the right to bear arms

Re: the right to bear arms

Postby j.o.e » May 28th, 2025, 9:36 pm

16 cycles wrote:That judge is an idiot.

TTPS failed that person and the judicial process failed to account for the person's circumstance.

Should have reprimanded with a bond or some instrument to keep the peace recognizing his trauma and ordered him to apply for FuL and TTPS to evaluate his case after physcological clearance.

Nah by this logic anyone can say they have an illegal gun because they believe they were in danger. Lawyers will say what they have to, to win a case.
Jail he mc

Postby Chimera » May 29th, 2025, 12:54 am

pugboy wrote:4years seems long
i think the laventille youths does get much less
usually a fine

is guilty he plead guilty u know

his lawyers are real freaking idiots to tell him to do that

they cud catch you hitting a man some gun butt to head and you can still plead not guilty

that case cudda go on for 20 years with no sentencing........and then firearm disappear and case thrown out

Postby Chimera » May 29th, 2025, 12:56 am

Hunter on illegal gun charge fined $5,000
by

Reshma Ragoonath

Princes Town hunter Mustack Ali yesterday was ordered to pay $5,000 for possession of an illegal gun.

However, Ali's attorney, Rattanlal Bunsee, lamented how difficult it was to obtain a firearm user's licence "to protect yourself or to go hunting." Ali, 57, a father of two, of Realize Road, pleaded guilty to the offence which was committed on December 10, 2010.

He appeared before Magistrate Roger Ramgoolam in the San Fernando court yesterday. Ali was arrested by PC Nicolas Phillips and charged with having the illegal shotgun in his possession. Bunsee, in his plea in mitigation, stressed Ali did not have any "criminal intent" when he obtained the weapon. He said Ali had the gun for hunting. Court prosecutor Ramdath Phillip told the court Ali had a pending charge for manufacturing firearms. He was given two weeks to pay.

Man spared jail, fined $10,000 for illegal gun
by

Sascha?Wilson

A Claxton Bay man who claimed he found a loaded gun while drunkduring the Christmas season was spared a jail term yesterday.

Instead, Tony Jeffrey, 28, was ordered to pay $10,000 in fines for possession of pistol, which was loaded with six rounds of ammunition.

Jeffrey, the father of two girls, pleaded guilty to the two charges when he appeared before Deputy Chief Magistrate Nanette Forde-John in the San Fernando First Court.

He was arrested by PC Davin Nagessar of the St Margaret's Police Stationon Wednesday, at Hilltop Avenue, Claxton Bay.

Prosecutor Cleyon Seedan said around 3.05 pm the officer, along with his colleagues, while on patrol received a wireless transmission and proceeded to Hilltop Avenue.

Jeffrey who was standing on the road then looked at the police vehicle andbegan acting suspicious. When Nagessar approached and searched him, the officer found a black firearmin his front pocket of his trousers.

Postby pugboy » May 29th, 2025, 5:22 am

yeah some real clowns
them bandit lawyers must be real laugh

Chimera wrote:
pugboy wrote:4years seems long
i think the laventille youths does get much less
usually a fine

is guilty he plead guilty u know

his lawyers are real freaking idiots to tell him to do that

they cud catch you hitting a man some gun butt to head and you can still plead not guilty

that case cudda go on for 20 years with no sentencing........and then firearm disappear and case thrown out

Postby hover11 » May 29th, 2025, 6:18 am

j.o.e wrote:
16 cycles wrote:That judge is an idiot.

TTPS failed that person and the judicial process failed to account for the person's circumstance.

Should have reprimanded with a bond or some instrument to keep the peace recognizing his trauma and ordered him to apply for FuL and TTPS to evaluate his case after physcological clearance.

Nah by this logic anyone can say they have an illegal gun because they believe they were in danger. Lawyers will say what they have to, to win a case.
Jail he mc
I wonder if the magistrates encouraging crimes watch at the sentences the criminals getting away with. Moral of the story DON'T PLEAD GUILTY because the courts will throw the book at you.Instead do what hardened criminals do, plead not guilty come out on bail and drag out the case for a decade and it'll eventually get thrown out for one reason or the other...

Postby pugboy » May 29th, 2025, 7:01 am

them judges don’t live in the same world as the rest of the country

Postby hover11 » May 29th, 2025, 7:04 am

pugboy wrote:them judges don’t live in the same world as the rest of the country
Exactly they not exposed to crime they live in their ivory towers and gated communities oblivious to crime let one of them get hold up and feel the harsh reality of crime watch how they will finally gain understanding and stop applying the law conveniently

Postby hover11 » May 29th, 2025, 7:23 am

And now he can NEVER get a legal firearm because he is a convict. When I tell you the law is an ass you think is joke.
pugboy wrote:them judges don’t live in the same world as the rest of the country

Postby pugboy » May 29th, 2025, 7:25 am

his lawyer was subhas panday, one would think he not so stupid

Postby mero » May 29th, 2025, 7:32 am

mero wrote:Yea, but why you being seen with the firearm for ppl to call police on you? Now you inside and can't do one fk

Same thing I saying, soon as men get gun, dey brandishing the thing all over the place.

