Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

death365

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby death365 » August 2nd, 2024, 12:23 pm

objection or not yuh still have to pay it. io think the date due is still September 30? somebody correct me if i rong na.

Bad Dog wrote:Recently, I received a tax bill for $1,903.00 for building lot of 9,000 sq ft with a dilapidated shed that has no utilities and or livable space so I filed an objection. Does anyone know how long the BIR takes to respond to an objection?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 5th, 2024, 9:37 pm

Bad Dog wrote:Recently, I received a tax bill for $1,903.00 for building lot of 9,000 sq ft with a dilapidated shed that has no utilities and or livable space so I filed an objection. Does anyone know how long the BIR takes to respond to an objection?

Location?

Postby zoom rader » August 6th, 2024, 6:48 am

Well ur options

Kick PNM out

Postby zoom rader » August 6th, 2024, 9:21 am

Who remember kant Rowlee opposing house tax

Kick PNM out
Screenshot_20240806_082013_WhatsApp.jpg

Postby 88sins » August 6th, 2024, 8:05 pm

wing wrote:
88sins wrote:Do you gentlemen believe...

BIR employees, especially at the lower levels, are not enthusiastic about levying this legal robbery disguised as a property tax that was concocted by this spawn of satan/albino leprechaun with a head made of a rotten onion?
Add to this, 4% and revenue authority mess. Understandable that they are very disgruntled.

and nobody eh see a single cent of that 4% yet btw

Postby The_Honourable » August 26th, 2024, 5:08 pm

For those who want to object, below is the link to the online form

https://valuationdivision.gov.tt/objection-form/

Postby zoom rader » August 26th, 2024, 8:28 pm

The_Honourable wrote:For those who want to object, below is the link to the online form

object by kicking PNM out

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 27th, 2024, 5:26 pm

The_Honourable wrote:For those who want to object, below is the link to the online form

Zoom, despite their promises - that didn’t work the last time when they actually had the numbers to make it happen.

Why is this time around any different? I don’t like this as much as anyone else, so doh label me a pnm supporter. I just know that based on past experiences, we’re screwed either way. Believing anything else is just battered wife syndrome

Postby st7 » August 27th, 2024, 6:04 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Zoom, despite their promises - that didn’t work the last time when they actually had the numbers to make it happen.

Why is this time around any different? I don’t like this as much as anyone else, so doh label me a pnm supporter. I just know that based on past experiences, we’re screwed either way. Believing anything else is just battered wife syndrome

if you're not with him, you're a pnm supporter

Postby goalpost » August 27th, 2024, 7:21 pm

Even if you kick out pnm because of this, whoever win wouldnt get rid of it.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 27th, 2024, 7:24 pm

So wait nah ... was de scene if you never submitted and never receive a valuation???

Would said person be in the same situation as the fine folks of lavantille/movant?

Postby zoom rader » August 27th, 2024, 7:54 pm

st7 wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

There are few tuners that I dont have to respond to cause they give a balance opinion with no hidden agendas.

Postby zoom rader » August 27th, 2024, 7:59 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Vex,

UNC only had term in office to improve our lives. It is impossible to have a government repair the ills of the past in one term.

PNM had terms from 1956 with all the oil booms under their belt

Compare ur standard of living under UNC vs PNM

Postby zoom rader » August 27th, 2024, 8:07 pm

goalpost wrote:Even if you kick out pnm because of this, whoever win wouldnt get rid of it.
We dont know,

maybe a change of government could see to it that there are no bias valuations taking place.

That ur taxes actually goes towards repairing that pot hole in front or ur driveway.

The choice is yours but if sit by , do nothing and just follow the norm them take what u get.

Postby MaxPower » August 27th, 2024, 9:29 pm

goalpost wrote:Even if you kick out pnm because of this, whoever win wouldnt get rid of it.
We dont know,

maybe a change of government could see to it that there are no bias valuations taking place.

That ur taxes actually goes towards repairing that pot hole in front or ur driveway.

The choice is yours but if sit by , do nothing and just follow the norm them take what u get.

Trinis dont want change.

Postby st7 » August 27th, 2024, 9:57 pm

st7 wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

There are few tuners that I dont have to respond to cause they give a balance opinion with no hidden agendas.

lulz :lol:

Postby The_Honourable » August 27th, 2024, 10:12 pm

drchaos wrote:So wait nah ... was de scene if you never submitted and never receive a valuation???

