T&T has passed no such laws so it is more than arguable, therefore, that any practice of intercepting communications in T&T such as, for instance, tapping phones is contrary to section 4 (c) of the Constitution as in breach of the right of the individual to "respect for his private and family life".
A warrant to intercept is usually limited to the person and the premises named. Disclosure is restricted and there is a limit legally to the number of copies made of the intercept product. The warrant is for a fixed duration and the law provides for the destruction of communications after a specified period. Information disclosed to a lawyer by a client is protected
t is obvious that the power to intercept telecommunications in the course of transmission is an invaluable tool in investigation. It is also known that illegal interception has been practised and may still be practised in T&T. Without legislative underpinning not only is it subject to abuse but it constitutes a violation of citizens' constitutional rights. The answer must lie in the passage of legislation in Parliament permitting the legal use of interception and with the appropriate safeguards.
Snags wrote:Then it's a smoke screen. What's the purpose of any of this?
wagonrunner wrote:well look something to occupy the "flock"
taxpayer monies being spent for personal satisfaction, but......... see. i was really always a victim.
pioneer wrote:Welcome to the modern world, it's done in MANY countries world wide. It's called National Security.
You preferred if terrorists were able to plot n overthrow a government in power?
I support covert security agencies fully. If it weren't for them this world would be a warzone and flying on a plane won't be very pleasant
Only those who have things to hide will be bothered by this.
originalbling wrote:so just for argument sake, lets see what the Constitution say about the functions of the SSA:
Strategic Services Agency Act Chap 15:06
http://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/Laws2/Al ... /15.06.pdf
Section 6 details its "official" functions.
6. (b) develop strategic intelligence and make recommendations to Government on the
formation of ponarcotics matters;
Humes wrote:Humes wrote:Hmmmmm
Which moderator changed this post? I simply asked what the source of the story was, and said people should put up links when they cut and paste from the papers.
What was wrong about that?
pioneer wrote:What would make a more interesting and pertinent story would be if Gibbs busted all the local businesses that operating as fronts for illicit activity like drug running and money laundering, and also exposed the link with these same businesses, columbians, politicians and police. Tell us where political parties that claimed they were broke suddenly found money from when the election was called.
Now that would be interesting.
pioneer wrote:RASC wrote:Well played tho Kamalalal
As soon as you come back, new diversionary tactic.
Touche!![]()
ent...let's stop the world from spinning...my fone was being tapped...oh noez
doh mind my ministers are a bunch of idiots![]()
matter of fact she holding a press conference to "address" the "spying"
RASC wrote:pioneer wrote:RASC wrote:Well played tho Kamalalal
As soon as you come back, new diversionary tactic.
Touche!![]()
ent...let's stop the world from spinning...my fone was being tapped...oh noez
doh mind my ministers are a bunch of idiots![]()
matter of fact she holding a press conference to "address" the "spying"
Ah love et...country in a state of stagnation, and she calling press conference for a wire tap. Gimme a break man, this really is the begining of the end. I think the honeymoon over...ppl waking up from the dream.
If she has a conference for that-you'll hear one big collective S T U E P S from the entire population. "No body eh care bout that s#!t...where all the ting yuh promise we?"
so let me get this straight. The SIA was formalized by an Act of parliament n 1995 but Kamla wants intelligent ppl to believe that nobody knew of the existence of this unit and what they do and who they report too. 1995 that mean, PNM, UNC, PNM now PP. Woman look here, just because you was too busy galavanting all over the place to pay attention to what ur responsibilities entailed does not mean nobody knew this thing existed or who it reports too. I guarantee u Jack make good use of it whenever he was head of the NSA by virtue of being acting PM. Now u see why this musical chairs of acting PM is a problem. the woman say ANYBODY in the coalition is fit to be acting PM and by extension have access to all our national security secrets? that Include racist SURUJ who was in a Scott drug report? that include the Mafia Don Jack ak HNIC? look here woman. get some sense and get some quick. Meanwhile I will need Express to get Camini Maraj cracking on this story.
eliteauto wrote:So what? This is a normal part of National Security since 1990, you think this did not exist under the UNC Govt? Just another smoking gun for followers to use to distract from real national issues, this Gov't continues to compromise the security of this country for political milage, I thought elections done, so why are they still campaigning? Seems the "parasitic oligarchy" is demanding their pound of flesh so "imports" can increase
varung wrote:ent to get a wire tap u need court order, ent to dig up personal documents you need a court order of some sort.
so as long as tdad doesn't have it, it is facking illegal. end of discussion. what are we back in the days of WW II ? these PNM-ites are really sickening and disgusting.
RASC wrote:Taken from the Express comments section:The SIA was formalized by an Act of parliament n 1995 but Kamla wants intelligent ppl to believe that nobody knew of the existence of this unit and what they do and who they report too.
Interesting.
In a shock response to the discovery of an elaborately equipped and well-funded "intercept suite" within the SIA
Snags wrote:varung wrote:ent to get a wire tap u need court order, ent to dig up personal documents you need a court order of some sort.
so as long as tdad doesn't have it, it is facking illegal. end of discussion. what are we back in the days of WW II ? these PNM-ites are really sickening and disgusting.
So it is illegal, good, I'm waiting to see who gets charged for it. The PNM isn't in power anymore, so I'm pretty sure that the PP, unlike the PNM, will actually act and not turn a blind eye to this blatant lawlessness. Lets see how long before someone gets charged and prosecuted!