gastly369 wrote:
i doh need to hear no man bawlin "ohhgouddouii" in HQ .. diz doing de job![]()
*really wants the Tritton Primer wireless*
gastly369 wrote:for gaming i prefer my mic audio separate from gaming audio. exp in headphones style.. i can make out what they saying much better and communication (team work games) easier
downside.. if you forget to charge and you in middle of a game .. well you get de idea :\
casper wrote:TK! wrote:i have a seinheiser. not the real expensive one. cost US100.
which model exactly TK???
pyromaniax wrote:that sht looks sexy!
iM@st@1 wrote:G930 works great for me, extremely comfortable, jus paired with a Sound Blaster recon 3d sound card, positional audio is on point & most imp is wireless. Battery life is also pretty good, about a 10hrs or so per charge. But is PC only, I switched from console anyw.
Haven't used the mic yet tbh so can't comment on the chat functionality.
rodfarva wrote: you cant improve on perfect.
todd61 wrote:iM@st@1 wrote:G930 works great for me, extremely comfortable, jus paired with a Sound Blaster recon 3d sound card, positional audio is on point & most imp is wireless. Battery life is also pretty good, about a 10hrs or so per charge. But is PC only, I switched from console anyw.
Haven't used the mic yet tbh so can't comment on the chat functionality.
The G930 is a USB headset,a soundcard will not do anything.
rodfarva wrote:I have the Triton Ax Pros
you definately get the surround feeling. After all it has all the drivers necessary for 5.1
I used them because I couldnt raise the volume on my tv very much. Stopped using them when I was able to play my games at a reasonable volume.
They didnt make me play better...because ...well lets be serious.... you cant improve on perfect.
casper wrote:ASTRO A40 AUDIO SYSTEM
to make a long story short...the packaging on these headsets are very similar to what you'd see from an apple product...
on sliding the outer paper layer off you're greeted with a hard paper foldable box that has magnets on the lids in order to keep them closed...the packaging for this is pretty amazing by itself...
when you unfold the box there is a hard plastic housing to keep the headset and all it's contents secure
Headset's mic, wiring and extra batteries are exposed when you move on to unfolding the next side of the box
CUSTOMIZATION
These are the only gaming headsets, that i know of, has replaceable ear cup covers (astro calls them speaker tags) where you can go on their site http://www.astrogaming.com and customize / create your very own tag and get them shipped to you for an additional cost of $25 US...i personally dont care to customize my tags but i can see teams that participates in gaming tournaments wanting to do so though...probably put their team logo or their XBL gamertag or PSN ID on their ear cups for a unique look...
the speaker tags are held in place to the headset's ear cups by the use of 4 very tiny neo magnets at each corner of the square speaker tags....when they lign up correctly they simply snap on tightly and wont come off unless you want them to...the magnets are so strong you have to apply some effort to pull them off so they are quite secure...which is good!!!
one speaker tag has a hole in it to insert the detachable mic the A40s come with and the next tag comes solid for the other side that obviously wont have a mic...both ear cups on the headset itself though comes with inserts for the mic allowing you to use your mic on the left or the right earcup to your liking...
to add a bit more to the customization aspect...This headset's connections, unlike the Trittons, is a standard 3.5mm headphones jack whereas the AX720 from Tritton uses their own type of jack resembling that of an S-Video which makes the uses of these A40s almost unlimited due to the fact that almost every portable media device comes readily equipped to host 3.5mm headphone jacks.to add a bit more to the customization aspect...
BUILD QUALITY and APPEARANCE
I love how these headsets look...they are aesthetically pleasing to the eye...At the top has a the astro logo uplifted in what seems to be some kind of cloth material. there is alose an MLG logo on the left side of the band and on the other side is a simple astro logo...the black band at the top countors to you head's shape and thea material the headband itself is made of is an extremely flexable hard plastic. it can flex and bend without snapping.
These headsets are pretty tough as the materials used are very flexable and very unlikely to break...This company is definately one that pays close attention to detail and you'd see that as soon as you pick one of these up and hold it in your hand...at first i must admit they felt a bit flimsy only till i realised that the headband was designed to have lots of flex for durability purposes...so i absolutly didnt mind...
FORM FACTOR
just like the Tritton AX720s....the astro A40s can flip the cups to the side so that you can rest the headset around your neck more comfortably while taking breaks...the "over ear" material is very soft and seems to be a type of memory foam as it takes the form of your ears and not just push against them...
perfect for people that wear glasses and have the fear of their headset becoming uncomfortable after long hours of use...the ear cups adjuster is made of aluminum and is painted in black...raising the level of the cups up or down is easily done by a simple slide. The ear cups are also oval shaped and positioned the same way your ears are...so they are extremely comfortable on your head and ears
SOUND QUALITY
The A40 headsets themselves are nothing extraordinary BUT with the astro mixamp they really show you what their made of...everything comes to life as you power these from your mixamp and audio reproduction is very full and mostly tonally accurate...it lacks solid, heavy, mind shaking bass but to be fair, these werent design to be audiophile headsets...they were designed to be ultimate gaming headsets and thats what they are.
CONCLUSION
they put a deep deep hole in your pocket but aside from that, what you get is durability, crystal clear chat, excellent game audio and supper efficient customer service as you get full 1 year warranty with astro a40 headsets which you can also extend an additional year for the price of $28 US i believe
in the unfortunate event that u happen to break these headsets you can order the parts you need from astro gaming and fix them yourself as almost everything in this headset is unscrew and replace...the headband, earcups with the speakers, mic, speakertags...heck even the wiring...it's very re-assuring to know that these are made in such a way you can just order the parts and replace them for yourself...i like that alot
actually audiophile headsets are tonally very flat and completely lack alot of bass.casper wrote:it lacks solid, heavy, mind shaking bass but to be fair, these werent design to be audiophile headsets...they were designed to be ultimate gaming headsets and thats what they are.