Tuner Cooking Thread.

original_lollybob

Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby original_lollybob » December 3rd, 2012, 1:17 pm

i do that recipe basically with beef all the time...

is ground pork readily available?

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 3rd, 2012, 1:32 pm

got it in JTA, so I assume so.

Postby M_2NR » December 3rd, 2012, 1:46 pm

So this cook book from naparima girls... it any good? I have a padna who studying away and he swears by it.

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » December 3rd, 2012, 1:48 pm

this is lovely !!

/http://www.tastumgoodum.com/#!/2012/09/sweet-potato-shepherds-pie.html

i don't eat potatoes coz i can't its too high in carbs , but this is awesome ! coz i love sweetpotatoes

Postby meccalli » December 3rd, 2012, 2:19 pm

Made some fish n whole de veined and peeled shrimp the other day.

Panko! by meccalli, on Flickr

Terran

Postby Terran » December 3rd, 2012, 6:29 pm

Why did you leave on the head of the shrimp?

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » December 3rd, 2012, 6:49 pm

Real Iron Chef on tuner here we.....

Postby meccalli » December 3rd, 2012, 6:50 pm

You've never had fried shrimp heads? I think i enjoy it more than the actual shrimp after trying it @ japanese buffet in nj. You should try it..its like...shrimp popcorn lol.

Terran

Postby Terran » December 3rd, 2012, 7:32 pm

Umm, nah. Thanks.

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » December 3rd, 2012, 8:22 pm

shogun wrote:always wanted to try my hand at these...

http://trinigourmet.com/index.php/trinidad-pow-recipe/

Yuh ever try the pow????

Postby brams112 » December 3rd, 2012, 8:26 pm

meccalli wrote:You've never had fried shrimp heads? I think i enjoy it more than the actual shrimp after trying it @ japanese buffet in nj. You should try it..its like...shrimp popcorn lol.

Where do you think shrimp sheit does be?

Oleander

Postby Oleander » December 3rd, 2012, 8:28 pm

M_2NR wrote:So this cook book from naparima girls... it any good? I have a padna who studying away and he swears by it.

This is a great cookbook to use as a starter.
I've tried a couple of the recipes and they've all turned out great.
So I use the book as a base when I'm trying new stuff and I add my own flare to it.

Postby brams112 » December 3rd, 2012, 8:31 pm

M_2NR wrote:So this cook book from naparima girls... it any good? I have a padna who studying away and he swears by it.

Yeah there are lots of good meals in there pal :)

Postby meccalli » December 3rd, 2012, 8:45 pm

brams112 wrote:
meccalli wrote:You've never had fried shrimp heads? I think i enjoy it more than the actual shrimp after trying it @ japanese buffet in nj. You should try it..its like...shrimp popcorn lol.

Where do you think shrimp sheit does be?

You don't seem to know, so i'll enlighten you. The equivalent of the lower intestine, (the entire digestive tract for that matter) of a shrimp runs along its back and is known as the vein. Its pretty much filled with digested planton/ algae/ sand particles. The act of removing this is known as deveining. I only devein larger shrimp, its really nothing with smaller ones- considering the fact most people who make statements about weird foods, eat things like sushi or even un brined green vegetation(crestle, lettuce)which can contain trematodes/flukes metacercarial cysts that develop in the human as a host which completes its lifespan in you and using your body as an egg dispenser from your feces. But i still eat sushi from time to time, just not a big fan. :)

Postby M_2NR » December 3rd, 2012, 8:57 pm

Oleander wrote:This is a great cookbook to use as a starter.
I've tried a couple of the recipes and they've all turned out great.
So I use the book as a base when I'm trying new stuff and I add my own flare to it.

brams112 wrote:Yeah there are lots of good meals in there pal :)

Thanks a lot guys. Gonna grab one from RIK soon!

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » December 3rd, 2012, 9:11 pm

naparima cookbook is great for pple who want to cook but have no idea how to .

as for the shrimp worst experience i had was in louisiana where they sold cajun shrimp ... seems that they just threw it in a big pot wit seasoning and salt and a bit of cayenne pepper and boiled it.. thing looked weird with the vein filled with stuff in it.. sorry wont eat shrimp liek that

but a good pepper shrimp does cut .

Postby Trini Hookah » December 3rd, 2012, 9:19 pm

It's worth the price M, and a good starter as Oleander said.

Kudos on the blog VD, and nice pics as well!

Postby X_Factor » December 3rd, 2012, 9:25 pm

i think most ppl over cook shrimp to start with

anyone of u have a cast iron skillet?
looking to get one but cant seem to find it anywhere locally

Postby pugboy » December 3rd, 2012, 9:39 pm

excellent stores have

Postby M_2NR » December 3rd, 2012, 10:11 pm

ohhguuuddd look what i find!
http://naparimacookbook.com/

still gonna get it though.

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » December 3rd, 2012, 10:15 pm

M_2NR wrote:ohhguuuddd look what i find!
http://naparimacookbook.com/

still gonna get it though.

Wey nobody gonna starve here again. I'm gonna try some of these fuh sure.

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » December 4th, 2012, 10:44 am

Nap's cook books saving marriages a long time now .. lol

X_Factor wrote:i think most ppl over cook shrimp to start with

I totally agree ... tht shrimp tyre rubber scene doh work na .. :|
once it turn pink it done take it off the heat etc etc ..

Little store in curepe have skillets all size all price ..

TRDGUY

Postby TRDGUY » December 4th, 2012, 10:59 am

First time i ate Biryani (chicken/lamb) from Apsara i had to try it at home , its a bit time consuming but i had to try a unique dish like this. I did compliment myself for doing such a great job ...... haha..

my wife shared it with her colleagues and they could not believe i cooked /bake that. It was damn good.

IMHO adding your own twist here and there is the key to cooking and enjoying it after.

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » December 4th, 2012, 7:04 pm

I taste that already it tasted good. Cleaned seasoned and fried.

Postby SR » December 4th, 2012, 7:12 pm

X_Factor wrote:i think most ppl over cook shrimp to start with

i gots 2

trick in it is it needs to be "seasoned" properly
i think peakes has as well

Postby pugboy » December 4th, 2012, 7:18 pm

I agree fried shrimp heads are the bomb

I always make gumbo with the shrimp head stock,
beats any fish broth.

c@ri$$@

Postby c@ri$$@ » December 4th, 2012, 7:21 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:I've had it stateside.
Never tried to cook it (too much butter on this diet)
Check my shiz out - shameless plug: tastumgoodum.com

Nothing could beat a man who could cook.

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » December 4th, 2012, 7:27 pm

pugboy wrote:I agree fried shrimp heads are the bomb

beats any fish broth.

Leh we hear dat gumbo recipe na....

Postby meccalli » December 4th, 2012, 7:30 pm

I'm not sure about seasoning a cast iron skillet, that's usually done to woks in order to make a pseudo non stick coating with oil at high temps. The cast iron skillet- you want your food to stick(well i do) and get browned/caramelized, so you can deglaze and make pan reductions :)
and yeah lets have that recipe!

Postby pugboy » December 4th, 2012, 7:58 pm

Gumbo is basically a soup starting with a roux which
is flour cooked on low heat until it is browned but not burnt.
Google roux for more info.

After which garlic, onions, green peppers,celery are added chopped and then the shrimp head stock as well as any other seasoning.
Cooked until they soften up.

You can then add whatever you want, eg fish, shrimp, crab, chicken, sausages, carbs etc.

playerskrew wrote:
pugboy wrote:I agree fried shrimp heads are the bomb

beats any fish broth.

Leh we hear dat gumbo recipe na....