the right to bear arms

Re: the right to bear arms

Postby hover11 » May 19th, 2025, 3:43 pm

MaxPower wrote:The majority of Trinis are too lawless and irresponsible.

Too many Trinis with FULs is a problem, they like to jackass everything.

We should be focusing on improving the TTPS.
Too many trinis with FUL is a problem , too many trinis without FULs is a problem...cant win

i_code_and_stuff

Postby i_code_and_stuff » May 19th, 2025, 3:46 pm

hover11 wrote:

Too many trinis with FUL is a problem , too many trinis without FULs is a problem...cant win

for once, you making sense.

people have to get rid of this idea that we will find some perfect solution that has no downsides. those people need to quit being so idealistic and accept that the status quo cannot be allowed to continue. we have to try something else (edit: something else drastic enough to make a swing in favor of the average citizen). will that something else be worse than our current situation? no one can predict that, but we have to be rtarded to sit here and do nothing

Postby pugboy » May 19th, 2025, 5:25 pm

heinz wish was that nobody except bandits have firearms

i_code_and_stuff wrote:
hover11 wrote:

for once, you making sense.

people have to get rid of this idea that we will find some perfect solution that has no downsides. those people need to quit being so idealistic and accept that the status quo cannot be allowed to continue. we have to try something else (edit: something else drastic enough to make a swing in favor of the average citizen). will that something else be worse than our current situation? no one can predict that, but we have to be rtarded to sit here and do nothing

Postby 88sins » May 19th, 2025, 5:43 pm

pugboy wrote:heinz wish was that nobody except bandits have firearms

criminals and idiots tend to support their own, and he's blessed with the fortune of being both simultaneously.
I'll give him one thing tho
His incompetence is consistent

Postby pugboy » May 19th, 2025, 6:17 pm

the correct term was he was competently incompetent

pugboy wrote:heinz wish was that nobody except bandits have firearms

criminals and idiots tend to support their own, and he's blessed with the fortune of being both simultaneously.
I'll give him one thing tho
His incompetence is consistent

Postby alfa » May 27th, 2025, 7:33 am

So how this working with kamla plans to give more firearms to citizens?

Postby pugboy » May 27th, 2025, 8:12 am

it ain’t
she may have to start interfering with the existing process like how heinz and rowlee were except in the opposite direction
until they pass legislation to overhaul the whole
process

alfa wrote:So how this working with kamla plans to give more firearms to citizens?

Postby alfa » May 27th, 2025, 12:00 pm

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/ag-stan ... a22738e144
Stand yuh ground may be coming in later this year

Postby pugboy » May 27th, 2025, 12:28 pm

so what ppl gonna use to defend their property with if they doh have ful?

Postby alfa » May 27th, 2025, 12:33 pm

I hoping that launches simultaneously, only way for it to make sense

Postby MaxPower » May 27th, 2025, 1:38 pm

alfa wrote:https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/ag-standyourground-legislation-coming-to-parliament-after-midyear-budget-review-6.2.2317588.a22738e144
Stand yuh ground may be coming in later this year

It may not be the stand your ground laws everyone excited about.

Kamz has gaslighted the population and many are eager to empty d clip on a mango tief and walk away squeaky clean…..it may not be that easy

Postby 16 cycles » May 27th, 2025, 3:55 pm

It should never be that easy nor should someone think they have a right to enter your premisses.

Postby 88sins » May 27th, 2025, 5:59 pm

Question for the thinkers, and the non-thinkers too.

If you are not legally bound with some form of duty to retreat legislation, do you think you need stand your ground legislation to be allowed to defend yourself and your family in your own house from an assailant?

If your answer is yes, say why.

Postby pugboy » May 27th, 2025, 7:15 pm

you have to weight the options of what you can do based on what the intruder presents themselves as
intruders will always use the rowlee excuse of coming for mangoes even if they fully equipped for murder and home invasion
yet you can’t do anything unless it is in a situation where your life is in imminent danger as the cops like to say
so in short you have to wait to see what the intruder does before you can decide what you can or cannot do

88sins wrote:Question for the thinkers, and the non-thinkers too.

If you are not legally bound with some form of duty to retreat legislation, do you think you need stand your ground legislation to be allowed to defend yourself and your family in your own house from an assailant?

Postby redmanjp » May 28th, 2025, 2:36 pm

4 years jail for protecting family who suffered multiple home invasions including 1 armed robbery

https://newsday.co.tt/2025/05/28/gasparillo-businessman-gets-four-years-for-illegal-gun-to-protect-family/

better judged by 12 than carried by 6?

Postby pugboy » May 28th, 2025, 2:41 pm

steups judge say she was a victim of robbery
them have taxpayer provided security wscort

Postby redmanjp » May 28th, 2025, 3:04 pm

and with this conviction he eh getting no FUL when he come out :roll:

Postby mero » May 28th, 2025, 3:36 pm

Yea, but why you being seen with the firearm for ppl to call police on you? Now you inside and can't do one fk

Same thing I saying, soon as men get gun, dey brandishing the thing all over the place.

