Re: Foreign Currency Usage Limits on Credit Cards

Postby pugboy » October 30th, 2024, 8:59 pm

once they get they kfc and unlimited ketchup they good plus the odd hennessy

The_Honourable wrote:
hover11 wrote:
Dave wrote:Blow by blow....
The masses would not take this lightly.
PNM people are very happy and contented throughout this entire forex issue which has been happening for years and not a dog dare bark at their master

Because they studying grant, hdc and fete. You really think they understand what forex is?

Postby hover11 » October 30th, 2024, 9:29 pm

The biggest distraction coming in a matter of months they will be too busy studying to whine and jam
pugboy wrote:once they get they kfc and unlimited ketchup they good plus the odd hennessy

The_Honourable wrote:
hover11 wrote:
Dave wrote:Blow by blow....
The masses would not take this lightly.
PNM people are very happy and contented throughout this entire forex issue which has been happening for years and not a dog dare bark at their master

Because they studying grant, hdc and fete. You really think they understand what forex is?

Postby sMASH » October 31st, 2024, 12:35 am

Austerity measures with out the proclamation

Postby pugboy » October 31st, 2024, 8:02 am

impsbert too arrogant to admit that
esp in election year

sMASH wrote:Austerity measures with out the proclamation

Postby hover11 » October 31st, 2024, 8:25 am

I love how passive trinis are when it comes to the actions of PNM, we will grumble about forex issue but shout to the top of your lungs if we not getting service in a public hospital or government ministry

Postby pugboy » October 31st, 2024, 8:26 am

the loudest voices were heard when kfc wanted to crack down on ketchup

hover11 wrote:I love how passive trinis are when it comes to the actions of PNM, we will grumble about forex issue but shout to the top of your lungs if we not getting service in a public hospital or government ministry

Postby st7 » October 31st, 2024, 8:29 am

hover11 wrote:I love how passive trinis are when it comes to the actions of PNM, we will grumble about forex issue but shout to the top of your lungs if we not getting service in a public hospital or government ministry

just a question Philip, what are you ACTIVELY doing?

Postby hover11 » October 31st, 2024, 8:31 am

Stupid country filled with stupid ppl , the banks will continue to react to the mismanagement of the economy as the banks are profit driven and when it rech only 100 US a week. I want to see what trinis will do?
pugboy wrote:the loudest voices were heard when kfc wanted to crack down on ketchup

Postby hover11 » October 31st, 2024, 8:33 am

st7 wrote:

just a question Philip, what are you ACTIVELY doing?
Right now is a holiday so I have the day off , I actively relaxing you don't mind I could be on my phone as I not on the ppl wuk on my phone.

Postby st7 » October 31st, 2024, 8:38 am

lol ... ya, still the same way... complain about other people who do the same thing you do

carry on

Postby hover11 » October 31st, 2024, 9:29 am

Allya just remember this not affecting Massy, Pricesmart, Ansa, Prestige holdings, Global Brands. I wonder why.....

Postby paid_influencer » October 31st, 2024, 10:06 am

hover11 wrote:Allya just remember this not affecting Massy, Pricesmart, Ansa, Prestige holdings, Global Brands. I wonder why.....

because those companies are the backbone of our "economy" :?:

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 31st, 2024, 10:32 am

If y’all understand how forex works, what is your proposed solution to the issue at hand?

Here’s my simple take. Correct me if I’m wrong.

Forex comes from exports, and we have less coming in because oil and gas on its deathbed.
Other sectors can’t fill the gap.

There is increasing consumer demand and reduced supply.

The banks are prioritizing businesses because they also contribute to the economy through employment and taxes etc.

Joe Public who want more usd is primarily for personal spending or maybe buy/sell business that may be off the books- not necessarily a moving gearbox in the economy - more like a solitary wheel.

In the macro view, doesn’t it make sense to give priority to the businesses that churn the economy?

And Jeez Louise with cheese, please doh jump out and bawl I against the everyday man, I consume usd too for personal purchases so it impact me as well.

And I haven’t even touched on the usd hoarders who just take usd and stockpile in foreign banks.

Let’s go back to the start.

What is the solution?

Postby hover11 » October 31st, 2024, 10:41 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:If y’all understand how forex works, what is your proposed solution to the issue at hand?

Forex comes from exports, and we have less coming in because oil and gas on its deathbed.

The banks are prioritizing businesses because they also contribute to the economy through employment and taxes etc.

Joe Public who want more usd is primarily for personal spending or maybe buy/sell business that may be off the books- not necessarily a moving gearbox in the economy - more like a solitary wheel.

In the macro view, doesn’t it make sense to give priority to the businesses that churn the economy?

And Jeez Louise with cheese, please doh jump out and bawl I against the everyday man, I consume usd too for personal purchases so it impact me as well.

And I haven’t even touched on the usd hoarders who just take usd and stockpile in foreign banks.

What is the solution?
Vexx question,

Are certain businesses high priority do we truly need fireworks every year? Do we need another fast food franchise here? All these franchises have to be paid royalties in US. My thing is if the small man hadda feel the paid why big businesses not feeling any pain? Why the small man always disadvantaged, only the small man cries fall on deaf ears. Why are food importers begging for US to feed the population but Massy have no issues and is business like normal. I not attacking you I just find that only one side feeling the pain while the next half continue to live life in london

Or is this another animal farm moment?

