toyota2nr wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Police only forgot to shoot and kill...daz all..Kalisnakov wrote:Good job but would rather dem DEAD!!!
Set ah dam parasite....MaxPower wrote:I wished they were shot and killed...and wen mammy come...run she mc
And people still don't understand why criminals so heartless? They are just a subset of our society. If circumstances were correct to turn any of you into a criminal I'm sure you all would be just as bad using the "dem doh give a f*ck bout we so why we gonna give a f*ck bout dem" reasoning.
Once again, I am not defending the actions of the criminals. What they did was wrong. The TTPS deserves only congratulations for their swift action.
My point some highfalutin (lovin that word btw) tuners need to step of their moral high horse and realise that they just as bad as the criminals that they look down on. Being exposed to better circumstances does not make you a better person and circumstances seem to be all that separate you from the "heartless" criminals as your sentiments imply desires as equally vile as theirs.
Sidenote... anyone else notice the bandit that stop for dinner one time? Kill two birds with one stone
Sorry but you are very wrong. What are the circumstances that could cause a person to become a criminal?
Poverty?
Not an excuse for crime. I grew up in Belmont among all the bandits and drug pushers. Didn't become a criminal. Likewise many other people. Right now in our society too many people committing crime and using every single excuse in the book. Wrong is wrong no matter white collar or blue. They should have been executed...
Slartibartfast wrote:toyota2nr wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Police only forgot to shoot and kill...daz all..Kalisnakov wrote:Good job but would rather dem DEAD!!!
Set ah dam parasite....MaxPower wrote:I wished they were shot and killed...and wen mammy come...run she mc
And people still don't understand why criminals so heartless? They are just a subset of our society. If circumstances were correct to turn any of you into a criminal I'm sure you all would be just as bad using the "dem doh give a f*ck bout we so why we gonna give a f*ck bout dem" reasoning.
Once again, I am not defending the actions of the criminals. What they did was wrong. The TTPS deserves only congratulations for their swift action.
My point some highfalutin (lovin that word btw) tuners need to step of their moral high horse and realise that they just as bad as the criminals that they look down on. Being exposed to better circumstances does not make you a better person and circumstances seem to be all that separate you from the "heartless" criminals as your sentiments imply desires as equally vile as theirs.
Sidenote... anyone else notice the bandit that stop for dinner one time? Kill two birds with one stone
Sorry but you are very wrong. What are the circumstances that could cause a person to become a criminal?
Poverty?
Not an excuse for crime. I grew up in Belmont among all the bandits and drug pushers. Didn't become a criminal. Likewise many other people. Right now in our society too many people committing crime and using every single excuse in the book. Wrong is wrong no matter white collar or blue. They should have been executed...
I'm curious.... what do you think causes a person to become a criminal?
toyota2nr wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:
I'm curious.... what do you think causes a person to become a criminal?
I would faster say culture. Look at the crime hotspots...
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:How much years behind bars are they going to get for this?
Just curious as to what would make young people do something as dotish as this only to spend the best part of their life in a cage
toyota2nr wrote:Can't say definitively but the lack of punishment or consequence for crime certainly contributes. Some years there was a story where a man killed his neighbor because as he said 'they stop hanging'.
The idea that anything can be acquired without working for it is also a factor.
pugboy wrote:Lack of self esteem is a major contributor, it magnifies the divide between the haves and have nots
Causes action past the tipping point
Just like up when we see chirren of "contractors" literally getting away with murder
And wonder how come they so lucky whilst we regular folk kvetching we tail
we accept it as a norm but there will always be some tipping point
Slartibartfast wrote:I'm curious.... what do you think causes a person to become a criminal?
Btw, I agree, crime is crime and there is no excuse for it. I am merely looking for an explanation/ cause for it.
I agree but I will like to add that the choices are relative to a degree.88sins wrote:Violent criminal activity isn't caused by poverty, circumstance, drug abuse, physical abuse, not having an xbox, rain falling & it wet, or any other jackass excuse some fool would try to convince ppl of as the reason or cause for it.
