Reputable Project Managers?

Re: Reputable Project Managers?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 22nd, 2011, 4:59 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:In no way should I be bound to one contractor, especially if that contractor is not getting the job done the way we discussed.

AP, that is why you need to have a proper set of Tender Documents prepared by someone who knows what he/she is doing before you even start construction. Some important parts of the Tender Documents are:

1) Conditions of Contract (FIDIC Short Form of Contract is highly suggested)
2) Bill of Quantities (prepared in accordance with SMM7 - Standard Method of Measurement for Building Works or an approved equivalent)
3) Drawings (stamped by a registered Architect and Engineer and which have been approved by the relevant statutory agencies)
4) Specifications (defines scope for each work item, material requirements and workmanship requirements)

The Conditions of Contract are what will protect you from poor performance by the Contractor. You can define the Time for Completion of the Works, delay damages to be imposed on the Contractor if he does not finish within the Time for Completion, the warranty (Defects Notification Period) that you want on the work performed, and the like.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » November 22nd, 2011, 5:00 pm

rfari wrote:OP, you contradicting yourself unno. variation 'fees' part of final discussed fee?????? wha??? you talking about a provisional sum or contingency? what really going on???

Estimate cost of project + Estimate cost of variations =
Final non-negotiable fees associated with completion of project.

This is separate from PM fees.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » November 22nd, 2011, 5:03 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:In no way should I be bound to one contractor, especially if that contractor is not getting the job done the way we discussed.

AP, that is why you need to have a proper set of Tender Documents prepared by someone who knows what he/she is doing before you even start construction. Some important parts of the Tender Documents are:

2) Bill of Quantities (prepared in accordance with SMM7 - Standard Method of Measurement for Building Works or an approved equivalent)
3) Drawings (stamped by a registered Architect and Engineer and which have been approved by the relevant statutory agencies)
4) Specifications (defines scope for each work item, material requirements and workmanship requirements)

The Conditions of Contract are what will protect you from poor performance by the Contractor. You can define the Time for Completion of the Works, delay damages to be imposed on the Contractor if he does not finish within the Time for Completion, the warranty (Defects Notification Period) that you want on the work performed, and the like.

Isn't this something the PM can do on my behalf?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 22nd, 2011, 5:06 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:

Isn't this something the PM can do on my behalf?

Please indicate what do you have at present with respect to your proposed residence and what do you want to achieve at the end of the day. Once I know that, I can advise you accordingly.

Postby Sky » November 22nd, 2011, 10:13 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
rfari wrote:OP, you contradicting yourself unno. variation 'fees' part of final discussed fee?????? wha??? you talking about a provisional sum or contingency? what really going on???

Estimate cost of project + Estimate cost of variations =
Final non-negotiable fees associated with completion of project.

This is separate from PM fees.

Then the variations will become part of the estimated cost of project.
What you're speaking about is truly unforeseen circumstances.
Like someone stealing 10 bags of cement on the site in the night while everyone's gone.
What you need is a "do no exceed so and so" clause included.
And if something happens like the situation above, work can be stopped to see if it can be completed. If not, contractor goes home and you try to find another solution.
This way, they're dissuaded to pull those kinda stunts and try to suck $$ off you.

Postby rfari » November 23rd, 2011, 8:20 am

while you at it OP, best you prepare an rfp.

Postby X2 » November 23rd, 2011, 9:10 am

OP... if you want to be an absent owner during construction in Trinidad... you better be a wealthy owner...otherwise go hire your mexicans or chinese or whoever you think is superior and see if it gets you any further.

You still haven't said how complex this project is, so a PM or contractor will only be talking out thier pie hole till then. FIDIC, tenders, contracts, yadda... it all comes down to what YOU know and how hands on your PM is. many PMs in Trinidad are scholastic heros with little real management experience and lots of certificates and paperwork. There will be variations... which can come from material theft, inclement weather, errors from engineers, unforseen problems after estimates. Keep thinking you can go in and bark at contractors and refuse to pay for variations and you will see just how fast a contractor will walk off on the project with all thier staff... PM in place or not.

