*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

wheelbarrow

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby wheelbarrow » May 21st, 2015, 11:54 am

Forget Def Tech oui, 6x9 ftw... Lololol.

The office space looks great Duane, I have the same plan for the floating shelves under the TV.

Zim

Postby Zim » May 21st, 2015, 12:21 pm

Duane well done, props! If yuh hiring, check meh :lol:

Who did the install & shelf for you?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 21st, 2015, 12:26 pm

wheelbarrow wrote:Forget Def Tech oui, 6x9 ftw... Lololol.

The office space looks great Duane, I have the same plan for the floating shelves under the TV.
thanks! I thought of using floating shelves, but I went with an open cabinet on wheels and painted it with automotive paint and clear coat.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 21st, 2015, 12:48 pm

Zim wrote:Duane well done, props! If yuh hiring, check meh :lol:

I installed everything. I had the electrician run conduit under the floor for the rear speakers and for the power and USB data for the racing seat when they were pouring the concrete floor. Whent he construction was done I wired up everything. I had to use a 10ft USB extender as the run was longer than the usual USB cable length for the playseat. I used an angle grinder and cut the wall and ran 2" conduit with 4x4 cans on either end to run the HDMI and power for the TV in the wall and then 1/2" conduit for the front left and right speakers. The center channel wire runs from a hole made in the 2" conduit. Plastered up everything with plastermix and painted.

Thanks to WagonR and Jus4Sho for helping install the TV!

I drew the shelf/cabinet in Sketchup and a joiner put it together for me. We sent it by a straightener to paint in red and clear coat. I got the caster wheels in Bhagwansingh and installed it with screws. The back of the cabinet is painted matt black and all the wires are run through BlueLounge Soba cable director fabric loom - looks really neat http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00MXC4T7S/

The cabinet has two 120mm USB powered Noctua low noise ball bearing fans at the back to vent hot air at the back of the cabinet. Good for Playstations, Amps, receivers and other home theater devices that run hot

Noctua 120mm low noise fan
http://www.amazon.com/Setting-Anti-Stal ... 00BEZKX8Y/

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 21st, 2015, 12:48 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Okay Duane. :lol: :lol: :lol: . 6x9's in two pig tail bucket dan. (yes...I have done that already)
bazoooka!

Postby meccalli » May 21st, 2015, 1:55 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:bazoooka!

lol the design works great in bib's.

Zim

Postby Zim » May 21st, 2015, 2:02 pm

Zim wrote:Duane well done, props! If yuh hiring, check meh :lol:

I installed everything. I had the electrician run conduit under the floor for the rear speakers and for the power and USB data for the racing seat when they were pouring the concrete floor. When the construction was done I wired up everything. I had to use a 10ft USB extender as the run was longer than the usual USB cable length for the playseat. I used an angle grinder and cut the wall and ran 2" conduit with 4x4 cans on either end to run the HDMI and power for the TV in the wall and then 1/2" conduit for the front left and right speakers. The center channel wire runs from a hole made in the 2" conduit. Plastered up everything with plastermix and painted.

Thanks to WagonR and Jus4Sho for helping install the TV!

I drew the shelf/cabinet in Sketchup and a joiner put it together for me. We sent it by a straightener to paint in red and clear coat. I got the caster wheels in Bhagwansingh and installed it with screws. The back of the cabinet is painted matt black and all the wires are run through BlueLounge Soba cable director fabric loom - looks really neat http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00MXC4T7S/

The cabinet has two 120mm USB powered Noctua low noise ball bearing fans at the back to vent hot air at the back of the cabinet. Good for Playstations, Amps, receivers and other home theater devices that run hot

Noctua 120mm low noise fan
http://www.amazon.com/Setting-Anti-Stal ... 00BEZKX8Y/

Ways didn't know u were so skilled in that field, well done mate. Smart move with the under ground conduit. Nice idea with running wires to the TV. the Front & centre speakers cleverly done also, do u do installs for others? I just don't wanna cut up my walls and I haven't time nor toools, basically I want wires run to the rear speakers. Lastly, can u link me to the specs of your shelf and joiner? thanks mate :)

Postby crazybalhead » May 21st, 2015, 2:19 pm

Duane is a real nerd for that Bazinga cushion.

