Reopening Beaches, Bars, Restaurants, Gyms & Cinemas in T&T

Re: Reopening Bars, Restaurants, Gyms & Cinemas in T&T - The new normal

Postby maj. tom » June 27th, 2020, 3:20 pm

Rovin wrote:
pugboy wrote:isn’t the mabel label with a colored lady racist just like the aunt jemina pancake syrup ?

i dont follow d whole race thing in d usa so ppl hadda excuse me for sounding like i live under a rock cause i had to google what u posted , always learn some thing new yes , didnt know about this issue

while reading this jemina thing i also learn another thing about d word "mammy"

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mammy_arc ... characters
A mammy, also spelled mammie,[2] is a U.S. stereotype, especially in the South, for a black woman who worked in a white family and nursed the family's children.[3] The mammy figure is rooted in the history of slavery in the United States. Enslaved black women were tasked with domestic and childcare work in white American enslaver households.

since i born i calling my indian mother mammy , didnt have a clue until today d word cud mean something else in another mans land .... :shock:

so i guess u do have point with d mabel lady on local products , all who heading by QPS to protest ? .... :| :| :|

Watch the 1940s Tom & Jerry. You may see it differently now when Mammy dealing with Thomas.
Episodes like "Saturday Evening Puss" or "A Mouse in the House." There's one called "His Mouse Friday" which they had stopped airing on TV because it was very racist. Don't get me wrong eh, T&J real funny, legendary, will never age and i love the classic golden age of Hollywood animation of that cartoon. But context has to be understood in its time, especially an episode like "Saturday Evening Puss" when segregation was the unspoken reality that they could not portray there. Black people had to go to their separate cinemas and clubs, and the jazz music, etc.

The later episodes in the early 60's and beyond changed it to a white suburban family who had a cat and a dog. At that time the Civil Rights Movement was stirring up real thick in the USA.

Postby Rovin » June 27th, 2020, 4:10 pm

wow how strange eh even with cartoons one has to be "politically correct"

as trini kids growing up these kinda things never even entered our minds , we only studying d kix in T&J , nowadays everything seem to cause ah scene ... :|

Reopening Bars, Restaurants, Gyms & Cinemas in T&T - The new normal

Postby MaxPower » June 27th, 2020, 4:46 pm

I hope they looking into movies about black on white as well.

Remember is equality.

We moving closer and closer to some serious law suits.....love it.

ScHoolboySoloQ

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » June 27th, 2020, 5:19 pm

Those in the LGBT community love to preach about peace and equality but they themselves have the most hate bottled up.

Postby The_Honourable » June 27th, 2020, 9:08 pm

aye aye aye... behave allyuh self

Bars and Borders

Prime Minister Dr the Hon Keith Rowley said today that he will be forced to close bars by Monday if the reports coming to him within the next 48 hours indicate that bar owners and patrons are not following the guidelines of the public health regulations.

Postby MaxPower » June 27th, 2020, 10:53 pm

The_Honourable wrote:aye aye aye... behave allyuh self

Bars and Borders

Prime Minister Dr the Hon Keith Rowley said today that he will be forced to close bars by Monday if the reports coming to him within the next 48 hours indicate that bar owners and patrons are not following the guidelines of the public health regulations.

Hmmmm

So he wants us to follow the leading examples from patrons at doubles vendors and the markets?

Postby Ben_spanna » June 27th, 2020, 11:04 pm

Rovin wrote:wow how strange eh even with cartoons one has to be "politically correct"

as trini kids growing up these kinda things never even entered our minds , we only studying d kix in T&J , nowadays everything seem to cause ah scene ... :|

Just be yourself, don’t change to suit others, speak your mind stick to your values and fvck anyone who disagrees with you.... just continue with our caribbbean how it’s always been.. all of these friking idiotic groups that want to demand rights just like it the USA can go to hell, if you like that sh1t so much then migrate and to demand your stupid rights there. 0X

Postby paid_influencer » June 27th, 2020, 11:05 pm

hearing a big house party / fete right now (11pm).. men think Public Health Regulations not in effect anymore.

Rowley need to re-establish order before this thing get out of control.
Last edited by paid_influencer on June 27th, 2020, 11:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 27th, 2020, 11:06 pm

The_Honourable wrote:aye aye aye... behave allyuh self

Bars and Borders

Hmmmm

So he wants us to follow the leading examples from patrons at doubles vendors and the markets?

Hmm interesting that the avenue and one wood brook bars and restaurants had rel ppl liming after 10 despite the places being 'closed'. Are bars and restaurants supposed to run you out at 10?

Postby Ben_spanna » June 27th, 2020, 11:11 pm

I say, close down the bars again, it’s blatantly obvious that Trinidadians can not be entrusted with any form of responsibility, if you have to drink then stay in yuh own damn house and drink...

Postby paid_influencer » June 27th, 2020, 11:25 pm

I watch the video... Rowley not blowing smoke. Them fellas who think is Carnival time come back again going to get we in trouble.

Close ALL Bars NOW !

