Unlawfully Wrecked - and other POS Parking Woes!

Re: WTK: What to do if you are unlawfully wrecked in POS?

Postby SR » May 22nd, 2014, 8:43 pm

Cameras.....lololol

Postby Slartibartfast » May 22nd, 2014, 9:41 pm

trinimotors wrote: But i have some information that could mash up the wrecking actually i have alot of information with facts.

Don't just say you have facts. Share them nah man.

trinimotors

Postby trinimotors » May 22nd, 2014, 9:44 pm

I will write to the express soon about it, If i post it on a forum board it will chain back to me.

Postby zoom rader » May 23rd, 2014, 2:48 am

Op set up a sting operation, by parking your car in the same spot and wait for wrecker to pick you up, then video the scene without them knowing. After than send out video to media houses to gain attention or protest to the mayor .

death365

Postby death365 » May 23rd, 2014, 9:04 am

unfortunately the only real option is ... pay the people they 500 ... then go by a lawer an pay him > 1000 to fight the case ... then wait till case call . police aint show up ... wait again .. then finally get back the 500 (approx 9 months wait) pay lawer over 1500 to get it back

Postby Chimera » May 23rd, 2014, 9:27 am

zoom rader wrote:Op set up a sting operation, by parking your car in the same spot and wait for wrecker to pick you up, then video the scene without them knowing. After than send out video to media houses to gain attention or protest to the mayor .

thats a good plan though

Infamous

Postby Infamous » May 23rd, 2014, 9:35 am

Trust me, that wrecking problem isn't only confined to POS. Police and wreckers operating on their own beat. If they see your car and they feeling to wreck you, then you're up sheit creek. They notorious for that nonsense in Arima as well. You could park by a sign that says you can legally park there and they will wreck you. Ask them why and they responding "Yuh cyah park dey today boss!". No notice anywhere either via print media, radio or television. They not waiving the penalty even if you explain to them what went on, the officer who was with the wrecker never there and they brazenly telling you that if you take it to court, it's your word against the officer.

Oh and if you think going to Sealots to get back your car is sheit. In Arima, once you get wrecked, you have to go to Malabar police station to get the insurance from your vehicle, go back to Arima police station to pay and then return to Malabar police station to collect your vehicle. Why? Because Arima doesn't have space to hold vehicles... :|

JF.K

Postby JF.K » May 23rd, 2014, 9:38 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Op set up a sting operation, by parking your car in the same spot and wait for wrecker to pick you up, then video the scene without them knowing. After than send out video to media houses to gain attention or protest to the mayor .

thats a good plan though

I agree but it would also cost me a day or more from my leave entitlement since the wrecking can take place at anytime of day, so I'll need to pull a seat and read a few papers.
Also, the wreckers are "sometime-ish". They would recklessly wreck on one day and the next day, not wreck at all. Then, there is that fact that they sometimes bypass some cars that are illegally parked on some streets (such as Park Street), and other times they'd wreck them.

Postby Chimera » May 23rd, 2014, 9:47 am

get a vinyl decal saying either

"wreck me nah!!!"
or
"can't wreck this!!"

and stick it on your back windscreen

i sure they will go out of their way to wreck you

Postby pete » May 23rd, 2014, 9:59 am

4-600/month vs 500/wreck?

Once you get wrecked less than once a month you really are coming out good. :|

konartis

Postby konartis » May 23rd, 2014, 10:09 am

you have to write to the transport commissioner indicating all that u said the the first post and any real evidence that you have that u were parked legally(video, pictures) etc

JF.K

Postby JF.K » May 23rd, 2014, 10:16 am

pete wrote:4-600/month vs 500/wreck?

Once you get wrecked less than once a month you really are coming out good. :|

That's serious thing I tellin u bout yuh know. This parking ting real ridiculous in POS.
99% of the companies never provide parking for employees - for managers... of course!
So you have endless people almost literally fighting for "Legal" street-side parking in the darkness of night.

In some places (such as around Victoria Square), some ghetto thugs actually block large parts of the road with tires and then charge people to park there!
On the Public Road eh... WTF!
Dare to move one of those tires and just park in "their space"?.... then return to your car to find the windows smashed and car looted!
When you pay them, they tell you that your are now ensured that your vehicle is "protected"!

Then we previously had the problem where employees of certain organizations that operate on a shift system, would also illegally block large parts of the (Legal Side) road with cones etc (in the wee hours of the morning), for their friends who not willing to make that early morning sacrifice!
So less and less parking available.

