump and a really good skimmer but it would be worth it.

Very soon Ill start running ROWAphos and the Biopellets.

Now as everything out there, everyone always has a negative and/or positive side to it. I hooked up biopellets onto my system about 3-4 mths after my tank was set up, and up to now 14mths after using it, i've never experienced the algae bloom/cloudy water as what hundreds of people has experienced. The manufacturers even stated that some people will get it and some wont. Right now i have a friend right here that really freaking out due to cloudy water for the last week. His skimmer working overtime right now. So if you get a bloom, dont blame me...................LOL......just kidding.
It feeds my corals like crazy and have them growing like that and also has kept my nitrates near undetectable ever since. Doing biopellets is like doing vodka dosing or even vinegar dosing.
This is what my skimmer usually pulls in 1 day all because of my bio-pellets. If you have plans of running pellets, make sure you get a skimmer over rated to the size tank you have.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 1st, 2013, 10:40 pm

lol yea I may have to get a bigger skimmer, U have your biopellets in the HOB filter I seeing there ?

Your sump real clean and roomy tho... props for that

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 1st, 2013, 10:51 pm

greenlime100 wrote:lol yea I may have to get a bigger skimmer, U have your biopellets in the HOB filter I seeing there ?

Your sump real clean and roomy tho... props for that

Nah i run Chemipure media in that. You cannot run pellets in a hang on filter. The pellets need to be constantly tumbling or they will stick and not serve the purpose.
Thats only half my sump. My sump is made up of 2 large tanks. 33 gal each (66gal) when running. the section on the left is where the inlet (1 1/2" pvc pipe) from main display, then it comes to the skimmer then goes to my other side of my other sump (not in pic) where my 2 reactors are situated (rowaphos and pellets) then it goes to my mag18 return pump and directly into my chiller then into my tank.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 1st, 2013, 11:19 pm

The chemipure media helps with reducing your nitrates also right ?