Postby RedVEVO » June 28th, 2020, 9:07 am

Why T&T waiting for Corvid 19 massive resurgence ?

Why do bars need to be open ?

Drink @ home .

ALL BARS ARE NOT FOLLOWING PROTOCOL .

NOBODY WEARING MASKS in BARS - PASS A LAW THAT REQUIRES WEARING A MASK NOW

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 0c8f6.html

Cantmis

Re: Close ALL Bars NOW !

Postby Cantmis » June 28th, 2020, 9:09 am

Syrians looking to monopolize bars

Postby zoom rader » June 28th, 2020, 9:10 am

Cantmis wrote:Syrians looking to monopolize bars
Bars or Rum shops?

Postby RedVEVO » June 28th, 2020, 9:20 am

Cantmis wrote:Syrians looking to monopolize bars

They DO NOT own bars ..

They own Malls and Car Dealerships

And the alcohol .

And Gov't.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » June 28th, 2020, 10:10 am

How could their be a massive resurgence in covid when all cases are supposedly imported and they all being screened at the borders... the government is not telling us something

Postby RedVEVO » June 28th, 2020, 10:20 am

elec2020 wrote:How could their be a massive resurgence in covid when all cases are supposedly imported and they all being screened at the borders... the government is not telling us something

Finally !! :D :D :D

A thinking person .

Look at the stats .. The Health Ministry Statistics .

There are 4,000 people PLUS whose tests were "questionable " then sent to the Health Department -

Wherever this place exist :roll:

And T&T people GET NO MORE INFORMATION ABOUT THESE 4,000 PEOPLE ..

Where are the test results ?

Eh Dey Dey ..
Last edited by RedVEVO on June 28th, 2020, 10:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

eitech

Postby eitech » June 28th, 2020, 10:20 am

elec2020 wrote:How could their be a massive resurgence in covid when all cases are supposedly imported and they all being screened at the borders... the government is not telling us something

How many positive cases will it take for a “massive resurgence” to occur?
And, if all our reported cases are imported and quarantined, are you willing to fully open up the country minus the boarders? Are you willing to take that chance?

Postby RedVEVO » June 28th, 2020, 10:22 am

eitech wrote:

And, if all our reported cases are imported and quarantined, are you willing to fully open up the country minus the boarders? Are you willing to take that chance?

Another thinking person :D :D

Finally !! :D :D :D

A thinking person .

Look at the stats .. The Health Ministry Statistics .

There are 4,000 people PLUS whose tests were "questionable " then sent to the Health Department -

Wherever this place exist :roll:

And T&T people GET NO MORE INFORMATION ABOUT THESE 4,000 PEOPLE ..

Where are the test results ?

Hwells

Postby Hwells » June 28th, 2020, 10:27 am

4000 tests with a population of 1.5mill (trini+venes+carcicom+others) over the course of 4 months. total lack of adequate testing to make any reliable inference of how serious is the situation. going on vaps on whether people dropping down and dieing.

Postby paid_influencer » June 28th, 2020, 10:31 am

the border with Venezuela was never closed. Just on news a few days ago I hearing about tainted goat meat that came from the mainland. If goats and all coming, how much people still getting through on a daily basis?

and these venes on the boat today and in the bar tomorrow. Extended physical contact, no regulation, people hiding and ducking from authorities. It is a perfect storm to bring the virus here.

and some of these bars and clubs can't even comply with basic regulations. Law says to close 10pm, and up till midnight last night a "private event" had music playing music hard for everybody to hear. Boldface breaking the law. Shut them skunt down before we have to lockdown the whole country again.
Last edited by paid_influencer on June 28th, 2020, 10:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » June 28th, 2020, 10:31 am

eitech wrote:

I find it strange that caribbean countries have the lowest cases globally... well its not like the caribbean is teeming with corrupt politicians willing to bend the facts to suit their agendas

Postby aaron17 » June 28th, 2020, 10:51 am

RedVEVO wrote:Why T&T waiting for Corvid 19 massive resurgence ?

Why do bars need to be open ?

Drink @ home .

ALL BARS ARE NOT FOLLOWING PROTOCOL .

NOBODY WEARING MASKS in BARS - PASS A LAW THAT REQUIRES WEARING A MASK NOW

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 0c8f6.html
Don't worry...within 48 hrs they will make that decison.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 28th, 2020, 11:21 am

elec2020 wrote:
eitech wrote:

I find it strange that caribbean countries have the lowest cases globally... well its not like the caribbean is teeming with corrupt politicians willing to bend the facts to suit their agendas

Yes because the Caribbean is the only place with corrupt politicians.

You all need to understand that the Caribbean was lucky for many reasons we generally don't have that much visitors and the peak of the tourism season was right before Covid took a foothold in most first world countries.

Covid takes a while to build up before seeing exponential growth. If there were never much cases to begin with, it can simmer and spread to a handful of people but not much more because.....the region closed borders and locked down just in time.

The Caribbean is one of the few regions (minus Haiti, Jamaica and DR) that got it mostly right.