And I am one also for noticing. :x

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 21st, 2015, 6:24 pm

Zim wrote:Ways didn't know u were so skilled in that field, well done mate. Smart move with the under ground conduit. Nice idea with running wires to the TV. the Front & centre speakers cleverly done also, do u do installs for others? I just don't wanna cut up my walls and I haven't time nor toools, basically I want wires run to the rear speakers. Lastly, can u link me to the specs of your shelf and joiner? thanks mate :)
nah I don't do installs for others but I'd be willing to share my experiences so far if you need help.

anyone can build that - it's a box with a shelf and cut two 120mm hole in the back for fans and one 80mm hole for the cables. The size is up to you.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » May 21st, 2015, 9:44 pm

Zim wrote:Ways didn't know u were so skilled in that field, well done mate. Smart move with the under ground conduit. Nice idea with running wires to the TV. the Front & centre speakers cleverly done also, do u do installs for others? I just don't wanna cut up my walls and I haven't time nor toools, basically I want wires run to the rear speakers. Lastly, can u link me to the specs of your shelf and joiner? thanks mate :)
nah I don't do installs for others but I'd be willing to share my experiences so far if you need help.

anyone can build that - it's a box with a shelf and cut two 120mm hole in the back for fans and one 80mm hole for the cables. The size is up to you.

recommend a premium HT setup for me

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 21st, 2015, 10:34 pm

RapToR wrote:recommend a premium HT setup for me
the sky is the limit there

OLED panel or huge projector
flagship Integra, Anthem, Marantz receiver
speakers and subwoofers KEF, Klipsch, Definitive Tech, Bowers & Wilkins, Paradigm, Sunfire... I couldn't name them all.
amplifiers
power management
bluray library management
digital library management

endless options

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 21st, 2015, 10:40 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Duane is a real nerd for that Bazinga cushion.

And I am one also for noticing. :x
yes, yes you are.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » May 22nd, 2015, 8:45 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:this is the office setup with

Panasonic TC-L50E60 50" LED
Marantz NR1403
Definitive Technology ProCinema 600
Panamax MR5100
Roku 3
AppleTV
PS3
Logitech Harmony Ultimate Home
Playseat Evolution
Thrustmaster T500RS steering wheel and pedal box
Thrustmaster TH8RS shifter

The Definitive Tech ProCinema 600 are great speakers for the price. They are not as bright as the Klipsch that I am accustomed to in my home theater setup (audiophiles may appreciate this more) but they sound full and come with a well matched sub, even though it is tiny.
The recommended way to setup the ProCinema 600 is to run the front left and right speakers from a crossover on the Sub. I didn't use this option, instead I used the more traditional method of running each speaker directly from the receiver. I plan to try both wiring setups to hear which one sounds better.

The Marantz NR1403 and the Def Tech ProCinema 600 or even 1000 are a great matchup for a high quality budget setup.

Impressive home office there Duane, props. All it missing is some nice ambient led lighting(but thas just me).

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 22nd, 2015, 9:09 am

iM@st@1 wrote:Impressive home office there Duane, props. All it missing is some nice ambient led lighting(but thas just me).
it has that.

I have 8 dimmable LED down lighters that operate via a Lutron remote dimmer switch. The Logitech remote controls this when watching video etc.

There is also fluorescent fixture in the middle of the room for main lighting and I plan to remove the ballast and switch those bulbs to LED tubes. That currently runs off a Lutron occupancy switch, but I'll change that to remote soon.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1432300154.580486.jpg

IMG_6268.jpg

IMG_6267.jpg

IMG_6269.JPG

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » May 22nd, 2015, 9:32 am

No I meant something like this

Know it's an office however, just personally like the led effect. Anyway you set a standard that I would like to emulate in the future, thanks for posting it.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 22nd, 2015, 9:46 am

^ oh, nah not for this room.
The dimmable LEDS lets me bring down the lights when watching video or presentations on the screen or just playing GT6 or Project Cars

I could use the GU10 base Phillips Hue smart colour changing LEDs to use in the downlighters, but not sure I'd use any colour but daylight white
http://www.amazon.com/Philips-432856-Pe ... B00P95NABW

Zim

Postby Zim » May 22nd, 2015, 3:36 pm

nah I don't do installs for others
Ways :( If u did u will make a nice raise...
but I'd be willing to share my experiences so far if you need help.
Yes that will be great thanks, I'll message u on What's App

I eh know about that, it have some poohar men out dey.. ok nice, can u send me the dimensions still though?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 22nd, 2015, 6:18 pm

Zim wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:anyone can build that - it's a box with a shelf and cut two 120mm hole in the back for fans and one 80mm hole for the cables. The size is up to you.
I eh know about that, it have some poohar men out dey.. ok nice, can u send me the dimensions still though?
20" tall, 18" deep, 60" long.

