boy drowns at toco

4kin4kar

Re: boy drowns at toco

Postby 4kin4kar » June 19th, 2011, 9:55 pm

uncle sam wrote:yip

Nice... Just checking because I know you could be charged if you are not and you attempt to save someone and they die.

legoRB

Postby legoRB » June 19th, 2011, 11:16 pm

Sky wrote:There were cases where drowning people kill their saviors and they themselves survived.
If a stranger is drowning, sorry, I can't swim for the day.
If it's a friend or family, I'm goin after you. But you're not gonna get off that easy. when I reach you I'll use my left hand to grab whatever hand you're reaching out to me, then you gonna get the HARDEST RIGHT HAND TO FACE I EVER DEALT OUT. Then I'll deal with the crap i'm in with a limp body. Nobody drowning me, sorry.

RIP to the fallen.

Yep....

lostallos101

Postby lostallos101 » June 19th, 2011, 11:16 pm

Sky wrote:There were cases where drowning people kill their saviors and they themselves survived.
If a stranger is drowning, sorry, I can't swim for the day.
If it's a friend or family, I'm goin after you. But you're not gonna get off that easy. when I reach you I'll use my left hand to grab whatever hand you're reaching out to me, then you gonna get the HARDEST RIGHT HAND TO FACE I EVER DEALT OUT. Then I'll deal with the crap i'm in with a limp body. Nobody drowning me, sorry.

RIP to the fallen.

^^^^^i totally agree

no lie there pioneer....i with you on everything you said...sad but thats the reality

turbohead

Postby turbohead » June 19th, 2011, 11:18 pm

Seeker wrote:
pioneer wrote:I have personally witnessed people verbally abuse and physically threaten lifeguards. People always quick to blame them for everything but they do a very good job in my opinion. Is ignorant, backward and lawless trinis feel the world is theirs to do what they want.

Start listening to the lifeguards people, they know their job.

Well said. I doh bathe when there is no lifeguard on duty. I will dig hole and make sand sex whole day.

fixed..... :lol: :lol:

sry eh ah just had to do eet

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » June 19th, 2011, 11:26 pm

Sierra-117 wrote:everyone b1tching over the person that drowned but no one seems to understand that its a life that ended, @ 17 none the less. Condolences to the family and may the soul of the faithful departed through the mercy of God RIP, amen.

Well said Sierra-117, eternal rest grant unto him o Lord!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 19th, 2011, 11:29 pm

I stop bathing in sea long days now.....too much sand, battling waves, threat of being stung by jellyfish, and then nobody helping me clean car afterwards.....

RIP to the guy though......

Postby Kenjo » June 19th, 2011, 11:34 pm

4kin4kar wrote:
uncle sam wrote:yip

Nice... Just checking because I know you could be charged if you are not and you attempt to save someone and they die.

pioneer wrote:Even if i knew CPR i wasn't trying to save anyone

Why?...cuz if the person dies the relatives gonna hold u responsible.

Even some doctors move that way in public, unless you're in the medical facility they won't help you.

technically once the doctor has private insurance or works with the RHAs there is the good samaritan act that is supposed to protect you.if you mess up real bad well that is another story.Hence in cases of severe trauma you should not really immobilise the persons neck

Postby pete » June 20th, 2011, 7:40 am

^^ Also you only do CPR on someone who is technically already dead. So they can't say you killed them anyway.

Additionally, someone going to rescue someone in the water should always go with something for the person to hold on to, like a cooler cover, a t-shirt, a piece of rope, whatever they can so the person does not hold on to them directly and then use that to pull the person to shore. This will help to make sure that it doesn't end up being two people who drown.

Postby Razkal » June 20th, 2011, 8:02 am

^ditto...i do alot of fishing and surfing etc, every time i go on one of those type outings, i have a length of rope attached to either a body board or blue waters keg..just incase the shitty becomes reality.

also i'm sorry, but i ain't going fishing with anybody who can't swim or enjoys being hammered on the water...tough.

jeromey

Postby jeromey » June 20th, 2011, 9:02 am

d thing is a fella threw a rope for d guy ,but only problem was he thew thew the both ends for him,all that time everybody thought they were joking until he went down for the last time

Postby Kenjo » June 20th, 2011, 9:05 am

jeromey wrote:d thing is a fella threw a rope for d guy ,but only problem was he thew thew the both ends for him,all that time everybody thought they were joking until he went down for the last time

oh y u serious please retract that statement and say that the other end slipped out of the guys hand.....say it aint so

Fini

Postby Fini » June 20th, 2011, 9:20 am

While it is sad that someone lost their life, People SHOULD know where there currents are in that beach. Right at the corner btween the staight beachfront and the curved bay( where the new reef is growing) got wicked wicked currents. Its been like that probably since the reef formed, No one should even enter the water there. HEck even on google earth you can see the current.