Postby pugboy » October 31st, 2024, 11:00 am

is there a listing of various banks and their card limits for regular folks?
scotia presently $3k going to $2k
republic is presently $5k i think

Postby hover11 » October 31st, 2024, 11:03 am

Aren't all the banks intertwined though, that's normally how oligopolies work. Scotiabank wouldn't shoot themselves in the foot like this unless the other banks plan to follow suit very shortly
pugboy wrote:is there a listing of various banks and their card limits for regular folks?

Postby pugboy » October 31st, 2024, 11:10 am

i could be wrong but scotia is smaller business wise
republic might be largest

hover11 wrote:Aren't all the banks intertwined though, that's normally how oligopolies work. Scotiabank wouldn't shoot themselves in the foot like this unless the other banks plan to follow suit very shortly
pugboy wrote:is there a listing of various banks and their card limits for regular folks?

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » October 31st, 2024, 11:11 am

Quick question.
Can you stick your FCB,RBC,RBL,JMMB DEBIT cards in a foreign ATM (USA or Europe) and withdraw the respective currency provided you have ttd in the account? :fadein:

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 31st, 2024, 11:18 am

hover11 wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:If y’all understand how forex works, what is your proposed solution to the issue at hand?

What is the solution?
Vexx question,

Are certain businesses high priority do we truly need fireworks every year? Do we need another fast food franchise here? All these franchises have to be paid royalties in US. My thing is if the small man hadda feel the paid why big businesses not feeling any pain? Why the small man always disadvantaged, only the small man cries fall on deaf ears. Why are food importers begging for US to feed the population but Massy have no issues and is business like normal. I not attacking you I just find that only one side feeling the pain while the next half continue to live life in london

I’m with you on the fireworks. There should be allocation based on priority that is publicly known.

So yes, the current situation is the pigs in the room sending boxer(us) off to the farm. How can we fix it? Please doh quote the PEA catchphrase

Postby hover11 » October 31st, 2024, 11:20 am

You are right Republic Bank has the most business customers but they wouldn't stand that forex loss , think about it if Scotia customers jump ship then that's more strain on republic to offer more forex.
pugboy wrote:i could be wrong but scotia is smaller business wise
republic might be largest

hover11 wrote:Aren't all the banks intertwined though, that's normally how oligopolies work. Scotiabank wouldn't shoot themselves in the foot like this unless the other banks plan to follow suit very shortly

Postby paid_influencer » October 31st, 2024, 11:38 am

maybe this is just by me, but the upper middle class do not represent "regular" folks

regular folks don't have credit cards. they have linx or cash under the mattress

if they lucky a credit card with a $500 USD limit.

i lol that $500 limit card I have actually becoming not that low now, because other ppl limit getting lower but mine not changing

Postby hover11 » October 31st, 2024, 11:38 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
hover11 wrote:

What is the solution?
Vexx question,

I’m with you on the fireworks. There should be allocation based on priority that is publicly known.

So yes, the current situation is the pigs in the room sending boxer(us) off to the farm. How can we fix it? Please doh quote the PEA catchphrase
Why nobody calling for Imbert to be removed or resign as finance minister, he has been and continues to show terrible performance in his position. Just like how everybody want hinds to go as Minister of nat sec nobody calling for imbert to hit the road

Postby Dave » October 31st, 2024, 11:49 am

hover11 wrote:Allya just remember this not affecting Massy, Pricesmart, Ansa, Prestige holdings, Global Brands. I wonder why.....
They are foreign exchange earners

Postby pugboy » October 31st, 2024, 11:55 am

pricesmart is a forex earner?

Postby st7 » October 31st, 2024, 12:01 pm

hover11 wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:
hover11 wrote:

What is the solution?
Vexx question,

Why nobody calling for Imbert to be removed or resign as finance minister, he has been and continues to show terrible performance in his position. Just like how everybody want hinds to go as Minister of nat sec nobody calling for imbert to hit the road
we waiting on you

Postby hover11 » October 31st, 2024, 12:05 pm

st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:
hover11 wrote:

What is the solution?
Vexx question,

we waiting on you
well i waiting for the loud mouths that had the most noise to make about condiments and waiting too long when in government offices they rather quiet when it comes to this.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 31st, 2024, 12:21 pm

pugboy wrote:pricesmart is a forex earner?

They employ many people and pay big tax so likely racking up points to move economy along

Postby Dizzy28 » October 31st, 2024, 12:23 pm

pugboy wrote:pricesmart is a forex earner?
Not net. But they do take some local products for thier stores In other countries so do help exports however small.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 31st, 2024, 12:24 pm

What is the solution?
The only real solution is a true open market for forex. Let demand and supply handle the price.

However not getting USD in amounts you want now might be less painful than getting all you want at 10-1.

Postby hover11 » October 31st, 2024, 12:25 pm

Pricesmart was also number 1 on the list for largest Forex user in thus country based on Jwala's findings but what does he know he was just the central bank governor fired for speaking out