Taste of Carnival 2022

Re: Taste of Carnival 2022

Postby zoom rader » April 2nd, 2022, 4:28 pm

Covid has proven that Trinidad does not need Carnival.

Postby De Dragon » April 2nd, 2022, 4:34 pm

The_Honourable wrote:In the camp where i'll be getting away for sure. Not in the mood for music trucks parking up on my street to "test".

Probably will go toco or mayaro. Maybe i'll put those caribbean miles that i gained over the pandemic to good use and go up the islands. Accepting suggestions for getaways.

Why yuh eh stay fuh de "experience?" It seems to be edgelordy :lol:

Postby timelapse » April 2nd, 2022, 4:52 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
hover11 wrote:
timelapse wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
timelapse wrote:
mero wrote:OK so what's the beef with carnival and those who choose to partake?

My observations are most of them who cry to "ban carnival" are social outcast edgelords who also too ashamed of themselves to consider being seen in public with a shirt off.

Whats the difference with choosing to partake in mas or doing anything else for the same or lesser satisfaction with the same money?
If carnival folks were responsible in their activities, no problem.

My issues:
Increased thefts/robberies to fund the activities of some.

Government spending my money to promote something that does not benefit the populace.
Increased illegitimate children and abandonment of such children by their fathers, perpetuating the poverty trap.

Perception of foreign investment in the country.Outside of the country, we are mostly known for carnival and cricket.We don't market our investment opportunities as aggressively that would potentially boost local production.

Wastage of plastics and other non-renewable materials.

Littering.I don't need to explain this.

Increased alcohol related deaths on the roadways.

Thats just some.

By this logic we should ban everything fun and convert to a Sharia law system.

Try again edgelords
Have your promiscuous fun,just don't take tax money to do it
Simple as it gets

Promiscuousity is irrelevant to the discussion, people are free to do what they want and they don't need carnival for that.

The tax money that is spent keeps the industry afloat providing thousands upon thousands of jobs. That money doesn't leave the economy, it cycles around earning VAT and other taxes for the government. Not to mention the 30k returning trinis who are spending an average of 10k, Carnival is probably very profitable and is a big boost to our creative industry.
You purport that people that don't support carnival are edge lords.I am purporting that the opposite must also be true.
If carnival is so profitable, why does it consistently need an injection from tax money?

Postby hover11 » April 2nd, 2022, 5:16 pm

timelapse wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
hover11 wrote:
timelapse wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
timelapse wrote:

My observations are most of them who cry to "ban carnival" are social outcast edgelords who also too ashamed of themselves to consider being seen in public with a shirt off.

Whats the difference with choosing to partake in mas or doing anything else for the same or lesser satisfaction with the same money?

My issues:

Government spending my money to promote something that does not benefit the populace.
Increased illegitimate children and abandonment of such children by their fathers, perpetuating the poverty trap.

Perception of foreign investment in the country.Outside of the country, we are mostly known for carnival and cricket.We don't market our investment opportunities as aggressively that would potentially boost local production.

Thats just some.

Try again edgelords
Simple as it gets

Promiscuousity is irrelevant to the discussion, people are free to do what they want and they don't need carnival for that.

The tax money that is spent keeps the industry afloat providing thousands upon thousands of jobs. That money doesn't leave the economy, it cycles around earning VAT and other taxes for the government. Not to mention the 30k returning trinis who are spending an average of 10k, Carnival is probably very profitable and is a big boost to our creative industry.
You purport that people that don't support carnival are edge lords.I am purporting that the opposite must also be true.
If carnival is so profitable, why does it consistently need an injection from tax money?
If it so profitable why private sector never jump in and say government don't worry we have it covered for year..for one year...NEVER. they rather piggyback off the government and enjoy the profits.

Postby A172 » April 2nd, 2022, 7:54 pm

ah reach wii

#staysalty

Postby RedVEVO » April 2nd, 2022, 7:59 pm

hover11 wrote:
timelapse wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
hover11 wrote:
timelapse wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
timelapse wrote:

My issues:

Thats just some.

Try again edgelords
Simple as it gets

If it so profitable why private sector never jump in and say government don't worry we have it covered for year..for one year...NEVER. they rather piggyback off the government and enjoy the profits.

It's voter's payback :bday:

Postby De Dragon » April 3rd, 2022, 8:31 am

8-12K for a costume.
1-3 years to payback 12-15K
The "experience"? Priceless
For everything dotish, there's MasterCard

Postby eliteauto » April 3rd, 2022, 8:57 am

Wallet Watchers™

Postby pugboy » April 3rd, 2022, 9:00 am

when them pods and tents coming down?
or they leaving up until next year

Postby eliteauto » April 3rd, 2022, 9:01 am

pugboy wrote:when them pods and tents coming down?

