Home Sweet Container

Re: Late Night question..Building homes with shipping contai

Postby tr1ad » August 7th, 2012, 11:09 am

Rainman wrote:
BANzai Rastafarai wrote:been done as "portacamps" for years in the Energy industry..dont see why not.... have a friend that looking into it using Chinese labourers on some land in Las Lomas.... keep me in the loop

My friend is looking to start off with one of these

http://homeinabox.blogspot.com/2011/06/ ... house.html

she has 7,000 sq feet of land to play with (undulating..even better)...and wants to convert the space to some EcoBlahblahblah place....

Where in the energy industry are shipping containers used as portacamps?

the rasta referring to the camps down in Moruga for central Block Well 1 Site BGTT
very comfy, lived in one for some months well

toilet was cramped but was not a bad stay, granted i stayed in a 40ft

Postby Monk BANzai » August 7th, 2012, 11:16 am

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:This has been done and approvals arent necessary seeing that they arent "permanent" structures in many parts of the country.
Logistics are simple.
Easy Maintenance.
Cut holes as required for HAVC, Plumbing, etc.
Stack front - back, up- down.
Biggest cost is aesthetics and thats optional.
Space planning is what need the thought to make it ergonomically habitable.

Town and Country Approvals Sleeper? even if a concrete base is used as a foundation?

Any ideas about the waste water? how is that handled...."soakaway" or another method?

Postby Rainman » August 7th, 2012, 11:27 am

Travis wrote:
Rainman wrote:
BANzai Rastafarai wrote:been done as "portacamps" for years in the Energy industry..dont see why not.... have a friend that looking into it using Chinese labourers on some land in Las Lomas.... keep me in the loop

she has 7,000 sq feet of land to play with (undulating..even better)...and wants to convert the space to some EcoBlahblahblah place....

offshore on the south west coast... lots of platforms with shipping containers as accommodation for workers

Oh really, that's strange. Offshore living accommodations are supposed to be blast and fire rated; a retrofitted shipping container is neither.

speed demon

Postby speed demon » August 7th, 2012, 11:34 am

hmmmn interesting actually doing mih Msc thesis on this application, basically all things are handled as per normal yuh major trade in the first instance will be a welder/fabricator.

if seeking to do it through financing u will have issues etc as if u are financed by a bank their issue is u can pick up d investment and basically disappear, which wont be good for them. there are some aspects that need examining in a deeper way depending on intended use, locale etc

and it can be cheaper than conventional construction and is practical in many ways but can also be impractical. pros and cons as with any thing.

there are standards they should be done to both for town and country and international guidelines etc

anybody seeking to explore further and more seriously for development purposes i can provide this service and needed consultancy.

Postby Monk BANzai » August 7th, 2012, 12:27 pm

Rainman wrote:
Travis wrote:
Rainman wrote:

offshore on the south west coast... lots of platforms with shipping containers as accommodation for workers

Oh really, that's strange. Offshore living accommodations are supposed to be blast and fire rated; a retrofitted shipping container is neither.

not sure of the offshore rigs...though they used a container type (similar to the refrigeration types) but defn on shore at Beachfield, Central Block and as far inland as Sando (lol)....Kenson was at the time the main contractor that supplied them.

Postby Monk BANzai » August 7th, 2012, 12:32 pm

speed demon wrote:hmmmn interesting actually doing mih Msc thesis on this application, basically all things are handled as per normal yuh major trade in the first instance will be a welder/fabricator.

if seeking to do it through financing u will have issues etc as if u are financed by a bank their issue is u can pick up d investment and basically disappear, which wont be good for them. there are some aspects that need examining in a deeper way depending on intended use, locale etc

and it can be cheaper than conventional construction and is practical in many ways but can also be impractical. pros and cons as with any thing.

there are standards they should be done to both for town and country and international guidelines etc

anybody seeking to explore further and more seriously for development purposes i can provide this service and needed consultancy.

check inbox...

JoeBama

Re: Home Sweet Container

Postby JoeBama » August 7th, 2012, 12:47 pm

picture this..... u have ur container looking like it had a hard life of the seas and had been in more ports than a whole setta seamen.......(Catch de joke right there ha haa??) You go to the beach and back up ur truck on the sand...everybody looking at you like u a mad man... then you see kim with kanye... she watches you like she feels sorry for u a mild manned trucker guy who came to the beach to bathe and sleep.. then you wink at her.. with a smug smile of course... unveiling the sweetness inside... she gonna say fcuk u kanye...this dude is like the ulitmate muther truckin james bond.... that realistic ent..

