Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

Numb3r4

Re: Plant Process Operator Job

Postby Numb3r4 » May 24th, 2016, 11:27 am

Anybody have any idea what the day in the life of an operator is like?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » May 24th, 2016, 11:28 am

What exactly do they do?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » May 24th, 2016, 11:29 am

Also what are the conditions on a Repsol platform?

Postby gastly369 » May 24th, 2016, 6:38 pm

Repsol platform... conditions lol...

baigan

Re: RE: Re: Plant Process Operator Job

Postby baigan » May 24th, 2016, 7:29 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:Anybody have any idea what the day in the life of an operator is like?

Right now..

4a70

Postby 4a70 » June 26th, 2016, 8:30 am

Two more plants airmarked to be shut down... round 2 firementz begin..... not a good time to b an operator for real....

Postby sMASH » June 26th, 2016, 9:12 am

which plants?

4a70

Postby 4a70 » June 26th, 2016, 10:02 am

First M and other mean plant.... the germz dont wana pay for raw material of the natural nature.

Postby sMASH » June 27th, 2016, 5:10 am

Ent de mean being turned around these days and the first of the first have a big one planned later?

I hear that talk, but then the confirmed info is that real money pushing to get them back to spec.

But I always have a second mind, so I does think, they let the people know they the places up, to not upset nobody and keep them from looking for opportunities elsewhere. Keep the sheep calm up till the slaughter.

But, everything has a beginning and and end. We should not have this mentality of job security any more.

And supervisors shouldn't victimize workers for having and alternate sideline source of income. This rongs, don't ever keep all your eggs in one basket.

Postby De Dragon » June 28th, 2016, 12:57 pm

4a70 wrote:First M and other mean plant.... the germz dont wana pay for raw material of the natural nature.

Don't wanna, or not getting. All those methanol plants should be fully amortised by now, so their overheads should be low.

Postby De Dragon » June 29th, 2016, 6:22 pm

sMASH wrote:Ent de mean being turned around these days and the first of the first have a big one planned later?

I hear that talk, but then the confirmed info is that real money pushing to get them back to spec.

But I always have a second mind, so I does think, they let the people know they the places up, to not upset nobody and keep them from looking for opportunities elsewhere. Keep the sheep calm up till the slaughter.

But, everything has a beginning and and end. We should not have this mentality of job security any more.

And supervisors shouldn't victimize workers for having and alternate sideline source of income. This rongs, don't ever keep all your eggs in one basket.

Shouldn't happen. The problem is when you start to act/feel like the job revolves around your sideline income source, and not the other way around.

Postby sMASH » June 29th, 2016, 7:02 pm

Once u do what u get paid for, they can't ask for more. If they do, they should pay for it, and at your leisure.

U meet all the expectations u would have of any normal employee, but they either jealous of your extra income, or old school that an operator must have one dedication, and that is to the plant. I can understand the former, the latter is just dumb.

What u do with ur personal time should have no consequence on your rostered time, as well as it should not be of concern to anyone else.

Postby De Dragon » June 29th, 2016, 7:25 pm

sMASH wrote:Once u do what u get paid for, they can't ask for more. If they do, they should pay for it, and at your leisure.

U meet all the expectations u would have of any normal employee, but they either jealous of your extra income, or old school that an operator must have one dedication, and that is to the plant. I can understand the former, the latter is just dumb.

What u do with ur personal time should have no consequence on your rostered time, as well as it should not be of concern to anyone else.

That's basically what I meant. BUT, you can't come sleepy, tired, late, call in sick excessively, don't fulfil your job competencies. I'd never begrudge anyone a side income, contrary to what nitwits on this forum think, but you have to understand that in a process plant environment, everybody counts on all team members to pull their weight or people get killed, injured or there is disaster potential like fires, explosions etc. I shouldn't have to put my life, and the life of the team, including yours, at risk because you cannot handle both.

Postby sMASH » June 29th, 2016, 7:52 pm

We saying the same thing, except that I watching it from the perspective of the recently retrenched... and happy it happened.

Postby De Dragon » June 30th, 2016, 9:30 pm

sMASH wrote:We saying the same thing, except that I watching it from the perspective of the recently retrenched... and happy it happened.

We know there are people who cannot do both, but when braced claim that the company is against them, rather than try to balance their outside income earning with their job.

Postby De Dragon » June 30th, 2016, 9:31 pm

sMASH wrote:We saying the same thing, except that I watching it from the perspective of the recently retrenched... and happy it happened.

We know there are people who cannot do both, but when braced claim that the company is against them, rather than try to balance their outside income earning with their job.

c@ri$$@

Postby c@ri$$@ » July 1st, 2016, 9:41 am

Umm...so I hearing rumours about a bomb threat at Meth 2. Anyone one can confirm? I want to live.

Postby De Dragon » July 2nd, 2016, 12:35 am

c@ri$$@ wrote:Umm...so I hearing rumours about a bomb threat at Meth 2. Anyone one can confirm? I want to live.