I have worked on many projects in Trinidad with some of the 'best ' Pm's in TnT, USA and Europe from top construction and architectural firms from around the world and I will tell you that even the best make mistakes and can't avoid variations sometimes...even on small projects like homes. I do not know Rhatid's work, but the BEST bet is an experienced contractor with PM certs, which is what he seems to be. The only real way to avoid major variations is to have a great, trustworthy contractor and a good PM to help run the show. Unfortunately, Trini contractors typically make a living from variations..they almost expect and rely on having vars in every contract.... it's like bribery in India.

Execting a PM to hire the contractor and control all costs is a bit over enthusiastic tho... I wish you luck in your project, but as you mentioned, you will be away... and that managing a project from abroad will roughly equate to what I say about cars.... Fast, Cheap, Reliable... you get to pick two.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » November 23rd, 2011, 9:16 am

^^very well said actually.

Postby rfari » November 23rd, 2011, 10:17 am

X2, Shut ur whoring mouth! AP wants to rain money on us lowly 2-bit trinis. By all means let her.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » November 23rd, 2011, 11:03 am

X2 wrote:You still haven't said how complex this project is, so a PM or contractor will only be talking out thier pie hole till then.

Who are you to suggest I haven't spoken on the complexity of this project to potential PM hires OFFLINE or via PM?

X2 wrote:Keep thinking you can go in and bark at contractors and refuse to pay for variations and you will see just how fast a contractor will walk off on the project with all thier staff... PM in place or not.

Like you haven't read a thing spoken in this thread, have you? I never indicated I had a problem paying for variations.

X2 wrote:I have worked on many projects in Trinidad with some of the 'best ' Pm's in TnT, USA and Europe from top construction and architectural firms from around the world and I will tell you that even the best make mistakes and can't avoid variations sometimes...even on small projects like homes. I do not know Rhatid's work, but the BEST bet is an experienced contractor with PM certs, which is what he seems to be. The only real way to avoid major variations is to have a great, trustworthy contractor and a good PM to help run the show. Unfortunately, Trini contractors typically make a living from variations..they almost expect and rely on having vars in every contract.... it's like bribery in India.

Execting a PM to hire the contractor and control all costs is a bit over enthusiastic tho... I wish you luck in your project, but as you mentioned, you will be away... and that managing a project from abroad will roughly equate to what I say about cars.... Fast, Cheap, Reliable... you get to pick two.

Thank you for your highly opinionated advice. It's a shame clients have to micromanage from start to finish.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » November 23rd, 2011, 11:32 am

O fcuk..Another Inevitable & typical AP thread.

Careful Rhatid,
One thing not mentioned here at all is the fact that clueless clients that are hell bent on misery such as this one,as is evident in this case and based on my recollection of previous befuddling threads, are quite present among us in society and do not deserve the time of day or one's energy.
If you all noticed i was very mum in the thread for this particular reason.

I
B
T
L

I have had my fair share of these types of clients, and my usual rule of thumb now is " when in doubt...". You all know the rest.

Postby rfari » November 23rd, 2011, 11:59 am

AP is being unrealistic. Think she just wants us to know that she has the US dollar flowing out the ying-yang and want everyone to knw that she's gonna 'puh-dong' a spread. Her concerns may be valid tho but for her approach and attitude to the job is very poor.

zahc

Postby zahc » November 23rd, 2011, 12:31 pm

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » November 23rd, 2011, 12:47 pm

AP ,
A couple questions regarding your plans.
Can you state the approximate square footage of the project?
Can you also state the proposed date for completion?
Thanks in advance.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » November 23rd, 2011, 1:21 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:AP ,
A couple questions regarding your plans.
Can you state the approximate square footage of the project?
Can you also state the proposed date for completion?
Thanks in advance.

Land Area: ~23,000 sq. ft

Floor Area: ~7,000 sq. ft (but this will be extended - its a renovation project)

Proposed date: 6 months - 1 year from start date, preferably at the start to the dry season next year.

