kiran8977 wrote:Actually Utt and uwi have the same accreditation for some engineering courses
Corn Bird wrote:Daran wrote:especially with regard to math which is a joke in UWI's eng program
is the maths in uwi eng too easy, too hard or not meeting the prerequisites for other courses?
nick639 wrote:That^^^
Utt lecturers are extremely helpful. Class had some problems with thermo last semester and lecturer answered calls all 10 in the night and came out Saturdays for extra classes
TheOwnerPO wrote:UTT by far has the better engineering courses than UWI.
TheOwnerPO wrote:nick639 wrote:That^^^
Utt lecturers are extremely helpful. Class had some problems with thermo last semester and lecturer answered calls all 10 in the night and came out Saturdays for extra classes
did thermo this semester....but abandoned the course because it was too difficult.
Next year for it i guess
kjaglal76v2 wrote:TheOwnerPO wrote:UTT by far has the better engineering courses than UWI.:|:|:|:|
Daran wrote:Corn Bird wrote:is the maths in uwi eng too easy, too hard or not meeting the prerequisites for other courses?
UWI's math meets the minimum engineering requirements. But after doing my MSc in the UK, it utterly pales in comparison to what regular Eng students know.
Corn Bird wrote:Daran wrote:Corn Bird wrote:is the maths in uwi eng too easy, too hard or not meeting the prerequisites for other courses?
UWI's math meets the minimum engineering requirements. But after doing my MSc in the UK, it utterly pales in comparison to what regular Eng students know.
what specific sort of maths did you do in your UK MSc that you didn't do at UWI eng?
Slartibartfast wrote:Back when I was in UWI a major problem with the Elec degree was over-assessment. There was this one course I remember some of my friends had with 1% coursework assignments. As in, each week they get an assignment worth 1% that they had to pass or else they fail the course. Then every lecturer wanted to give them exams and other coursework on top of it. Some of my lecturers said when the accrediters came down they said they were over assessing elec students by something like 400% (giving them 4 times more assignments and exams than what would be optimum).
I think that above all is what made elec the hardest according to my friends that used to constantly complain.
Project-JDM wrote:kjaglal76v2 wrote:TheOwnerPO wrote:UTT by far has the better engineering courses than UWI.:|:|:|:|
year 1 Manufacturing and Design Engineering UTT
Engineering Graphics - a guy from India teaches you to draw boxes and circles with a pencil and paper free hand![]()
year 1 Mechanical engineering - UWI
Engineering Drawing 1 - Auto CAD and some hard a$$ isometric projections
and drawing is the easiest course in UWI
TheOwnerPO - u need to review uwi course outline bro .....
goalpost wrote:TheOwnerPO wrote:UTT by far has the better engineering courses than UWI.
lol,
just because you find it was easier does not mean it is better...
and your judgment is nothing to go by seeing that:TheOwnerPO wrote:nick639 wrote:That^^^
did thermo this semester....but abandoned the course because it was too difficult.
Next year for it i guess
does UWI Faculty of Engineering even allow a student to drop a class, because it's "too difficult"
Daran wrote:You advice is very inaccurate, for process engineering i believe UTT is accredited, but for everything else, nada....they're technician level 'degrees' requiring 5 O Level passes to get in.
Wrong. UTT undergrad degree summer trainees I have had the opportunity to mentor have outperformed UWI graduates under my wing. The UTT degree is accredited and well recognized in the oil and gas as well as the manufacturing and downstream sector in Trinidad.
As for the view of mech being valued more than elec, I think this could be based on your industry, but in very few are mech engs valued more than elec or chem (the gods in oil & gas). In my experience, it seems civil and mech are usually under valued compared to Chem and Elec.
Guess what, Materials, Welding, piping and pipeline engineers come from what discipline?..Mechanical. All those departments have multiple times as many persons employed in each department as Electrical and Control departments combined. Electrical and control system Engineers tend to stay in their discipline and mechanical Engineers and Civil Engineers seem to be the ones who move into construction supervisor, project Engineering and upper management. I did state that Chemical Engineers basically run the show, but Gods?... no.
Also, your claim of engineering not being math based is quite laughable and show's that you probably don't have a UWI or real engineering degree.
Your comprehension of what I sated is poor. I said that Engineering is based on practices and proven methodologies. You will not be required to use calculus as most important calculations are automated into tools like Intools and smart plant, or vendor specific programs. You are there to supervise the calculations and ensure their integrity. It is really not rocket science, or complex, but it is rigorous and you need to understand physical concepts and what they translate into something you have to buy, fabricate, install or adjust a setting in the field. I got my degree in a cereal box and accredited by Hazel Maning, so I won't argue with you there.
crazybalhead wrote:Only scholars and gentlemen do Land Surveying. Everyone else are serfs and peasants.
eurogirl wrote:I wanna see allyuh survive without some of those tools an app's![]()
No I cannot. If I have to size 200 valves (or whatever else), I am not going to do it manually. Does not make sense for me to waste a client's time and money.
chem eng's can turn valves ?![]()
They don't have to, they tell control systems exactly how much to turn it by then it is our problem to match that exactly.
sigh ... I need to hush..
Nah.. doh do dat
eurogirl wrote:chem eng's can turn valves ?![]()