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 7th, 2012, 12:51 pm

JoeBama wrote:picture this..... u have ur container looking like it had a hard life of the seas and had been in more ports than a whole setta seamen.......(Catch de joke right there ha haa??) You go to the beach and back up ur truck on the sand...everybody looking at you like u a mad man... then you see kim with kanye... she watches you like she feels sorry for u a mild manned trucker guy who came to the beach to bathe and sleep.. then you wink at her.. with a smug smile of course... unveiling the sweetness inside... she gonna say fcuk u kanye...this dude is like the ulitmate muther truckin james bond.... that realistic ent..

:| But you could achieve the same thing with a green band Toyota Hiace maxi-taxi.

air wick

Postby air wick » August 7th, 2012, 1:47 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
Rainman wrote:
Travis wrote:
Rainman wrote:

not sure of the offshore rigs...though they used a container type (similar to the refrigeration types) but defn on shore at Beachfield, Central Block and as far inland as Sando (lol)....Kenson was at the time the main contractor that supplied them.

note that platforms are different to rigs....

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » August 7th, 2012, 2:16 pm

i was thinking this.......

a couple containers, some will be joined together etc.. SO, from the states, purchase containers and pack them with the furniture, and the material to furnish the container. when it is shipped, of course the container is yurs, use the material from inside as well as the furniture and fixup section by section.

tips i am thinking about...
Hot water:
Copper tubing (or suitable water carrying piping) could be installed into the walls, between the metal walls....and inner insulation (face off the inside with drywall or concrete board....this copper piping will heat water during the day, and pipe it to an insulated storage tank for hot water at night.

Energy effiency:
Install solar panels on the roof, for 12volt lighting..and low amperage 110v stuff. The ceiling is what, 9 ft? so i doubt it wud need much to light the place up properly..

Looks:
Gypsum ceiling, or pvc ceiling..with heat shielding on top. pvc ceiling is cheaper, but i dont know how it would respond being so close to a very hot surface during the day

Porcelain tiles, laminate wood flooring...give it a reall expensive looking floor

make the containers modular...meaning, it can be attached and detached and moved around, or be expanded.

utilize dual purpose furniture, so to save on space...check out the youtube videos with tiny housing solutions.

basically thinking outside the box....or outside the container...(yea i crack myself up) would be able to utilize this method as a cost effective strong structure.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » August 7th, 2012, 2:25 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:This has been done and approvals arent necessary seeing that they arent "permanent" structures in many parts of the country.
Logistics are simple.
Easy Maintenance.

Town and Country Approvals Sleeper? even if a concrete base is used as a foundation?

Any ideas about the waste water? how is that handled...."soakaway" or another method?

Concrete bases/platforms in one's private property are not required to be passed by the T&CPD.
their main concern regarding the "erection of a structure" is that it conforms to the stipulated (archaic) rules which mainly determine the conformity to safety issues and ground and encroachment issues to adjacent buildings.
Ive been thru this in depth with them on more than 1 occasion and the simple fact remains.
A container will not be considered a permanent structure and therefore does not need to be prepared for approvals by the T&CPD.

Based on your other concern, a common ceptic tank and soak-away system will be the way to go in terms of sewerage.

Postby timelapse » August 7th, 2012, 4:44 pm

People have built recording studios inside these structures. I was involved in something similar at work where we had to set up a piece of noisy equipment in one.
The issues that arose:

Window unit AC's will not work for this.You need some real strong AC during the day.
On this note you also need a good secondary extractor fan .Condensation is a major problem.

Gypsum works fine inside it, but do not use metal to attach it to the walls of the container. Use treated 2x4s instead.Reason - when the metal gets cold it ruins your gypsum.

Glass sliding doors i.m.o are the best for these things because of how cramped inside is.That way you can also make them modular and join them as you see fit.

Whatever you do, do not cut holes in the ceiling of it, else you will end up with leaks, conventional sealants do no work well as the metal expands and contracts rapidly.Its easier to prevent leaks in your wall than the roof.Silicone and acrylic caulk does not hold well on it.

On the outside you can use concrete board, or in our case, a faux stucco finish.If I had the money for it, I would spray the whole thing in a bedliner-like material.

Postby kurpal_v2 » August 7th, 2012, 8:33 pm

dougla_boy wrote:
Mark! wrote:there is container apartments on Bedessie Street in St Agustine if i not mistaken

but ent dat man get shut down? the containers are/were just stacked there........

I would think so, I live on that street and never seen such a structure.

Postby brams112 » August 7th, 2012, 8:48 pm

Anyways it cost a lot to outfit a 40 footer,the amount of material is not taken into consideration when you are only thinking about it,heard a guy saying it cost almost 40 g's to outfit one,saw a modular structure once on a boat about to leave to go on a rig and it was not an out fitted container.

xtech

Postby xtech » August 7th, 2012, 10:41 pm

Modular prefab buildings based on ISO containers are the best.... But they are more costly

I have 3 of those That i use for my biz.

Postby Monk BANzai » August 7th, 2012, 11:22 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:
BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
Logistics are simple.
Easy Maintenance.

