***2023 local elections thread****

Who will win the upcoming local elections????

PNM
32%
UNC
34%
NTA
2%
PEP
7%
TIED VOTE
7%
DON'T VOTE
17%

Total votes: 41

Re: ***2023 local elections thread****

Postby paid_influencer » August 6th, 2023, 4:31 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:how big a can is tho. all the pictures making it seem decently large and not something small like a car keys or wallet. them small one probably is like 2 seconds small mist or something?

Some of them giving you an actual stream of
Fluid 10-29 feet away

I googling and I see they have two approved sizes by the legislation -- one is a small cannister 2oz to 5oz and other is the big pack like 60oz. the small cannister from what I seeing on Amazon is like the size of like an Axe cannister.

which one giving me 10 foot spray up. and how much seconds of spray up that does give. i could spray up twice?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 6th, 2023, 4:42 pm

Hoss you can put that small can in your pocket and walk around with it normel normel.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 6th, 2023, 5:10 pm

maj. tom wrote:Nice fine print at the bottom.

Look it clearer here:

How perfect! I am allowed to carry my pepper spray in my checked luggage if flying from USA borders (TSA allows 4 ounces), but suspect once I land in Trinidad, TTPS would step in and likely arrest me because I don't possess a permit to carry one to protect myself. How advance a country TT is! :roll: :roll:

Postby paid_influencer » August 6th, 2023, 5:26 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:

Look it clearer here:

How perfect! I am allowed to carry my pepper spray in my checked luggage if flying from USA borders (TSA allows 4 ounces), but suspect once I land in Trinidad, TTPS would step in and likely arrest me because I don't possess a permit to carry one to protect myself. How advance a country TT is! :roll: :roll:

bro did u have to get utility bill, bank statement and two forms of ID to get pepper spray? how many weeks of processing did it take? srs q. how much needs to be in the bank stmt

Postby alfa » August 6th, 2023, 6:06 pm

redmanjp wrote:
alfa wrote:Assuming the COP have an hour to spare each day to process ful applications and she spend 5 mins on each including signing the FUL or rejection letter she could do 12 per hour. The backlog is 45000, do the math and understand why the average Joe will never get one

does the law require that only the COP cud approve? if so it should be changed to allow at least other senior officers like DCPs to approve - each division should have their own officers approving applications. also is that 45000 the total amt of applicants? then im sure some of them wont pass all background checks so can be eliminated before it goes for final approval thus reducing the amt the senior officers have to approve.

The 45000 is the total amt after gary left office. I believe he said he processed 5000 and approved like 3000. The COP is the only one to put the final approval or rejection stamp so it still has to reach the COPs desk even if they are unsuitable. But yeah a system with senior officers approving like in the UK will speed up thing quite a bit

Postby j.o.e » August 6th, 2023, 6:13 pm

pugboy wrote:every meeting rowlee only talking about the stand your ground/empty clip issues
seems he has recognized it is a major point the citizens suffering with

KPB took a non local govt issue and made it the headline in a local govt election. So rowley hardly has to answer for potholes, flooding and delivery of services. So he will talk about emptying the clip because it’s a non issue.

Postby pugboy » August 6th, 2023, 7:08 pm

yeah lge totally derailed and heinz and erla ain’t gotta do squat as usual
but you never know ppl may come out to vote based on how pissed they are on the crime issues

Postby MaxPower » August 7th, 2023, 6:04 am

DMan7 wrote:I can only imagine how much Trini's gonna misuse this pepper spray for every lil dispute they have with friends, family, co-workers etc...

Exactly, and they want firearms?

Postby Ben_spanna » August 7th, 2023, 7:15 am

What you all are not observing is that as usual, look at how long this took to get implemented,

And how many organizations/ companies are "legally allowed" to sell and distribute Pepper spray?

Watch and see, almost every form of protection or alternative energy will have to be directed through a certain governing body or organization that have rights exclusively- you think it's just random? It's all a money making scheme and we are the idiots allowing this to happen to our country.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 7th, 2023, 8:53 am

DMan7 wrote:I can only imagine how much Trini's gonna misuse this pepper spray for every lil dispute they have with friends, family, co-workers etc...

Exactly, and they want firearms?

Why not? With the appropriate government, every firearm owner would be required to go through training before they obtain a license, with the requirement of having continued training to maintain their license (ie proof of attending a training program that is licensed to train pistol/concealed carry permit holders). This way, each firearm owner is aware of how to properly handle a firearm without negligent discharge, how to safeguard the firearm at home/business or on their person, and also train to help citizens understand when it is appropriate to use such force (ie imminent danger, Castle Doctrine, Stand Your Ground, etc.).

That is what proper governance looks like. But Trini's hear "light them up" and they are quick to criticize the UNC/KPB for what is nothing short of finding alternatives to a government that does not protect nor allow its citizens to step in to protect their right to life and property.

Postby j.o.e » August 7th, 2023, 9:54 am

We don’t necessarily need more guns but we need a transparent and efficient way of acquiring an FUL. It’s either you meet the requirements or not and those requirements should be clear. Shouldn’t be a favour from the COP or anyone else

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » August 7th, 2023, 10:00 am

j.o.e wrote:We don’t necessarily need more guns but we need a transparent and efficient way of acquiring an FUL. It’s either you meet the requirements or not and those requirements should be clear. Shouldn’t be a favour from the COP or anyone else
Having those is a must, but it does not solve the problem of violent home invasions.

