Postby UML » November 19th, 2008, 7:30 am

noobie wrote:
Mini wrote:
i don't get it...

the maintenance of drains? the approvals for developments?

The Government.

government is not only comprised of the members of parliament... but of the workers in town and country, drainage, works, the regional corps, the port of spain corp, the ODPM, etc. You can't blame one party and it's policies.

Then those people not doing their jobs are supposed to be monitored and disciplined. This is why we pay taxes, so that the infrastructure is maintained.

EVERY citizen in this country who built illegally, squatted, bribed a government official to get plans passed, has a business in a residential area, littered (even if it's a KFC box or a 20oz soft drink bottle), didn't dispose of garbage properly, backfilled land without permission, etc. is to blame for the floods.

Who did they bribe? Public Service i.e. Government officials.
Who did not go to move the squatters and were not monitoring that situation ? The Police Service and town and country i.e. Government.

Who did not issue a ticket when they saw someone littering? Police Service i.e. Government.

Who has not launched a concerted and sustained public awareness campaign on littering and the resulting flooding etc. to educate the illiterate and ignorant masses? Government.

Who has built massive housing developments on agricultural lands without first improving infrastructure? Government.

Who has built multi storey high rises in port of spain without seeing first to infrastructure? Government.

We elect a Government to take care of Governing the country through the institutions put in place. Unless you are going to assert that a Government is irrelevant and it is actually Town and Country, and Citizens who are setting policy, enforcing policy, and running the country.

When laws are not enforced by the police service, Government has a role to play.

When officials are bribed in Town and Country, Government has a role to play.

Time to stop passing the buck...

Indeed, time for accountability.

And that is where CITIZENS come in.

BUT..

UML wrote:LONG LIVE THE PNM...........IT SHALL PREVAIL!!!

fixed

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » November 19th, 2008, 7:30 am

so -bushman-, hotgyul have bush to cut? :? or the lawn cut?

-bushman-
Location: trying to drown a goldfish in an aquarium full of water

Postby -bushman- » November 19th, 2008, 7:36 am

I not sure yet, if it hav flood today you will recieve confirmation :mrgreen:

if not jus pm honda hoe :lol:

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 19th, 2008, 7:39 am

hottgyul wrote:-bushman- aint even buy no food for meh yesterday.

i never see flood like that in all meh sixteen years... :? :?

i never see flood full stop

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: : :shock:

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » November 19th, 2008, 7:42 am

-bushman- wrote:I not sure yet, if it hav flood today you will recieve confirmation :mrgreen:

when i came by my desk i see she skirt roll up and u was licking yuh fingers :?

Postby mitsu_chick941 » November 19th, 2008, 7:46 am

oh my god..........allyuh nasty

-bushman-,dat fries was crappy

-bushman-

Postby -bushman- » November 19th, 2008, 7:47 am

BlueIce wrote:
-bushman- wrote:I not sure yet, if it hav flood today you will recieve confirmation :mrgreen:

when i came by my desk i see she skirt roll up and u was licking yuh fingers :?

god alone knows what else I was licking wen you werent there

hottgyul it was you who wanted those fries eh, I woulda go kfc & done.

Swifted

Postby Swifted » November 19th, 2008, 7:53 am

Mini wrote:
UML wrote:I hope all those public servants were chanting (as they walked through the flood waters)....... LONG LIVE THE PNM...........IT SHALL PREVAIL!!!

i don't get it...

who is responsible for the rain? the maintenance of drains? the approvals for developments?

government is not only comprised of the members of parliament... but of the workers in town and country, drainage, works, the regional corps, the port of spain corp, the ODPM, etc. You can't blame one party and it's policies.

EVERY citizen in this country who built illegally, squatted, bribed a government official to get plans passed, has a business in a residential area, littered (even if it's a KFC box or a 20oz soft drink bottle), didn't dispose of garbage properly, backfilled land without permission, etc. is to blame for the floods.

You narrow minded approach won't get us anywhere... everybody of every race, social background, status, sex, age, political affiliation was affected by yesterday. Didn't matter if yuh was from the east from the west, drove a cortina or a benz... wore a suit or a coverall... yuh felt it yesterday...

If everybody thinks like you.. then today and tomorrow we'd be in the same position

For Real!! It's the Trini Culture to criticize and make pecong.

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » November 19th, 2008, 7:58 am

I reach home 8pm , I left 5:41pm walked up tragarete road till by woodyou where a friend picked me up . Got a drop till UWI ... Travell frm there this morning walking up my street and it dead quiet I'm just praying rain don't fall as much again today ..

Guys thanks alot for the updates

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » November 19th, 2008, 7:59 am

hottgyul wrote:-bushman-,dat fries was crappy

so he was licking yuh box and you found his "fry" to be crappy?

my word :?

-bushman-

Postby -bushman- » November 19th, 2008, 8:00 am

BlueIce wrote:

licking wah box, you eh see ah man was eating "burgers" oh wah :lol:

Postby UML » November 19th, 2008, 8:07 am

Swifted, idiot # 3 :roll:

Postby ronsin1 » November 19th, 2008, 8:10 am

UML wrote:Swifted, idiot # 3 :roll:

sure and you are the only sane one that can see the bigger picture

you sir are a boss :roll:

Postby mitsu_chick941 » November 19th, 2008, 8:28 am

BlueIce wrote:

BlueIce,your cubicle aint big enough for all dat action. :?

Burnzy

Postby Burnzy » November 19th, 2008, 8:33 am

What is the weather like in POS now?