Concerning the cost of parking and wrecking charges...
It was previously more worth-while to take a chance of getting wrecked VS actually paying for a park... that was when wrecking was $250.
I had partners (at that time) who used to leave their hand brakes down and take the chance of parking anywhere... not anymore.

It might soon reach a point where people just reach home, bathe, then leave for work for the next day, just to get a park.
Last edited by JF.K on May 23rd, 2014, 10:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby tr1ad » May 23rd, 2014, 10:18 am

Parkade always have room tho

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 23rd, 2014, 10:25 am

Infamous wrote:Trust me, that wrecking problem isn't only confined to POS. Police and wreckers operating on their own beat. If they see your car and they feeling to wreck you, then you're up sheit creek. They notorious for that nonsense in Arima as well. You could park by a sign that says you can legally park there and they will wreck you. Ask them why and they responding "Yuh cyah park dey today boss!". No notice anywhere either via print media, radio or television. They not waiving the penalty even if you explain to them what went on, the officer who was with the wrecker never there and they brazenly telling you that if you take it to court, it's your word against the officer.

Oh and if you think going to Sealots to get back your car is sheit. In Arima, once you get wrecked, you have to go to Malabar police station to get the insurance from your vehicle, go back to Arima police station to pay and then return to Malabar police station to collect your vehicle. Why? Because Arima doesn't have space to hold vehicles... :|

Most people who park in Arima park like kunnts, there are hourly carparks and free carparks but people too lazy to park and walk, imo not enough wrecking is done in Arima, especially by Santa Rosa stand where people love to park to get their japs, kfc etc and the taxis end up blocking an entire lane waiting to get in line.

Postby Chimera » May 23rd, 2014, 10:29 am

yup parkade ALWAYS have space

Postby Dizzy28 » May 23rd, 2014, 10:38 am

tr1ad wrote:Parkade always have room tho

You suggesting a paid solution?? Nah!!!!

JF.K

Postby JF.K » May 23rd, 2014, 10:39 am

Infamous wrote:Oh and if you think going to Sealots to get back your car is sheit. In Arima, once you get wrecked, you have to go to Malabar police station to get the insurance from your vehicle, go back to Arima police station to pay and then return to Malabar police station to collect your vehicle. Why? Because Arima doesn't have space to hold vehicles... :|

I'll soon tell you guys about my experience with the ignorant, arrogant, heartless Sea Lots Police when I went to collect my car.
No ready to raise my blood pressure just yet.

Postby BrotherHood » May 23rd, 2014, 10:40 am

It have a man on Richmond Street outside Diamond Motors does be parking he motorbike like if is a car he driving, taking up a whole spot. Later on when he friends come, yuh does see the bike on the pavement. One of these days a mysterious bigstone will lick down dat bike.

1rant

Postby Chimera » May 23rd, 2014, 10:42 am

it kinda expensive to park all day in a paid parking lot for people who might be making $150- $200 a day though

allyuh better start parking in mt hope/uwi and use the bus route to POS

JF.K

Postby JF.K » May 23rd, 2014, 10:48 am

If you read previous posts, you'd realize that a paid solution is welcomed but not found.
Not sure about the parkade and the specifics etc. Anyone can shed light on this?
Price... Locations... etc.
I know about that one downtown close to UTC, but I was never sure if it was opened to the public, since it always looked closed down and abandoned.
For people working higher than Park Street etc, it will be a very long walk but if it is an option, I'll take it.

Infamous

Postby Infamous » May 23rd, 2014, 10:49 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
Infamous wrote:Trust me, that wrecking problem isn't only confined to POS. Police and wreckers operating on their own beat. If they see your car and they feeling to wreck you, then you're up sheit creek. They notorious for that nonsense in Arima as well. You could park by a sign that says you can legally park there and they will wreck you. Ask them why and they responding "Yuh cyah park dey today boss!". No notice anywhere either via print media, radio or television. They not waiving the penalty even if you explain to them what went on, the officer who was with the wrecker never there and they brazenly telling you that if you take it to court, it's your word against the officer.

Most people who park in Arima park like kunnts, there are hourly carparks and free carparks but people too lazy to park and walk, imo not enough wrecking is done in Arima, especially by Santa Rosa stand where people love to park to get their japs, kfc etc and the taxis end up blocking an entire lane waiting to get in line.