Persons commit robbery, rape, murder, arson, or any other criminal act for one simple reason, that's because they actively choose to because they believe they will benefit from it at that point in time & the potential gains outweigh the potential risks
Slartibartfast wrote:I agree that criminals need to pay for the wrong that they did. However, I don't believe that blind punishment is the answer. What about hard labour where their pay goes as compensation to the victims while they receive council to make them come out as less of a criminal than what they went in as?
Slartibartfast wrote:I agree that one chooses to become a criminal. However, don't think that you and them face the same difficulties when making the choice.
Slartibartfast wrote:What makes the potential relative gain of crime greater and how can you reduce it?
desifemlove wrote:
if top psychiatrists like those from UWI can for mental health issues, or top tech people can for their industry, or lawyers for legal issues, then criminologists need to. They should be at the forefront, they have the expertise.
88sins wrote:desifemlove wrote:
if top psychiatrists like those from UWI can for mental health issues, or top tech people can for their industry, or lawyers for legal issues, then criminologists need to. They should be at the forefront, they have the expertise.
Psychiatrists, deal with the mentally I'll routinely, techies use technology hourly, lawyers go to court or prepare legal documents frequently.
How often & which one of them theorists posing as criminologists gonna go spend a day in a police station detention cell with a violent offender or interview & assess remand yard residents to compile the necessary data? You volunteering to ask the questions and take the notes for them? Because I could tell you that none of them gonna do that often enough or for long enough to gather any usable information.
screwbash wrote:Being born a ni**a is what makes a person a criminal.
88sins wrote:desifemlove wrote:
Psychiatrists, deal with the mentally I'll routinely, techies use technology hourly, lawyers go to court or prepare legal documents frequently.
How often & which one of them theorists posing as criminologists gonna go spend a day in a police station detention cell with a violent offender or interview & assess remand yard residents to compile the necessary data? You volunteering to ask the questions and take the notes for them? Because I could tell you that none of them gonna do that often enough or for long enough to gather any usable information.
desifemlove wrote:criminologists don't interview people. they use surveys, and many other techniques. I'd argue if they are not looking for ways to solve this, when they have the expertise, they are part of the problem.
88sins wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:I agree that criminals need to pay for the wrong that they did. However, I don't believe that blind punishment is the answer. What about hard labour where their pay goes as compensation to the victims while they receive council to make them come out as less of a criminal than what they went in as?
I've been advocating this for years, specifically in instances of murder cases. A victims loved one is gone, often times that loved one was the breadwinner of the family, that death now leaves them with an emotional & financial loss. Put the convicted murderer to work at hard labor in the private and public sector, let them earn a wage, then deduct what small $$ is needed to feed & clothe them, the rest goes to the family of the deceased until the victims youngest offspring reaches 18 years. After that, hang them in the square. The only real issue with working them to compensate for their misdeeds is that with our dysfunctional court systems, the victims kids have a good chance of turning 18 before the accused is convictedSlartibartfast wrote:I agree that one chooses to become a criminal. However, don't think that you and them face the same difficulties when making the choice.
sonnyjim, there ain't no difficulties in making the choice to go either route. there are no gray areas, is either you decide to do or decide to not do. & take my word for it, I know PLENTY people that didn't have it easy as a youth, from the ages of 6 years to 25 years old & I talkin about ppl with no food, no clothes & some of them, nowhere to live, staying by a friend or distant relative. & they still didn't end up a pest like them.Slartibartfast wrote:What makes the potential relative gain of crime greater and how can you reduce it?
What makes them perceive the potential gain as greater than the risks is that they have realized there's a very high probability they'll get away with it due to low detection & apprehension & conviction rates & absolutely zero resistance from your victims. If you want to change that, then theres a few ways t go about it. The main methods being either arm all potential victims or allow them to arm themselves, this is the easiest thing to do. The next way about it is that the TTPS & the judicial system & the prison system & the population at large needs to come together to address the issue. This one ain't so easy.
I'm not advocating punishment alone. There needs to be an option for providing rehabilitation for first time & nonviolent offenders & repeat offenders to a degree. as well as teaching them skills that would help them avoid choosing a life of criminal activity.
I also believe that punishment isn't an effective deterrent if it can't be seen by those you'd like it to deter. So, if a prisoner is to get strokes, he could get them in the square just as well as the prison yard. If he's to be hung, nuff trees in the square to do it from.