WTF - Snake!

Re: WTF - Snake!

Postby Chimera » January 19th, 2013, 10:45 am

Stephon. wrote:One time a lady ran over a snake and took it and felt bad and cared for it and he got back to his original state. After getting back @ 100% the snake bites the woman and she dies. At the funeral everyone questioned the snakes actions and the snake simple replied. "She knew I was a snake when she picked me up"

The Scorpion and the Frog is a fable about a scorpion asking a frog to carry him across a river. The frog is afraid of being stung during the trip, but the scorpion argues that if it stung the frog, the frog would sink and the scorpion would drown. The frog agrees and begins carrying the scorpion, but midway across the river the scorpion does indeed sting the frog, dooming them both. When asked why, the scorpion explains that this is simply its nature. The fable is used to illustrate the view that the behaviour of some creatures, or of some people, is irrepressible, no matter how they are treated and no matter what the consequences.
Variations commonly include a farmer, youth, turtle, kangaroo, or fox in place of the frog, and a snake in place of the scorpion. The Farmer and the Viper is a specific variant that can be attributed to Aesop.

Postby pioneer » January 20th, 2013, 1:30 am

Rooki3 wrote:think dais a mappipere(sp)

I am afraid i'm thinking the same thing too...they seem to be very aggressive for some reason...other non-poisonous snakes run away if they spot danger...these want to attack...

How do I get rid of them?

Postby rollingstock » January 20th, 2013, 1:36 am

Non poisonous stop being a pu-c and leave them alone.

What you should be worried about is they hunt rodents, and if you`re seeing a lot you may have a rodent infestation nearby.

Postby rfari » January 20th, 2013, 1:41 am

Its also called a rat snake not so?

Postby rollingstock » January 20th, 2013, 1:43 am

Yep, many breeds are called rat snakes locally, they do get pretty big though and are aggressive.

Postby zoom rader » January 20th, 2013, 5:27 am

rollingstock wrote:Non poisonous stop being a pu-c and leave them alone.

What you should be worried about is they hunt rodents, and if you`re seeing a lot you may have a rodent infestation nearby.

Hope you guys know

What are the venomous snakes of Trinidad?
The four species are the two Coral and the two Mapepire Snakes.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » January 20th, 2013, 6:41 am

Nice

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » January 20th, 2013, 7:03 am

Poisonous Snakes
Head - Triangle - except Cobra
Fangs - Present
Pupils - Elliptical pupil or cat eyes and Slit eyes. The only exception is the coral snake.
Anal Plate - Single row of plates
Bite Mark - Fang Mark

Check out their head shape. Non-venomous snakes have a spoon-shaped rounded head and venomous snakes will have a more triangular head. this is because of the venom glands (this is less noticeable on the coral snake).

Coral snakes. Another beautiful but deadly snake is the Coral snake—so beautiful that other snakes—not-venomous ones such as the King snake—look just like them. They have distinctive coloring, though, with a black, yellow and red bands, a yellow head, and a black band over their nose. One rhyme to help distinguish coral snakes from king snakes is 'Red touch yellow, kill a fellow. Red touch black, friend to Jack.' Another variation is 'Red on black, venom lack; red on yellow, deadly fellow'. However, most of the time coral snakes will not bite - they are very shy.

Looking at a snakes eyes is not a valid way to identify if it is venomous or not. Cobras, Black Mamba's and other types of very venomous snakes have round pupils, while red tailed boas, emerald tree boas and green tree pythons have elliptical eyes. Do not approach an unknown snake just because it has round pupils, it does not mean it is not venomous.

Postby sMASH » January 20th, 2013, 7:54 am

i was reading sumting from the asa nature reserve website, and that said that the head shape is not soo reliable to use, in addition to the patterns, as these vary even more. they say that apart from the corals, the poisonous snakes are pit vipers, so have some small pits between their nostrils and eyes. these pits are used to sense heat. so, if u can determine if there are the little hole between the eyes and nostrils, then they would be the poisonous kinds

but, most snake would bite and that my become infected, so i would try to avoid being bitten by ANY snake.