They'll have to come down, cyah eat ah stale food next year

Postby De Dragon » April 3rd, 2022, 9:35 am

eliteauto wrote:

Scaffolding is charged based on usage, so if it remains up and unused, food still eating.
As a LFD RFD PNM card carrying member, you should know this :lol:

Postby hover11 » April 3rd, 2022, 9:38 am

eliteauto wrote:Wallet Watchers
Calling ppl wallet watchers meanwhile using those same wallet watchers tax money to hold a crapnival. Sound logic.

Postby De Dragon » April 3rd, 2022, 9:40 am

hover11 wrote:
Calling ppl wallet watchers meanwhile using those same wallet watchers tax money to hold a crapnival. Sound logic.

LFD RFD PNM mantra, encourage dependency syndrome in those least available to afford it.

Postby eliteauto » April 3rd, 2022, 9:50 am

eliteauto wrote:

Scaffolding is charged based on usage, so if it remains up and unused, food still eating.
As a LFD RFD PNM card carrying member, you should know this :lol:

Dai industry standard, not PNM standard. Dismantle, transport, transport, reassemble is the better play fadda. The man who ran the show under PP and made a tent rental company into a road paving/North stand assembling, stage managing company, is the same man under the PNM, he knows how to play it

Postby eliteauto » April 3rd, 2022, 9:55 am

hover11 wrote:

LFD RFD PNM mantra, encourage dependency syndrome in those least available to afford it.

Hover is correct I've always said the State should exit Carnival financially and just be a facilitator. That's completely different from your take, there is no dependency syndrome for those least available to afford it because almost ALL government subventions for carnival go to stakeholders who can very well afford it. They suck the Treasury for sponsorship and take all the profits. The model is broken not the event, allyuh so sour that it all over the shop

Postby pugboy » April 3rd, 2022, 9:55 am

tent rentals is the new road paving

Postby De Dragon » April 3rd, 2022, 9:57 am

eliteauto wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Hover is correct I've always said the State should exit Carnival financially and just be a facilitator. That's completely different from your take, there is no dependency syndrome for those least available to afford it because almost ALL government subventions for carnival go to stakeholders who can very well afford it. They suck the Treasury for sponsorship and take all the profits. The model is broken not the event, allyuh so sour that it all over the shop

I was talking about the borrow/rob/steal crew soldier

Postby eliteauto » April 3rd, 2022, 10:02 am

Dragon come nah man, that is anecdotal stories, crime happens all year round. And why lump borrow with rob and steal? Stereotype much?

Postby De Dragon » April 3rd, 2022, 11:26 am

eliteauto wrote:Dragon come nah man, that is anecdotal stories, crime happens all year round. And why lump borrow with rob and steal? Stereotype much?

Soldier, you jump een without apparent respect for, or of context for the discussion.
ANYONE who puts themselves into debt, either with their money, life, or reputation for a two days on a jockey shorts and panty is free to do so. Likewise, I'm free to point out the utter senselessness of such an act.
Also kindly point out where tf is the stereotype of which you're talking about please?

Postby zoom rader » April 3rd, 2022, 11:54 am

Why you list the Pros of carnival

Otherwise shut ur hole and go in ur corner.

Postby zoom rader » April 3rd, 2022, 11:56 am

pugboy wrote:tent rentals is the new road paving
Owned by Red government ppl who milk tax payers funds.

This is why Eliteauto-Tun Tun keeps opening his arse about carnival but yet to list the Pros

Postby MaxPower » April 3rd, 2022, 12:15 pm

#BanCarnival2023+

Postby hover11 » April 3rd, 2022, 12:31 pm

MaxPower wrote:#BanCarnival2023+
Endorsed

Postby matr1x » April 3rd, 2022, 12:55 pm

#banvenes2023

Postby zoom rader » April 3rd, 2022, 1:34 pm

Covid has proven that Trinidad does not need carnival.

Postby timelapse » April 4th, 2022, 3:52 pm

Use Tobago Jazz Festival as a model.

Postby eliteauto » April 4th, 2022, 11:56 pm

J'ouvert in July early bird tickets sold out. Ceasar's Army Bacchanal Road coming 29th May

Postby RedVEVO » April 5th, 2022, 1:11 am

Covid has proven that Trinidad does not need carnival.

So why peeps want T&T Carnival in October ?

Postby matr1x » April 5th, 2022, 2:23 am

Give 2 days holiday and call it done