65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: 65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Postby bluesclues » May 13th, 2016, 4:57 pm

2WNBoost wrote:Image

That have to be a woman driver, and if not.. driver is still a woman.

drchaos

Re: 65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Postby drchaos » May 13th, 2016, 6:08 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:So u haters finally have some reprieve......
Seems you guys real hating after u remember your car doing 120km and pickups riding yuh bumper..wanting to end up in yuh back seat..forcing yuh lil note and wingroad and advan to shift to the left. Turbo singing in yuh ear to get the f off d road.....lol @ the good ole days.

People real delusional to think these Pickups are fast and have "real speed"

Most of them have their acceleration times (0 to 100 kph) in the 11+ seconds range. That's around the same acceleration ability as a Toyota Corolla. That is not "real speed" dat is just "real sad".

Postby pete » May 13th, 2016, 6:13 pm

That whole keep left rule has nothing to do with multi lane highways. Just that on normal roads you drive on the left.

Postby rollingstock » May 13th, 2016, 6:37 pm

pete wrote:That whole keep left rule has nothing to do with multi lane highways. Just that on normal roads you drive on the left.

Huh? What now?

Re: RE: 65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Postby pete » May 13th, 2016, 6:42 pm

2WNBoost wrote:Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Act
To keep to the left
5. (1) He shall keep the motor vehicle on the left of the road unless prevented by some sufficient cause save where the road is wide enough to accommodate three motor vehicles abreast and is marked off by the competent authority with a centre line, allowing vehicles occupying the centre to turn right.

If not then what highway do you turn right from the center lane?

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » May 13th, 2016, 6:59 pm

drchaos wrote:
mark2.0 wrote:Nuff hating on pickup owners....
Haters it's easy to own one, new or used. Check your financial institution for a evaluation and you will know what your options are.

I did have a navara up to last year and sold that riddiculous excuse for a vehicle within a year of ownership.

Bought it cause the in-laws had a construction project and we needed a second vehicle. As soon as that project was done, it was gone.

Liar liar pants on fire
Naynay naynay :P

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » May 13th, 2016, 7:00 pm

Seems you guys real hating after u remember your car doing 120km and pickups riding yuh bumper..wanting to end up in yuh back seat..forcing yuh lil note and wingroad and advan to shift to the left. Turbo singing in yuh ear to get the f off d road.....lol @ the good ole days.

Preach!!! 8-)

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 13th, 2016, 7:31 pm

mark2.0 wrote:

Preach!!! 8-)

Allu preaching about how slow them pickups is?
Last edited by drchaos on May 13th, 2016, 7:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Kenjo » May 13th, 2016, 7:38 pm

mark2.0 wrote:
drchaos wrote:
mark2.0 wrote:Nuff hating on pickup owners....
Haters it's easy to own one, new or used. Check your financial institution for a evaluation and you will know what your options are.

I did have a navara up to last year and sold that riddiculous excuse for a vehicle within a year of ownership.

Bought it cause the in-laws had a construction project and we needed a second vehicle. As soon as that project was done, it was gone.

Liar liar pants on fire
Naynay naynay :P

What's going on here

Re: RE: Re: 65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Postby A172 » May 13th, 2016, 9:26 pm

*$kїđž![TRADE MARK SIGN] wrote:So u haters finally have some reprieve......

wah u doz say when u bumpering benz & bmw in yur pos van?

2WNBoost

65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Postby 2WNBoost » May 14th, 2016, 5:41 am

pete wrote:That whole keep left rule has nothing to do with multi lane highways. Just that on normal roads you drive on the left.

Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Act
48:50
PART XIII SPECIAL TRAFFIC DIRECTIONS

Traffic at dual carriageways 105. Wherever dual carriageways are provided along a public road all vehicles shall proceed along or keep to the left hand carriageway and shall keep to the left side of the left hand carriageway except when overtaking. Any vehicle entering such road from a side road or intersecting road will bear to the left and if desiring to cross the road or to pass on to the further carriageway it will keep to the left of the traffic island situated opposite to the junction from which it has emerged and forming part of the central strip dividing the dual carriageway.

http://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/laws2/al ... /48.50.pdf

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » May 14th, 2016, 6:14 am

[quote="2WNBoost"]Please see
*** The official car accident thread***
viewtopic.php?t=615401

Not designed to outrun a Tiida GTR

Yeah but nobody didn't die!
Check that same tred for cars.
Padna buy ah pickup, something with a chassis.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 14th, 2016, 7:56 am

I hope we see less of these ugly looking spaceship nivara and hilux on the roads now. Why would people make their vehicle look so butt ugly?
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on May 14th, 2016, 7:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

memphis78644

Postby memphis78644 » May 14th, 2016, 7:57 am

ok all t vehicle drive 60km , but when the t drivers start bussing price for transport who you think will have to pay the price?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 14th, 2016, 8:04 am

Buss price for transport but y'all saving money on fuel?

Postby pete » May 14th, 2016, 8:50 am

L300 has an mgw of 2505 so not ALL T vehicles affected. Plenty of those on the road.

Doh Brakes

Postby Doh Brakes » May 14th, 2016, 9:11 am

Hello All,

This sudden reintroduction of the enforcement of speed limits was clearly not thought out, as with a lot of things in all administrations in T&T.

With the amount of safety features in vehicles these days compared to when the speed limit was originally introduced in a time when wearing seatbelts were not the law surely we could get an increase in speed. But are we as trinbagonians ready for an increase?

With bribes being made to get a drivers license, with road conditions as they are, with our mentality of excess and don't care. Can we really say we can handle our need for speed?

Take a listen to T&T's podcast Doh Brakes where two trinbagonians tackle the issues plaguing the beautiful twin island republic we call home.

For those on the SoundCloud check us out here - https://soundcloud.com/doh-brakes/doh-b ... -wah-speed

For YouTube lovers - https://youtu.be/a9oTw9iUf5s

All feedback is appreciated give us a shout at dohbrakestt@gmail.com, @DohBrakes or www.facebook.com/dohbrakes

P.S.- To the mods I don't mean to spam & I hope this is not considered as such. Our aim is to simply bring another avenue for trinis to discuss the issues. #ilovetrinituner & keep up the good work.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 14th, 2016, 10:14 am

These are serious questions for a constructive discussion.

How many of the commercial goods vehicle ("T" registration) drivers here calling for an increase in the speed limit have actually driven their vehicles loaded to the maximum gross weight (MGW)? Have they ever towed an unsprung trailer or, worse yet, an unsprung and unloaded trailer, behind their vehicles? I really don't know how these unsprung trailers get licensed for the road. As a minimum they should have some sort of suspension system (dampers and springs).

I have driven BT50s, L200s and Hiluxes with the trays loaded almost to the MGW and, truthfully, for those smaller pickup trucks, you really need to be very careful when driving them under fully loaded conditions. I cannot speak for the larger 4 tonne MGW and above trucks, but, with the exception of the American and European 10 wheel trucks, from just seeing how they handle on the road fully loaded, they look to be a handful at speeds of 70km/h and above.

It seems that the people kicking up the most fuss are the posers in their pickup trucks who at most throw a flat screen TV in the box when driving, that is, people who have never driven a commercial goods vehicle at the MGW.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 14th, 2016, 10:21 am

mark2.0 wrote:
2WNBoost wrote:Please see
*** The official car accident thread***
viewtopic.php?t=615401

Not designed to outrun a Tiida GTR

Yeah but nobody didn't die!
Check that same tred for cars.
Padna buy ah pickup, something with a chassis.

The only way he would know that no one died in that accident is because he flipped his van into that yard. :lol:

Postby zoom rader » May 14th, 2016, 10:22 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:These are serious questions for a constructive discussion.

