redmanjp wrote:trinsimon wrote:toyolink wrote:People unfortunately need to have their behaviours governed-this is clearly apparent.The police which as an institution is vested with the responsibility and authority to take ownership of the roads continue to not do so.I am confident if there is a high police road patrol presence people would adjust their behaviours.However,the paradox appears to be that the police as an institution is staffed and managed by individuals who in the most refuse or are unwilling to see their role as being protectors of the citizens.We have not as yet produced a police service which is passionate and deeply commited "TO PROTECT AND SERVE".Look at other effective police services world wide and observe how officers view their role and the firmness exhibited.Anybody who have had a run-in with the US state-trooper or inter city patrol car will understand.By the way all police institutions have a serious problem with renumeration.....but when the cops are on the ground is serious business.I will admit that what appears to be going in T&T is survival of the fittest surrounded by a bunch or rhetoric and hot air.I probably would have to seriously consider investing in appropriate crash helmet,upgrade seat belt restraints and reinforcement of key impact points on my vehicle.
Less than 20000 police officers in Trinidad and Tobago, to "Protect and Serve" over 1.5million people in Trinidad and Tobago. Bear in mind, out of those 20000, they're divided into different divisions, squads/units, which hold responsibility for various crimes..so simply put, there are probably 2000-3000 highway patrol officers. Now, out of those 3000 highway patrol officers, there are a few hundred police vehicles to be used for highway patrol and at the same time, hundreds of thousands of motorists to "Protect and Serve".. So really and truly, how much of the blame do u think the TTPS really deserves? On top of it, it's a ridiculous thing to compare our Highway Patrol to the US State Troopers, especially after i just quoted you those figures. Every single trinidadian needs to be held accountable for his/her actions.Lack of Discipline and Maturity on the nation's roads are more of a culprit than the TTPS.
WRT everyone saying alot of trinis speeding.. above what speed is considered speeding?
that would be above 80k/hr highway (50 city) wouldn't it? btw i doh think we even have 10000 police officers in t&t- i suspect its more like 6k- but considering all the crime & lawlessness it should have at least 10k
pioneer wrote:I jus wish people could use paragraph's when typing?
geez
pioneer wrote:I jus wish people could use paragraph's when typing?
trinsimon wrote:
We have more than 10000..Im including SRPs btw. The badge numbers are now at 19000 or 20000 if im not mistaken.
rollingstock wrote:trinsimon wrote:
We have more than 10000..Im including SRPs btw. The badge numbers are now at 19000 or 20000 if im not mistaken.
What?
There's approximately 5,800 police officers on active duty, and that includes all ranks. Regimental (badge) #'s were issued since colonial time and are not duplicated.
rollingstock wrote:^^^ You would see that i typed active duty, the present strength is 6724, but minus the officers on extended vacation, sick, administrative leave, those on pre-retirement you're left with the figure i stated but that still does not take into account those on short vacation, sick or duty leave and the officers that have abandoned the service. What you're left with is a bare skeletal strength.