Concrete bases/platforms in one's private property are not required to be passed by the T&CPD.
their main concern regarding the "erection of a structure" is that it conforms to the stipulated (archaic) rules which mainly determine the conformity to safety issues and ground and encroachment issues to adjacent buildings.
Ive been thru this in depth with them on more than 1 occasion and the simple fact remains.
A container will not be considered a permanent structure and therefore does not need to be prepared for approvals by the T&CPD.

Based on your other concern, a common ceptic tank and soak-away system will be the way to go in terms of sewerage.

only other concern is use on undulating land....would it require cutting the "land to fit the Tainer" as it were.....

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » August 8th, 2012, 8:04 am

xtech wrote:Modular prefab buildings based on ISO containers are the best.... But they are more costly

I have 3 of those That i use for my biz.

yo xtech, wah goin on wid meh 2 laptops dude?

xtech

Postby xtech » August 8th, 2012, 8:07 am

shoot i forget bout that yes......sorry.

zoelikescheese

Re:

Postby zoelikescheese » August 8th, 2012, 11:49 am

xtech wrote:
Narcissus wrote:yea...why dey usin a mac instead of a pc?

PC does crash easy...............

woman too :bday:

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » October 31st, 2014, 9:16 pm

Looking for a 40ft or maybe a 20, for storage.
Plain not out fitted, what would be the cost?
If anyone has to sell please pm me.
Thanks.

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 31st, 2014, 10:23 pm

nos_specialist wrote:So fellow tuners, what do you think on this topic.
i have been thinking about constructing a complete home with a couple used shipping containers, which of course would be carefully selected for use. (condition,and what is was used to transport)
However in our beloved country...is it:

Safe?, Legal?, cost effective....?

list your pros and cons ...

Big cons,
-insulating from heat

-electricity, because I doubt any T&tec gonna approve you to get current from a pole
A couple Solar panels and a wind generator for the day, and a generator for the night and you should be good to run small appliances, idk bout Air conditioning

-and well space, sometimes yuh does just want space to frolic in private

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » November 2nd, 2014, 4:48 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Looking for a 40ft or maybe a 20, for storage.
Plain not out fitted, what would be the cost?
If anyone has to sell please pm me.
Thanks.

killercow

Postby killercow » November 2nd, 2014, 10:07 pm

02-FgsbAvU.jpg

01-Pq4sSRF.jpg

03-CRKXugy.jpg

04-uZkXIzH.jpg

05-8jSRcXn.jpg

06-uibN1UE.jpg

07-hOfF6uI.jpg

08-IevWNVV.jpg

killercow

Postby killercow » November 2nd, 2014, 10:09 pm

09-R231Ozg.jpg

10-7G20AaR.jpg

11-BVSQ3FN.jpg

12-UAA10rv.jpg

13-3054gc5.jpg

15-eAZtsP2.jpg

16-XkLIlhD.jpg

ALIS

Postby ALIS » November 2nd, 2014, 11:52 pm

Currently we are building a couple of these in 40' 2 bedroom layouts, if you need pics inbox..... they are not yet watermarked.

But we can do many different plans not only for housing, but for other commercial purposes as well.

ALIS

0rb1tz

Postby 0rb1tz » September 27th, 2021, 11:31 pm

7 reasons why shipping container homes are a SCAM

First issue: the size constraints. Standard shipping containers are 20 feet and 40 feet long and 8 feet wide. Most of these containers are 8.5 feet tall but you can order custom ones that are 9.5 feet tall.

Second issue: A metal container works as a system, the idea that every part of this box is structural is false. Every single cut that you make for plumbing, windows, doors, roof openings into its structural frame or corrugated metal siding compromises its strength so you have to reinforce it with metal or wood.

Third issue: the thermal conductivity of steel. It’s not a good insulator, so you can expect the inside of these containers to get very hot in summer and very cold in winter.

Fourth issue: the health risks that come with buying old shipping containers. You can track the locations that the container has been to around the world, but you can’t track exactly what it has carried. It could have carried toxic chemicals such as pesticides or fumigants and the contents might have leaked into the wooden floorboards.

Fifth issue: this type of building is not the best for all locations. It might make sense in coastal regions near port cities where a container is readily available. If you are inland, the cost to transport it all the way to your plot of land is not logical. Also, building with native materials is the most eco-friendly and cost-effective method.

Sixth issue: the idea that you are saving the environment when you use shipping containers and that is a highly sustainable practice. Another important thing to consider is the carbon footprint of your container home. Steel construction is not as environmentally friendly as wood.

Seventh issue: the idea that shipping containers can be the solution to the housing crisis in the world but, this crisis is not a technology problem, it’s far more complex. Purely from a financial aspect, it would be cheaper to build a homeless shelter with wood than build a complex shipping container building. This type of building can maybe be 20% cheaper, not more. The modifications that you need to make a metal box livable aren’t cheap.