Postby SR » November 23rd, 2011, 4:24 pm

for someone who claims to be educated you are using an old talk forum to do your reserach to hire someone.................

together with the freshwater yankee attitude

suggest you find your ass down to trinidad and conduct interviews yourself

Postby RBphoto » November 23rd, 2011, 4:36 pm

If she has a reputable builder and a PM who is looking ater her best interest, there is no need for her to be present. What she needs is propper plans, cost estimates and a registered contractor with assets, then things should go nice. Also, she has to get her head around the fact that variances do occur during a project, and if you try to squeeze a contractor, they will make up in another area. Sometimes more money have to run.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » November 23rd, 2011, 4:38 pm

SR wrote:for someone who claims to be educated you are using an old talk forum to do your reserach to hire someone.................

together with the freshwater yankee attitude

suggest you find your ass down to trinidad and conduct interviews yourself

What better a place to begin my research than on a forum where there are civil engineers, surveyors, project managers and contractors alike? It sure beats having to physically be in the country to obtain recommendations. Besides which, 3NE2UNER is one of a few venues I've decided to utilize.

As for my "ass", it shall be in Trinidad next month, upon which such interviews shall be arranged.

But I thank you in advance for your suggestion, or rather, your presumptuousness.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » November 23rd, 2011, 4:42 pm

crossdrilled wrote:If she has a reputable builder and a PM who is looking ater her best interest, there is no need for her to be present. What she needs is propper plans, cost estimates and a registered contractor with assets, then things should go nice. Also, she has to get her head around the fact that variances do occur during a project, and if you try to squeeze a contractor, they will make up in another area. Sometimes more money have to run.

Of which I am aware. Thanks to 3NE2UNER, I have quite a few leads and will be contacting some folks soon.

A big thanks to all those who have offered their advice and contacts.

Postby SR » November 23rd, 2011, 4:44 pm

one piece of advice
dont rely on family or a friend

will never work out

Postby rfari » November 23rd, 2011, 5:02 pm

is put in place AP put yuh in place dey SR?

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 24th, 2011, 2:27 pm

X2 wrote:OP... if you want to be an absent owner during construction in Trinidad... you better be a wealthy owner...otherwise go hire your mexicans or chinese or whoever you think is superior and see if it gets you any further.

You still haven't said how complex this project is, so a PM or contractor will only be talking out thier pie hole till then. FIDIC, tenders, contracts, yadda... it all comes down to what YOU know and how hands on your PM is. many PMs in Trinidad are scholastic heros with little real management experience and lots of certificates and paperwork. Mostly theory experience!! There will be variations... which can come from material theft, inclement weather, errors from engineers, unforseen problems after estimates. Keep thinking you can go in and bark at contractors and refuse to pay for variations and you will see just how fast a contractor will walk off on the project with all thier staff... PM in place or not. You wont be able to control that aspect, variations will always occur.

I have worked on many projects in Trinidad with some of the 'best ' Pm's in TnT, USA and Europe from top construction and architectural firms from around the world and I will tell you that even the best make mistakes and can't avoid variations sometimes...even on small projects like homes. I do not know Rhatid's work, but the BEST bet is an experienced contractor with PM certs, which is what he seems to be. The only real way to avoid major variations is to have a great, trustworthy contractor and a good PM to help run the show. Unfortunately, Trini contractors typically make a living from variations..they almost expect and rely on having vars in every contract.... it's like bribery in India.

You sir,,knows this industry very well, and what you said, was very true. I cant say anything here again, as you summed it all up.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » November 24th, 2011, 2:38 pm

For a $3m+/- project, and with this particular client, i'd really like to see the outcome of this.

Good luck to all involved.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 24th, 2011, 2:50 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:For a $3m+/- project, and with this particular client, i'd really like to see the outcome of this.

Good luck to all involved.

Didnt she say it was a residential renovation project? $3m? I thinking more in the $.5 - $1m range.

Postby RBphoto » November 24th, 2011, 2:59 pm

In addition to project management, if you want to do this from a remote site, you need a quality plan and inspection. The contractor has to commit to delivering to standard specifictions (your drawing plans etc) and you need someone to be checking the quality of the work delivered. So in addition to having a project manager, you need someone to do quality survelience/ inspection.

Postby X2 » November 24th, 2011, 2:59 pm

rfari wrote:X2, Shut ur whoring mouth! AP wants to rain money on us lowly 2-bit trinis. By all means let her.