But then again you could put up all the signs, post lifeguards ( that will be a moot point for after hours though), and people will still bathe there. IF the beach full, got chupid ass people who feel they could go anywhere, fake drowning is a ridiculously dangerous game to play............ So what to do?

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » June 20th, 2011, 10:36 am

i saw a little girl "beating up" in caura river once.... i honestly thought she was just trying to swim... i didnt know she was drowning until someone dive in and pushed her in the shallow.

"a drowning man will grasp at a straw" soo you havta be careful.
but i don't think i know someone is drowning and not at least try to help.

Condolences to the family...

Seeker

Postby Seeker » June 20th, 2011, 10:41 am

I doh play that nah?! I always watch the sea before going in. :|

If it too rough, too much waves, too much debris on the shore and surf, I will find a nice place to sit and try to a hole to China or gape all whole day. :)

jeromey

Postby jeromey » June 20th, 2011, 7:22 pm

Kenjo wrote:
jeromey wrote:d thing is a fella threw a rope for d guy ,but only problem was he thew thew the both ends for him,all that time everybody thought they were joking until he went down for the last time

oh y u serious please retract that statement and say that the other end slipped out of the guys hand.....say it aint so

it aint so,well i dont know,but what i know is i saw the guy holding up both ends of the rope and the other guy swimming away only them will know what happened out there,sorry may his soul rest in peace

Postby Bizzare » June 20th, 2011, 7:37 pm

When we go to the beach, I always make sure to carry a looooonggg rope and tie it on a Keg handle; a homemade lifeguard buoy, and have it there on the shore. My friends always teasingly laugh saying "who you gonna save today hoss" but trust me, in a situation like this, it'll sure be the best thing you ever had. I've heard to many stories of people drowning on beach limes, and a couple of friends were lost this way too.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 21st, 2011, 12:05 am

good habit there Bizzare!!!! worthy of emulation!

Postby Bizzare » June 21st, 2011, 12:51 am

I copied that from my uncle who works somewhere in Chaguaramus and spend most of his time at sea or constructing sea vessels. And he learnt that in one of his precautionary classes. On two occasions I saw a group of people on Toco with their own home-made buoy on the shore also. So I guess its a common practice, cuz where in Trinidad can you really get the real thing to buy?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 21st, 2011, 2:10 am

^^^true but nothing is wrong with that oil keg improv......I must remember this!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 21st, 2011, 11:43 am

Bizzare wrote:When we go to the beach, I always make sure to carry a looooonggg rope and tie it on a Keg handle; a homemade lifeguard buoy, and have it there on the shore. My friends always teasingly laugh saying "who you gonna save today hoss" but trust me, in a situation like this, it'll sure be the best thing you ever had. I've heard to many stories of people drowning on beach limes, and a couple of friends were lost this way too.

gonna try this . :)

Seeker

Postby Seeker » June 21st, 2011, 3:39 pm

Good idea...but i would still be on shore patrol.

Postby RBphoto » June 21st, 2011, 4:01 pm

I think they seel the bouys at peaks.

Postby bushwakka » June 21st, 2011, 6:50 pm

i tried to save my cousin from drowning in las cuevas cuz im a strong swimmer myself.....however, immediately upon reaching him, man try to use me as a flotation device....self preservation instinct kicked in and i fought him off, treaded water looking for someone else to help, found someone else an we got him out that way

i learn my lesson, i eh doin that again unless i iz a certified lifeguard

Postby sMASH » June 21st, 2011, 9:38 pm

goin and do dat bizzare. i does hardly go beach, so when i go is usually with family i like, so i would want to save them if they are in distress.

allyuh remember the ad on tv long time where the people went ah river and use the cooler cover as the floatation device? there was a lot of pan as background music.