Postby hover11 » May 28th, 2025, 5:16 pm

When i tell you the law is an ass....
redmanjp wrote:4 years jail for protecting family who suffered multiple home invasions including 1 armed robbery

https://newsday.co.tt/2025/05/28/gasparillo-businessman-gets-four-years-for-illegal-gun-to-protect-family/

better judged by 12 than carried by 6?

Postby MaxPower » May 28th, 2025, 5:45 pm

mero wrote:Yea, but why you being seen with the firearm for ppl to call police on you? Now you inside and can't do one fk

Same thing I saying, soon as men get gun, dey brandishing the thing all over the place.

X3000.

Too many Trinis should not have easy access to legal firearms.

We should be focusing on proper policing. More mobile police stations in hotspot areas with direct communication with residents and panic buttons, more vehicles patrolling, more equipment, more training, more drones, more surveillance.

Postby redmanjp » May 28th, 2025, 5:58 pm

that ain't happening. besides, even in 1st world USA, the police not faster than a speeding bullet. yes, we need only responsible law abiding citizens to have legal firearms.

as for brandishing- if there were ppl around wanting to pounce on him and rob him or somebody else, what he supposed to do? the article says they get rob/thief several times including once at gunpoint.

what would a FUL holder do? not show their firearm as a warning? he should have applied for a FUL yes, but maybe he did and was waiting years.

Postby pugboy » May 28th, 2025, 5:59 pm

4years seems long
i think the laventille youths does get much less
usually a fine

Postby MaxPower » May 28th, 2025, 6:21 pm

redmanjp wrote:
what would a FUL holder do?

Light dem up
Load up d matic
Empty d clip
Brandishing in public/social media
Firearm hanging on a tree in Caura/Beach/Fete
Reckless discharge in public
Suicide
Domestic violence/murder
Firearm printing through clothes(ranking ting)
Firearm in school bags
Lack of consistent training
Poor situational awareness
Road rage
Increase in theft
Etc

T&T’s culture and FUL cannot mix.

Postby pugboy » May 28th, 2025, 6:34 pm

chirren playing with machine guns in cumuto

redmanjp wrote:
what would a FUL holder do?

Light dem up
Load up d matic
Empty d clip
Brandishing in public/social media
Firearm hanging on a tree in Caura/Beach/Fete
Reckless discharge in public
Suicide
Domestic violence/murder
Firearm printing through clothes(ranking ting)
Firearm in school bags
Lack of consistent training
Poor situational awareness
Road rage
Increase in theft
Etc

T&T’s culture and FUL cannot mix.

Postby 88sins » May 28th, 2025, 7:08 pm

pugboy wrote:you have to weight the options of what you can do based on what the intruder presents themselves as
intruders will always use the rowlee excuse of coming for mangoes even if they fully equipped for murder and home invasion
yet you can’t do anything unless it is in a situation where your life is in imminent danger as the cops like to say
so in short you have to wait to see what the intruder does before you can decide what you can or cannot do

That's not really relevant to the question, but I see your point.
Thing is, as it stands now, you have no mandatory legal duty to retreat.
So why do these people think we need stand your ground legislation?

Postby alfa » May 28th, 2025, 7:10 pm

redmanjp wrote:that ain't happening. besides, even in 1st world USA, the police not faster than a speeding bullet. yes, we need only responsible law abiding citizens to have legal firearms.

as for brandishing- if there were ppl around wanting to pounce on him and rob him or somebody else, what he supposed to do? the article says they get rob/thief several times including once at gunpoint.

what would a FUL holder do? not show their firearm as a warning? he should have applied for a FUL yes, but maybe he did and was waiting years.

The article says he was seen with a firearm at Warren road, it sounds like he was actually brandishing in the road. Firearms aren't for scaring off people especially am illegal one.
Not giving ideas but he shoulda kept that at home, if he used it on someone and they ran off, say they fired off a shot and you raised an alarm (raise an actual alarm with a siren etc) and they ran off. If he croaks say it was his and you turned the tables and used it on him.
Local ttps/CSI not good enough to prove otherwise

Postby alfa » May 28th, 2025, 7:47 pm

pugboy wrote:you have to weight the options of what you can do based on what the intruder presents themselves as

That's not really relevant to the question, but I see your point.
Thing is, as it stands now, you have no mandatory legal duty to retreat.
So why do these people think we need stand your ground legislation?

I feel Kamla herself mixing up the terms and probably mean to say Castle doctrine. However seeing that is an American statute we can adopt it put whatever name to it that the lawmakers want, including stand your ground

Postby 16 cycles » May 28th, 2025, 8:11 pm

+1 for castle doctrine...

pause on the stand your ground or roll that out later once you gather data on castle doctrine after a while

Postby 16 cycles » May 28th, 2025, 8:22 pm

That judge is an idiot.

TTPS failed that person and the judicial process failed to account for the person's circumstance.

Should have reprimanded with a bond or some instrument to keep the peace recognizing his trauma and ordered him to apply for FuL and TTPS to evaluate his case after physcological clearance.

Postby j.o.e » May 28th, 2025, 9:34 pm

You only pull out your legal firearm with the intention of using it and his own wasn’t legal. Basically he’s a Kant