Would said person be in the same situation as the fine folks of lavantille/movant?

You will get a letter eventually. Even if you never submitted your form, valuations have access to different databases suspected to be TTPost, WASA, Warden Office rolls etc. I know a few who never submitted any forms got letters. Is up to you to object to the valuation amount. If you do object, that means you have to come forward and the first questions valuations will ask is if you ever filled out and submitted the form. And well you know trinis: "ah neva get ah form..."

Keep in mind when properties are to be mortgaged or transferred (sale, gift, probate, court order) one requirement will be that all the property taxes are to be paid off which was the case pre-2010. So those who get away initially will have to come forward and pay arrears.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 27th, 2024, 11:30 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
drchaos wrote:So wait nah ... was de scene if you never submitted and never receive a valuation???

You will get a letter eventually. Even if you never submitted your form, valuations have access to different databases suspected to be TTPost, WASA, Warden Office rolls etc. I know a few who never submitted any forms got letters. Is up to you to object to the valuation amount. If you do object, that means you have to come forward and the first questions valuations will ask is if you ever filled out and submitted the form. And well you know trinis: "ah neva get ah form..."

Keep in mind when properties are to be mortgaged or transferred (sale, gift, probate, court order) one requirement will be that all the property taxes are to be paid off which was the case pre-2010. So those who get away initially will have to come forward and pay arrears.

Nah nah nah hoss ... I puh meh form in de "drop box" ... is nuh my fault if they lorse it. :lol:

thanks ... SO is ah wait and see kinda scene.
Hopefully is a long long long wait.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 28th, 2024, 6:32 am

You gonna be one of those who get assessed via "drone technology" or we just make ah pass by yuh house and jam yuh based on appearance. Eventually you will get your value.

Postby sMASH » August 28th, 2024, 8:31 am

I hear is only cash they taking... So thst means this is a seemideemi dss scheme .

They will see what they could scrounge and then fold up.

Who deposit, loss

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 28th, 2024, 10:46 am

I am not paying unless they send me an invoice . I sent in no forms.

Waiting for Kamla to axe the tax or at least start with commercial as she had intended in 2014

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 28th, 2024, 12:05 pm

You even sure unc winning that election cuz atm, is real failure with that party

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 28th, 2024, 1:37 pm

To be honest, even though I voted pnm last two elections with

1 violent crime going crazy
2 Murders on the increase
3 Property tax starting on the most vulnerable first
4 increases in utilities
5 Downward trend in oil and gas
6 High fuel taxes resulting in high food prices
7 Attitude that we cannot do anything because of Kamla

I will be really dotish to put back the PNM

I hope to God for the sake of the republic that a lot of people think like this!

Postby zoom rader » August 28th, 2024, 2:34 pm

PariaMan wrote:To be honest, even though I voted pnm last two elections with

4 increases in utilities

I hope to God for the sake of the republic that a lot of people think like this!
Unbiased opinion

wing

Postby wing » August 28th, 2024, 3:29 pm

PariaMan wrote:To be honest, even though I voted pnm last two elections with

4 increases in utilities

The problem is that most voters in the marginal seats which decide the election, think that the alternative is at best an exchange, and are unwilling to cast a vote for the opposition. Therefore, when they abstain, the PNM superior grassroots mobilization and more widespread support will trump the concentration of opposition support in only the strongholds. A constitutional majority would have solved this by implementation of proportional representation.

Postby timelapse » August 28th, 2024, 4:37 pm

We all know that on election day,PNM voters will be voting PNM again despite any objection they have now.
PNM is here to stay

Postby st7 » August 28th, 2024, 4:38 pm

a wild times appeared

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 29th, 2024, 6:28 am

So my folks got their new valuation figure as it went to 2%...my old man saw his property tax figure at $567, man went and pay one time... He ain't business! Pays to be living in a crime zone in the bush behind God back.

team 394

Postby team 394 » August 29th, 2024, 6:34 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:So my folks got their new valuation figure as it went to 2%...my old man saw his property tax figure at $567, man went and pay one time... He ain't business! Pays to be living in a crime zone in the bush behind God back.

Make sure he walks with cash or cheque, linx not working. So much for a cashless society :D :D :D

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 29th, 2024, 7:43 am

He paid that to prove a point tbh... One year from that date of payment... NOT ONE MC gonna change in our district... And we going to prove that the property taxes is not what the govt is saying it's gonna be used for.