My bad dawg.

But then again... a bit wotless of me to think that AP would actually take advice from we chupid Trinis on how to run a project... in Trinidad. lol

AP... if you wanted to troll 2nr... next time just say so in your thread title. Only reason I not sorry I posted is to see that there are some people on here that actually care

again... good luck

Postby rfari » November 24th, 2011, 2:59 pm

this has riveting tale potential without a doubt

King2995

Postby King2995 » November 26th, 2011, 11:05 pm

OP, essentially your intent for a 'project manager' for your endeavour is possible, but I think you need to do some more background research on your strategy before it all comes to naught.
It absolutely needs to be crystal clear in your mind how all this is gonna work.....at the end of the day, whoever you HIRE in whatever position you wanna call it to give you that fuzzy feeling, shall ultimately see this as a business transaction as frankly that's what it is. No entity would enter into a contract that has a high risk of significant profitability degradation.
More so, all transactions/ contracts must have the intent of outcome that is mutually beneficial to all....contracts that are too stringent can easily be overridden.... if you think I blowing smoke up your a$$ just ask the Industrial Court.

Comments presented thus far by posters here all have merit, so I'm not gonna reiterate any of it. It is all needed in ensuring a successful outcome. Which brings me to my first point....YOU, the client/ sponsor needs to define what 'success' is. Is it ensuring that your 'one figure' is held no matter what? Or is it that the scope is delivered to the quality you expect? Is it time? Sure, we want all this and PMI insists on it all and then some, but that's utopia, we don't live in the matrix (wait...do we??). Fact is $h!t happens. You must be prepared to agree to which is priority.

Next, that estimate of work + 'estimate of variations' thing you speak of to give you your final figure....standard business practice for clients, except don't ever refer to it as that again. If you still want to call it that, is primary school again for you (or elementary, or junior high or whatever you call it up in fancyland where you live...don't know, don't care).
What you calling 'estimate of variations' is the PROJECT Contingency, for known unknowns and is owned by the client and accessed by the PM as necessary. Discussions around this figure has to be with your management structure only, not with your execution contractor. He may be able to suggest unknowns, but that's it. Then again, your 'project manager' should be at least competent to do this himself, if not you're in trouble already. This whole PMI 'one project team'....utopia again (dem b!tches crazy). The execution contractor knowing the contingency is like handing it to him at the start of the work (purpose defeated, ent?).
So your 'one figure' intent, though good still requires you to manage your business (after all, you should be at least interested that your money is spent effectively). Please don't say here that's why you hiring a PM, cuz it may actually be kindergarden for you then. Key word...'hiring'!!!
Keep in mind that even with project contingency, you as client need to keep a further management reserve for crazy sh!t that can happen (dunno if your fancy news network up there letting you know that T&T flooding through its eyeballs).
Essentially, Contractor must know his 'current contract value', PM must know contractor's current contract value and the remaining available project contingency, Client must know all this plus her (I see somebody in here say you'z ah she) own accepted management reserve. And most of all, YOU need to throttle the disbursement of funds by controlling the draw down of contingency, don't let this be controlled by the PM. Further, don't let him know about your reserve (can't stress this enough).
A lot of people think that building contractors knowing contingency is as bad as it gets....try project managers knowing management reserves!!!!

So with all this said, I'm sure I haven't enlightened you or anyone else here about anything you don't already know. That's okay, consider it me spamming your thread then.....didn't really have much else going on tonight...spice xcess giving trouble.

OP, its your thread, so you can absolutely quote and quote again, and beat me up and slap me up with all the 'what make you think...' and stuff. Just letting you know that I MAY skim through any response you may have if I have time, but likely not gonna read it thoroughly or anything of the sort. So its up to you if you want to use your time and say things intended to make me cry. Then again, you should. It always have people looking for a laugh.

Postby rfari » December 14th, 2011, 5:52 pm

bump for updates

Postby Gladiator » December 14th, 2011, 10:06 pm

Very Good Project Management Company...

Acuitas Caribbean Limited
32 Cascade Main Road, Cascade, Trinidad. W.I