bamfo_dennis wrote:so how dis supposed to wuk?
take off the big main breaker switch in the panel at the top to disconnect the ttec line?
den ..........how u connecting d generator to the house? It have wire to run from the generator output plug to where? like push the wire in a plug or i have to unscrew a breaker or someting in d box?
and dis legal? i remember long ago the talk was that having ur own generator running your house when current cut off was illegal.
Redman wrote:88sins wrote:solarkh wrote:Propane powered generators is the best option. Provides for indefinite storage, as it doesn’t go bad.
Until you come to the realization that not everywhere sells or everybody keeps propane & if you run out during an emergency you are as good as screwed.
If going that route, better to keep at minimum 2 large tanks on hand
I was thinking the Restaurant sized bullet tanks?
Generators may be a subheading of extended duration power outage preparation.VexXx Dogg wrote:adnj wrote:You need a transfer switch (manual or automatic) and a new panel inspection if, and only if, your generator wires into a household power distribution panel.VexXx Dogg wrote:demented wrote:PROCOM in Point Lisas has complete residential systems with ATS (Automatic Transfer Switches) which will be required by T&TEC.
https://www.procomtt.com/products/power-generation
For this we're keeping the scope simple.
Generator to power isolated circuits for emergencies.
That kinda solution is prob for businesses and big budget home power.
Exactly. For emergency/extended outages the simplest thing is to run a generator and extension cords to power lights/fan/select appliances. Nowhere near the mains supply or house wiring.
Lowest tech option.
adnj wrote:Generators may be a subheading of extended duration power outage preparation.VexXx Dogg wrote:adnj wrote:You need a transfer switch (manual or automatic) and a new panel inspection if, and only if, your generator wires into a household power distribution panel.VexXx Dogg wrote:demented wrote:PROCOM in Point Lisas has complete residential systems with ATS (Automatic Transfer Switches) which will be required by T&TEC.
https://www.procomtt.com/products/power-generation
For this we're keeping the scope simple.
Generator to power isolated circuits for emergencies.
That kinda solution is prob for businesses and big budget home power.
Exactly. For emergency/extended outages the simplest thing is to run a generator and extension cords to power lights/fan/select appliances. Nowhere near the mains supply or house wiring.
Lowest tech option.
IF you decide to go that route, you have to start with portable lighting, fresh water and sanitation.
It's not easy to get a generator connected, started and refueled in total darkness.
VexXx Dogg wrote:bamfo_dennis wrote:so how dis supposed to wuk?
take off the big main breaker switch in the panel at the top to disconnect the ttec line?
den ..........how u connecting d generator to the house? It have wire to run from the generator output plug to where? like push the wire in a plug or i have to unscrew a breaker or someting in d box?
and dis legal? i remember long ago the talk was that having ur own generator running your house when current cut off was illegal.
The intent is not to provide 100% house operations.
The intended solution is to have a generator that can provide some degree of lighting, fans and appliance power through separate extension cords. Not tied into house wiring.
Basic conveniences until power is restored. Lowest budget and possibly most accessible to various segments of society.
adnj wrote:I would not use a generator to run a water pressure pump. A small reserve tank connected to the top of your water column will be cheaper and more reliable, if you have the space for it.
You can't operate multiple outlets simultaneously in most cases because frictional losses increase with flow rate but you will get enough flow to operate a shower (10 L/min) at the top floor.pugboy wrote:in theory but often with frictional losses, mixers, check valves etc gravity would be hard pressed to make it to the main house supply unless spliced in separate with minimal piping to a bathroom etc.adnj wrote:I would not use a generator to run a water pressure pump. A small reserve tank connected to the top of your water column will be cheaper and more reliable, if you have the space for it.
hover11 wrote:Anybody know what brand of generator that impsbert buying here , I want the same oneFB_IMG_1645144100030.jpg
Kenjo wrote:So men can’t bathe with a bucket and pan ? In a national disaster men studying shower yes . Thank goodness COVID was a virus and we didn’t have to face an actual war
redmanjp wrote:Kenjo wrote:So men can’t bathe with a bucket and pan ? In a national disaster men studying shower yes . Thank goodness COVID was a virus and we didn’t have to face an actual war
if the tank level low enough u can't even full that bucket if the pump has no power.
X3000 . Real divas in here...Phone Surgeon wrote:redmanjp wrote:Kenjo wrote:So men can’t bathe with a bucket and pan ? In a national disaster men studying shower yes . Thank goodness COVID was a virus and we didn’t have to face an actual war
if the tank level low enough u can't even full that bucket if the pump has no power.
so allyuh fellas dont have a pipe attached directly by the tank? that you could full a bucket and either bath outside or carry the water inside to bath if you cant bathe outside?
LOL
Phone Surgeon wrote:Where you going to work or school with a nationwide power outage? Lol.
At the very least the kids staying home.
But kix yes.
"Men" fraid to bathe by the tank or from a barrel.
Phone Surgeon wrote:Yuh cud also full your toilet tank with bucket to flush.
Inconvenient but no choice is there if that time comes eh.
K74T wrote:softmanjp