-bushman-

Postby -bushman- » November 19th, 2008, 8:37 am

Bushman wrote:but allya like it so ent

plz be advised:

-bushman- & Bushman are in no way affiliated

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » November 19th, 2008, 8:37 am

hottgyul wrote:
BlueIce wrote:

bushman say he has experience playing in small box

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 19th, 2008, 8:38 am

Mini wrote:
UML wrote:I hope all those public servants were chanting (as they walked through the flood waters)....... LONG LIVE THE PNM...........IT SHALL PREVAIL!!!

i don't get it...

who is responsible for the rain? the maintenance of drains? the approvals for developments?

You narrow minded approach won't get us anywhere... everybody of every race, social background, status, sex, age, political affiliation was affected by yesterday. Didn't matter if yuh was from the east from the west, drove a cortina or a benz... wore a suit or a coverall... yuh felt it yesterday...

If everybody thinks like you.. then today and tomorrow we'd be in the same position

I agree with Mini partially. Mini what you are saying can also be applied to the crime/gang/drug situation.

However what happened yesterday was mostly poor mismanagement on the part of the ruling PNM party.

The population of Trinidad & Tobago has remained more or less the same in the past 20 years - our birth/mortality rate is about the same. Since the 1980's I believe there has been much improvement in environmental awareness through basic school education and mass media. This can also be extended to our knowledge in personal health and hygiene.

Of course there will always be the exceptions. They will be people to litter and dump.

That is where our authorities come in. There are laws that are not being enforced and you see that for yourself. And if everyone knows they will not be charged they will continue to do it on a larger scale. Others who would not normally break the laws will follow.

This is where the government comes in. To develop modern laws and have then enforced through the ministry of national security and through the police service, fire services etc.

No one can prevent natural disasters.

The ODPM boast to be under the Ministry of National Security. Yet I did not see any army trucks helping out the stranding traveling public and ferrying them to safer grounds or out of POS. There were no real shelters set up. No loud speaker systems giving updates. No non-stop updates on the television station. No small boats patrolling the streets-turned-rivers and blocks-turned-lakes. No health mobile units and officials to give assistance.

The ODPM has failed yet again. The Ministry of Works, Transport, Health and National Security has failed again.

The government has fail again.

Postby Dave » November 19th, 2008, 8:42 am

All gov't's failed, they keep placing a bandage over the wound instead of ensuring the hemoraging(sp) stops.

Trinidad is slowly falling apart, Hills coming down, streets being submerged and safely we can say it only gets worse.

Postby Team Loco » November 19th, 2008, 8:43 am

Well lets all just continue to buy bottled water so we could flood up port of spain. chupid trinis. we responsible! everyday we litter, everyday we eat ah bbq and throw d box in the drain, we pee on the side of the road, we build houses on hillsides. we as a people have failed the environment.

BUT WE BLAME THE GOVERNMENT?

ha!

-bushman-

Postby -bushman- » November 19th, 2008, 8:44 am

BlueIce wrote:
hottgyul wrote:
BlueIce wrote:

bushman say he has experience playing in small box

I hav experienced on many occasions gettin my pole tip damaged from trying to chook in hole that too small.....

buh hottgyul is a slim ting, you know they say skinny ting does be deep so I wearing my life jacket to make sure me eh drown.

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » November 19th, 2008, 8:44 am

Team Loco wrote:Well lets all just continue to buy bottled water so we could flood up port of spain. chupid trinis. we responsible! everyday we litter, everyday we eat ah bbq and throw d box in the drain, we pee on the side of the road, we build houses on hillsides. we as a people have failed the environment.

BUT WE BLAME THE GOVERNMENT?

ha!

dat is why it flooding so....

-bushman-

Postby -bushman- » November 19th, 2008, 8:45 am

Chigga wrote:What is the weather like in POS now?

by me hav spotted skies, downtown looking a bit more cloudy.

urabus

Postby urabus » November 19th, 2008, 8:53 am

i hope we have no rains today

was real stress to get home yesterday afternoon and well this morning to get into POS, real real real traffic and dust and debris and slush all over the bl@sted road

this was really a whole new experience for me, i've never seen flood damages like this before in my life

-bushman-

Postby -bushman- » November 19th, 2008, 8:56 am

cute corolla, why you didnt come lime with us yesterday where it was safe?

call you next time?

Postby Team Loco » November 19th, 2008, 8:58 am

Ray786 lol, u know what I getting at.

Postby SmokeyGTi » November 19th, 2008, 9:01 am

I ain't pro-government, but at the same time I can't say that they are ultimately responsible for what happened yesterday.

When I saw the amount of rubbish that came down with the water I could only conclude that trini's on the whole just NASTY and STINK, and sorry to say but maybe it takes incidents like these to wake people up and take responsibility for their actions.

to fcuk with all this sh!t about mismanagement and not enforcing laws and blah blah blah... We should not be resorting to penalizing people by enforcing fines etc.

The government has been pretty active in terms of appealing to the public about keeping the environment clean, and promoting a better attitude towards the environment.

Sometimes its better if we learn the hard way. Doh come and fcuk around now and tell me is innocent people who get hurt from these incidents. How much of them really innocent? Let he who has not sinned cast the first stone.

urabus

Postby urabus » November 19th, 2008, 9:04 am

-bushman- wrote:cute corolla, why you didnt come lime with us yesterday where it was safe?

call you next time?

nah i have strick instructions from meh daddy, not to lime with ppl from the bushy areas in trinidad

noobie

Postby noobie » November 19th, 2008, 9:04 am

Every other country starts with policy and enforcement and then the people fall in line.

Check the history of first world countries, and then talk to me about management and governance.

Postby Team Loco » November 19th, 2008, 9:15 am

Well said smokeygti.