TSTT WiMax 4G/Hotspot and HSPA+ Thread

achillies

Re: TSTT WiMax 4G/Hotspot and HSPA+ Thread

Postby achillies » November 12th, 2012, 9:59 am

iDynamic wrote:
S_2NR wrote:^ happened to me also. forgot about that with all the money that they was thiefin from meh. :lol:

i activate my 4g plan in the mall. had 5gb. by the time i walk out and check it in d car i loss 400 mb.

serious.

more reason not to give them my money yes :lol:

A lot of my co workers who use Samsung galaxy's have this exact problem , apparently background apps sucking away data like mad !!

On iOS so far I am actually fighting up to use 150 mb a day , it's almost impossible unless I try streaming a movie or tv show

Background apps cannot suck 400 MB in that time frame, it can't even suck 40 MB especially if there was not a significant battery drop, since uploading over 3G/4G radios is very battery intensive, I have everything syncing at all times, I restrict nothing and this has never occurred to me,

If the user didn't purposefully use those 400 MB, which can only done by streaming very high quality video, then the problem is 100% on the carrier's end, I stream Google Music in high quality for 2 hours and barely scratch 200 MB use

Postby nervewrecker » November 12th, 2012, 10:13 am

edit: didnt realise digi have their own thread. I gone across dey :oops:

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » November 12th, 2012, 10:29 am

uploadfromtaptalk1352730307027.jpg

Look how much I clocking for two days already...
Even tho the wimax service shaky I miss the unlimited data...

Postby pete » November 12th, 2012, 10:48 am

Sad that speed tests is third on the list yes..

Postby r3iXmann » November 12th, 2012, 10:51 am

wheelbarrow, check your data usage settings...app updates etc

this is with heavy IM and heavy radio streaming

Postby Stephon. » November 12th, 2012, 5:27 pm

Rex what you use to stream radio. I use tune in. I saw somewhere in the thread that you were streaming and sheit. Anyways I get back today and saw the H+ icon on my phone and its kinda fast. I download a video from tube mate and it was going at a steady 1MB/s. A 100 MB taking 2 mins to download not bad but the speed test was disappointing from the Miami server 2000/1000 which puzzled me. Anyways I got the 10GB package and I dunno how I'm gonna be able to use all of this. Netflix and stuff good but I don't think I could get the us Netflix to work on4G so I'm stuck with a limited selection.

ilove3

Postby ilove3 » November 12th, 2012, 6:00 pm

Stephon. wrote:Rex what you use to stream radio. I use tune in. I saw somewhere in the thread that you were streaming and sheit. Anyways I get back today and saw the H+ icon on my phone and its kinda fast. I download a video from tube mate and it was going at a steady 1MB/s. A 100 MB taking 2 mins to download not bad but the speed test was disappointing from the Miami server 2000/1000 which puzzled me. Anyways I got the 10GB package and I dunno how I'm gonna be able to use all of this. Netflix and stuff good but I don't think I could get the us Netflix to work on4G so I'm stuck with a limited selection.

Check the Netflix thread. I put up an alternative to unblock-us and its tunlr.net I think. Someone said that its working excellent on the iPhone 5

Postby r3iXmann » November 12th, 2012, 6:10 pm

Stephon. wrote:Rex what you use to stream radio. I use tune in. I saw somewhere in the thread that you were streaming and sheit. Anyways I get back today and saw the H+ icon on my phone and its kinda fast. I download a video from tube mate and it was going at a steady 1MB/s. A 100 MB taking 2 mins to download not bad but the speed test was disappointing from the Miami server 2000/1000 which puzzled me. Anyways I got the 10GB package and I dunno how I'm gonna be able to use all of this. Netflix and stuff good but I don't think I could get the us Netflix to work on4G so I'm stuck with a limited selection.

Tune in Pro (you can see it at the bottom of the screenshot)

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » November 12th, 2012, 9:03 pm

ilove3 wrote:Check the Netflix thread. I put up an alternative to unblock-us and its tunlr.net I think. Someone said that its working excellent on the iPhone 5
Think he said he was trying to find a way to stream it over 4G. As far as I see, that only works over wifi, unless I missed it somewhere on the site...

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » November 12th, 2012, 10:02 pm

I use pandora to stream music over 4G , works excellent Also great quality. I like tunein also for the local content .

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » November 12th, 2012, 11:34 pm

What do you use to get access to Pandora over cellular data? Tried that tunlr site and it works well with wifi, but not with cell data

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » November 12th, 2012, 11:45 pm

dredman1 wrote:What do you use to get access to Pandora over cellular data? Tried that tunlr site and it works well with wifi, but not with cell data

With 4G I use the hotspot shield

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » November 12th, 2012, 11:57 pm

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1352778927.163904.jpg

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1352778938.370320.jpg

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » November 13th, 2012, 12:17 am

^^^ thanks

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » November 13th, 2012, 12:19 am

Isn't that hotspotshield app pretty data hungry? I know it uses a lot of bandwidth on my laptop

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » November 13th, 2012, 12:21 am

I taught it would of been but it seems fine on my iPhone ... Can't say for Samsung

PapaC

Postby PapaC » November 13th, 2012, 1:28 am

So I tried that hotspot VPN and after playing a lil Pandora, boom.
An email from google, hacker attempt on my gmail account. I delete the apps one time, but how do I remove te hotspot VPN settings in my phone?

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » November 13th, 2012, 2:15 am

PapaC wrote:So I tried that hotspot VPN and after playing a lil Pandora, boom.
An email from google, hacker attempt on my gmail account. I delete the apps one time, but how do I remove te hotspot VPN settings in my phone?

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1352787098.184315.jpg

I got the same message when it tried to fetch my mail but I sat down to think about it and it makes sense.

Once your using VPN s and proxies etc , your accounts would be accustom with you authenticating via a certain location, therefore if all of a sudden you login from California 30 secs after you login from trinidad you will be notified.

I get this a lot when bypassing network security to browse websites and stuff , most common website that picks it up is Facebook.

Yes they can gain access to your information via the VPN so I guess at the end of the day it's all about if your willing to take the risk.

Postby Stephon. » November 13th, 2012, 6:41 am

That VPN doesn't work for Android apparently because when I activated it and tried to get Pandora it said that its not available in my country

ilove3 I meant netflix over 4G thanks tho.

Reix I use the basic version. Was considering getting the pro since its only 99 cents. Might get it depending on how reliable the b mobile service is.

I'm Downloading more music videos and its more than twice* the speed I was getting earlier today

Together that's around 4MB/s right?

I guess you can't really go off the speed tests after all because what I get with the browsing / streaming doesn't reflect on the speed test results.

I shouldn't be getting these speeds according to Comcast/Miami and blink

You have 9817.8Mb ,
remaining.

Dunno I don't think its possible to cross that limit lol

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » November 13th, 2012, 7:28 am

vpn on android is buggy , on a vpn i use , this is what they wrote:

If your Android version is 3.x Honeycomb, 2.3 Gingerbread or older you should use L2TP method because PPTP is broken.
If your Android version is 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich you should use PPTP method because L2TP is broken.

Postby r3iXmann » November 13th, 2012, 9:26 am

For vpn I use orbot... Only thing is that it sets location to Sweden

PapaC

Postby PapaC » November 13th, 2012, 10:06 am

Interesting info on the VPN. Thanks a lot.
How much does the Netflix cost? Or is it free somehow?

Postby Stephon. » November 13th, 2012, 10:56 am

Around 7/8 dollars a month

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » November 13th, 2012, 11:29 am

^
$7.99 usd / month

nixonliketheprez

Postby nixonliketheprez » November 15th, 2012, 12:10 am

iDynamic wrote:

One question how did u get the pandora app?? Im guessing ur not on the T&T app store cuz i cant find it there. Already a pandora user. I use unblock-us at home and on my bmobile hotspot.

EDIT: Dont worry figured it out. lol

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » November 15th, 2012, 6:33 am

nixonliketheprez wrote:
iDynamic wrote:

One question how did u get the pandora app?? Im guessing ur not on the T&T app store cuz i cant find it there. Already a pandora user. I use unblock-us at home and on my bmobile hotspot.

EDIT: Dont worry figured it out. lol

Ok cool

sekhar_777

Postby sekhar_777 » November 15th, 2012, 9:21 am

achillies wrote:
iDynamic wrote:
S_2NR wrote:^ happened to me also. forgot about that with all the money that they was thiefin from meh. :lol:

i activate my 4g plan in the mall. had 5gb. by the time i walk out and check it in d car i loss 400 mb.

serious.

A lot of my co workers who use Samsung galaxy's have this exact problem , apparently background apps sucking away data like mad !!

On iOS so far I am actually fighting up to use 150 mb a day , it's almost impossible unless I try streaming a movie or tv show

Background apps cannot suck 400 MB in that time frame, it can't even suck 40 MB especially if there was not a significant battery drop, since uploading over 3G/4G radios is very battery intensive, I have everything syncing at all times, I restrict nothing and this has never occurred to me,

If the user didn't purposefully use those 400 MB, which can only done by streaming very high quality video, then the problem is 100% on the carrier's end, I stream Google Music in high quality for 2 hours and barely scratch 200 MB use

My wife have a Iphone 4S on the 5GB plan. Using the *DATA# query on the handset, it looked like she had used up 1GB+ in a few hours after HSDPA activation. She called bmobile and they checked their system and stated that the *DATA# query results are incorrect, and confirmed that she had barely used data from her 5GB quota for that day.

For those who may not know, there is a $275+VAT package with 200mins, 200 SMS and 5GB Data. I think this is reasonable.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » November 15th, 2012, 9:27 am

sekhar_777 wrote:
achillies wrote:
iDynamic wrote:

serious.

My wife have a Iphone 4S on the 5GB plan. Using the *DATA# query on the handset, it looked like she had used up 1GB+ in a few hours after HSDPA activation. She called bmobile and they checked their system and stated that the *DATA# query results are incorrect, and confirmed that she had barely used data from her 5GB quota for that day.

For those who may not know, there is a $275+VAT package with 200mins, 200 SMS and 5GB Data. I think this is reasonable.

Only for the 4S devices/plans ?

sekhar_777

Postby sekhar_777 » November 15th, 2012, 10:02 am

Nope. A friend of mine is on Android post paid and he was offered the same.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 15th, 2012, 10:08 am

I never understood why you needed a DATA sim for the EDGE package before. When a regular sim could still do data and do calls etc.

BTW might be about time people start posting skype contact information now on tuner when doing business. Its so much cheaper to call someone on skype when you have these data plans.