Re: Fuel Subsidy/Gas Price Issues

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 23rd, 2013, 10:03 pm

ingalook wrote:
ingalook wrote:Duane, you duck that question twice in the last thread... no comment
not answering because I don't know and admitting I don't know is ducking the question?

"I don't know" is an answer.

If you still doh know after all I just posted then you almost as intelligent as A172... or just playing stupid... I'd like to believe the latter
but that post you made was your opinion, not fact, since it is based on your assumption that only Audi and BMW use premium.

So my answer remains "I don't know"

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 23rd, 2013, 10:11 pm

So what you are saying is - Super consumption DID NOT INCREASE and premium consumption DID NOT DECREASE?

Which gas station you does buy from? Some baller gas station where men is be pouring "crystaal" in dey radiator an ting?

src1983

Postby src1983 » July 23rd, 2013, 10:14 pm

My car uses premium....men at the diesel station laugh at me all the time....

The biggest portion of the subsidy is from diesel not gas...after the last budget I worked out the figures (unsubsidized) at that time....

Premium was ~$7
Super was ~$5.75
Diesel was ~$5-5.50

Wish I kept it.....

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 23rd, 2013, 10:14 pm

ingalook wrote:
ingalook wrote:Duane, you duck that question twice in the last thread... no comment
not answering because I don't know and admitting I don't know is ducking the question?

If you still doh know after all I just posted then you almost as intelligent as A172... or just playing stupid... I'd like to believe the latter
but that post you made was your opinion, not fact, since it is based on your assumption that only Audi and BMW use premium.

BASED ON MY ASSUMPTION? That was the assumption of the Prime Minister... I have a rudimentary understanding of automobiles :roll:

Postby supercharged turbo » July 23rd, 2013, 10:19 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:the diesel subsidy should be gradually cut especially those who do not own commercial diesel vehicles

I agree completely

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 23rd, 2013, 10:20 pm

src1983 wrote:My car uses premium....men at the diesel station laugh at me all the time....

The biggest portion of the subsidy is from diesel not gas...after the last budget I worked out the figures (unsubsidized) at that time....

Premium was ~$7
Super was ~$5.75
Diesel was ~$5-5.50

Wish I kept it.....

It was widely discussed at the time, and ONLY the Min of Finance would agree with your figures "src1983" or should I say MR. HOWAI!!!! Caught you trolling tuner!

Every other estimate of non subsidized premium in 2012 pegged it at about $4.75... that if you think the government should obey their own laws of course

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 23rd, 2013, 10:20 pm

ingalook wrote:

BASED ON MY ASSUMPTION? That was the assumption of the Prime Minister... I have a rudimentary understanding of automobiles :roll:
still remains an assumption 8)

src1983

Postby src1983 » July 23rd, 2013, 10:23 pm

Wasn't from him...

Was from the guardian, and Bloomberg. You really like to assume don't you...

Where is your data pointing the 4.75??

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 23rd, 2013, 10:24 pm

ingalook wrote:

That was never an assumption I based my conclusion on... stop trolling and answer the question I just asked you... since I'm going to have to ask you step by step to draw an answer out of you... honestly you have to be doing this on purpose, you cyar be so chupid one time...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 23rd, 2013, 10:27 pm

ingalook wrote:

That was never an assumption I based my conclusion on... stop trolling and answer the question I just asked you... since I'm going to have to ask you step by step to draw an answer out of you... honestly you have to be doing this on purpose, you cyar be so chupid one time...
maybe you have issues.

I said I don't know. Not sure what you would like to hear but that is my answer so far.

Postby X2 » July 23rd, 2013, 10:27 pm

Doesnt diesel cost more than premium gas in other parts of the world ?

My car is a economy/compact and uses premium (if I don't want it to ping)... so the increase in price hit me hard.... going to super could cause premature wear on my little econobox.

If they increase the price of super, would they also increase the quality commensurate with the price We are already just about on-par with USA gas prices... so where is my detergents and nitrogen enrichment ?

MORE IMPORTANTLY.... WHERE IS MY E85 ??!?!?!?

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 23rd, 2013, 10:28 pm

src1983 wrote:Wasn't from him...

Was from the guardian, and Bloomberg. You really like to assume don't you...

Where is your data pointing the 4.75??

I thought you just said based on YOUR calculations???

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 23rd, 2013, 10:29 pm

ingalook wrote:So what you are saying is - Super consumption DID NOT INCREASE and premium consumption DID NOT DECREASE?

Which gas station you does buy from? Some baller gas station where men is be pouring "crystaal" in dey radiator an ting?

ANSWER THIS DUANE THIS IS QUESTION 1.

ANSWER THIS

src1983

Postby src1983 » July 23rd, 2013, 10:32 pm

Yes I got my data from the guardian and Bloomberg at the time

So I took the current figures and gross them up to what the really should be,

Understand??

So for example you say your figure is $4.75 for 98ron, that's all well and good. But how did you come up with that?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 23rd, 2013, 10:39 pm

ingalook wrote:
ingalook wrote:So what you are saying is - Super consumption DID NOT INCREASE and premium consumption DID NOT DECREASE?

ANSWER THIS
I do not know. I do not have the retail sales figures from NP and Unipet.

badandy

Postby badandy » July 23rd, 2013, 10:40 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:It is a burden on the Government in that it is a loss of valuable revenue. People in T&T are wasteful. There is hardly any car pooling done. People do not chain their trips. Time for people to see what is the real cost of car ownership.