You just being a PNM publishlist

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 7th, 2023, 10:38 am

:agrue:
IMG-20230807-WA0164.jpg

Postby j.o.e » August 7th, 2023, 10:55 am

Kickstart wrote:
j.o.e wrote:We don’t necessarily need more guns but we need a transparent and efficient way of acquiring an FUL. It’s either you meet the requirements or not and those requirements should be clear. Shouldn’t be a favour from the COP or anyone else
Having those is a must, but it does not solve the problem of violent home invasions.

If I wasn’t ‘a PNM’ what about my statement you disagree with ?

Postby Les Bain » August 7th, 2023, 11:06 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:

Look it clearer here:

No, they'd likely confiscate it as they would a camo thong, onesie game console controller.
You'd then be free to contact the 1% security company to get a smaller canister that's likely less potent than the spray you brought in. Everybody wins (though that win ratio would be skewed in favour of whoever owns Amalgamated).

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 8th, 2023, 3:05 pm

Kickstart wrote:

That's kinda true, but using the analogy of ants.

The best bet is to just nuke the nest like El Salvador... But we can't because "dem was good bois, he was a future doctor" mentality

But the least we can do hoss, is to protect ourselves. the LEAST

Even if the amount of home invasions remain the same, at least you can stop it from happening to your home.....

That sound good?

We voting for whoever streamline the FUL/firearm acquisition easily btw. Ik some politicians reading this right now.

Postby redmanjp » August 8th, 2023, 6:18 pm

to get a FUL do u have to get a certificate of character? cuz that's a next issue here. that fingerprint server cost money to maintain which the ttps doesn't have.

would you all be willing to pay lets say a $50-100 fee for the COC?

Postby paid_influencer » August 8th, 2023, 6:27 pm

redmanjp wrote:to get a FUL do u have to get a certificate of character? cuz that's a next issue here. that fingerprint server cost money to maintain which the ttps doesn't have.

yes i would legit do that and on a moral level i think it is good for society. certificate of character being free makes it seem like an entitlement rather than something of worth and value

i think is the best idea i hear whole week and u should go up for govt. my chupid local govt candidate for UNC put up a big wooden poster that around a blind corner that blocking visibility further. dotish m,c. i voting phillip
Last edited by paid_influencer on August 8th, 2023, 6:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby j.o.e » August 8th, 2023, 6:28 pm

redmanjp wrote:to get a FUL do u have to get a certificate of character? cuz that's a next issue here. that fingerprint server cost money to maintain which the ttps doesn't have.

It’s free ? So long since I dealt with that I always thought you paid a lil $40 or something

Postby paid_influencer » August 8th, 2023, 6:33 pm

TTPS website say is $50

i agree we should raise to $100 tho

Postby alfa » August 8th, 2023, 7:13 pm

j.o.e wrote:

It’s free ? So long since I dealt with that I always thought you paid a lil $40 or something

The COC is one of many documents needed for an FUL, it's $50. I don't know if they have a fingerprint server cuz when you go you have to ink up your hands with a black paste and put your prints on a sheet a la 1950's style and they send you by a concrete sink to wash your hand with some breeze lol. Not even a napkin self

Postby maj. tom » August 8th, 2023, 7:23 pm

Nah they have a regular scanning machine now like phone fingerprint sensors with all the data on the touch screen, just have to rub lotion in your hands first. They have a bottle near the machine. Well if the machine working, or else is old school ink roller.

Beyond that, the process could be more computerized and automated to get results faster and more efficiently.

Postby redmanjp » August 8th, 2023, 7:24 pm

^ is the same server that went down for months last year so ppl couldn't get COC. but word is that it going to be upgraded soon

Postby pugboy » August 8th, 2023, 7:30 pm

i did a coc last year and it was ink method

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » August 8th, 2023, 10:27 pm

Who in there right mind have extra money to pay a property tax...certainly not the PNM supporter base..
This election is definitely In favor of the UNC.

Re: ***2023 Local Elections Thread****

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 9th, 2023, 8:24 am

listened to a few mins of the grande speech last night....

Bobby head talkin bout how he knows things were bad in the past, and things are going to improve

But they saying that how long now? How long dem was in power in the history of T&T since independence?

Postby bluefete » August 9th, 2023, 11:08 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:listened to a few mins of the grande speech last night....

Bobby head talkin bout how he knows things were bad in the past, and things are going to improve

But they saying that how long now? How long dem was in power in the history of T&T since independence?

PNM - 44 years

UNC - 7 years

PP - 5 years

NAR - 5 years

Postby Dizzy28 » August 9th, 2023, 11:29 am

bluefete wrote:

PNM - 44 years

UNC - 7 years

PP - 5 years

NAR - 5 years

Imagine having an un- interruptible 24 year run leading the country including one oil boom and still having the balls to blame other parties for the dire state of the place

Postby pugboy » August 9th, 2023, 11:43 am

like pea issuing bluff to gg again
man say he have files as usual

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » August 9th, 2023, 12:34 pm

bluefete wrote:

PNM - 44 years

UNC - 7 years

PP - 5 years

NAR - 5 years

Imagine having an un- interruptible 24 year run leading the country including one oil boom and still having the balls to blame other parties for the dire state of the place

Blaming is one thing...
It have citizens with masters and PhD actually believing other parties are at fault... :shock: