***THE FARMERS CHED***

Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 10th, 2017, 1:01 pm

HSA wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:What crop would you guys say is an easy seller? short term that is meaning less than a year.

Like if I plant and I have to reap that I could probably get someone on this thread to buy all from me is what I am asking.

coconut is an easy seller but the trees take a lil while to bear.

grafted pomseetay ( pommecythere) also sells in abundance...from chow, roti shops and especially doubles ppl.

sapodilla and soursop sells alot but takes a while to bear...

your best bet is to do some seasoning and veges.........

and stop looking for the easy way out. your goods will sell depending on how you market it. get off that couch and go to nearby fast food, mini marts, market etc and talk to the owners. you will get an idea of what sells fast and work out your maths on what crop to plant.

dont just jump in without doing some research before. you must cater for pests, fertilizers etc...

Thanks

I finished planting my land with about 160 nuts, but these things look like they take a very long time I notice the ones my brother plant like 5 and 6 years ago now bearing a few in a bunch. I honestly thought Chiney nuts does bear in 3 years but look like I mistaken. Offcourse he didn't use any blue salt just Urea once a year so that could probably be why aswell.

It was really short crops I looking to plant in the mean while cause these coconut will take real years to bear.

I think I will plant Peas and pepper Trees they always seem to sell well. But I will find out from the Chiney restaurant close by me if they would buy cabbage. I had good success with cabbage last time.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » February 10th, 2017, 9:32 pm

Urea is a nitrogenous fertiliser. It will cause the tree to grow and can lower PH which will affect bearing.
What is needed is a compound fertiliser such as 12/12/17 or similar, together with small quantities of calcium nitrate and magnesium sulphate. Also agricultural limestone from Trin Carb can help, dolomitic in nature, it yields calcium and magnesium. Thus reducing acidity and providing valuable nutrients. Blaukorn can be used as it is a slow release formula.

Get a soil test from Centeno and follow the recommendation of the soil scientist. I can assist after the soil test.

Proper fertilisation can see the bunches bearing upwards of 20 nuts, together with an increase in size of nuts and corresponding water content.

Remember it is coconut and watering from time to time during the dry spells can work its magic.

HSA

Postby HSA » February 11th, 2017, 10:32 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
HSA wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:What crop would you guys say is an easy seller? short term that is meaning less than a year.

Like if I plant and I have to reap that I could probably get someone on this thread to buy all from me is what I am asking.

coconut is an easy seller but the trees take a lil while to bear.

grafted pomseetay ( pommecythere) also sells in abundance...from chow, roti shops and especially doubles ppl.

sapodilla and soursop sells alot but takes a while to bear...

your best bet is to do some seasoning and veges.........

and stop looking for the easy way out. your goods will sell depending on how you market it. get off that couch and go to nearby fast food, mini marts, market etc and talk to the owners. you will get an idea of what sells fast and work out your maths on what crop to plant.

dont just jump in without doing some research before. you must cater for pests, fertilizers etc...

Thanks

I finished planting my land with about 160 nuts, but these things look like they take a very long time I notice the ones my brother plant like 5 and 6 years ago now bearing a few in a bunch. I honestly thought Chiney nuts does bear in 3 years but look like I mistaken. Offcourse he didn't use any blue salt just Urea once a year so that could probably be why aswell.

It was really short crops I looking to plant in the mean while cause these coconut will take real years to bear.

I think I will plant Peas and pepper Trees they always seem to sell well. But I will find out from the Chiney restaurant close by me if they would buy cabbage. I had good success with cabbage last time.

leave d nuts and plant around it...just be careful of leaves and old nuts falling on your crops

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » February 12th, 2017, 8:16 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:There is a guy in wallerfied with a cow farm..selling manure and top soil mixed for $25-30( flour bags)

You have a contact number or know exact location

CA6230

Postby CA6230 » February 16th, 2017, 10:08 am

Hey folks I'm trying to get into farming but looking for some land to rent. Can somone advise/help with same? And how much so land does rent for? 760-1001

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » February 18th, 2017, 7:18 am

Morning fellas.

Well I put the incubator (HOVA-BATOR 1602N- complete with automatic turner, thermometer and hygrometer) to the test with 9 Muscovy duck eggs last week Sunday.

I candled the eggs last night. Looks like the drake is doing his job. lol.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 19th, 2017, 8:16 am

CA6230 wrote:Hey folks I'm trying to get into farming but looking for some land to rent. Can somone advise/help with same? And how much so land does rent for? 760-1001

you are better of trying to obtain a 5 acre piece from the ministry via a lease.....I know there are several people who gave up their leases...renting land can be headache depending on the owner.

HSA

Postby HSA » February 21st, 2017, 12:04 pm

yeah tuners....need a lil advice...i normally water the lettuce on evenings alone... should i sprinkle it lunchtime and on evenings?? reason being is that i notice the lettuce becoming slightly wilted when watering in the evening alone..

here is a pic of my lil setup...any advice/ recommendations are welcomed

20170221_115433.jpg

20170221_115441.jpg

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » February 21st, 2017, 2:05 pm

Hey feel your pain with the road at Grande. Check my post under Sangre Grande protest. Check the agency that is executing/Regional Corp to reduce the cow mouth or if that fails, check me.

With regards the wetting of the plants, with the amount, over head is the way to go. Wet during the morning, noon if necessary and by 3.00pm. Spray Bellis on about 5.30pm as the water would run-off and the leaves fairly dry. Leave on overnight and next morning wet a little late. If not possible, dont worry. You can alternate with Carbendazim, a white thick milky fungicide which is safe. While Bellis Pre Harvest Interval (PHI) is one day, Carbendazim is about Three days for Lettuce, due to the application of water during wetting. Also Bellis is systemic and organic and described as a Bacterial/fungicide, so it deals with bacterial leaf spot. Get a planting guide from Caribbean Chemicals for lettuce as it describes most of the problems.

Tip Burn in Lettuce, Blossom end Rot in Tomatoes, Black heart in celery is all caused by Calcium deficiency in the soil medium.

There are two approach to this problem:
1. Though the soil may have calcium, it uptake maybe inhibited by the low magnesium therein. Using ag lime from Trin Carb on the Cumuto Road does several things such as raise PH, yield magnesium, encourage drainage, etc. Incorporate or mix same into the soil before planting. Buy from Trin Carb on the Cumuto road, as this is by far superior to the imported stuff as it is dolomitic meaning it have calcium and magnesium and not the single ingredient of calcium from expensive imports ($200.00 plus/50kg bag). Trincarb is about $50.00/100lb bag.

2. The tip burn is most likely in the Mignonette Bronze variety which you are experiencing. this variety is susceptible to this problem. It is not a disease condition, but rather a nutritional problem, just like rickets which is cured by consuming citrus or Vitamin C supplement. Hope my H and SBiology is up to date.
This can be cured by the application of an Agrical drench in the soil and a Foliar application of Calmax or Calmag. Different suppliers have slightly different names. There is also resist which has zinc. It does not cure tip burn, but contains Zinc which helps the plant to resist pathogens such as fungus, bacteria and when taken in by the plant, after harvesting and consumption is a food supplement.

So keep on planting and we need to expand the ground swell because the solution to sustainability and diversification is for people at the bottom to do our thing ...........

Postby desifemlove » February 21st, 2017, 3:37 pm

HSA wrote:yeah tuners....need a lil advice...i normally water the lettuce on evenings alone... should i sprinkle it lunchtime and on evenings?? reason being is that i notice the lettuce becoming slightly wilted when watering in the evening alone..

here is a pic of my lil setup...any advice/ recommendations are welcomed

20170221_115433.jpg
20170221_115441.jpg

haha...green thumb??? haha.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » February 22nd, 2017, 11:05 pm

HSA passed by A >>>>>>>> STORES in Chaguanas. The price of one of dem butterhead ( mignonette Bronze) is around $20.00, and they real small. I would need to put away about three everyday before I feel I ate lettuce.

Normally produce some that are four times what I saw.

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » February 23rd, 2017, 12:25 am

Im thinking about starting a business in commercial conch farming, anyone ever done this or know anyone who has? Im looking for some advice.
I tried contacting the sugarcane feeds centre but havent gotten a reply yet.
Thanks

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » February 23rd, 2017, 11:06 am

Looking for some Dwarf Coconut plants (especially the Dwarf Malasian).
Also need some strawberry plants.

HSA

Postby HSA » February 23rd, 2017, 11:09 am

dude2014 wrote:Looking for some Dwarf Coconut plants (especially the Dwarf Malasian).
Also need some strawberry plants.

i saw asasco in aranguez had strawberry......check them

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » February 23rd, 2017, 11:51 am

Yes my assistant just came in and advised that home and garden in Tunapuna has some for $25.00. Will check them in a bit. Have Asasco number, will call.
Thanks bro ...........

snatman

Postby snatman » February 23rd, 2017, 12:02 pm

What can I do about birds licking up my backyard hot peppers. They clear out the flowers before they bear. Right now, i got the two plants covered with a netting, and that's working but I need a more elegant solution.