Postby pioneer » January 20th, 2013, 11:39 am

according to the webz the cat eyed is venomous...to kill prey

and yeh the pest controllers came and realised there is a lady nearby who believes it's her right to mind fowl in she yard...so the snakes/rats going after the eggs it seems

When health inspectors came she said it's her right to grow her own food/mind fowl in a residential area...they told her this is not a farm...and she said she have rights and she is people too.

Postby Rooki3 » January 20th, 2013, 11:48 am

but i thought u live in "civilization"

Postby pioneer » January 20th, 2013, 12:00 pm

She doesn't, can't take the gutter out of some people.

Guess I'll have to call up my pals in MoH for her :)

Postby joker » January 21st, 2013, 12:01 am

fowls does kill snakes too
not seeing the one{snake} you posted ...

could spray around house with kerosene or black disinfectant every month.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 21st, 2013, 9:58 am

when in doubt black disinfectant works well.just sprinkle around your house.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 21st, 2013, 9:59 am

or if things real bad,ammonia would do the trick.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 21st, 2013, 2:07 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:or if things real bad,ammonia would do the trick.

the ammonia evaporates too fast!
but works well
mix the black disinfectant in some sawdust and sprinkle around premises!

Postby pugboy » January 22nd, 2013, 7:02 am

saw the fella this morning on chancellor,
about 4ft long and 2" max diameter
I presume it is a constrictor
20130122_061000.jpg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 22nd, 2013, 9:32 am

pugboy wrote:saw the fella this morning on chancellor,
about 4ft long and 2" max diameter
I presume it is a constrictor

i find eet look like ah rat snake.

Yodins

Postby Yodins » January 23rd, 2013, 7:10 pm

pioneer wrote:Again...could someone ID this snake?

False mapappire

non venomous, do not kill it
In other news, bought this snake from a piper and now its gonna be released back in the wild where it belongs. Rainbow boa :

All roung meh nack and nothing happen :|

Here you could see where it gets the name "rainbow" boa from. in the sunlight it even more amazing.

Even though it was coiled up in the striking position it didn't fire one bite.

Fresh out the bag

See how docile some snakes are. This is a wild snake and my lil brother handlin it normal. You pu55ies just wanna kill the poor animal cuz allyuh fraid it...
Last edited by Yodins on January 23rd, 2013, 7:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pioneer » January 23rd, 2013, 7:20 pm

So what is it exactly?

WTF@pugboy

Postby 1UZFE » January 23rd, 2013, 7:31 pm

Fresh out the bag

like d snake turning u on ooooaaarr.. :?

Postby shogun » January 23rd, 2013, 7:59 pm

Yodins wrote:
Here you could see where it gets the name "rainbow" boa from. in the sunlight it even more amazing.

Beautiful.

Postby Rooki3 » January 23rd, 2013, 7:59 pm

1UZFE wrote:Fresh out the bag

:pwned:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 23rd, 2013, 9:00 pm

shogun wrote:
Yodins wrote:

Beautiful.

Postby nervewrecker » January 23rd, 2013, 9:23 pm

Rooki3 wrote:

looks more like de injun just have a extra big coco....jelly much?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 23rd, 2013, 9:27 pm

Rooki3 wrote:

looks more like de injun just have a extra big coco....jelly much?

:lol: :lol: :lol: allyuh sad yes.

Postby Hook » January 24th, 2013, 7:28 am

d man handling a wild rainbow boa and allyuh tryna gauge his trouser serpent instead :roll:

somehow though, Yodins looks exactly how I figured he'd look based on his posts :?

Postby cinco » January 24th, 2013, 7:42 am

Hook wrote:d man handling a wild rainbow boa and allyuh tryna gauge his trouser serpent instead :roll:

somehow though, Yodins looks exactly how I figured he'd look based on his posts :?

unnastan
good job boy Yodins

mitsu

Postby mitsu » January 25th, 2013, 2:35 pm

The real McCoy!

My neighbor found this in his yard .The authorities were called in and took it.
1358982149074.jpg
1358982149074.jpg (29.18 KiB) Viewed 4830 times

Postby Rooki3 » January 25th, 2013, 2:37 pm

pretty death