X3000.

Too many Trinis should not have easy access to legal firearms.

We should be focusing on proper policing. More mobile police stations in hotspot areas with direct communication with residents and panic buttons, more vehicles patrolling, more equipment, more training, more drones, more surveillance.
Paranoid emotional cowards with guns is a recipe for disaster. Pulling gun on people is a direct threat on life.

What if one of the people on Warren road had an FUL and felt their life was in danger?

What if one a dem ppl is actually or know a real rudeboy and not going through that ranking pull gun ting and now "Mr.fed up" have a whole extra set a problems waiting on him when he come out.

Now Imagine 30,000 sMASHs with guns unleashed onto our population.

Postby MaxPower » May 29th, 2025, 7:47 am

mero wrote:
mero wrote:Yea, but why you being seen with the firearm for ppl to call police on you? Now you inside and can't do one fk

Same thing I saying, soon as men get gun, dey brandishing the thing all over the place.

X3000.

Too many Trinis should not have easy access to legal firearms.

We should be focusing on proper policing. More mobile police stations in hotspot areas with direct communication with residents and panic buttons, more vehicles patrolling, more equipment, more training, more drones, more surveillance.
Paranoid emotional cowards with guns is a recipe for disaster. Pulling gun on people is a direct threat on life.

What if one of the people on Warren road had an FUL and felt their life was in danger?

What if one a dem ppl is actually or know a real rudeboy and not going through that ranking pull gun ting and now "Mr.fed up" have a whole extra set a problems waiting on him when he come out.

Now Imagine 30,000 sMASHs with guns unleashed onto our population.

Correct.

Recipe for disaster.

Now i will give the jacket to those genuinely responsible eh…i know rellll highly competent Trinis…not big big competitors eh….normal citizens, discreet, trained, alert and who understand safety. Men who does begg possible threats to leave them alone because they know they could switch them off easy easy….

But yuh see the amount of jackass in 30,000……nah boy

Postby mero » May 29th, 2025, 11:20 am

Hope abusive man know all cutass stop, cuz wives can apply for one same way they can.

Real Joe grind going and get kill.

Man crazy wife, ex girl/man, stalker, scorned lover getting fire.

Real smally piggy syndrome man getting fire.

Real wanna be rankers getting fire.

Loss ah all fours, reach for de fire.

Men clowning yuh, reach for d fire

Everybody hand going and be reaching on dey waist for de fire

Postby redmanjp » May 29th, 2025, 1:46 pm

^i think the terms of the FUL can differ depending on the applicant's risk level. an ordinary person who wants a gun for home protection should be able to get 1 but it would be limited to their premises. persons who want to carry should have more pressing reasons e.g. they have been receiving death threats or have already been victims of crime especially business ppl.

so whereas plenty ppl can soon get it they can't carry it around -that would limit most of the scenarios mentioned.

Postby alfa » May 29th, 2025, 3:33 pm

So hear this. Was reading on a firearms page on FB some years ago that prior to 1970, anyone in Trinidad could have owned a shotgun. After purchase the owner of the store was required to write the commissioner informing him that John doe had just purchased a shotgun with serial number....

I know old timers who have legal shotguns from donkey years so they were probably part of that era.
And they're weren't any mass shootings, domestic violence general jackassery etc.

I believe if that is brought back to facilitate home defense shotguns not to leave the premises we could maintain a similar standard

9YDMS

Postby 9YDMS » May 29th, 2025, 3:56 pm

mero wrote:Hope abusive man know all cutass stop, cuz wives can apply for one same way they can.

Real Joe grind going and get kill.

Man crazy wife, ex girl/man, stalker, scorned lover getting fire.

Real smally piggy syndrome man getting fire.

Real wanna be rankers getting fire.

Loss ah all fours, reach for de fire.

Men clowning yuh, reach for d fire

Everybody hand going and be reaching on dey waist for de fire

And bandits?

Postby MaxPower » May 29th, 2025, 4:12 pm

redmanjp wrote:^i think the terms of the FUL can differ depending on the applicant's risk level. an ordinary person who wants a gun for home protection should be able to get 1 but it would be limited to their premises. persons who want to carry should have more pressing reasons e.g. they have been receiving death threats or have already been victims of crime especially business ppl.

so whereas plenty ppl can soon get it they can't carry it around -that would limit most of the scenarios mentioned.

red,

Excellent suggestion, and we also mentioned this earlier.