How many of the commercial goods vehicle ("T" registration) drivers here calling for an increase in the speed limit have actually driven their vehicles loaded to the maximum gross weight (MGW)? Have they ever towed an unsprung trailer or, worse yet, an unsprung and unloaded trailer, behind their vehicles? I really don't know how these unsprung trailers get licensed for the road. As a minimum they should have some sort of suspension system (dampers and springs).

I have driven BT50s, L200s and Hiluxes with the trays loaded almost to the MGW and, truthfully, for those smaller pickup trucks, you really need to be very careful when driving them under fully loaded conditions. I cannot speak for the larger 4 tonne MGW and above trucks, but, with the exception of the American and European 10 wheel trucks, from just seeing how they handle on the road fully loaded, they look to be a handful at speeds of 70km/h and above.

It seems that the people kicking up the most fuss are the posers in their pickup trucks who at most throw a flat screen TV in the box when driving, that is, people who have never driven a commercial goods vehicle at the MGW.

I can add to this as I have a trailer that I use with a 4x4, it's a different drive with a loaded trailer attracted to 4x4 pick up. YOU really need drive at 65km. Above that speed you can and will get trailer sway which is very dangerous and takes a lot of skill to control the trailer.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » May 14th, 2016, 10:46 am

drchaos wrote:Yeah we all know that driving at low speeds on long boring stretches of road is a cause of driver fatigue and can be dangerous.
But Arrive Alive and their cronies (sad bunch) must be appeased!

Eh! This is the smartest contributions to this thread from you so far.
image.jpeg
image.jpeg (9.6 KiB) Viewed 3528 times

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 14th, 2016, 10:55 am

mark2.0 wrote:
drchaos wrote:Yeah we all know that driving at low speeds on long boring stretches of road is a cause of driver fatigue and can be dangerous.

No boy Raj ...

Dotish was when you did this ...
557fc0b17ac9188e7302333459c431f0.jpg

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » May 14th, 2016, 11:00 am

drchaos wrote:
mark2.0 wrote:

No boy Raj ...

Dotish was when you did this ...
557fc0b17ac9188e7302333459c431f0.jpg

:D :D :D

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » May 14th, 2016, 11:02 am

Hilux Revo padna!

Postby pete » May 14th, 2016, 11:44 am

If the fully loaded argument is what we using then 80kph should definitely remain cause if cars are fully loaded to their rated load they also suffer handling and braking problems.

Postby sMASH » May 14th, 2016, 12:01 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:These are serious questions for a constructive discussion.

have not driven with the max allowed, but with enough weight to know that that is a different kettle of fish. i am not advocating that the speed be increased for registered goods vehicles. leff that right thur.

Postby sMASH » May 14th, 2016, 12:06 pm

pete wrote:If the fully loaded argument is what we using then 80kph should definitely remain cause if cars are fully loaded to their rated load they also suffer handling and braking problems.

a vehicle registered for goods , should be expected to be with load, up till the max, for the most part of travels. a passenger car should not be expected to be fully loaded for the majority of time. so, for a passenger vehicle with load on the infrequent occasions, the driver should exercise due care and judgement.

Postby pete » May 14th, 2016, 12:17 pm

So why the pickup drivers can't exercise due care and caution when loaded? Easy to see if a pickup is loaded..

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 14th, 2016, 12:23 pm

sMASH wrote:. . . for the most part of travels. a passenger car should not be expected to be fully loaded for the majority of time. so, for a passenger vehicle with load on the infrequent occasions, the driver should exercise due care and judgement.

Drivers in T&T exercise due care and judgement? From your posts of your adventures with your Frontier, you obviously do not and you seem to be of the opinion that you are a rationally thinking person (which quite obviously you are also not). You need protection from yourself and others need to be protected from your reckless driving (legally speaking) with your Frontier.

Come again with some rational arguments for increasing the speed limit other than those ignorant statements you pull out of your ass.

You read the reference publication I gave you?

Postby sMASH » May 14th, 2016, 12:27 pm

so, remove freedom and make everything unsafe illegal.
u need a balance of both, and that 80 is too much of an infraction.