No threat, an actual bomb! Run while you can!

Postby sMASH » July 2nd, 2016, 12:41 pm

Many of the management down to supervisors is bomb threats

Kixy

Postby Kixy » March 3rd, 2017, 9:02 pm

more to go...

Postby sMASH » March 3rd, 2017, 10:36 pm

well, i now hear is vsep that is being offered.. if true, then it makes sense because of what the courts say to not terminate until the matter with the dirty dozen is complete.

the normal grunts dont know and dont care about the legal situation, so dont know that they dont have to take the vsep.

4a70

Postby 4a70 » March 4th, 2017, 4:53 pm

Confirmed. There will be more to go they looking at 61 ops 6 lab 25 e&m 4 process mel, m1&2. And can you elpaciate the situation with d dirty dozen a lil better abt the implications to futher severence?

Postby De Dragon » March 4th, 2017, 5:32 pm

4a70 wrote:Confirmed. There will be more to go they looking at 61 ops 6 lab 25 e&m 4 process mel, m1&2. And can you elpaciate the situation with d dirty dozen a lil better abt the implications to futher severence?

I remember when men could have made a career out of Plant Operations/Maintenance/Engineering :(

Postby sMASH » March 4th, 2017, 5:38 pm

just until their matter is settled, the comp. cannot retrench, retrench.

that was what i was told by one of the dozen. they can still terminate for normal reasons.

therefore, the offer of vsep is to still get the numbers down to please the germz, yet not violate the courts.

obviously, the wording and the tonality would be that it 'must' happen, and if u dont choose, they will choose for u...
and the sheep that u all are, allyuh dont know better.

i tell 'ah man' yesterday to see how the vsep package looking, and calculate the severance as stipulated in the labor act, and see which better.

but, the outside in this country is hard, so try not to jump out, unless u have something to jump into.

really, there isnt much of a choice, just to minimize losses.
like me, i was able to take the hit, but others have family and loan and all kinda debt to see about.. so it was less of a hit for I to get buss, than one of u

Kixy

Postby Kixy » March 4th, 2017, 10:03 pm

Do they have to wait for the matter to be settled before retrenching?
I heard everything (vsep and retrenching) will be completed by end of April.

Would be very interesting to hear about the outcome of those matters though. To see how protected employees are in Trinidad.

and things don't look like they'll be getting better, the holding co. still struggling to agree on price for gas.

Those rumours about M1&2 being mothballed seems to be very probable now.

Postby sMASH » March 4th, 2017, 10:45 pm

they need to talk to the union for the particulars... i only connecting the dots whit what i overhear....

contact the dirty dozen.... or take ur vsep, or wait it out.

the reason to number cut is because of the mothballing. last year was the mothballing of the ay you emm too .
u hadda remember, since 2012 the germs bought some plants in 'meria as pilot projects. and because of the shale gas and the canadian pipelines, the raw materials are readily available in 'merica. so why produce it here, and pay a crap tonne in shipping, when they have the natural reserves already where they need to sell their product.?
the supervisors and seniors didn't go kansas to commission sweety plants......

the union, when envisioned since 2010, wasn't to negotiate salary and make people get fat. no. it was to establish a collective agreement, for WHEN THIS TIME HERE REACH, to not come out with the bare minimum, as they did us last year.

my fadda worked permanently in mittal for 5 years as a plant attendant, and i worked for 13 years and left as a senior, and we got practically the same pay offs...

but, no.. they fraid wills watch them hard, so they aint full out no union forms...

blasted cowards.

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » March 4th, 2017, 11:42 pm

Word on da estate is that after this wave on the 13th, another wave to hit in june due to raw material problem for the 3rd of M...then 2018 a complex is gonna be down for the same reason germz playing hardball. Many blue boiz gonna be on the bread line, as for the first wave it seem as if the 1st and 2nd of the M workers have to take the hit due to pending court cases from the dirty dozen, WORKERS FROM RUNNING PLANT WILL HAVE SOLID CASES AGAINST management if sent home and workers from 1&2 plant replaces them, IT WILL NEVER STAND IN COURT...management get wise if u notice no one from 1&2 plant has been cross trained on other plant. NOTICE before mel close down guys were distributed and trained on other plant... 8-)

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » March 4th, 2017, 11:52 pm

Hold strain vene gas coming soon..
I member the time wills drive thru the plant in he Suv normal normal lol.

Postby sMASH » March 4th, 2017, 11:54 pm

hadda change from eating curry duck to duck curry...lolz

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » March 5th, 2017, 12:00 am

Curtms wrote:Hold strain vene gas coming soon..
I member the time wills drive thru the plant in he Suv normal normal lol.

Hold strain....men done sheit themselves...men wok jumping up and all management did was keep the sheep clam until they ready to get slaughter...ruff time to be an estate worker...