Doesn't mean we're safe but it does mean that right now, it's very unlikely we have any Covid cases around locally. Again not impossible, but please remember we are in a good position because of the effectiveness of our lockdowns.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » June 28th, 2020, 11:45 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
eitech wrote:

You all need to understand that the Caribbean was lucky for many reasons we generally don't have that much visitors and the peak of the tourism season was right before Covid took a foothold in most first world countries.

Covid takes a while to build up before seeing exponential growth. If there were never much cases to begin with, it can simmer and spread to a handful of people but not much more because.....the region closed borders and locked down just in time.

The Caribbean is one of the few regions (minus Haiti, Jamaica and DR) that got it mostly right.

Doesn't mean we're safe but it does mean that right now, it's very unlikely we have any Covid cases around locally. Again not impossible, but please remember we are in a good position because of the effectiveness of our lockdowns.

I will admit we got lucky as, as u said, covid was not rampant as it is now and we have implemented stiff lockdowns... still... given how close our communities are it is surprising how (i think) no single caribbean countty has had 1000s cases as yet... somethkng seem fishy there imo... and the caribbean is one of the most corrupt regions in the world... case in point almost have of the members of caricom always on some tax evavision or monry laundering list... further... in several article iv consultation reports (imf country reports) the imf subtly questions the quality of data from caribbean countries... so u telling me that for years nows it is believed that these countries economic data is flawed... but their statistics on covid infections... that accurate... sure

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 28th, 2020, 1:10 pm

elec2020 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
eitech wrote:

I will admit we got lucky as, as u said, covid was not rampant as it is now and we have implemented stiff lockdowns... still... given how close our communities are it is surprising how (i think) no single caribbean countty has had 1000s cases as yet... somethkng seem fishy there imo... and the caribbean is one of the most corrupt regions in the world... case in point almost have of the members of caricom always on some tax evavision or monry laundering list... further... in several article iv consultation reports (imf country reports) the imf subtly questions the quality of data from caribbean countries... so u telling me that for years nows it is believed that these countries economic data is flawed... but their statistics on covid infections... that accurate... sure

There is no real incentive to lie though, you will just be creating a bigger problem later on.

All Caribbean territories took Covid seriously so far and we are far from the only places that have somewhat contained it, many other smaller territories have done so as well.

I will admit Trinidad has severely under tested, but if there were cases they would have been found by now.

Also, Haiti and Jamaica still have lots of cases, why aren't they hiding it but other regions are?

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » June 28th, 2020, 1:14 pm

No incentive to lie? If the population believes u have controlled the virus u will win the next elections... hands down... if the virus spiked and resulted in a substantial loss of life during your purview u most likely will lose the elections... their is alot at stake for politicians here... so it is not farfetched that some will pretty up the numbers to suit their agendas... also jamaica has a population of over 2 million but just under 700 cases? Well not like jamaica is known for corrupted politicians... sure thise numbers 100 per cent accurate

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 28th, 2020, 1:37 pm

elec2020 wrote:No incentive to lie? If the population believes u have controlled the virus u will win the next elections... hands down... if the virus spiked and resulted in a substantial loss of life during your purview u most likely will lose the elections... their is alot at stake for politicians here... so it is not farfetched that some will pretty up the numbers to suit their agendas... also jamaica has a population of over 2 million but just under 700 cases? Well not like jamaica is known for corrupted politicians... sure thise numbers 100 per cent accurate

Yes but do you realize the risk at being exposed like that? You will lose elections in a heart beat if the opposition finds out.

And ofc those countries have more cases, every anti body testing of large sample sizes reveal that actual numbers are 5 to 20x the actual confirmed tested cases.

My point is though, at this.point, especially in Trinidad, we've seen no evidence of community spread. I was almost sure we would by now but it seems our local health staff and government did a good job.

We are in a good position compared to most of the word.

Postby RedVEVO » June 28th, 2020, 2:30 pm

elec2020 wrote:No incentive to lie? If the population believes u have controlled the virus u will win the next elections... hands down... if the virus spiked and resulted in a substantial loss of life during your purview u most likely will lose the elections... their is alot at stake for politicians here... so it is not farfetched that some will pretty up the numbers to suit their agendas... also jamaica has a population of over 2 million but just under 700 cases? Well not like jamaica is known for corrupted politicians... sure thise numbers 100 per cent accurate

Agree ..

Today everybody :D :D waking up :D :D

People lie to impose a control :roll: :roll:

abducted

Postby abducted » June 28th, 2020, 2:31 pm

elec2020 wrote:No incentive to lie? If the population believes u have controlled the virus u will win the next elections... hands down...

No, the population believes the virus is a non issue and is not a threat, "it have no virus here", they also have a short memory so they will not remember who controlled the virus in the early stages, they will quicker attribute our good position to "God is a Trini" rather than to effective measures taken. If Americans will still vote for Trump after the sh!t-show that's going on there with cases, what makes you think Trinis will vote based on Gov't reaction to a virus they feel does not exist here?