At the same time, the Government needs to provide/support a reliable form of mass transit as an alternative. They also need to clamp down on the maxi taxi mafia with how some of the owners/drivers "rob" passengers with this short drop foolishness.

i have to agree with you...
let the government give us the incentive before the implementation of higher prices

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 23rd, 2013, 10:43 pm

Am... it was published by the Ministry of Energy in July 2012... slides were up on tuner if recall

It was quoted by PriceWaterhouse during the 2012 Budget debate...

found it:

http://sta.uwi.edu/conferences/12/reven ... osting.pdf

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 23rd, 2013, 10:48 pm

ingalook wrote:

ANSWER THIS

Then :pokes: since you have nothing useful to add here you are excused, you may exit the thread at your nearest convenience

Go lime with your friend A172 in the corner there

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 23rd, 2013, 10:52 pm

This is who those slides are credited to

Dr. Thackwray Driver

Dr. Thackwray "Dax" Driver has been the Chief Executive Officer of the Energy Chamber for the last seven years. During this time he has overseen the transformation of the South Trinidad Chamber into the Energy Chamber of Trinidad & Tobago, with a doubling of total membership and a five-fold increase in revenue. He has pioneered numerous new initiatives and activities for the Energy Chamber, including the Safe to Work Initiative and the Energy Industry Competency Development Initiative. In the past four years he has led out-going Energy Services Trade Missions to ten countries in the Caribbean, Latin America, West and East Africa.

In December 2011 he was appointed as Chairman of the Economic Development Board, a joint private-public sector advisory body with responsibility for overall economic development strategy for Trinidad & Tobago. He was previously a member of the Board of Governors of the University of Trinidad
& Tobago and is a Board member of the Trinidad & Tobago Coalition of Service Industries. Prior to joining the Energy Chamber he was the Co-ordinator
of the Inter American Development Bank funded Agriculture Sector Reform Programme and worked as a consultant on numerous land and natural resource
projects in the Caribbean and Africa. He has a PhD from the University of London for a thesis examining land, environment and development policies in colonial Lesotho.

Postby Ted_v2 » July 23rd, 2013, 10:55 pm

badandy wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:It is a burden on the Government in that it is a loss of valuable revenue. People in T&T are wasteful. There is hardly any car pooling done. People do not chain their trips. Time for people to see what is the real cost of car ownership.

At the same time, the Government needs to provide/support a reliable form of mass transit as an alternative. They also need to clamp down on the maxi taxi mafia with how some of the owners/drivers "rob" passengers with this short drop foolishness.

i have to agree with you...
let the government give us the incentive before the implementation of higher prices

Wut they said.

Postby teems1 » July 23rd, 2013, 10:55 pm

if the government has a proper tendering process for their contracts, they'd save more than 4b in wastage, and could more than afford the gas subsidy

if they remove the subsidy, especially on diesel, then everything is going to rise.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 23rd, 2013, 10:59 pm

:?: :!:
Subs.png

Postby pete » July 23rd, 2013, 11:00 pm

And if they take away the subsidy on super And leave diesel then more people are just going to switch to diesel.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 23rd, 2013, 11:02 pm

ingalook wrote:

ANSWER THIS

Then :pokes: since you have nothing useful to add here you are excused, you may exit the thread at your nearest convenience

Go lime with your friend A172 in the corner there
all I asked in this thread is to let us know your views instead of just asking the question. I'm not sure how you comprehended that to mean that I was offering an answer.

Postby X2 » July 23rd, 2013, 11:04 pm

^^ But the price of premium is higher than 4.73/L... at 5.75/L... what am I missing here ?

Postby hydroep » July 23rd, 2013, 11:12 pm

Perhaps they were hoping to use the revenue in excess of the subsidy on Premium to offset their expenditure on the subsidy of the other fuels.

It would have been a sort of indirect taxation on "rich people" since the predominant thought at the time was that "rich people" drove the majority of vehicles which require premium.

At least that's what I got from the rhetoric that was being bandied about at the time of the price increase.
Last edited by hydroep on July 23rd, 2013, 11:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

src1983

Postby src1983 » July 23rd, 2013, 11:14 pm

ingalook wrote::?: :!:

Oil was $86 dollars plus a barrel and averaged around $90 in 2012.....

Oil is currently $107.23.....

Postby Redman » July 23rd, 2013, 11:14 pm

I would minimize subsidized fuel leaving the island illegally
I'm not talking fishermen and trawlers, I'm talking tankers from PaP and Sea lots.

That should give us a base figure as to what we need for local consumption.it might be smaller than we think.

Exponentially expand the water taxi, PTSC etc.

I believe that the subsidies should stay. It's an equitable way of giving a direct benefit to the population from the oil/gas sector.

That said we need to be harsh to those that seek to exploit the subsidy by reselling the fuel for profit.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 23rd, 2013, 11:21 pm

Redman wrote:I would minimize subsidized fuel leaving the island illegally
I'm not talking fishermen and trawlers, I'm talking tankers from PaP and Sea lots.

That should give us a base figure as to what we need for local consumption.it might be smaller than we think.

Exponentially expand the water taxi, PTSC etc.

I believe that the subsidies should stay. It's an equitable way of giving a direct benefit to the population from the oil/gas sector.

That said we need to be harsh to those that seek to exploit the subsidy by reselling the fuel for profit.

HOLY CRAP... I think that sounded like a sensible, unbiased answer :shock:

Just as I was losing faith in Tuner

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 23rd, 2013, 11:24 pm

src1983 wrote:
ingalook wrote::?: :!:

Oil was $86 dollars plus a barrel and averaged around $90 in 2012.....

Oil is currently $107.23.....

Mr. Howai, explain to us how the government pays for the subsidy when there is a big drop in the price of Oil, like down to $40 USD?

Cause ah mean the economy would be in the toilet at that point and Gov revenue would be minuscule