RapToR

Postby RapToR » May 30th, 2015, 8:28 pm

RapToR wrote:recommend a premium HT setup for me
the sky is the limit there

OLED panel or huge projector
flagship Integra, Anthem, Marantz receiver
speakers and subwoofers KEF, Klipsch, Definitive Tech, Bowers & Wilkins, Paradigm, Sunfire... I couldn't name them all.
amplifiers
power management
bluray library management
digital library management

endless options

send me a link for the OLED panel

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 31st, 2015, 12:08 am

RapToR wrote:send me a link for the OLED panel
it's really only LG that are selling OLED TV's right now, but by the end of the year that will change

http://www.amazon.com/LG-Electronics-65 ... 00PG5RJV2/

I'm not a fan of the curved TV but it is easier to do with with OLED, so almost all are curved.

Postby X_Factor » May 31st, 2015, 1:17 am

^ yup its too soon to spend that kinda cash on the oled....wait till next yr

just finish looking at interstellar.....and omg
the audio in that movie is insane, had some nice sub 20hz content and the front stage got a good work out as well
and for my el cheapo 47" the visuals were pretty impressive

RapToR

Postby RapToR » June 1st, 2015, 7:51 pm

i'll wait it out till next year

Postby Ted_v2 » June 3rd, 2015, 2:39 am

Duane your home looks awesome. Totally jealous of the designs.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 3rd, 2015, 10:36 am

Ted_v2 wrote:Duane your home looks awesome. Totally jealous of the designs.
thanks!

don't be, nothing a lil pre planning and hard work can't do. It's still work in progress.

Postby Redman » June 3rd, 2015, 11:59 am

everybody gonna start a website...

Humes

Postby Humes » June 9th, 2015, 1:20 pm

Duane et al:

Can anyone recommend a good TV in the 46"-50" range? Low input lag is important, as I'll be gaming on it regularly. No 3D or smart TV features necessary. And from a reliable manufacturer/line.

It would be a big plus if it's locally available.

edit: I'm considering this 48" Sony W600B from Courts. Good reviews (particularly for response time) and I think the Courts extended warranty is a must this rounds. edit 2: Sold out.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 10th, 2015, 12:25 am

Humes wrote:Duane et al:

Can anyone recommend a good TV in the 46"-50" range? Low input lag is important, as I'll be gaming on it regularly. No 3D or smart TV features necessary. And from a reliable manufacturer/line.

It would be a big plus if it's locally available.

edit: I'm considering this 48" Sony W600B from Courts. Good reviews (particularly for response time) and I think the Courts extended warranty is a must this rounds. edit 2: Sold out.
http://www.cnet.com/news/best-low-lag-hdtvs-for-serious-gamers/

that article is from Feb 2014 but i doubt any big LCD/LED TV since then has topped 17ms

compared to a 24" monitor that can do 2ms

also check http://www.displaylag.com/display-database/

Postby Ted_v2 » June 10th, 2015, 5:49 am

Anyone having any problems with their TV?

I noticed recently that my TV developed a sort of boop boop boop when my cable box is off. My TV volume is pretty high tho. Maybe in the 70 range.

When I drop the volume on the TV the noise drops. So it's picking up static. Noting wrong with any other aspects of it. It's not happening with USB connection ect.

Postby Chimera » June 10th, 2015, 7:16 am

Anyone know where I can get parts for a TCL tv locally or abroad? I have the part number and pictures of part lol

VLDS

Postby VLDS » June 10th, 2015, 9:36 am

I have a harman kardon receiver with harman kardon satellites and a jbl sub. Sounds really great. I know people may have different opinions but personally these brands are excellent.