NO personal carry, only to be used at home.

Postby MaxPower » May 29th, 2025, 4:35 pm

alfa wrote:And they're weren't any mass shootings, domestic violence general jackassery etc.

alfy,

Jackassery has evolved.

Social media fuels too much vice and encouragement.

Postby pugboy » May 29th, 2025, 5:13 pm

good article
https://trinidadexpress.com/opinion/let ... d9b80.html

most who want/need guns is because the actual policing, detection and enforcement is poor

the right to bear arms

Postby MaxPower » May 29th, 2025, 5:48 pm

pugboy wrote:good article

most who want/need guns is because the actual policing, detection and enforcement is poor

pug,

If actual policing, detection and enforcement is poor….then HOW can these same people be responsible for being involved in the FUL application process?

These same officers who contribute to poor policing, detection and enforcement are the same ones coming to your home to see the layout of your home and where the safe
is?

These same officers who contribute to poor policing, detection and enforcement are the same ones who you have to call when license firearms are stolen or used in a crime or other matter?

These same officers who contribute to poor policing, detection and enforcement are the same ones who are to ensure all citizens follow proper yearly renewal/competency?

These same officers who contribute to poor policing, detection and enforcement are the same ones who have to maintain law and order for responsible FUL ownership in public?

I have said it before…we need to fix the TTPS first before mass FUL approvals.

Postby pugboy » May 29th, 2025, 5:54 pm

Max,
you have a point but at this stage ppl need to not be a sitting duck
it is every man for himself

Postby 88sins » May 29th, 2025, 5:55 pm

pugboy wrote:good article

So he thinks it will be "every man for himself"
Apparently he didn't get the memo, it's already that way, with most men unarmed and simply waiting to see if/when they get taken, and damn near every criminal armed to the teeth and can choose their next victim at leisure

Postby sMASH » May 29th, 2025, 8:13 pm

Any one has stats that FUL civilians are a great hazard to tnt to date ?

I know I keep posting situations where civilian FUL deterred and reduced crime in this here thread . Jess hadda keep going back and story after story where FUL's salvaged the day.

I support more FUL's .

Carpenter, Carpenter how do u do,
Make me a coffin, saddle up to make a few

Postby sMASH » May 29th, 2025, 8:15 pm

redmanjp wrote:^i think the terms of the FUL can differ depending on the applicant's risk level. an ordinary person who wants a gun for home protection should be able to get 1 but it would be limited to their premises. persons who want to carry should have more pressing reasons e.g. they have been receiving death threats or have already been victims of crime especially business ppl.

red,

Excellent suggestion, and we also mentioned this earlier.

NO personal carry, only to be used at home.
One can be robbed in public too, even in ur vehicle at a traffic light .

Victim mind set

Postby 16 cycles » May 30th, 2025, 8:11 am

alfa wrote:So hear this. Was reading on a firearms page on FB some years ago that prior to 1970, anyone in Trinidad could have owned a shotgun. After purchase the owner of the store was required to write the commissioner informing him that John doe had just purchased a shotgun with serial number....

I know old timers who have legal shotguns from donkey years so they were probably part of that era.
And they're weren't any mass shootings, domestic violence general jackassery etc.

I believe if that is brought back to facilitate home defense shotguns not to leave the premises we could maintain a similar standard

There was a mechanism for agricultural land owners to own shotguns...more than one....that would have been incorporated into the FuL application process when it was implemented.

Basically register it at local TTPS station...could lodge it for keeping etc.

As the law changed, could not pass guns down to adult children without them applying for FuLs through the corrupt process. Guns had to be given up and melted/destroyed.

Newer generation of land owners had to salt, predial larceny, pest control etc were made more difficult.

Postby pugboy » May 30th, 2025, 8:40 am

hunting use was given easier access to shotguns back in the day too
also after one of the coup attempts 1970 or 1990
they put in stupid stipulation that pellet guns must be smoothbore and no more air pistols
dunno which bright spark ag idea that was

Postby alfa » May 30th, 2025, 9:42 am

1990 was done with illegal guns and 1970 with state owned guns.

Trinidad mentality is to just restrict everything without attacking the root cause, hoping it'll prevent reoccurrence

Postby hover11 » May 30th, 2025, 10:11 am

Question if everybody was armed would business owners still have need for security companies and their hefty packages such as the Syrian owned one in particular that is the second largest employer in this country?

Postby alfa » May 30th, 2025, 10:13 am

You make a good point there hooves.
Never thought about that

Postby pugboy » May 30th, 2025, 10:15 am

there would still be crime but a level or two down

Postby hover11 » May 30th, 2025, 10:22 am

I keep telling allya I watching this from a rich must get richer perspective ever since I heard those words my whole perspective of this country changed I now understand why the status quo remained the same