COST OF LIVING IN TRINIDAD $$$$

Numb3r4

Re: COST OF LIVING IN TRINIDAD $$$$

Postby Numb3r4 » September 29th, 2017, 10:40 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:people need to practice making breakfast and lunch from home...buying food everyday go kill allyuh mc

So true I an amazed at the fact that so many buy out lunch. I mean a simple sandwich for lunch at least.

I am always amazed at the amount people will spend on food when out especially when our local home cooked cuisine is so good.

Daran

Postby Daran » September 29th, 2017, 10:46 am

Numb3r4 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:people need to practice making breakfast and lunch from home...buying food everyday go kill allyuh mc

So true I an amazed at the fact that so many buy out lunch. I mean a simple sandwich for lunch at least.

I am always amazed at the amount people will spend on food when out especially when our local home cooked cuisine is so good.

man why does it bother you what people spend they money on? It making them happy, leave them.

Postby hydroep » September 29th, 2017, 10:51 am

The kind of lifestyle some people are living leaves no time for simple things like making breakfast and such. People much rather pay for the convenience of fast food so they can have their head stick-up in a phone whole day...:|

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 29th, 2017, 11:01 am

well the topic is about cost of living...your food bill for the month can be significantly reduced if you do it yourself..

Postby RedVEVO » September 29th, 2017, 11:18 am

Daran wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:

man why does it bother you what people spend they money on? It making them happy, leave them.

Some people only like to interfere with your business and lifestyle .. :roll:

Rowley and his PNM cohorts want to control even move you make in Trini ..

Why he don't sell the Benz , forget foreign doctors and stop living off tax payers money ..

People do what make you happy and enjoy life :D ..

Rowley is a duncey .

altec

Postby altec » September 29th, 2017, 11:22 am

Stop the buy ah rounds for the boys. There are fellas saving their money and drinking your money.

Postby timelapse » September 29th, 2017, 1:13 pm

I have 2 free suppliers of limes until my trees reach maturity.I willing to barter mint leaves for stuff
*nods at smash

Postby *KRONIK* » September 29th, 2017, 1:50 pm

I have lime to sell
Dollar for 1

Postby pugboy » September 29th, 2017, 2:27 pm

you remember eco and ting ?

teems1 wrote:
pugboy wrote:it will be very very hard for any so called millenial age group to adjust
they grew up and started working life in the age of consumerism in trinidad

unless you grew up in the 70-80s you really have no idea what hard times are

In the 70s and 80's, one of the new basic prefab houses in Santa Rosa was around 50k. A secondary school teacher's starting salary was around 1000TT and the TT:USD was around 2:1.

So that is approx 50 months salary to purchase a house.

Today an extremely basic house is 1.3m and a teacher's starting salary is around 10K. That is 130 months salary. Nearly three times more difficult.

Also back then workers didn't have to worry about outsourcing/offshoring to India/China. Being perpetually being on contract was non existent. Shareholder and investor expectations were not as unreasonable as today whereby growth is expected every quarter or the executives lose their jobs.

The hard times people remember was due to the easy lines of credit being opened up to persons who benefited from the oil boom and were unable to repay when the price went down. Banks have since tightened up their due diligence whereby the number of defaulted loans and houses being foreclosed is very small.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » September 29th, 2017, 7:33 pm

Daran wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:

It doesn't bother me, I am just as I said amazed, that we have a population that is supposed to be aware of the rising cost of living and yet they don't seem to be able to or want to adjust.

We hear daily that we need "economic adjustment" still we make no attempt at it, as in one of the ways to cut personal expenditure is to manage what we eat/consume.

No to mention when you consider the instances of diabetes and health problems that can all be traced back to improper eating habits, if you address what you consume you can do a lot to not only help your wallet and your health, which in the long run would help your wallet even more, given the state of the public health system and the cost of the private.

I have no problem with the lifestyle that people take part in but this "lifestyle" does impact everyone when you consider the fact that many of these habits consume foreign exchange, I have no problem if they were eating out and supporting a local restaurant or eating local cuisine, (stew pork, curry duck or roti or bake) but when the meals are usually part of of a foreign franchise (half the time it may be a pre-packaged meal that is re-heated and served as "gourmet" when you could easily make it as home for a fraction of the price) that offer foods at an inflated price for the "experience" therein lies the problem. That kind of expenditure impacts everyone.

We hear time and time again about our food import bill, if you make the effort to buy from local then there is a greater chance that you would help to curb such expenditure, if you make the greater effort to try and prepare you own food even more savings.

One other funny thing I noticed (at least on my facebook page anyway) how come, suddenly we are so aggrieved when Starbucks gets our order wrong. Lately I've been seeing people ranting about the franchise lately....I've been there the only thing I could ring myself to buy is a tea (large or "grande" not to mention brownies for $20.00 no thanks Linda's has a brownie deal for $17.00 see what I mean local...anyway...). Since when did we become so particular. All of a sudden we're so "cultured" and "sophisticated"????

Also since when we became such a "coffee" loving people, I always though or us as tea people owing to our English heritage. This was a problem I had with Rituals when they first started only chilled coffee drinks and chai on plain black or green tea, now mind you they have plain chais that are like black teas...but still man...

This pursuit of status will kill us all.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » September 29th, 2017, 9:34 pm

Mortgage.... $7000.00
Van loan...... $3000.00
Food.............$2000.00
Bills..............$3000.00

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » September 29th, 2017, 9:46 pm

nos_specialist wrote:Mortgage.... $7000.00
Van loan...... $3000.00

Is there any room for a savings/rainy day?

Mortgage....at least in the end you can say you own it and as an investment its value may go up.

Bills wait until you hear the budget and if there are increases to the electricity rates.

Food does this include eating out or only groceries and dry goods you bring home.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 29th, 2017, 9:58 pm

nos_specialist wrote:Mortgage.... $7000.00
Van loan...... $3000.00

7k for ah mortgage....dammmm, unless you borrow the entire thing...bills reaching 3k is questionable doh...lights water cable/net...for 3 k shrugs shoulders

then again if two people raking in at least 15k ah mth...there is enough room to save, palance and splurge

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » September 29th, 2017, 10:29 pm

lights $1200 avg per month
Cable bill $450
Cellphone bill $300
Wife Cellphone bill $300
Diesel for the month.. $400
Gas for Wife Car.......... $400

Postby RedVEVO » September 29th, 2017, 11:15 pm

nos_specialist wrote:lights $1200 avg per month
Cable bill $450
Cellphone bill $300
Wife Cellphone bill $300

Wife need to get a job .. :shock:

Or better - a business .

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » September 29th, 2017, 11:16 pm

wife has both

Postby RedVEVO » September 29th, 2017, 11:23 pm

nos_specialist wrote:wife has both

Now that is "real woman" to have Bro ..

Woman like that do not come every day :P

Did you use hydroponics ?

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » September 29th, 2017, 11:25 pm

boy in this timing every little extra adds up lol. check out Sparkle Dangle on FB... a small business. I set her up with..

Postby RedVEVO » September 29th, 2017, 11:33 pm

nos_specialist wrote:boy in this timing every little extra adds up lol. check out Sparkle Dangle on FB... a small business. I set her up with..

Kool dude :D :D

Set up the link here .

Good luck :D :D

Postby teems1 » September 30th, 2017, 12:14 am

Cable bill $450
Cellphone bill $300
Wife Cellphone bill $300

1200 T&TEC per month is quite high. Also those bills come every 2 months. Even so, 600 per month is still above average.

Postby RedVEVO » September 30th, 2017, 2:14 am

teems1 wrote:
Cable bill $450
Cellphone bill $300
Wife Cellphone bill $300

1200 T&TEC per month is quite high. Also those bills come every 2 months. Even so, 600 per month is still above average.

How much do YOU pay each month for electricity ?

Postby teems1 » September 30th, 2017, 9:33 am

RedVEVO wrote:
teems1 wrote:
Cable bill $450
Cellphone bill $300
Wife Cellphone bill $300

Approx 300 per month.

I have a water heater, dryer and AC.

Postby RedVEVO » September 30th, 2017, 11:54 am

teems1 wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
teems1 wrote:
Cable bill $450
Cellphone bill $300
Wife Cellphone bill $300

Approx 300 per month.

Ok .. same.

Time to get rid of Cable ( save $500 )

Wifi have everything ..

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » September 30th, 2017, 5:24 pm

teems1 wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
teems1 wrote:
Cable bill $450
Cellphone bill $300
Wife Cellphone bill $300

Approx 300 per month.

What about using the dryer less or go back to "an outside clothes line"?

Also you said business, do those costs include some of the business costs or just personal?

Why I'm asking is that if that's personal and business then your bills aren't that bad. Hope things work out with the business, especially in these times.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 1st, 2017, 8:55 am

some of your electricity bills weird...My bill for the two month period is approx $550 (4 AC units running every night, dryer, gate, heater and other basis stuff)

Kronik

Postby Kronik » October 1st, 2017, 4:28 pm

^ what size houses do you all have? those bills real low compared to home by me. then again my gf's bill come like just under 200 per bill, no A/C yet though

Postby nervewrecker » October 1st, 2017, 4:36 pm

Bill is about $300.00 here, 3 ac units, 3 fridge, washer and drier, electric gate.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 1st, 2017, 9:16 pm

Kronik wrote:^ what size houses do you all have? those bills real low compared to home by me. then again my gf's bill come like just under 200 per bill, no A/C yet though

Normal size...4 bedroom,3 bath etc etc...

Postby RedVEVO » October 2nd, 2017, 2:48 am

10-01 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:Well a triples and you have money for a drink lol

to be honest if i eat 2 triples and drink a coffee @ about 9 am i good till 2-3 :oops:

By the time you reach 30 years .. you dead with that diet ..

Postby RedVEVO » October 2nd, 2017, 2:50 am

Kronik wrote:^ what size houses do you all have? those bills real low compared to home by me. then again my gf's bill come like just under 200 per bill, no A/C yet though

Get her AC .. the day she get AC .. she outta Grande .. :D