Any non-lethal solution is welcome.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 23rd, 2017, 12:05 pm

snatman wrote:What can I do about birds licking up my backyard hot peppers. They clear out the flowers before they bear. Right now, i got the two plants covered with a netting, and that's working but I need a more elegant solution.

Boy easy thing is to put some over ripe bananas at a further location like on top a wall etc..

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 23rd, 2017, 12:06 pm

snatman wrote:What can I do about birds licking up my backyard hot peppers. They clear out the flowers before they bear. Right now, i got the two plants covered with a netting, and that's working but I need a more elegant solution.

Boy easy thing is to put some over ripe bananas at a further location like on top a wall etc..

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » February 23rd, 2017, 1:33 pm

Gentlemen, off-topic question here, can you guys recommend the best type of trees that can be planted as a windbreak?. Also where these are available. Thanks

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » February 25th, 2017, 10:41 pm

Check the Govt Farm in Curepe, Farm Road. The personel can advise. If it for a wind break and the surrounding lands is to be planted, then the size, amount of shade, etc can be a factor.

There are a number of Govt nurseries around, with forest trees, also some can be double purpose as providing fruits and an additional income.

Additionally Do some Google-ing for more ideas ...........

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » February 25th, 2017, 10:45 pm

The Paleontologist wrote:Im thinking about starting a business in commercial conch farming, anyone ever done this or know anyone who has? Im looking for some advice.
I tried contacting the sugarcane feeds centre but havent gotten a reply yet.
Thanks

You may have to make a visit in person. Also Sea Foods Inndustry Development Company on Uriah Butler Highway, Southbound. Look sharp to your left for them (ie SIDC).

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » February 26th, 2017, 4:59 pm

20170226_165628.jpg
20170226_165649.jpg

Incubation of Muscovy duck eggs

Postby *KRONIK* » February 26th, 2017, 6:02 pm

Post a pic of the drake nah hoss
Lewwe see the monster

Pointman-IA

Re: RE: Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby Pointman-IA » February 26th, 2017, 8:23 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Post a pic of the drake nah hoss
Lewwe see the monster

He is shy. Lol.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » February 28th, 2017, 3:52 pm

Day 15 of the incubation period for the first batch of 9 eggs.
Day 8 of the incubation period for the second batch of 9 eggs.

I candled them two days ago. All is well.

I am battling to keep the humidity between 50-65%. The highest it has reached was 77% and the lowest was 49%.
The temperature has been between 93-97 degrees Fahrenheit.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » February 28th, 2017, 9:09 pm

Is this incubation project a hobby thing?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 2nd, 2017, 4:07 am

question for pepper/pimento farmers...

so I went against the odds and tried planting pepper and pimento in the same area( 4 peppers and 4 pimentos, one per pot but in close proximity of each other)...all of a sudden I only seeing peppers on all the trees...lmao....how is this possible???

Postby *KRONIK* » March 2nd, 2017, 5:56 am

Cross pollination

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » March 2nd, 2017, 11:05 am

Good day, any one ever use a drip fertigation system?

On a 2 acre garden plot ie.

I have successfully set up my drip irrigation system which is working fine for bout 1600 plants atm but I want to incorporate drip fertigation (adding fertilizer via the drip tape).

I have done it before but my present system takes 40-50gpm of volume. So almost a minute to suck a barrel empty. So I wasn't actually sure what was going on and if it was enuff for the plants etc. So to be on the safe side after pumping 3 barrels of 5lbs 20 20 20 soluble fert per barrel to the plants I chased with plain water..

I want some advice on rates of fertilizer to use for this method and if anyone here have been doing this.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » March 2nd, 2017, 12:11 pm

cutthroatInt wrote:Good day, any one ever use a drip fertigation system?

On a 2 acre garden plot ie.

I have successfully set up my drip irrigation system which is working fine for bout 1600 plants atm but I want to incorporate drip fertigation (adding fertilizer via the drip tape).

I have done it before but my present system takes 40-50gpm of volume. So almost a minute to suck a barrel empty. So I wasn't actually sure what was going on and if it was enuff for the plants etc. So to be on the safe side after pumping 3 barrels of 5lbs 20 20 20 soluble fert per barrel to the plants I chased with plain water..

I want some advice on rates of fertilizer to use for this method and if anyone here have been doing this.

I guess that you want to know if it is being done in Trinidad? Yes. The green houses supplied by the now defunct National Agri and Chemical Limited used this system in the sheds for tomatoes production. Speak to a Green house owner. You can enquire for a number for Brian Dixon. Also Azard Rahaman from Massey Industrial and Agro in Macoya can assist.

Shyam Mohammed from Caribbean Chemicals can also help. Call 638 grow and ask for him

Post a pic of the tapes and emitters and the general layout. Can assist ................