Not disagreeing there. Many persons deserve what they get but you can't implement a system where legal parking is allowed in certain areas at specified times and then turn around and still wreck. You cannot punish people for obeying the law. This is why we end up with even more disgruntled citizens. If I park like an ass, then wreck. Even if I didn't know it was a no parking zone, wreck (ignorance of the law is not an excuse to break it). But if I parked on the correct side of the road, on the correct day, at the correct time, no hydrants in sight and I ensure that my vehicle is not obstructing traffic and within the legal distance from the corner, why the hell the police/wrecker interfering with my vehicle.

Mind you, I rather use a car park, pay my $5-$6 an hour and walk my ass wherever I have to go. The sheit the police spewing to people will piss me off.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 23rd, 2014, 10:52 am

JF.K wrote:

If you read previous posts, you'd realize that a paid solution is welcomed but not found.
Not sure about the parkade and the specifics etc. Anyone can shed light on this?
I know about that one downtown close to UTC, but I was never sure if it was opened to the public, since it always looked closed down and abandoned.
For people working higher than Park Street etc, it will be a very long walk but if it is an option, I'll take it.

As mentioned the Parkade between Edward, Richmond and Queen Streets has parking. Their prices went up recently (can't recollect) however the revised price list is stuck on the elevator doors. You will possibly get floor 6 upwards as the first 5 floors as already reserved by various Ministries, agencies and public bodies.

JF.K

Postby JF.K » May 23rd, 2014, 10:54 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:it kinda expensive to park all day in a paid parking lot for people who might be making $150- $200 a day though

allyuh better start parking in mt hope/uwi and use the bus route to POS

:idea: Never thought about that... :idea:

JF.K

Postby JF.K » May 23rd, 2014, 10:55 am

JF.K wrote:

As mentioned the Parkade between Edward, Richmond and Queen Streets has parking. Their prices went up recently (can't recollect) however the revised price list is stuck on the elevator doors. You will possibly get floor 6 upwards as the first 5 floors as already reserved by various Ministries, agencies and public bodies.

I'll definitely check it out, thanks bro!

JF.K

Postby JF.K » May 23rd, 2014, 11:07 am

SR wrote:
trinimotors wrote:Most of the wreckers are outfitted with cameras on board, Each report are investigated. Everyone claims they are wrongfully wrecked, its human nature to do so. 500 dollars is not easy to pay. But i have some information that could mash up the wrecking actually i have alot of information with facts.
Cameras.....lololol

Those wreckers actually have cameras but I don't think that they record anything.
I think they are used similar to the reverse cameras in your cars.
There is a person inside the truck that controls the arms of the wrecker and he sees what he is doing via this camera.
Actually saw it in action from the inside a while back.

Re: Unlawfully Wrecked - and other POS Parking Woes!

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 23rd, 2014, 11:08 am

BTW OP, we still awaiting pics

Postby tr1ad » May 23rd, 2014, 11:16 am

500 a month, normally Park on the 2nd or 3rd floor when I get there around 730

OP, seems you've never considered there... it's open to the public a while now

Nothing wrong with a cool stroll early in the morning, keeps the heart good

JF.K

Postby JF.K » May 23rd, 2014, 11:43 am

tr1ad wrote:500 a month, normally Park on the 2nd or 3rd floor when I get there around 730

OP, seems you've never considered there... it's open to the public a while now

Nothing wrong with a cool stroll early in the morning, keeps the heart good

I didn't check them since I thought they were looking as though it wasn't ready for the public.. Also since they were downtown and I'm working uptown.
But thanks... I'll really check it.

JF.K

Postby JF.K » May 23rd, 2014, 11:47 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:BTW OP, we still awaiting pics

Can't post pics though...
I was recently a victim of "break in" and "vandalism" when I used to park in a certain part of POS. So I don't want the bandits (who could be on tuner) to see the same car and know where I am going to park now due to my previous posts.
Since I am not sure if it was directed at me personally or just a random break in.

JF.K

Postby JF.K » May 23rd, 2014, 3:31 pm

tr1ad... what you think about the security there?
Are you comfortable parking there or do you have doubts about your car's safety while you're in work?

Is there is proper checks of your vehicle when it is leaving the compound - that is, if anyone can go up to your car in the level that it is in... break it in... and drive out... without the man in the booth all the way on the grnd flr knowing anything about it.

Also wondering about getting robbed in those multi-story places while going to your car.

Thanks.